Author Interview with Mallory Kane

Hello everyone! Today I’ve got Mallory Kane here, to be interrogated, I mean interviewed by me. I recently had a post about her book with my review, and you can check that post out HERE. That will show you her goodies!! Welcome Ms. Kane, and thanks so much for being here!! πŸ™‚ So let’s get to it!! πŸ™‚

Maghon: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

The first time I recall wanting to write was when I was eight or nine and wrote a poem called Miss Mousie Had A Tea Party. As I recall–just like these days–the idea just came to me.

Maghon: What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

My very first book was an historical romance called Stranger In My Arms. It was written in first person and when finished, was around 70.000 words. That might be a good length today, but when I wrote it, my first rejection letter, from Avon, said the book should be in third person and at least 100,000 words.

Maghon: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Experiences of people in my books? I take personality traits and attributes from people I know, and of course, from myself. But in my romantic suspense novels, the experiences of the hero and heroine as they run from the bad guys and/or try to solve the crime, are based on reading and watching TV.

Maghon: How do you chose when/which characters die in your books?

Well, the hero and heroine never do! So readers can depend on me on that count. I never thought about actually choosing. They die if their death is necessary for the story.

Maghon: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

A young adult author named Juli Alexander is very good. I enjoy her YA novels. What often happens to me is, I discover an author who is new to me. Such a one is the author of Killing Critics. Right now my power is out–we’re having a thunderstorm–so I can’t double check the author’s name but I believe it’s Carol O’Connell.

Maghon: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

In No Hero. No, I wouldn’t. Before the editors would approve No Hero for production, they and I went over it carefully, to make it the best book it could be. There may be errors in grammar or spelling, or errors in continuity, which would be my fault, but as far as Dev, my hero and Reghan Connor, my heroine and the story–no. Not a word.

Maghon: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Like a lot of writers, I have trouble with the middle of the book. I love writing the first 3 to 4 chapters, where the hero and heroine are introduced, the danger is established and the hero and heroine discover they must work together to solve the mystery and stay alive. I love the ending–the climax and the denouement. Actually the denouement is why I write the book. That last scene where the hero and heroine confront each other and finally work out their issues and admit or discover that they love each other.

Maghon: What book are you reading now? Or what genre?

I’m currently reading Sherri Kenyon’s Born of Shadows. I adore the book and I adore her. She and I were unpublished in Jackson, Mississippi together. Born of Night (or Born of The Night as it was originally published,) and Born of Fire were published (one print, one electronic,) while we were both in Jackson. That was the beginning of her incredible success. And no one deserves success more than she does.

Maghon: Who designed the covers? And do you help with them?

I have worked as a cover artist for over 18 years and designed covers for a lot of very famous and well-respected authors. I love designing covers–probably second to writing. I designed all the covers on my short stories that are currently available on Kindle. But no, I didn’t contribute to the design of the cover for No Hero. But isn’t it FANTASTIC!!!! What a gorgeous hunk! Okay, I did request a gorgeous hunk on the cover.

Maghon: Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

What I have learned from writing and from my dear author friends, is that imagination is boundless. All we have to do is open our minds, (not an easy task.) If we allow our minds to range free and don’t restrict ourselves by convention, by others’ expectations or by shyness or fear, there is no limit to what we can do.

Maghon: If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

Hah! Great question. I have to confess, I pretty much am Reghan Connor, the heroine in No Hero. Minus the stalker, the diabolical maniac in prison who will only talk to her, and the person who attacks her. The control-freak part, the annoyingly inquisitive part, the I-know-I’m-right part. That’s all me. The big difference in Reghan and me is our attitude toward heroes. She doesn’t believe in heroes. I have four in my life. My father, who was and is my ultimate hero, my husband, and my two brothers. They rock!

Maghon: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I’d like to thank the readers who pick up a Mallory Kane book and like it, those who will jot me a line or write a review telling me that they enjoyed a book, those who light up when they see my name tag at a conference (that never gets old, let me tell you,) and those who write me to say that something in one of my books has touched them. Many if not most writers don’t write because it’s an easy way to make tons of money. Trust us, it’s not. We write because, well, because we’re writers. We have to write. To know that there are folks out there who appreciate what we write, whom we’ve touched in some way through our made-up stories, is worth more than money. Thank you, all of you.

Thanks so much for inviting me to your site. The questions are great. I really enjoyed answering them.

Keep on reading,

Mallory Kane

And you can stalk Ms. Kane at these places!

mallory@mallorykane.com
http://www.mallorykane.com
http://www.facebook.com/mallorykane
https://twitter.com/#!/mallorykane
http://www.entangledpublishing.com/no-hero/

Thanks so much everyone, for stopping by today, and as always happy reading my gators!! πŸ™‚

;

2 thoughts on “Author Interview with Mallory Kane

  1. Jean S. says:

    Wow! Ms. Kane is a cover artist too. That’s fascinating to me.

What do you have to say?

