Within the Shadows Blog Tour w Giveaway

Hello my lovely friends 🙂 This is such an interesting book, so I had to jump on the tour. 🙂 so Since I have lots of things for you today lemme just show you!! 🙂

Within The Shadows (Shadow World, #1)

“The story is a page turner. I had to keep finding out what happened next and normally, I don’t like vampire novels. Ms. Lynch has given me a new love for vampire stories with this gem.” Erin Miller
“It is not your average vampire story and brings a refreshing new take to the world of vampires. The characters are well developed and intrigue from the word go and the story doesn’t stop for you to catch your breath. It will astound, amaze and bewitch you.” Stacem
“I would recommend this book to everyone that enjoys a great book with the ability to keep you guessing. I will have to say this is one of my favorites!” Gale Nelson
Within the Shadows
By J.A. Lynch
Published July 18th 2012
Vamptasy
ASIN: B008MZJB3W
“Living on the razors edge, Giselle Burgman’s life is torn apart by her cheating boyfriend. Little does she realise that he is the least of her worries when her long term friend Alex introduces her to his family and a new, darker world. A world of lies, deceit and corruption. Thrown from one problem straight into another, the razors edge gets thinner and sharper, testing Giselle’s sanity and vitality. Not even she can hide when living within the shadows.”
An avid reader, Julieanne has always had an encompassing fascination with folklore. When not writing, she enjoys crime series such as Criminal Minds, CSI, NCIS and Cold Case, and loves anything with Vampires, listening to metal, meeting new people, drinking lots of green tea, and sharing her dreams with her children. She is a self-professed goth wanna-be, and is happy when left to write into the early hours of the morning.
Julieanne’s YA series, The Shadows Trilogy, is published by Vamptasy Publishing and thus far contains In the Shadows. It follows the war between vampires and shadow creatures. Giselle Bergman, an 18-year old human girl, falls victim to a scheme by one of her closest childhood friends, and embarks on a journey that sees her become the centre of a battle between good and evil.

Excerpt

Alarming as it might have been, I was quite excited. Sounds pretty crazy, but I think I got caught up in the moment, and being made a fuss of was definitely something I could get used to.
But, as always, reality has a nasty way of hitting you hard in the face.
I walked behind Atarah and Angelika as they led me through corridors that looked like something out of a gothic fairy tale. The walls were a strange shade of pomegranate, its boldness illuminated by softly lit candles. The wooden floors were temporarily covered with a bluish red runner that ran the whole length of the hall. Amaranthine drapes hung over the grand bay windows. The air had a distinct aroma, and although I could not quite place the smell I was sure it was incense. Its strong, fragrant smoke brushed the back of my nostrils, resulting in a few disapproving sneezes.
I sniffled, “Excuse me!” as we entered the hall through a large set of oak doors.
It was a very dramatic entrance. Standing below me were hundreds of unknown faces. A few stood out, but they were strangers all the same. They wore a mixture of black and purple clothes.
The women were dressed in floor-length gowns, their hair pulled back tight and their hands covered by long lace gloves. The men’s attire consisted of black herringbone frockcoats with matching black trousers. All wore purple shirts with black cravats.
I looked around, trying to find Alex, and there he stood with Leonid, in front of an altar.
It was the most spectacular scene I had ever seen. Lighted candles and floral arrangements of violets, orchids, red roses, lilies and irises filled the entire room. The scent was overwhelming.
Silence fell, and all eyes were on me. My stomach churned and panic set in. I wanted to run through the doors and as far from there as I could, but behind me were two large men, standing in front of the doors. They were not going to move for me.
I stood alone and watched the smile spread across Alex’s face as he ushered me to him.
I must have floated down the stairs, as I cannot remember walking down. The crowd moved as I walked down an aisle strewn with rose petals.
Alex looked amazing. I had never seen him look so handsome. He wore identical clothes to the rest of the men, except that his cravat matched the grey marl in the sash I wore around my waist. His smile illuminated the whole room
and in normal circumstances would have melted my heart, but there was something sinister in his eyes. A deep redness flickered in the light of the candles.
I was so out of my depth.
Taking my hand, he led me to a stone slab in front of the altar. Shaking, my voice quivered as I whispered to him.
“What’s going on?”
“It’s your consecration. Remember, you will be blessed tonight. Just follow my lead.”
He was so calm, and it seemed that he expected me to mirror his demure behaviour. I was anything but calm. Sweat began to seep in the palms of my hands. So many eyes were upon me.
Breathe Giselle, just breathe!
Alex, directed me to lie down on the stone slab. I obliged, and rested my body on the coldness of the rock beneath me. Incense filled the space around me; no air just smoky fumes. There were four men, one standing at each corner of the slab and each holding a staff. Their eyes filled with the crimson tide that was visible in both Alex and Leonid. Alex stood back and disappeared behind his father. I was alone with the strange men, each mumbling to himself.
From the altar came the voice of someone I knew.
Atarah.

