Dark Light of Day Blog Tour w Giveaway

Hello everyone!! Today I am STOKED to be part of this book tour… and wait til you see the giveaway… but I’m getting ahead of myself 🙂 LOL First I gotta tell you what I’m all excited for! 🙂 The banner above takes you to the tour host’s site, and the cover below will take you to the goodreads page. 

Dark Light of Day
Noon Onyx Book #1

By Jill Archer                            

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Publisher: Ace

ISBN: 978-0-425-25715-9

 Number of pages: 384

Word Count: 123,000

 Barnes & Noble   Amazon

 Book Description:

 Armageddon is over. The demons won. And yet somehow…the world has continued. Survivors worship patron demons under a draconian system of tributes and rules. These laws keep the demons from warring among themselves, the world from slipping back into chaos.

 Noon Onyx grew up on the banks of the river Lethe, daughter of a prominent politician, and a descendant of Lucifer’s warlords. Noon has a secret—she was born with waning magic, the dark, destructive, fiery power that is used to control demons and maintain the delicate peace among them. But a woman with waning magic is unheard of and some will consider her an abomination.

 Noon is summoned to attend St. Lucifer’s, a school of demon law. She must decide whether to declare her powers there…or attempt to continue hiding them, knowing the price for doing so may be death. And once she meets the forbiddingly powerful Ari Carmine—who suspects Noon is harboring magic as deadly as his own—Noon realizes there may be more at stake than just her life.

A little Excerpt:

Failing is not an option…

“I’ve been watching you, wondering, waiting to see where you’d end up. After all, there are other demon law schools,” Seknecus said, making a moue of distaste that made it clear exactly what he thought of them. “But I was happy to see that you chose St. Lucifer’s.”

Technically my mother chose St. Lucifer’s . . . But there seemed no reason to interrupt just to clarify that bit of misinformation. Seknecus wandered around the room, picking through papers, flipping open and quickly shutting the front covers of various leather-bound books, never meeting my eye. I had no doubt, however, that his attention was fully focused on me.

“So, you see, seeing your name on my List wasn’t exactly a surprise, although it appeared much later than I would have liked.”

He did look at me then, with a frown of disapproval. I did my best to look expressionless because none seemed appropriate. It wouldn’t do to look amused, bored or, Luck forbid, rebellious. Seknecus stared at me with narrowed eyes and then went back to wandering.

“You’ve got some catching up to do,” he said, addressing a copy of Sin and Sanction: Codification & Case Law. “It doesn’t matter why or what excuses you’ve got for yourself. You will be held to the same standards as everyone else, regardless of whose daughter you are. And you’ve missed a lot of class already.”

I opened my mouth to protest, but he cut me off with a wave.

“Manipulation class,” he clarified. “You’re going to have to work ten times as hard as everyone else just to pass. Quintus Rochester doesn’t go easy on students and he’s likely to see your absence during the early part of the semester as a challenge. You know, failing is not an option. Not if you want to live.”

I would now like to welcome the author over as she is going to give us a love guest post 🙂 maybe lovely isn’t the right word… HAHAHAHA 🙂 WELCOME MS. JILL!!!

The Demons of Halja

 You know how Jessica Shaw does her “Shaw Report” for Entertainment Weekly? (For those of you who don’t read EW, the Shaw Report is a small sidebar that has columns marked “In” “5 Minutes Ago” and “Out”). Now, some people might say that vampires are “Out” and demons are “5 Minutes Ago” and, if so… well then, what would be “In”? For summer 2012, it was probably Hunger Games or handcuffs, right? But I completely disagree that vampires and demons are “Out” or “5 Minutes Ago.” And it’s not because I’m currently peddling a book about demons.

 As of September 6, 2012 (when I turned this post in), Publishers Marketplace was still listing a high, healthy, and roughly equal number of deals with the key word “vampire” and “demon” for the last twelve months. Neck and neck, as usual. Or should I say neck and… hmm… What body part do the demons prefer? 😉

 Okay, enough joking around. [clears throat; gets serious]

 The demons in Dark Light of Day, my upcoming debut novel, are not sexy. Many are vicious and horrible, more like true monsters than romantic heroes. And yet, they have human emotions. Those emotions, however, are larger, more all-consuming, and, at times, infinitely more destructive than mere human emotions could ever hope to be.

