Redemption blog tour

20120701-212134.jpg

I’m SO EXCITED!! I am (for the first time ever) the OPENING post to a blog tour! Woo hoo!! 🙂 I know, I’m so easily entertained, but this seriously makes me all excited 🙂 so, today, I will be having a guest post from the Author herself, and then I’ll give you my review. But first, here what the book is all about.

REDEMPTION
Book One Penton Legacy series
By Susannah Sandlin

Following a worldwide pandemic whose vaccine left human blood deadly to vampires, the vampire community is on the verge of starvation and panic. Some have fanned into rural areas, where the vaccine was less prevalent, and are taking unsuspecting humans as blood slaves. Others are simply starving, which for a vampire is worse than death—a raging hunger in a creature too weak to feed.

Immune to these struggles—at first—is Penton, a tiny community in rural Chambers County, Alabama, an abandoned cotton mill town that has been repopulated by charismatic vampire Aidan Murphy, his scathe of 50 vampires, and their willingly bonded humans. Aidan has recruited his people carefully, believing in a peaceful community where the humans are respected and the vampires retain a bit of their humanity.

But an unresolved family feud and the paranoia of the Vampire Tribunal descend on Penton in the form of Aidan’s brother, Owen Murphy. Owen has been issued a death warrant that can only be commuted if he destroys Penton—and Aidan, against whom he’s held a grudge since both were turned vampire in 17th-century Ireland. Owen begins a systematic attack on the town, first killing its doctor, then attacking one of Aidan’s own human familiars

To protect his people, Aidan is forced to go against his principles and kidnap an unvaccinated human doctor—and finds himself falling in love for the first time since the death of his wife in Ireland centuries ago.

Dr. Krystal Harris, forced into a world she never knew existed, must face up to her own abusive past to learn if the feelings she’s developing for her kidnapper are real—or just a warped, supernatural kind of Stockholm Syndrome in which she’s allowing herself to become a victim yet again.

Susannah Sandlin’s REDEMPTION is the first in the Penton Legacy series. Book two, ABSOLUTION, will be out September 18, and book three, OMEGA, on December 18.

Amazon Barnes and Noble Book Depository

Now I’ll tell you a little about the author before I let her have her time to shine on my blog 🙂

About the Author:

Susannah Sandlin is the author of paranormal romance set in the Deep South, where there are always things that go bump in the night! A journalist by day, Susannah grew up in Alabama reading the gothic novels of Susan Howatch, and always fancied herself living in Cornwall (although she’s never actually been there). Details, details. She also is a fan of Stephen King. The combination of Howatch and King probably explains a lot. Currently a resident of Auburn, Alabama, Susannah has also lived in Illinois, Texas, California, and Louisiana. Her novel Redemption won the paranormal romance category in the 2011 Chicago North RWA Fire and Ice contest, and is the first of three in a series that debuts this year.

Website/Blog: http://www.susannahsandlin.com

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/susannahsandlin

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/susannahsandlin

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5828129.Susannah_Sandlin

Indie Bound: http://www.indiebound.org/book/9781612183541

And now, I’ll give my blog over to Ms. Sandlin-WELCOME!!!

Five Reasons to Become a Vampire Familiar

When Dr. Krystal Harris shows up in a tiny isolated Alabama town to interview for the position of the community’s only physician, she thinks it’s kind of weird that the “hospital administrator” wants to meet with her at night.
Uh, yeah, there was a reason for that. Imagine her shock when she discovers the town is made up entirely of vampires and their willing human familiars. (The town is also at war, but that’s a whole different problem.)
Why, Krys wonders, would any human willingly become a vampire familiar—or feeder, blood donor, Happy Meal, body-fluid-provider, or whatever term you prefer? Since Krys is in the process of being kidnapped by said vampires, she’s a little slow to see how this little dining arrangement might benefit you, the human.
Had Krys asked me (and I could have saved her a lot of trouble and angst), I could give her five good reasons to become a vampire familiar in Penton, Alabama.
1) It’s seriously erotic. I mean, sure, there are some vampires—take the evil Owen Murphy, for example—who don’t bother making it pleasant for the blood donor. But the Penton vampires are good guys (and women), who respect the humans they depend on to nourish them. You don’t have to take my word for it. Owen’s brother, Aidan Murphy, who owns the town of Penton, is a sweetheart. Well, in a vampire kind of way. Although he does have this curved knife…
2) Talk about a sugar daddy (or mama). The Penton vampires are rich, especially the older ones. They’ve perfected ways to make money, whether it’s real estate, stock, or business. Stuff doesn’t mean as much to them after a few hundred years of accumulating it, so they’re generous.
3) You have your days free. The vamps are all taking their daysleep in their secret places, and you don’t have to worry about scraping out an income (see number two). So you can work at something you enjoy, knowing your official dining services won’t be needed until sundown.
4) You’ll feel needed. I mean, think about it. The vampires can’t survive without you, especially these days. See, there was a pandemic, and the CDC came up with a nifty vaccine—that made the blood of a vaccinated human poisonous to them. So, your pure, unvaccinated blood is highly valued. (You didn’t screw up and get those shots, did you?)
5) Your vampire can keep you safe. Once you’ve bonded yourself to your One Special Vampire, no other vamps can feed from you. So the evil vampires scouring the nearby woods, nabbing unvaccinated humans to sell on the black market, have no use for you. Uh…did I mention that the vampire world is facing starvation and there’s a war brewing?
Convinced yet? I’m ready to sign up. (And I didn’t mention No. 6: these vampires are really sexy!)