And now I’d like to welcome the Author over for an interview… WELCOME!!!

I just want to thank you again so much for taking the time to answer questions for my blog!

Thanks for having me. Hopefully you didn’t hate the book too much lol

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

I’ve always been passionate about books and writing. From my earliest memories I was always creating something, poetry, lyrics, short stories; basically finding what worked best for me creatively. At the age of eleven, I had written over a hundred songs, and loved performing for my family. It wasn’t until I turned 16, that my love for writing went into overdrive, and I penned my first full length story ‘Dynamite’ and read it to my sisters and cousins, trapping them inside my creativity; for a while anyway. But I guess I always knew I wanted to write, there was something burning inside me, and now I have found my passion becoming my reality.

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

Vampires, the paranormal, horror and my love for all things Gothic inspired my first novel, Within the Shadows (something started nearly 3 years ago). It is no secret that I am a crazy, hardcore fan of vampire literature, and I suppose you could say that I wanted to put my own stamp on the genre. I wanted to create something completely different to anything out there, and I achieved that with my book. It is fast paced, edgy and something you won’t forget in a hurry.

How do you chose when/which characters die in your books?

For me, it all tends to happen all of a sudden; seriously. No matter how much I plan or story board my books, I always shock myself by doing something completely off the wall, and I did exactly that in Within the Shadows, and gave myself a case of broken heart syndrome. I was so overcome with emotion writing ‘the’ scene that my husband thought someone had really died.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest or that you recommend, other than yourself of course?

Oh there are tons. There are so many new and talented authors out there, as an avid reader, I am spoilt for choice. To name a few, I’d recommend, Rue Volley, a lady who writes some legendary vampire novels, as well as seriously hot erotica. K.B. Miller, who has captivated me with her spellbinding witchery, and Riley Steel who basically reels you in with her HOT erotic line.

Who do you look up to as a writer?

It is no lie that I am a fan of the classics and having studied them at length, I have an old fashioned love and respect for Dickens, Bronte, Shakespeare, Mansfield, Polidori to name a few. But my tastes are eclectic, and I have such respect for James Patterson (major fan), Stephen King, Richelle Mead, and Rachel Caine.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

Honestly, no! Why? because it wouldn’t feel right. There have been times people have said certain things to me, which made me consider revising certain scenes, but at the end of the day, I wrote the story the way I saw it, and wrote it the way that I like to read. After 3 years, the story still leaves me pretty damned proud that *I* wrote it. Never in my wildest dreams would I have believed that something I wrote would have this effect on me. So if it’s not broke, there’s no reason for fixing it.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

No. I tend to write freely, and never have suffered the dreaded writers block. I am one of those people who genuinely love what they do. My head is always working overtime, and dreaming up new stories, or new plots to enhance present works. I find writing enjoyable, and something I look forward to doing day or night.

What book are you reading now? Or what genre?

I am currently reading Starblood, by Carmilla Voiez, and it is vampires and wrath.

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

My publisher, Vampasy aka, Nicola Ormerod designed the cover. I told her what I wanted and she astounded me with the finished product.

Have you ever bought a book based on the cover?

Oooh, yes. Lol. I think we are all guilty of that, and to be super nice, it looked great, but just wasn’t for me, so gave it to my daughter, who appreciated it far more than me.

