Morning Star: Ethos Review and author interview

20120701-014645.jpg

Ok first I apologize as it will seem utterly ridiculous as I’ve pressed the wrong button which published an unfinished post! BAD DOG!!!!! Sooooo sorry!! My email followers will think I’ve lost my mind lol wait, maybe I did hahaha now on to normalcy…

Hello everyone. Today I’m sharing a lovely book I recently read as a review and I wanted to share a little bit about the author as well! So first lemme tell you about the book.

From goodreads:
When a mysterious stranger interrupts Brianna’s mundane routine, her eyes are opened to the dark underbelly of reality… immortal rogues, ancient conspiracies, prophetic revelations, savage tribes, mammoth dragonflies…

She’s thrust into a race for her life when Kalen, a warrior from Ethos, discovers that she is harboring a secret… a secret that he’d give his life to protect.

There’s just one little problem… they are tempted by a forbidden romance, which threatens to compromise a divinely appointed mission. They are faced with a choice… love eternal, or the end of the world…

And now my review… I will first take my first sentence from my lovely best blogger friend Nikki- DRAGONFLIES ARE AWESOME!!!! Nik, I couldn’t agree more. This is one of those awesomely intriguing stories. A normal girl, very boring, get thrown in a whirlwind ride as she meets this mysterious boy and finds out she’s now a part of his supernatural world.

The world building and scenery descriptions have to be my favorite! I mean, it’s so awesomely described that I felt like I was there, too. And the creatures and people and cultures, so fascinating! Now the characters. Brianna is either gunna be loved or hated. I personally like her as she is very real to me. Normal people have all of her insecurities and failures with curiosity and hope. Some may find her weak, I find her courageous for her choices. I’da peed my pants hahaha

And KALEN!!! Love him! He’s every young adult woman’s fantasy dream. He’s hot, smart, kind, brave, and hot!! Oh and he’s some kinda special warrior- sorry no spoilers- so that’s really hot!!!

The ending had me completely surprised! I expected some things but was totally surprised with others. So, here, think Alice in Wonderland meets the Iron Fey meets Aliens with cool dragonflies who are good guys hahaha ok I know that sounds like a terrible comparison, but my brain is still befuddled from my stupid mistake a few minutes ago. And I’ve gotten likes in the “boo-boo” post, already hahaha yeah I’m laughing about it!

All in all, I REALLY NEEDA get my hands on the next book, hopefully not too long from now. 🙂 4 PAWS from me!

Now I’d like to introduce you to the author, Desiree Finkbeiner- WELCOME!!

Maghon: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

Desiree: I’ve always loved creating in general. But my love for writing began with a love for reading. I’ve always been the kind of person who will try anything creative at least once, so if I am inspired by someone else’s work, it gets my cogwheels turning and I think to myself, “I could do this too!”. So I give it a shot. If I enjoyed the process, I just keep it up until I find my own voice or style.

Maghon: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Desiree: A mix of both… and also a healthy dose of imagined scenarios.

Maghon:How do you choose when/which characters die in your books? I think I cried a little (ok a lot) for one of those scenes!

Desiree: Sometimes I know way in advance that I’m going to kill a character, so I work to develop an attachment with the reader to that character so it has more impact when it happens. Other times, it comes as a surprise to me too and I make the decision in the heat of the moment.

Maghon: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Desiree: Obviously, many authors look back with hindsight and wish to make changes, but moving forward is sometimes more important than revisiting the past. So even though there are thing’s I’d like to change about book 1, I won’t go there. Moving on.

Maghon: What book are you reading now? Or what genre?

Desiree: I’m reading some unpublished manuscripts for a small publishing house as part of an acquisitions team. And of course, reading quite a bit of non-fiction for research purposes (for my Ethos series). Subjects include WWII, Nazis, Bermuda Triangle and the lost city of Atlantis. Yeah, I know- what a cocktail eh?

Maghon: Who designed the covers? And do you help with them? (it’s one of my favorite parts of the books)

Desiree: I designed the cover, and will design all the covers and art to my books. My degree is in art so I might as well use it.

Maghon: If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

Desiree: Definitely Arden. She’s a small character in book 1, but in book 2 she plays a vital role in the story.

Maghon: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Desiree: I’m always happy to hear from you with comments, suggestions or constructive criticism. Feel free to contact me through my website or Facebook.

This or that…

A. Coffee or tea?
Neither. I avoid anything addictive or high is acid content. I don’t drink tea, coffee, soda pop or artificial beverages. I prefer purified water or 100% natural veggie/fruit juice (not from concentrate). I also love coconut milk, almond milk and flax milk.

B. coke, sprite, dr.pepper?
As mentioned above…. Soda pop is EVIL, LOL. Rots your teeth, leeches calcium from your bones, raises your blood pressure from the high sodium content and causes obesity. I’d rather be healthy J

C. Beach or mountains?
Mountains all the way!! The mountains have a very special and spiritual place in my heart. Since child hood, my family has camped and explored the Rockies and other mountains in North America. In fact, book 2 of my series is plotted partially in the Grand Tetons of Wyoming. National Parks are important to our country and I hope everyone has an opportunity to see the majesty of the mountains at least once in their lives.

D. Winter or summer?
Apples and oranges. Both have pros and cons… but I may lean slightly towards winter because of the cluster of holidays and family togetherness. And I like to snuggle with my hubby when it’s cold outside.

E. vampires or werewolves?
Vampires. They’re more elegant.

F. Cold or hot?
Depends on what’s hot and what’s cold.

G. Favorite color?
All of them! That’s like trying to choose my favorite child. But growing up, I leaned towards red and black.

H. Night or day?
I’m a total night owl! Dusk to dawn is the best!

I. Moonlight or sunlight?

Moonlight. I sunburn easily and my eyes are extremely sensitive to light.

Ok, that’s enough! LOL thanks so much for coming visit me, and thanks so much, for doing this with us! I appreciate it and I look forward to the next book

I would like to thank like to thank Ms. Finkbeiner so much. She sent me an email that described her book and asked if I’d be interested in reviewing. I really didn’t expect to love it as much as I did, so I really needa say high five!! Lol now hurry and gimme book 2! Thanks all for stopping by and happy reading my gators!!

3 thoughts on “Morning Star: Ethos Review and author interview

  1. Jean S. says:

    I LOVE this cover, and I’m so impressed she did it herself!

  2. Karen says:

    I am Karen, My life was in a mess some

    few days ago and I ran around looking

    for solutions,used every single spell

    worker on the internet, spent untold

    amounts of money,In the end, discovered

    they are all fakes,Until a friend told

    me about him (priests Magibarabara)..I

    did decided to give him a try and that

    was when I finally found true happiness

    and result..
    He does not advertise on the internet,

    has another job for income, has no set

    prices, makes no false promises and

    refuses to help anyone that cannot be

    helped and even helps for free

    sometimes..
    He is a wonderful man and I am a

    testimony to that, he was the only

    person who actually gave me real

    results. He has magical spells and

    voodoos for what whatever situation you

    find yourself either love marriage,

    finance, job promotion ,lottery Voodoo,

    poker voodoo, golf Voodoo, Law & Court

    case Spells, money voodoo, weight loss

    voodoo, any sicknesses voodoo, Trouble

    in marriage, just to name afew that my

    mind could run to.. I really hope he

    doesn’t mind me advertising his contact

    on the internet but I’m sure any help/

    extra work will benefit him. contact him

    at Magibarabara@gmail.com ..
    Hope this helps everyone that is in a

    desperate situation as I once was.

What do you have to say?