Now first, I wanna tell you a lil sumtin! There’s a Tour wide giveaway!!! I know right! Well since WordPress doesn’t host raffle copter, here’s what’s to win and the links!

6 Redemption Prize Packs, with a signed book and swag, and one $50 Amazon Gift Card.

Link to rafflecopter: http://bewitchingbooktours.blogspot.com/2012/07/now-on-tour-redemption-by-susannah.html

Seriously, who wouldn’t wanna enter that giveaway!! And now, I’ll start my blabbing for my review. LOL 🙂

Let’s start by how Krys meets Aiden. She’s traveling for an interview- at night, how weird- and this big tall hot guy jumps in the middle of the road. He then demand she help someone. This is a serious situation but I couldn’t help but giggle a little. As this happens, the plot begins to unfold, as Aiden’s brother Owen is killing townsfolk off. This is bad. 🙂

I am one who usually doesn’t like the whole overrated vampire story. GASP I know right, wtf! This story is fascinating to me. It’s new! Vampires are now allergic to human blood of those vaccinated. Like, it’s lethal. As things progress, you always know going into a paranormal romance that there will be romance with the main characters. You don’t know what will occur. This is where I will say it’s both refreshing but still slightly cliched. Broody vampire suffers lost love for ages and then meets lover who will give him life again. However, usually he doesn’t have to fight with his own brother for it nor the lovers sad, scary bad father past. It’s so well written that who cares about cliches!

This is also done in multiple POV’s so it’s so cool to see things from almost all sides. And I will say, as much as I loved Aiden and Krys, my heart is all for MIRREN!!! I think I need Ms. Sandlin to make me Mirren’s mate in her next book! Who can I talk to about this! Seriously! Think mob enforcer meets foreign badass warrior. Yeah, I lurve him!!! 🙂 I also very much like a lot of secondary characters. I always do, but these actually get screen time, enough that you learn about them and get a sense of their character and personality. Big high five for this!!

There is no reason not to read this book. Ok, maybe if you’re not 18, as it is a mature adult book, but not erotica. It’s the perfect example of paranormal romance meets sexy action packed vampires!! Yay!! LOL 5 PAWS, gimme gimme book 2!

I would like to thank Bewitching book tours and Ms Sandlin for stopping by! Don’t forget to enter into that giveaway on the tour site. And as always, happy reading my gators.

25 thoughts on “Redemption blog tour

  1. Thank you so much for having me here today–first stop on the blog tour! And I have to admit, I’m a serious Mirren fan as well. He’s the hero of the second book, Absolution (new release date October 9)!

    • magluvsya03 says:

      Oh sweet goodness it’s fate- that’s my BIRTHDAY HAHAHA so perfect for a date for my hero 🙂 thanks so very much for letting me participate! I loved this book and I look forward to the whole tour 🙂

      • Jean S. says:

        Hold up! Your birthday! July 2? Happy birthday! Hope you had a good day!

      • magluvsya03 says:

        no sorry, October 9th is my birthday and book 2 comes out on this day 🙂 but thanks so much for the really early birthday wishes!! LOL

  2. Have read Redemption – really liked it. Ordered Absolution yesterday.
    Enjoyed the “Five Reasons to Become a Vampire Familiar”.
    Look forward to following the rest of the blog tour, never know what you’ll find out. Thanks, Roger

  3. I loved the post and enjoyed the five reasons, Marian

  4. bn100 says:

    I enjoyed the review and list of reasons.

  5. Where the heck have I been? I didn’t realize Redemption was released already. Geesh, sorry Susannah… Going to download it tonight when I get home… Can’t wait!

    Dawn Chartier

  6. Thanks for the comments, everyone! LOL, Dawn–it slipped up on you!

  7. Teresa Warner says:

    I’m always looking for new authors and series to read, sound good!

  8. Mariska says:

    Still hunting to get the chance to read Susannah’s books 🙂

  9. Thanks, Teresa–hope this is a series that appeals to you!

    We’ve got to get you copies, Mariska! Follow the tour–giving a lot away 🙂

  10. dgmolly says:

    Thank you both for the fabulous post. Sign me up for familiar status!

  11. sienny says:

    hi susannah!

    fun post! the 5 reasons worth thinking about 😉

  12. Chelsea B. says:

    Sign me up too! You had me from “It’s seriously erotic” 😉

What do you have to say?

