Naming Contest

Hello everyone. I apologize, you’re going to have two posts from me within a few short hours. I normally try not to bombard people with a ton of posts, but today is special and tomorrow-ok at midnight- is a tour giveaway πŸ™‚ so let me get right to it… You will see some cute pictures of my newest addition of my farm! Yes today is about animals!! Most of you know I’m passionate about animals and I’m a vet tech, but today you get to see why it’s so special to me! This little bull calf was born Saturday, May 26… He was the last calf to be born of this season and we had been waiting!! However, on Monday, we (my grandpa and myself who have the cattle) realized that he never suckled from his mom, this means he was starving to death-literally… We immediately penned momma and baby up (she’s a little nuts so it was not a good thing) and I carried baby to a very upset mom while we tried to milk her to feed him from a bottle. Momma’s milk is always best. After hours of major sweating- south Louisiana is stupid hot right now- and poo, which got on my face, yes it’s disgusting, cursing (you don’t wanna know I called his mother) and stress, I was able to get him to drink a little… I swear he was gunna die on me. I will not give sad details. So Tuesday we got supplements and goodies and tried to get mom to let him suck directly from her. It wasn’t working. Today I began bottle feeding milk supplement from a bottle and he is so much stronger and now follows me all over while licking me in inappropriate places. Lol my butt is always wet now πŸ™‚ I’ve saved another life and I’m so happy!!! So here’s the contest… He deserves a cool name. I usually give easy-to-remember names… His dad,our bull, is brindle stripped so his name is Brin! I can post his picture later too lol!! But I’ve got a few names in mind and I’m going to let you chose for me… Or help me find one πŸ™‚ there was literally no names meaning survivor-except one which is quite long-so I’ve got a few here and I’ll take some recommendations if you wanna help out πŸ™‚ I’ve added pics for you to meet him πŸ™‚ here’s the names I’ve found:

Cayden-Scottish- spirit of a warrior
Kyland-German- bull
Kaydon-English-strong willed

I really liked Kyland but they seem so similar, & my grandma told me I was not to name him Dude, I’ve been calling him that, and she says NO!! Lol so here’s what I’ll do. If you comment with either one of the names above you like or find me a cool (& tell me what it means) I’ll gift you an Amazon or Barnes & Nobles or ITunes $5.00 gift card (winner’s choice) to buy something for yourself. Hehehehe that’s so easy right. I’ll be feeding him multiple times a day so I promise to take more pics if you guys wanna see. Lord you get to see me do my thang hahahahaha!

He’s very red, with lots of white spots all over and a sweet little black stripe across his neck. It’s a dude in case you didn’t get that, so no girly names hahahaha and he’s so cute! The first pic is him and his mom. We have to separate them when I feed because she goes crazy, but not for long periods. I’ll leave it open thru the weekend, as he kinda likes “Dude” lol! You can also post multiple names and times as I’m really just trying to get a name. And as long as you can get a US gift card, you can enter πŸ™‚ or play for fun. Or maybe I can try book deposit that ships all over or something! Lol good luck everyone! Thanks for checking it out!! now go forth and comment!!! Oh and don’t forget to come back for the book your tomorrow πŸ™‚ ps forgive any mistakes, I’m using my WordPress iPhone app again lol

20120530-223240.jpg

20120530-223248.jpg

20120530-223321.jpg

14 thoughts on “Naming Contest

  1. First off…that lil’ guy is just adorable!!!!

    Out of the names you’ve chosen I really like Kyland πŸ™‚

    I also tried searching for great names meaning survivor etc. but there isn’t much out there unless you want to name him after some japanese warrior!

    Names I found and also like are:

    Taurean, which litereally means strong as a bull πŸ™‚ or for something short and sweet, there is, Thad, which means courageous or large-hearted πŸ™‚

    • magluvsya03 says:

      Fantastic πŸ™‚ this makes me so happy!!! I love those… This may be harder than I thought hahahaha thank you my love πŸ™‚ if it was a girl I’d name her Roxy for you πŸ™‚

  2. bn100 says:

    Congrats! I like Cayden, but they’re all nice names.

  3. Nikki says:

    I like the Kyland too.

  4. Barbara E. says:

    Congrats on your new dude. πŸ˜€
    How about Kane – Irish: Little battler or warrior
    And out of your three, I like Kyland.

  5. Jean S. says:

    I have always wanted to name a horse Timothy. Sadly, I’ll probably stick with cats, so you can use that name if you want. : ) But seriously, I like Kaydon. I like the “K” names better for some reason. My favorite though is Roxy Kade’s suggestion of Thad. He’s definitely courageous and large-hearted. Congrats on saving him! That’s quite an accomplishment. You should be super proud of yourself!

    • magluvsya03 says:

      Thanks love!! He’s not my first calf to bottle feed, or even deliver for that matter but for some reason he’s really got my heart! My Australian shepherd is also very motherly to him which is cute! It’s gunna be tough to pick! πŸ™‚ but I’m always proud when I help animals in any way…

  6. I actually did find a name that means survivor in hebrew Sarid (sah-reed) here’s the link here http://babynamesworld.parentsconnect.com/meaning_of_Sarid.html

  7. ALSO found one that means able to survive but it is a bit stranger.Zosimos, it’s greek. http://babynamesworld.parentsconnect.com/meaning_of_Zosimos.html

  8. did you already choose the winner?

What do you have to say?

