FairyProof Blog Tour with Giveaway

Hello everyone! Today I have another set of goodies for you 🙂 YAY! I am hosting the lovely author today and I will have a review, and of course a GIVEAWAY!! 🙂 YAY… I will tease you and say the giveaway is really cool! I really want one 🙂 LOL But, enough of that, lemme tell you all about the book today! 🙂 If you click on the banner above, it will take you to the tour host’s site, and if you click on the cover picture, it will take you to goodreads… 

Fairyproof

Fairyproof
By Constance Phillips

 Genre: Paranormal Romance

Publisher: Crescent Moon Press

Date of Publication:  September 4, 2012

 ISBN: 978-1-937254-75-9

 Number of pages: 262

Word Count: 85,000

 Cover Artist: Taria Reed

 Book Description:

When Monique finds out her brother, Kieran, is planning her future with the one fairy she wants nothing to do with, she seeks refuge in the human world. Now Kieran fears she will be the next victim in a string of murdered fairies and is determined to bring her home.

 Hiding should be a breeze. She can control any human with a flirtatious smile and an attraction spell. Until she meets Daniel Elliot, the only human who’s immune to both.

 A year ago, Daniel’s fiancée disappeared with the engagement ring, an Elliot family heirloom. He’s ready to move forward with his life, but his mother’s obsession with retrieving the ring makes that impossible. Then Monique walks into his office to apply for a job.

 Daniel and Monique can’t deny their attraction, but will the reason he’s Fairyproof be too much to overcome?

Amazon paperback

www.amazon.com/author/constancephillips

And Now, I’d like to welcome the author over for a lovely guest post!! WELCOME!!! 🙂 

The Joy of Furry Friends

 Dogs make amazing companions, whether it for us or the characters in our books.

As is stated in my bio, I am the very proud momma of four canine children. My husband and I are both dog enthusiasts, and the only time in our twenty-five years of marriage that we haven’t had dogs was during the first four years. At the time, we lived in a trailer park that didn’t allow them.  They are so much a part of my life, that dogs more often than not, make their way into my books, Fairyproof included.

The mentioned scene in Fairyproof has the hero and heroine finding a lost puppy in the park. Aside from just including a cute canine in the story, the scene served a couple of purposes. It showed a mutual connection between Daniel and Monique – their concern over the puppy — but it also opened a door to strengthen the growing bond between them. It gave Daniel the courage to ask Monique about her past, and the opportunity for Monique to return the favor.

I was lucky enough to take a workshop from Donna MacMeans (http://www.donnamacmeans.com/) a while back. She explained the W plot and the use of rooting interests: traits given to characters to make them more likable.  One of the items on her short list was for the character to be kind to animals, or for a dog to take a liking to a character.

Of course, I wasn’t surprised to learn this. It made perfect sense to me.

Pictured here is Rosie, one of my little babies. She’s an Olde English Bulldogge, and we also have her mother. She’s practically a writing partner as she is a constant companion, traveling to and from the office for the business my husband and I have. If I’m writing at home, she is either lying next to me on the couch or at my feet, if I’m in my home office.  Without that sweet face, writing and work would both be very lonely.

Do you have a furry friend? How does he or she enhance your life?

Author Bio:

Constance Phillips

Constance Phillips lives in Ohio with her husband, two ready-to-leave-the-nest children, and four canine kids. Her perfect fantasy vacation would involve hunting Dracula across Europe with her daughter, who also digs that kind of stuff. When she’s not writing about fairies, shifters, vamps, and guardian angels, she’s working side-by-side with her husband in their hardwood flooring business.

Constance is actively involved in her local Romance Writers of America chapter (MVRWA) and the Southeast Michigan chapter of the United States Pony Club. When not writing or enjoying the outdoors, she loves reality television or can be found at a Rick Springfield concert (just look for the pink Converse high tops).

Constance blogs regularly at www.constancephillips.com. You can also follow her on Twitter or friend her on Facebook.

website:  http://www.Constancephillips.com   

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/CPhillips

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ConstancePhillipsRomanceAuthor

Goodreads http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6470282.Constance_Phillips

My Review:

So this is really interesting, very fast paced read. It starts off with Monique, who has a few different aliases as she is trying to hide from her brother. You learn in the beginning, that she is a fairy. She has a few abilities, but tries not to use them, as magic can be tracked and monitored. The point of views come from Monique and her brother, Kieran, in the beginning, but Daniel gets a little lime light as well towards the middle and the end. Monique goes to work for Daniel, who is attracted to each other. AND THEN the secrets start to come out. MAN! This story had some secrets. 

This is not your usual fairy tale story. They have governing bodies that are different- this is not fae, there is no king or queen, nor are their winter, summer courts.  BUT there is a different world, or dimension, or something parallel, where the fairies live. I really enjoyed this story. The plots had me second guessing myself at every turn. The mysteries unfold beautifully. The characters, both good and bad, had me riveted. I was bad and stayed up way to late to finish this book, as I was to interested to see how things would play out.  

I started off hating Kieran, and was totally on Monique’s side, at first. Now, I’m still on Monique’s side, but now I understand why Kieran made the choices he did. I was quite surprised at some of the turn abouts. I had some suspicions that were right, and some that were way off. 🙂 So now, it’s up to you to read this story if you really wanna find out everything that happens. 🙂 and I’m also hoping this story line continues, as I am definitely going to want to see what happens next.  It’s not a cliff hanger ending. It gives you an ending that’s nicely played out, but there is an opening for it to continue, and I hope it does. 

4 PAWS from me

Giveaway:

WELL!! Now it’s time for the goodies 🙂 So, the author is offering a beautiful little Fairy door-like maybe for your garden, AND a $25 amazon gift card!! so all you have to do to enter is go on HERE and you can enter via rafflecopter. That door is soooo cute!!

I would like to thank everyone for stopping by, including the author, as she is an animal lover!! YAY!! And as always I wish everyone good luck!! Happy reading and later gators!! 🙂

7 thoughts on “FairyProof Blog Tour with Giveaway

  1. Thank you for hosting me on your blog today and for you thoughtful review of Fairyproof! I’m so pleased you enjoyed it

  2. […] You can read the rest of her review, plus a guest post talking about my own furry friends and how I used a puppy to help build Monique and Daniel’s relationship in the book at Happy Tails and Tales. […]

  3. Jean S. says:

    Furry friends are the best! I have 3 cats, but I love dogs too. I’m just too lazy to get up early in the morning to walk a dog. : ) Cats are a bit more independent… sort of. I feel like I do a lot of cat care, but they return the love too.

What do you have to say?

