Goodbyes are the hardest

Well kids, you will be reading this a day or two after I write this, but since I feel I have bonded with so many people who are my followers, I’m going to share. It’s also an apology if I haven’t gotten back to you quickly, replied to something, written a not so good review… I’m not sure if I’m grieving yet or still numb. At 7pm, on Tuesday, September 4, 2012… My Koda Bear crossed the Rainbow Bridge. My mom and stepdad, finally came to the decision that his quality of life mattered more than quantity and he was no longer Koda, but a small, pitiful sick version of him. All of the medicine we tried just couldn’t fix all his illnesses. He no longer showed real excitement for me- which without knowing him, you wouldn’t understand how much he loved his big sister. But more so, he didn’t get excited for my mom. That sentence is the equivalent of snowing in hell. He ALWAYS went completely nuts for my mom, and it was a whole ordeal to come home.

My boss, a wonderful special person, came over to my parents and euthanized him. It was quiet, quick, and peaceful. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to burn from my brain that the only sound in the whole house were the tears and sniffles from me and my parents. My step dad is taking this really hard. It was a given me and my mom would. Koda will always be my little brother. There will never be another as special!

We’ve decided to privately cremate him and we’ll get him back in a wooden urn, which is beautiful. I thank my wonderful friends from Heavenly Pets Memorial for coming at night for a home pick up. I am lucky to have wonderful ties to such great people in the animal communities.

I visited with him alone before, and my step sister came and was just as pitiful as the rest of us. My mom’s sister even brought over food so my mom wouldn’t have to worry every day life things. I also made a homemade paw mold, and when it’s all done, I’ll show you the finished product. I used his front paw to always have a peice of him! I feel like a part of my soul has left. God forbid, but I pray this doesn’t happen to my own for a long time. This is terribly hard.

I will leave you with some pictures now

20120904-213123.jpg
Koda as a puppy

20120904-213146.jpg
Koda hanging out with me

20120904-213252.jpg

20120904-213306.jpg
Me and Koda out at my mom’s right before a big storm πŸ™‚

20120904-213406.jpg
My mom and Koda

20120904-213457.jpg
typical Koda

20120904-213520.jpg
My Xander checking on Koda while he was sick πŸ™‚

20120904-213704.jpg
Koda napping on me πŸ™‚

20120904-213800.jpg
My little Koda Bear…

Try not to take the small things for granted, you never know when you won’t have them anymore. With extra love~ Maghon

14 thoughts on “Goodbyes are the hardest

  1. Tom Winship says:

    My deepest condolences. Maghon.

  2. S.A. says:

    Maghon –

    I’m glad your boss was able to euthanize him at home (what a great boss). Two years ago when I put my cat down, I did it at the Emergency Vet Clinic. I held my baby when the vet put him down. It was so hard, so I understand the heartache you and your family are going through right now. It’s so hard to lose something so close and precious like Koda. Condolences go out to you and your family.

    Don’t cry because it’s over, Smile because it happened.
    -Dr. Seuss

    With sympathy,

    Sherri (S.A.)

  3. Nikki says:

    Poor Mags! I’m sorry for you and your mom’s and step-dads pain. I hope it gets better soon and that you will always remember him fondly.

  4. bn100 says:

    So sorry for your loss.

  5. Roxy Kade says:

    Awww! Mags!!
    I’m so sorry for your loss. My love and condolences to you and the rest of your family.
    It’s amazing how our pets become a part of the family and losing one hurts like crazy. I wanted to bawl looking at the pics of Koda! Adorable!
    He was a lucky little guy to have been blessed with such a wonderful, caring home while he was on this earth.
    *BIG HUGS*
    Xxxo

  6. Jean S. says:

    Oh no! Not Koda! I’m so upset for you. That is never an easy decision, but you did the right thing. He wasn’t enjoying life anymore. I love those pictures. He’s so dang cute! Ugh! So not fair! *shakes fist at sky*

What do you have to say?

