ARC Review for The Shapeshifter’s Secret

The Shapeshifter's Secret

Hello everyone! Today, I am sharing my thoughts on the Shapeshifter’s Secret by Heather Ostler, which I received from NetGalley-I just wanna say I love them! They give you nice ARCs to review and some of them are fantastic! 

So, at first, I was a little hesitant, as I wasn’t quite sure what to expect.  Julia goes to a regular school, has normal friends, except for her dad, who is over protective, in a crazy way! And then there’s a new boy at school, that everyone seems to drool over. LOL, Caleb kinda sparks everyone’s interest. But when he talks to her at school, and somehow seems to make Julia more annoyed than attracted, things get interesting.  And then he saves her, and her life takes on this crazy, the-bottom-fell-out, kinda twist.  She also knows next to nothing about her mother.  Oh boy, does that part take on a crazy twist.  So, she finds out, after having a total crazy melt-down with her father, that she is a shapeshifter, and she is from another world-kinda- which you can only get to into portals. I like this world building, as it’s different.  It’s similar to her regular world, and it’s not really a parallel dimension, just another place, like think unexplored, no one knows about, island the regular humans haven’t discovered. And also, she’s royalty, as her father is a MAJOR person in that place. So after some hits on her life, her father decides to take her home, and then the journey sets out.  She has to enroll in the school that everyone attends, and learn how to control her inner beast, and also learn about her culture. 

There are some great parts in this book, and some I’m not sure if I liked. But let me say that I will be reading the next book, so that should say something.  I really liked that there’s more than shapeshifters, and oddly, no “real” vampires, LOL but different types of people with different types of powers.  I like how this was created, and thought out well.  I also liked Caleb, though I’m not sure if I like him as a romantic interest, or just as an interesting character. I really like her two best friends, but I don’t wanna spoil too much.  Supporting characters kinda make a story for me. It’s great when you have some awesome “leading” characters, but I like it more when they have awesome “support” LOL aka sidekicks 🙂 I am extremely happy with the crazy twist of who the bad guy(s) were and how some of the events happened.  

I don’t think I like how the romance part played into.  Terrance and Julia fall into love almost instantly, but it’s not a love at first sight, nor is it played upon with the whole “shapeshifter mate” kinda thing.  To me, it seems like teenage love, and I’m not sure how I feel about this. I am on the fence, as I almost like Terrance, but not enough to commit to his “team”. I think I just happen to like Caleb more. Also, I think I would have thrown some major fits after being lied to, and kept in the dark about so much my whole life. But maybe that’s just me, and I’ve always had a mouth that can get me into trouble LOL 

All in all, I did really like this book, as I think there are some great things to work with, and I am looking forward to seeing if the author can build and grow and the first part of what she’s given the readers from here. I think the writing is excellent, just has a few holes that maybe need filling in. Not holes big enough that I didn’t like it, so I am crossing my fingers and hoping the next book will knock my socks off.  There was enough at the end to leave you wanting to know what happened to that ONE PERSON, and what’s to become of Julia and Terrance, and what’s going to happen when Julia goes back home to New York, away from people that are kind. 

If you click on the cover image above, it will take you to the goodreads page for more info. I would like to thank NetGalley for a copy to read, and I am looking forward to a continuation! Happy reading my gators!! 

 

 

2 thoughts on “ARC Review for The Shapeshifter’s Secret

  1. Jean S. says:

    The cover of this one has been calling to me. : ) Glad to hear the supporting characters are just as interesting as the main characters. I’m not a huge fan of instant love though. Hmmmm. Still that cover is so awesome. : )

    • magluvsya03 says:

      It’s one of those that there are several really good things, and then a few things I didn’t like, but I will say it’s a interesting read 🙂 LOL

What do you have to say?

