The Supreme Moment Review and Giveaway!

Hello everyone!! I love when I get requests from authors I don’t know. And I know that sounds funny. A lot of reviewers won’t take on something like that, but I’ve met so many fantastic authors just this way. I could drop some great names and great books for this exact reason. Well, today, I am thrilled to promote this one. And I am usually not one to go for the sci-fi, but more fantasy books, but this one combines both genres for a great new series! Now, let me show you a few goodies first. I also want to welcome and thank Ms. Garcia for being so awesome and offering her book for me to promote here! 

The Supreme Moment (A Fractured Multiverse Novel)

The Supreme Moment (A Fractured Multiverse #1)

Paperback, 322 pages
Published January 9th 2014 by C.G. Garcia (first published January 7th 2014)
The moment a bunch of men with guns kicked in the doors of her house, eighteen-year-old Avery Morgan knew her estranged father’s gambling addiction had finally caught up to her family in the worst way. On the brink of doing something unspeakable to save her little sister from being taken, she is interrupted by the sudden arrival of Darrien Stathos, a business mogul whose true persona is rumored to be the lord of the criminal underworld known as Kairos. Darrien announces that he is also there to collect on a contract with Avery’s father—for Avery.As she struggles with the reality of being the property of an alleged crime lord and the constant harassment of two FBI agents, several disturbing observations about Darrien’s eyes and the frightening, inexplicable ways he stops a couple of would-be assassins make Avery rethink her initial dismissal of some of the more outlandish gossip that questioned his humanity.

Add to that learning a disturbing and dangerous truth about herself, and Avery is ready to break, especially when the truth of Darrien’s identity is something that will shatter the very foundation of her understanding of reality.

My Review:
Well, this one is definitely a big surprise of fun! I am going to say it’s a mix of the sci-fi and fantasy genres, and it’s probably in the New Adult group. I loved it. AND it’s fresh, creative, and a wonderful new world to consider!  So, you start with an 18 year old girl at the end of her high school career, with great friends, a very awesome little sister, a slightly too passive and emotional mother, and piece of crap of a father, and a supernatural being…. Let’s throw in some crazy intergalactic bad guys, and mysteries, and BOOM we have some serious awesomeness to go right along! And that supernatural being will throw you for a loop every time. I have to say, that I wasn’t expecting the things that happened to happen. I love unpredictability!! 
Ok, let’s start with Avery. She’s a damn fine young lady! She works really hard at school, then works really hard at home to help her mom and sister, then works really hard to help pay the bills. Her scum of a father has left her family in a lot of gambling debt, ran off, then came back to use his daughters as leverage to clear his debt. I seriously want to kill that man. I also kind of want to slap her mother sometimes, though she is a good mom, and I’ll get that in a minute. Avery is strong, and brave, and smart, though sometimes like a typical teenager, very impulsive. She’s also kind hearted, and loyal to her friends, and such an interesting character. She also has a lot to scare her, so I can’t wait to see her grow from the end of this first book. 
As sides, she has 4 best friends, her mother, and her little sister. Her little sister is my favorite, as a 10 year old, I swear she’s the smartest out of everybody! I loved Ella! HA! She’s cute, and sweet, and also sometimes a typical child who gets overjoyed by the simplistic things in life, even after some seriously tragic events that she witnesses. Her friends are awesome. Even after having several traumatic things happen, they still have Avery’s back and that’s just awesome! I kept expecting them to get smart, or life preserving, and jet out. And they are still here! Now her mother…. She’s a good mom. She works hard, she talks to her kids, she tries to protect them…. BUT, when it comes down to the wire, Avery makes all the hard, gritty, life saving choices. And yes it’s because she’s special, BUT, dammit, my momma would have opened a can of whoop ass and went postal, several times. HA. Alright, now, I do see some of her reasonings, one being that I think she’s literally about to have a mental break down, BUT FIGHT FOR YOUR KIDS! LOL Ok, now with that little rant, she’s a very loving, affectionate, caring mother. I know she only wants what’s best for Avery, but instead of bitching, moaning, and making others uncomfortable around you, you should actually DO something. Avery takes a lot of her mother’s issues as a burden and this just kind of makes me mad. :) 
Now, for the big MAN! LOL Darrien Strathos, AKA KAIROS… Let me explain a few things. Darrien is his human name. He’s a big time business man, who owns a lot, and he’s also rumored to be some powerful mafia type leader that they secretly call Kairos. When I read this at first, I kept thinking of them being the same being… But they aren’t. I’m not saying they are different people, per say, but they aren’t the same. Darrien is one, and Kairos is the other. Now to understand that, you need to read the book ;) Darrien is actually sweet, and very affectionate, and caring, and a wonder of a man. Kairos scares me a little, but fascinates me all the same. And love can do some strange things to people. This is the perfect bad boy turned good guy :) I am really really excited to see where he is going to grow from book one to book two. I want more of him ;) 
The ending is going to throw you for another loop, which isn’t your typical HEA BUT it’s not a bad ending either. I think it leave the PERFECT opening for the next book. The writing is great. As a debut novel, this is fantastic. I will say the explanations of Kairos, his world, his being concept is a little hard to grasp, maybe because I hated physics and chemistry, but I love biology so I caught on what I needed to LOL Yes, it’s a little complex, but it’s still wonderful because it’s not something I’ve even come close to reading about. I really can’t wait for so much more. I hope you will all look into this new author, as she has something great on her hands! 5 MIND BLOWING GALAXY WEAVING PAWS! 
paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main
About the Author
C.G. Garcia
website  http://CGGarciaAuthor.blogspot.com

C.G. Garcia lives in a small West Texas town whose claim to fame is having the world’s largest Rattlesnake Round-up. She has a degree in computer science, but due to life’s twisted sense of humor, ended up working in a pharmacy. A lifelong lover of all things fantasy and science fiction, The Supreme Moment is her debut novel.
Giveaway:
So now that you know some goodies, the author, and myself have different giveaways for you! :) The author is very generously offering A SIGNED PAPERBACK to one winner! AND I couldn’t help it, I like this one so much that I TOO am going to offer an ebook copy to a winner. SO, to enter to win, just leave me or the author a nice comment and tell me if you’d like the paperback copy-for my US peeps- OR an ebook copy- FOR EVERYONE! :) LOL So, that’ll be TWO winners today LOL GOOD LUCK!!! 
A major thank you to Ms Garcia! I am so glad I said yes to that email and I am so excited to read more of your books and the continuation of A Fractured Universe series! I can’t wait to share more of your goodies! 
And to you guys, good luck on those giveaway! Thanks for hanging out with us today too! Happy reading and later gators! 
One thought on “The Supreme Moment Review and Giveaway!

  1. bn100 says:

    The main character sounds nice
    paperback

What do you have to say?

