Shifted Perspecitve Blog Tour

Shifted Perspective

Tails of Change Book One

By J. Bridger

Genre: paranormal young adult

Number of pages: 192 (as a word doc/.PDF)

Word Count: 69, 977

Cover Artist: Rebecca Weaver

Shifted Perspective (Tails of Change, #1)

Book Description:

Caleb Byrne is a bright high school senior who has enough to deal with between college choices, taking care of his single dad, and dealing with his headstrong girlfriend Joanna and an eccentric set of cousins in California. He was managing to get by until the day he woke up a Cocker Spaniel. Even if it only happens monthly and is more embarrassing than painful, the so-called ability is something that he’s anxious to be rid of.

He didn’t realize his transformations would drag him into a hidden society of canine and lupine shape shifters as well as a family legacy he hates. To make matters worse, after moving to Los Angeles to learn more about his heritage from his Aunt Moira and his cousin Kalista, Caleb now struggles through life-and-death matters. He keeps angering the werewolves in charge of the shifter world, especially Kalista’s boyfriend Peter, the Southern California alpha’s son, who also happens to be grade-A sociopath. Worse, Caleb’s floundering to keep his secret from Joanna.

While his family offers him some support, they may not be enough as Caleb realizes that the rules in shifter society—number one being don’t kill humans—are not so ironclad. Some werewolf out there is leaving a blood-soaked trail across the Midwest and it might just be with the alpha’s blessing…

Amazon

Smashwords

Author Bio:

J. Bridger has had an eclectic life. She’s worked in the psychiatric ward in a hospital in La Paz, Bolivia, been a veterinary intern giving all sorts of better-left-to-the-imagination exams to dogs and cats, and had her own spate in creating and running a television ad campaign. Currently, in her day job, she is getting her certification as a medical Spanish interpreter in the Raleigh-Durham area of North Carolina.

By night, she’s a fledgling author, who has just penned her debut novel, Shifted Perspective; she is currently working on its sequel, the next installment of The Tails of Change Series. J.’s always loved things that go bump (or that howl) in the night and devoured Stephen King, Anne Rice, and Clive Barker starting in middle school. Her favorite shows are no less preternatural and include Big Wolf on Campus, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and Teen Wolf. While she’s been writing fiction for eight years and been published in several academic journals for her psychological research, this is her first venture into published original fiction.

J. Bridger lives in Raleigh with two Yorkies, a beagle, and a Schnauzer-Yorkie mix (as well as far too many dust bunnies).

Blog – http://www.jbridgerwriting.blogspot.com/

Twitter – https://twitter.com/JBridger1313

Tumblr –http://www.tumblr.com/blog/jbridger1313

I’d like to welcome the author for an Author Interview: WELCOME!! 🙂

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

I was always into telling stories, even if it was just playing pretend as a kid. I really started writing in high school but I’ve spent a lot of time keeping stories private. I published some things when I was in grad school but they were scientific papers. Being a writer now publicly and professionally is totally new to me.

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

For my debut novel, Shifted Perspective, I was inspired by a mix of things. I’ve always been into werewolves and that mythology, but I’d also seen a lot of incarnations of that. I wanted to do something different and a bit more tongue-in-cheek. Besides that, I have four dogs and adore them. So mixing werewolves with canine/dog shape shifters seemed like a natural fit.

I actually loved that part! Dog shifters 🙂 Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Sometimes for this books it was based on what I thought my dogs would say if they could talk, but I don’t base characters on real life people even composites of a few of them.

I promise, you probably wouldn’t want to know what my dogs would say hahahaha and they would give away all my secrets 🙂 How do you chose when/which characters die in your books?

No one’s really died yet so I wouldn’t know!

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest or that you recommend, other than yourself of course?

