Piercing the Fold Spotlight w giveaway

Hello everyone! today I have a lovely author over, and I would love to share her goodies with you.  Goodreads is sometimes the coolest place to be! I’ve met some great people there. This lovely author is now one of them. 🙂 So with that said, let me share the good stuff with you 😉 
 Piercing the Fold
you can click on the cover photo above and it will take you the goodreads page 🙂 here’s the blurb:
from goodreads:  Such is life, Jesca Gershon-Sera does not see this coming. 
Life is pretty normal for Jesca in Marrieta, Georgia. She is a sophomore at Southern Polytechnic State University and holds a part-time job at a local bookstore. Her life is predictable and comfortable; nothing out of the ordinary. 
Until, Jesca begins experiencing reoccurring childhood nightmares. Her reality is set askew. The terrors take on a stronger meaning, when dark looming auras, distorted beings, and her unnatural physical and mental abilities begin to seep out of the dream realm and into her real world. Jesca begins to question her sanity as these terrors increase and flood her reality. 
At the peak of what could be her mental breaking point, Jesca has multiple coincidental encounters with her professor, Ezra Kahn. Jesca is blind-sided as Ezra exposes how these terrors are part of a reality in our world set askew and that Jesca must claim her role in a battle to protect humanity from eminent catastrophe. 
Jesca begins her quest, discovering herself, her inevitable purpose, and the undeniable truth that she is part of humanity’s salvation whether she is ready or not. 
Book 1 of this series, Piercing the Fold brings forth “smart” science fiction reflecting on real scientific and spiritual endeavors of our time. Artfully intermingling science fiction, the paranormal, romance, and thrilling suspense leaving readers questioning where Jesca’s journey will take them next.
Piercing the fold book trailer: 
Sounds so interesting doesn’t it. I recently just connected with this author, so she sent me a copy to review. I promise you guys I will get right on that 🙂 but since I haven’t reviewed yet, I figured you’d like to learn a little about Ms. Kimball, so I would like you guys to welcome her over for an interview! WELCOME VENESSA!! 
Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?
I wrote endlessly when I was a child and through high school.  I always enjoyed unleashing my mind onto paper;  putting it out there in my own way.  In high school, I had an amazing creative writing teacher, Mr. Larry Gries.  He helped me bring structure to my writing.  Over the years between high school and pre-independent authorship, I wrote creatively through journaling.  Nothing heavy, just daily inspirations and interactions.  After having my first of three children, I started becoming more of a reader.  I read everything.  I joined book clubs.  I devoured books for a good 9 years.  I think through those years, I was living vicariously through all of the those authors I read.  I always thought in the back of my mind, “I think I could write a book.  I just need that singular idea that will turn into an amazing storyline.”  Well, my thought came to fruition on November 23, 2012 when I began drafting  Piercing the Fold: Book 1.

 What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

Piercing the Fold: Book 1 is my first book.  My inspiration was  a singular idea. I was watching a show on wormholes and I started really contemplating the plausibility. From that one idea/concept a whole movie played out in my head, characters and all. Jesca’s character was very vivid to me in my mind. She was the muse that unfolded the entire storyline. Within days, I had a complete outline for Piercing the Fold Book 1 and a partial outline for Surfacing the Rim Book 2 (which will be released March 2013).

How do you chose when/which characters die in your books?

I really don’t choose. I let the story speak to me and I listen.  If the ending of a character makes sense based on the past and beneficial for the future of the storyline, then I follow the lead. 

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest or that you recommend, other than yourself of course?  Rebecca Donovan, Jamie McGuire, and Abbi Glines are just a couple that have grasped my interest recently. 

Who do you look up to as a writer?

There are so many authors I have looked up to.  Nathaniel Hawthorne, Edgar Allen Poe, Lewis Carroll, Anne Rice, Diana Gabaldon, and more recently Tracey Garvis Graves, Stephenie Myers, Suzanne Collins, Jamie McGuire, Rebecca Donovan, and Abbi Glines. 

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

As far as storyline, characters, plot?  No.  I wouldn’t.  As far as hiring and editor for my first novel ever? Yes.  I would change that.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Editing. 