 Dark Light of Day takes place in a post-apocalyptic world called Halja. After the Apocalypse (an event that’s old news, by the way; it happened two thousand years before the story even begins!), Halja’s demons were weary of battle. They were tired of chaos and war. They didn’t want anarchy. They wanted adoration — the never-ending, everlasting, unadulterated kind of adoration that followers can give their demon patrons when the world is at peace.

 Haljan demons are often the patron of something. It could be a person or a place or a practice. It could be moonlight, mirrors, or any reflective surface; it could be marital vows or extramarital affairs; it could be iron weapons or the use thereof. The point is, Halja’s demons are as varied as their inspirational seeds. But they all share one thing in common: they are rarely benevolent.

 Want to hear more about Halja’s demons? Here’s a Dark Light of Day excerpt from the part where Noon Onyx, the protagonist, meets a palm-sized demon for the first time:

 I stared at her, hardly able to reconcile her with a lifetime of imagined fears. Haljan myths and legends spoke of brutish beasts hell-bent on fury and destruction. Haljan paintings, bas reliefs, and statuaries also often depicted demons as cruel fiends and vicious monsters. But Serafina didn’t look dangerous. She looked ungainly.

 She belched and stretched, glaring at me through two black eyes the size of beads. She was naked but it was no pretty sight. Her body, though diminutive, was bloated as though she’d died in the Lethe and been left too long. Her skin was a grayish, sickly looking green, and she rubbed her distended belly with one clawed hand as she grinned malevolently at me.

 “Do you speak?” I said.

 So, what about you? Do you love vampires? Demons? If so, this post is part rallying cry for you. If you love the vamps and demons (and, hey, I’ll even throw in werewolves because they’re tons of fun too, then sound off in the comments!) Tell me what you love about them, tell me which characters are your favorites, convince everyone that demons and monsters are as timeless as fear itself. 😀

 Thank you, Maghon, for hosting me here today ay Happy Tails and Tales. 

THANK YOU!! Ms. Jill sent me a little personal note when giving me the goodies for this tour. So to Ms. Jill, I want to say that personal note made my day-as to me this means you’ve read my blog before. It also means that you are a wonderful person willing to show me some well wishes to someone you don’t know. It means the world to me that you sent condolences to my Koda. I miss him everyday, but I know it’s harder for my mom as he was her dog. Isaac didn’t do too much chaos for me, but my well wishes go out to those who are having it so bad. 🙂 I believe having you over today has made my summer so much better. Thank you again! 🙂 

Author Bio:

 

Raised in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Jill earned a bachelor of science from Penn State University and later moved to Baltimore to attend the University of Baltimore School of Law, where she graduated magna cum laude. She went on to practice law as a “dirt lawyer” for ten years, specializing in real estate law, municipal development, commercial leasing, and anything involving exceedingly lengthy legalese-like contractual monstrosities.

 Jill now lives in rural Maryland with her two children and husband, who is a recreational pilot. Weekends are often spent flying around in the family’s small Cessna, visiting tiny un-towered airfields and other local points of interest.

 website: www.jillarcher.com

 blog: http://jillarcherauthor.wordpress.com

 twitter: @archer_jill

 facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jillarcherauthor

 goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13556956-dark-light-of-day

  Ok now kids, for my review, the publisher sent me a print copy to review, and it just hasn’t made it to me yet. I was in the beginning part of the tour, so it should be her really soon, and I PROMISE to get that review in as soon as possible. 🙂 You never know, when I get it and post my review, I MAY be able to give it away to you guys. so forgive the interruption of the good stuff, which I will now get to! 

And now what everyone always waits for… the GIVEAWAY!!! There are TWO different giveaways… One here and one over at the host’s site. so lemme tell you about the Host’s first… as you’ll need to head HERE for that giveaway, it’s a contest of sorts. The person who visits the most stops enters one part, if you bring someone to the party, there is another, and then something for everyone to enter…. 

Tour Wide Giveaways

Three signed copies of Dark Light of Day to the blog tour followers who visit the most stops. US ONLY

  • $10 eGift Card (either Amazon or Barnes & Noble, winner’s choice) to be drawn at random from all blog tour commenters.
  • $10 eGift Card (either Amazon or Barnes & Noble, winner’s choice) to the person who brings the most people to the party. To enter to win this one, tell a friend about the tour (someone who hasn’t yet commented). You’ll be entered to win when your friend stops by at any spot on the tour and tells us that you told them about the tour.

