Holy Crap it’s Kevin Hearne!!! :)

Tricked (The Iron Druid Chronicles, #4)

For all of you who are like me, and seriously obsessed with this series… we are getting dangerously close to it’s release date & I cannot WAIT to get my hands on this next book!  So, I did this crazy thing, like e-mailing Mr. Hearne, not expecting a reply, and definitely not so quick, and he totally did a lil interview for me!!! I mean, what goes on here!!! 🙂 I was literally jumping up and down when I opened his first reply, which was so kind, saying “sure, send over those questions”! Seriously, I am a major crazy person with these books! I talked this cute lil older man into buying the first three of the series the other day at my bookstore, and he called the book store to tell me that this was the best series ever recommended to him 🙂 I was so proud! But that’s besides the point… the point is to let you all in all this awesome man, who is just the coolest!!! so, let’s get on with the show! 

WELCOME KEVIN HEARNE!!!

Me:  Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

KH:  I recall with perfect clarity. It was after reading One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey in college. The voice was amazing, and I wanted to get lost in characters the way I did in that book.

Me:  Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

KH:  The setting for the series is inspired by real life; most of the locations are real, in fact, and you can get some of the world’s best fish and chips at Rula Bula on Mill Avenue. As far as characters, however, only the widow MacDonagh is based on someone I know—my dearly departed grandma.

Me:  Do you really have an aversion to Thor like everyone else seems to or is it just the characters who hate him?

KH:  I should probably take the Fifth on that one.

Me:  How did you incorporate Oberon to become such a major character in this series? (I think he’s pretty major anyway! )

KH:  Entirely by accident. He was meant to be nothing more than comedic relief and an anchor to help Atticus hold on to his humanity. He turned out to be far more popular than I anticipated.

Me:  How do you chose when/which characters die in your books? I think I cried a little (ok a lot) in book 3 for one of those scenes!

KH:  It depends on what choices those characters would make and what would feel “real.” Just like Mordor, you cannot simply walk into Asgard, take on a bunch of gods, and expect to walk away without harm. Somebody has to pay.

Me:  Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

KH:  You’ll want to check out Jay Kristoff’s STORMDANCER when it comes out in September. Good stuff—Japanese steampunk. I wrote a blurb for it, thought it was brilliant.

Me:  If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? Or any of the others so far? (PLEASE SAY NO LOL)

KH:  There’s a mistake in HOUNDED I’d like to correct, but otherwise, no.

Me:  What book are you reading now? Or what genre?

KH:  I’m reading George R.R. Martin’s biggie, A DANCE WITH DRAGONS.

Me:  Who designed the covers? And do you help with them? (it’s one of my favorite parts of the books)

KH:  Del Rey has been completely fabulous in this regard; while I don’t design the covers, I do get to contribute to the process and they value my input. In fact, they do everything they can to make sure I’m happy—and I am! If you’d like to see how the process works—it involves my editor, the designer, the author (me!) and the illustrator—there’s a blog post about it on Suvudu that goes into great detail. Here you go: http://suvudu.com/2011/01/making-a-book-cover-a-behind-the-scenes-look.html

Me:  If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

KH:  I wouldn’t mind having Atticus’s ability to talk to dogs. That would be rad, to have such a happy, loving creature talking to you.

Me:  I’ve read interviews from you that said you weren’t meaning to make your books funny (trust me, they are!) but more kick ass…. How do you respond to people who think it’s funny, or kick ass, or both! I believe my answer is both 🙂

KH:  Well, I’m always glad to hear that people are entertained, regardless of what entertains them. It’s true that I mostly try to impart a kick-ass feeling but I’m too much of a goofball to keep things serious for long. I plot all the asskicking, but the comedy is an unintentional side effect and improvised as I go.

Me:  Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

KH:  Specifically, you are awesome. Thank you so much for reading my books and spreading the word to your friends. Without word of mouth, most authors can’t continue to write, so I am very grateful to you and glad that I could give you a smile or three.

Thanks, Maghon, for inviting me to chat! It’s very kind!

Don’t ya just love him! I wanna put him in my pocket… maybe he can just tell me fun stories all day! LOL! Ok, but on a serious note, THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! Mr. Kevin Hearne has been one of my favorite authors since I read HOUNDED but he is now one of my favorite people! and don’t forget…

Tricked releases April 24, 2012

If you would like a SIGNED copy for purchase, you can go HERE I’m thinking I might have to get one of those!! 😉 also, you can be like me and stalk Mr. Hearne here–> http://www.kevinhearne.com/

Make sure and get your hands on it!! 🙂 Thanks again to Mr. Kevin Hearne, and to everyone else, happy reading, thanks for stopping by, and later my reading gators!!! 🙂 


2 thoughts on “Holy Crap it’s Kevin Hearne!!! :)

  1. Nikki says:

    I’m soooo happy you got to do an interview with one of your favorite authors! Good interview hun!

What do you have to say?