What book are you reading now? Or what genre?

I am reading Angelfall by Susan Ee 

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

K.C. Designs designed the cover.  Kate was amazing.  She rendered the device, the Copula, from the book. Then, she and I collaborated ideas for the details surrounding it.  We worked back and forth for about a week.  She was so detailed and professional. A pleasure to work with.  We will be working together again for the 2nd book cover as well as the 3rd book cover in the Piercing the Fold series. 

Have you ever bought a book based on the cover?

Yes, if I haven’t heard of the book prior to seeing the cover.  Most books I hear about by word of mouth.  However, sometimes a cover just speaks to you. 

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

I learned to let my mind wander again.  So many careers and jobs force that wandering out of you so that you can stay focused and conformed to the objective, the quota.  I am very blessed and privileged to be able to wander creatively through writing again.  Because so many don’t have that luxury, I’m not going to take a single day of it for granted.   

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

Most definitely Jesca Gershon-Sera.  Book 2 will show so many more layers of Jesca’s persona.  Her character continues to amaze me.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

 I enjoy hearing from the readers. And, I love to hear how the book has effected them. I have gotten some great insight from readers on Piercing the Fold: Book 1 and it has definitely spilled into the second and third book in the series. 

Check out Piercing the Fold Fanpage on Facebook! I’m doing an awesome 10 paperback signed copy giveaway right now! You still have time, the deadline is September 29 midnight. 5 steps in the contest…make sure and do them all! 

Become a Fan on Twitter and Facebook and post your thoughts on my wall or message me.  I am always posting updates on coming events and releases.  Oh, and the most recent coming event. The Piercing the Fold: Book 1 Audio book will be released sometime in October 2012.  It is going to be a unique experience. There will not just be one narrator/voice throughout the book.  There will be multiple voice/characters speaking. Creating a movie in your mind through the audio…it’s going to be awesome! 

Thank you so much Ms. Venessa! I enjoyed all your answers, and since you just talked about your giveaway… I am going to start talking about it as well!! 

The FIRST giveaway is to ANYONE who likes the fan page on Facebook.  The author will randomly pick THREE winners-aka anyone who likes the page- to get kindle copies of the book… SO GO HERE and click LIKE… and you are automatically entered to win!! 🙂 YAY! 

This is the second giveaway part. So, here’s your links that you will need 🙂

GO HERE for the event on facebook

 GO HERE to like the facebook fan page

GO HERE to visit the author’s website

Go HERE to visit the author’s goodreads page

GO HERE to visit the book’s goodreads page

GO HERE to get your copy on amazon… it’s $2.99 for a kindle copy-but if you are a prime member it’s FREE 🙂

If you already have this book, read it and write a lil review, and post it to amazon and goodreads, and send a link over to the author. She is giving away a ton of copies both digital and paperback copies 🙂 I know it’s kinda short notice, as you only have a few days left. 🙂 

About the author:

Venessa Kimball, born October 21, 1975, is a graduate of The University of Texas at Austin. Her hometown is San Antonio, Texas. She currently resides in Amarillo,Texas with her loving husband and 3 amazing children.

For 3 years, she taught at an Austin, Texas middle school. For 6 years, she was a full-time Texas Realtor in the Austin Metro Area. 
In 2010, she revisted her writing roots that were so prominent in her high school years. Piercing the Fold, her debut novel, was born on November 23rd of that year. Venessa is a full-time, independent author. 

To find out more about Venessa Kimball and future projects, including the 2nd book in the Piercing the Fold series, visit www.VenessaKimball.net

I would like to thank Ms. Venessa for sending me that awesome email, introducing me to a new book series! and for her wonderful interview! 🙂 I wish you guys all good luck on her giveaway! 🙂 and as always, happy reading! 🙂 Later Gators!

2 thoughts on “Piercing the Fold Spotlight w giveaway

  1. Jean S. says:

    Sounds interesting. I like the cover too. It’s nice to hear of an author who listens to the fans and incorporates changes into the coming books.

What do you have to say?