NOW MY GIVEAWAY!!

  • To be drawn randomly from that stop’s commenters, one Ace/Roc Science Fiction and Fantasy 2012 Sampler. These are bound, print samplers with a color cover and the first few pages of new work from the following authors/titles: Benedict Jacka’s FATED, Alex Hughes’ CLEAN, Jacqueline Carey’s DARK CURRENTS, Steve Bein’s DAUGHTER OF THE SWORD, Anton Strout’s ALCHEMYSTIC, and Jill Archer’s DARK LIGHT OF DAY. US ONLY

Pretty cool right!! I wanna win this! These samplers are SO COOL!! I’ve gotten one before. It’s the first several chapters of multiple books, and you can see if you like the books before you buy them 🙂 WOO HOO!!! So, this is a print copy, sorry to my international friends…. But if you live in the US, all you gotta do is leave me a comment or a comment for the wonderful Ms. Jill… DON’T FORGET that if you leave a comment for me today, you ALSO get entered in the big giveaway for the tour! 🙂 SO LEAVE A COMMENT… LOL, and then head over and fill out that rafflecopter. There’s so many things to win 🙂 

Good luck everyone. Thank you so so much Ms. Jill Archer for stopping by, and for being a special, warm hearted person! and as always Happy Reading! Later Gators!! 🙂 

16 thoughts on “Dark Light of Day Blog Tour w Giveaway

  1. Jill Archer says:

    Maghon, your blog has such a warm feel to it, how could I not love being here? Thank YOU so much for having me and for giving me such a fantastic welcome and introduction! I’m glad your end of summer and early fall is shaping up. Just caught up on your most recent posts. Wow! What a coup snagging Ian Somerhalder for Strut Your Mutt!! I wish I lived closer so I could come! I’m sure you’ll have a great time and raise lots of money. Great cause. Wonderful pic of him and the pup in your post yesterday!

    • magluvsya03 says:

      Awww! If I met you in person I’d give you a big hug and call you darlin!! You are such a sweetheart! Hehehe I seriously squealed when I got the official word for Ian coming over! I am beyond thrilled to be part of your tour and I cannot wait to get my hands on your book!! I hope we can do it again!! 🙂

      • Jill Archer says:

        Are you kidding? I’d love to come back here to spread the word about book #2! 😀 But it’ll be awhile. In the meantime, looking forward to future awesome posts of yours. Good luck with everything, Maghon!! Thanks again for having me!

      • magluvsya03 says:

        Ya know… We don’t have to wait!! Hahahaha 🙂 thank you so much for being so fun! I have now found another fantastic author to stalk 🙂 YAY!!! Umm, don’t be scared, I stalk from a distance hahahaha

  2. Karen Arrowood says:

    THis sounds like an interesting book, although different from anything I have read. I am intrigued.

  3. Natalia J says:

    I can’t wait to read this book, It sounds so interesting I have already added into my books to read list. I hope this is the beginning of the series and that there is more to come. 🙂

  4. Jill Archer says:

    Hi Natalia, that’s great! Thanks for adding DLOD to your “to read” list. I’d love to hear what you (or any reader) thinks after reading. Feel free to e-mail me anytime. Dark Light of Day is the first book in the Noon Onyx series. I already turned book #2 in to my editor! 🙂 Future books will have new assignments, new adventures, and new adversaries. I can share that book #2 has some returning characters, introduces some new ones, and has Noon handling her first field assignment. Thanks for the comment. Hope you’re having a nice weekend!

  5. Jill Archer says:

    I had my oldest draw the winner. Natalia, please e-mail your US street address to: archer at jillarcher dot com. I’ll be sending a batch of samplers out this week!

    Have a great week, everyone!

  6. This book is so intriguing! I think it is interesting to have it be all about Demons. That is a new genre for me. I read about Vampires and Werewolves, and really like Paranormal Fantasy, Romance and Adventure. This book looks very different in a good way, very clever, I love the excerpts, the dialogue is witty and keeps you very interested. This book is a must read for me. I wish you much success!

What do you have to say?

