A new favorite series

We all have a huge reading pile, as in to be read, and if I go by what my goodreads page says, I have over 1200 books in my TBR pile. LOL. and I’m sure it’s more, as I sometimes forget to press add to my list. 🙂 Oddly enough, one night, I went bonkers, as I LOVE werewolf stories. They have always been my favorite. I just can’t help myself. And a while back, on the kindle store page, I found Something Secret This Way Comes by Sierra Dean. Here’s a picture…

Something Secret This Way Comes (Secret McQueen #1)

The picture will take you to the goodreads page 🙂 So, this book was a freebie for the day, and I of course swooped it up.  Well, little to my knowledge, I am now totally obsessed with this series.  After reading this one, I went and got the next 3 books in the series. LOL 

A Bloody Good Secret (Secret McQueen, #2)Deep Dark Secret (Secret McQueen, #3)

I read all three of them within 24 hours! Holy crap! I LOVE this series!! I cannot seem to help myself! It’s unlike any type of urban fantasy I’ve ever read.  But I’ll tell you why I love it, it reminds me of the Anita Blake series, which will always be my heart’s first love 🙂 Laurell K Hamilton introduced me to what fantasy was like.  Totally kick ass, without always revolving around romance, sometimes had sex, but what more about all the monsters. Yep, this one is like that too.  I’m going to include my review for the first book, and then leave links to read my reviews for the next two, and leave the nice pretty picture for book 4 about to be out, and you can make decisions based on your own opinion. 🙂 

Let’s start with the goodreads synopsis for Something Secret This Way Comes: 

Some secrets are dangerous. This Secret is deadly.

Secret McQueen, Book 1

For Secret McQueen, her life feels like the punch line for a terrible joke. Abandoned at birth by her werewolf mother, hired as a teen by the vampire council of New York City to kill rogues, Secret is a part of both worlds, but belongs to neither. At twenty-two, she has carved out as close to a normal life as a bounty hunter can.

When an enemy from her past returns with her death on his mind, she is forced to call on every ounce of her mixed heritage to save herself—and everyone else in the city she calls home. As if the fate of the world wasn’t enough to deal with, there’s Lucas Rain, King of the East Coast werewolves, who seems to believe he and Secret are fated to be together. Too bad Secret also feels a connection with Desmond, Lucas’s second-in-command…

Product Warnings
This book contains a sarcastic, kick-ass bounty hunter; a metaphysical love triangle with two sexy werewolves; a demanding vampire council; and a spicy seasoning of sex and violence.

I love, LOVE this series!! I want all of them, like yesterday, and I want to read them more than once! It was an accident that I stumbled upon this book, on the kindle store, and I somehow hadn’t heard of them before- but I’m SO GLAD I fixed this error.  Poor Secret, as her name is literally taken, when her mother abandons her to her grandmother and says keep her secret, she gets her name.  She’s become an assassin (yes, I do love assassins) for vampires who are bad little suckers, LOL, She’s hard core, takes no one’s crap, and is very bad-ass. She thinks her life is quite stable until she finds out her biggest, scariest, enemy is coming back just for her, and meets the werewolf king and has a crazy attraction to him… what’s worse, she has the same attraction to his second in command! 

I like Lucas, don’t get me wrong, but I put him in the same category as Richard-Anita Blake’s King Werewolf. I want him so badly to be “the one” but dammit if he doesn’t make the most stupid mistakes, and unfortunately, it’s so typical guy, and male alpha that most days I wanna punch him in the face, repeatedly! And then there’s Desmond, and I swoon, and drool, and wanna lick him HAHAHAHA I LOVE HIM!! I can’t help it! He’s cool, calm, HOT, and pretty awesome, and did I already say HOT!!! Yes yes, I know, love triangles sometimes are over done-BUT I LOVE THIS ONE!! hehehehe yes, sometimes, as much as I hate it, I love it too, and this one sucked me right in! 

Secret learns a few more secrets as time gets a little crazy, the vampires are somewhat strange, her mentor is a human, but one of the scariest monster hunters around, and I can’t help but wanna hug Desmond’s brother. Yep, awesome supporting characters. So well written, So much action, and fun! I will now be off to drool onto the next Secret book! 

I love that Secret has some of the best quotes… “If there were a boy scout motto for bounty hunters, it would be always be armed” … “Both Daria and I agreed we will overlook the events of last night.  Juan Carlos, as usual, wanted to eat you.” …”I vowed to never leave my house unarmed ever again. Leave your gun at home for one day and look at what happens.”…. “when you went limp, I saw every chance I had for happiness die with you.”~Desmond said that one 🙂 … “Detective Castilla, your Secret is safe with me.” She blinked with surprise, and I groaned. “God, Holden, How long have you been waiting to use that line?” “About 3 years” “and in 3 years, you couldn’t find any room for improvement?” “I like a good pun, what can I say?” “Terrible”, I just shook my head. 

So, now that you know how I feel about book one, here’s the links to books 2 & 3 reviews from me…

A Bloody Good Secret review

Deep Dark Secret review

Now, here’s a pretty picture of book 4, which I have pre-ordered!! 

Keeping Secret (Secret McQueen #4)

hehehehehe I LOVE the bloody wedding dress, as you can click on the picture to read what it’s about, and I now have NO DOUBT that Ms. Dean is gunna blow me away! I have NO IDEA what’s gunna happen, but I know it’s going to be huge! This book is set to release July 10, 2012, which means I only have a little bit to wait! but I NEED IT! hahahaha I know, I’m a nut, but I really can’t help it. 

So, now that I’ve done my bullying for the day, I ill bid you ado, and wish you happy reading! 🙂 

2 thoughts on “A new favorite series

  1. Jean S. says:

    Hahahaha. I actually have Something Secret This Way Comes on my Kindle. Have I read it yet? Of course not. : ) One of these days I’ll get to it, because I’m sure I’ll like it.

What do you have to say?