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

Wow, good question. Well, I’d like to be Giselle, since I created her, I’d like to have a chance at kicking some ass. Or maybe it would be the fact that I’d love to have a chance at staring Antoine in the eyes, and having him do ‘his’ thing on me.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I would like to remind readers that the story I’ve created is fiction. It isn’t real and isn’t meant to portray ‘real’ life. The decisions made by my MC are made through her naivety, and obvious compulsion. I am also a BIG fan of Gothic elements in writing style and have incorporated much of that in my novel and have Giselle taking a journey. She’s not kick ass in your face, she makes mistakes, sometimes these decisions will annoy you, but she is a lovable character, but all in all, if you really love damsels in distress, suppression, oppression and fantastical elements, then Within the Shadows is for you.

About the Author:

Julieanne Lynch
Fiery Librian Julieanne Lynch is an author of urban fantasy books for both adults and teens. Julieanne lives in Northern Ireland, where she works on her Shadows Trilogy and other series full-time. Before becoming a writer, she considered a few different career paths, a rock star being one of them. She studied English Literature and Creative Writing at The Open University, and considered journalism as a career path. However, she decided writing was the way for her and believes all of her education and reading prepared her for it.

Find Julieanne online:
http://www.julieannelynch.co.uk
http://www.julieannelynch.blogspot.com#
https://www.facebook.com/AuthorJulieanneLynch

Where to purchase Within the Shadows:
http://www.amazon.com/Within-Shadows-Shadow-Novels-ebook/dp/B008MZJB3W/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1345464957&sr=1-1&keywords=j+a+lynch


https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B008MZJB3W


http://www.freewebstore.org/storepage1218883.aspx

So now, here’s my review:
Hmmm, what if I say the leading lady makes me wanna slap her-hard! Hahaha ok, first, I totally get being scared of a vampire. I mean they are scary!! But Giselle is so submissive, yet she has a total mouth on her, lol! I will say I enjoyed this book for the mere fact that I STILL have no idea who exactly is a bad guy and who is a good guy! There is so many secrets going on!

Maybe my other advice to Giselle, is after you grow some assertiveness, you should pick better boyfriends hahaha not that it’s all her fault. BUT, there would be no forgiving Mark, I would be staking some vamps in their sleep, and I would totally make them kill me first hahaha

I have no nice words for Marc, but he’s a major character that plays a big role for the plot, so I will continue thinking mean thoughts at him LOL

Alex scares me, and he is a bully! I can’t tell you why I think this without giving too many things away, but I will say that you will love him, then love to hate him.

Leonid is still a little confusing to me, but I like him! And ANTOINE!! Yeah, I think he will be my book boyfriend for this series. I’m not sure I trust him, but I love him.

Alot of readers will probably like Giselle more than I do, but it’s not because she isn’t written well. In fact, the writing is pretty damn good- if I might say. But I know girls like her. And they make me mad, which is probably why I feel that way toward her. I will say, in the end she redeemed herself- at least for me. She finally started making some better decisions, and she is now seeing the big picture… To Giselle, I say-GO GET EM!! 🙂

There are so many twists, and turns, and heartbreaks! I can’t say enough about how fun this story was with all the crazy going on! Lol yeah it’s crazy! I would recommend this for the more mature ya audiences, as there are some more graphic scenes with violence. It’s also a very deep and complex story. but it’s very intriguing in this new vampire world 🙂

4 PAWS FROM ME! I can’t wait for this story to continue! I need to know where things go from here!

And NOW, here’s the giveaway: I would like to offer an ebook copy of choice in format a copy of WITHIN THE SHADOWS. All you have to do is leave me a nice comment, or a question for the author. 🙂 So now, go forth and comment! and good luck! Happy reading everyone! Later Gators! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Within the Shadows Blog Tour w Giveaway

  1. bn100 says:

    Fun review about the characters.

  2. S.A. says:

    I think you and I think alike, Maghon when it comes to main characters in novels. I’m not one to like the submissive damsel in distress because they tick (insert cuss word) me off. Hahaha! I’m glad it sounds like she redeems herself at the end.

    I’m usually not one to look at a book cover and be drawn to it, but this is the exception. What a cool, creepy cover!

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  3. Julie Witt says:

    I can’t wait to read Within the Shadows and have a new book boyfriend! Antoine sounds great, and I also can’t wait to read about Marc because there always has to be a character that you can send all your hate feelings to! lol Thanks so much for the awesome review and the chance to win a copy of Within the Shadows so I can get to know the characters for myself 🙂

    P.S. I totally agree with S.A. that the cover definitely draws you in and is deliciously cool and creepy!

What do you have to say?