Well, I’m still new to reading indie or smaller press authors. I do recommend Roxanne Smolen, whose book, The Amazing Wolfboy I just loved. I also have a standard list of more famous authors I love but if you’re into werewolves, I’d say Carrie Vaughn, Patricia Briggs, Kelley Armstrong, and Nancy Holder are great places to start.

I’ve read several of those!! And I love them 🙂 Who do you look up to as a writer?

Ernest Hemingway. I like his brevity and ability to paint a picture while still being a minimalist.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

I’d have integrated my lead’s cousin, Kalista, in more, but I just couldn’t get her in as much as I wanted as it didn’t fit the momentum of the novel.

I do really like Kalista too 🙂 Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Description. I’m more a dialogue person, but I know I need to find a better balance in descriptions.

I actually prefer more dialogue over description so I think it’s pretty darn good! What book are you reading now? Or what genre?

Glimpse, which is a young adult dystopian novel.

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

I had a great cover designer, Rebecca Weaver, and she takes commissions. I really enjoyed working with her. I mean, I pitched her the cover idea and offered some input on drafts but she did about 98% of it, no doubt.

I love the cover. The dog with a human shadow- so cool! Have you ever bought a book based on the cover?

Yeah I think so. The first time I saw an Animorphs cover, I had to try it.

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

That it’s a daily thing. It’s not like sitting down and doing 10.000 words in one sitting but just constant, daily effort. Breaking it down into little pieces results in it getting done in first draft before you know it!

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

Probably Sampson, the old blood hound offering running commentary in the novel. He seems to have it together and be very practical.

I LOVE SAMPSON! Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

That I really enjoyed this book, and I think it’s funny and charming. I hope they do too!

and now for my review ok, first, I gotta say the main character is the CUTEST shifter EVER!!! Umm, I wouldn’t chose a cocker spaniel, but they are still so cute! LOL! This is a special kind of story. I am calling it cute, because it is, but not like reading a 5 year old’s book. It’s got some romantic sides, some mystery, and even some action 🙂 I am trying hard to think of how to review without being spoilery… Ever have this issue? I want to tell you “this”, but then I’d give something major away 🙂 so I will talk about things in the blurb lol

Caleb is a typical teenage boy, who happens to be quite intelligent. All he wants is to go to Duke, which he got accepted early to, and see his dad on breaks, and be close to his girlfriend. But the end of his senior year is not shaping up this way. I actually really like Caleb. He’s got an interesting mind set, he’s pretty funny, and he’s got his own kind of sarcasm going on. he gets funnier when he turns into a cocker. I feel bad for him a good bit. I’d love to be a shifter, but maybe not with all of Caleb’s problems 🙂

Caleb’s maternal family out in California freak me out a bit. Let me say I like Kalista, and her mom, but the rest, oh if only you could pick your family- these are the ones you’d run from 🙂 and then things get darker and scarier, and real serious real quick. Excellent writing going on here 🙂

Caleb’s dad is pretty cool, if I must say so. And I LOVE SAMPSON- who is their bloodhound 🙂 he is the all wise dog encyclopedia lol and his personality is just great. First, I personally love bloodhounds! I love when they come to my clinic, so Sampson is an automatic like. But him being so funny, like the way he describes things or calls them funny names, he’s just so loveable!

The writing is great, as I got into the story and didn’t have any pauses or me trying to figure out a meaning or what was actually being said 🙂 easy flow! Interesting plots and an all around fun read!

I would recommend this to pretty much any one. It’s easy, it flows, and I can’t help but still call it cute Even if it’s got a dark side 🙂 I really enjoyed it. Especially the talking dog! 🙂 Sampson is my favorite from the book! I am looking forward to reading more of this series 🙂

4.5 PAWS from me 🙂 /span>

Well guys! I’d like to thank everyone who stopped in today, and the author for coming visit! I hope you guys enjoyed it! Happy reading! Later Gators!! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Shifted Perspecitve Blog Tour

  1. I picked this book up as a freebie. Your review just bumped it up in my TBR list 😉

What do you have to say?

