Absolution Book Tour :) YAY! w giveaway

LOOKIE LOOKE WHAT I GOT!!! If you are a regular follower, you KNOW how excited I was that the author sent me an Arc of this book, because that hot male piece on the cover is my book boyfriend!! (if you’d like to see my crazy excited self, GO HERE for that post) 🙂 His book, Absolution releases on my birthday this year, which is October 9th. 🙂 YAY!!! 🙂 But anyways, today is all about the book tour and the goodies 🙂 so Let me get right to that 🙂 Click above on the banner to take you to the tour host’s site and below on the cover to go to the goodreads page!

Absolution (Penton Legacy #2)

ABSOLUTION

The Penton Legacy, Book 2

By Susannah Sandlin

Release date: October 9, 2012

Publisher: Montlake Romance

Book Description:

With the vampire world on the brink of civil war over the scarcity of untainted human blood, battle lines are being drawn between the once peaceful vampire and human enclave of Penton, Alabama, and the powerful Vampire Tribunal.

A Scottish gallowglass warrior turned vampire in the early 17th century, Mirren Kincaid once served the Tribunal as its most creative and ruthless executioner—a time when he was known as the Slayer. But when assigned a killing he found questionable, Mirren abandoned the Tribunal’s political machinations and disappeared—only to resurface two centuries later as the protector and second-in-command of Penton. Now the Tribunal wants him back on their side—or dead.

To break their rogue agent, they capture Glory Cummings, the descendant of a shaman, and send her to restore Mirren’s bloodthirsty nature. But instead of a monster, Glory sees a man burdened by the weight of his past. Could her magic touch—meant by the tribunal to bring out a violent killer—actually help Mirren break his bonds and discover the love he doesn’t believe he deserves?

It’s a town under siege, a powerful warrior in a battle with his past, and one woman who can make the earth move—literally—as the Penton Legacy continues.

Amazon Barnes & Noble Book Depository

Redemption (Penton Legacy #1)
REDEMPTION

Book One Penton Legacy series

By Susannah Sandlin

Following a worldwide pandemic whose vaccine left human blood deadly to vampires, the vampire community is on the verge of starvation and panic. Some have fanned into rural areas, where the vaccine was less prevalent, and are taking unsuspecting humans as blood slaves. Others are simply starving, which for a vampire is worse than death—a raging hunger in a creature too weak to feed.

Immune to these struggles—at first—is Penton, a tiny community in rural Chambers County, Alabama, an abandoned cotton mill town that has been repopulated by charismatic vampire Aidan Murphy, his scathe of 50 vampires, and their willingly bonded humans. Aidan has recruited his people carefully, believing in a peaceful community where the humans are respected and the vampires retain a bit of their humanity.

But an unresolved family feud and the paranoia of the Vampire Tribunal descend on Penton in the form of Aidan’s brother, Owen Murphy. Owen has been issued a death warrant that can only be commuted if he destroys Penton—and Aidan, against whom he’s held a grudge since both were turned vampire in 17th-century Ireland. Owen begins a systematic attack on the town, first killing its doctor, then attacking one of Aidan’s own human familiars

To protect his people, Aidan is forced to go against his principles and kidnap an unvaccinated human doctor—and finds himself falling in love for the first time since the death of his wife in Ireland centuries ago.

Dr. Krystal Harris, forced into a world she never knew existed, must face up to her own abusive past to learn if the feelings she’s developing for her kidnapper are real—or just a warped, supernatural kind of Stockholm Syndrome in which she’s allowing herself to become a victim yet again.

Amazon Barnes and Noble Book Depository

my review of Redemption is HERE

Susannah Sandlin’s REDEMPTION is the first in the Penton Legacy series. Book two, ABSOLUTION, will be out October 9, and book three, OMEGA, on December 18.

And here’s a little excerpt, just for you guys!

What was Matthias thinking, throwing a human woman in the cell with a vampire who’d been locked up and starved for over a month?

Mirren waited on the bench, his back against the wall, his head down. Waited until Matthias climbed the steps, slammed the door, clicked the dead bolt home. Waited until he could get control of the hunger that had begun raging the second the woman stumbled down the stairway. She was unvaccinated, and he wanted nothing more than to take her, blood and body, until there was nothing left.

If he did that, he’d be no better than the version of Mirren Kincaid he’d tried so hard to leave behind. He’d be the Slayer again. His hands could too easily remember the mindless sweep of the sword, the heavy fall of the battle-ax, the controlled back-thrust of a heavy firearm. If the cold darkness ever fell over him again, he feared he’d embrace it.

“Mister, you awake?”

Shit. She would have to be a talker. Mirren hated a talky woman. They always expected you to talk back.

He raised his head slowly and caught his breath. She was young, maybe mid-twenties, and pretty in a rode-hard kind of way.

“Your eyes are silver—I’ve seen enough vampires since I was kidnapped to know when your eyes get lighter, it means you’re hungry. But I’ve never seen any like yours. How long has it been since you ate? Umm…Make that how long since you drank?”

If the stupid woman kept walking toward him, he wouldn’t be held responsible. “Stay where you are.” He narrowed his eyes at her, thinking. How could she help him without sending his need so far over the edge he lost control of it?

She eeked when he shifted on the bench and turned his back toward her. “Untie me.”

She stumbled a little when she reached the bench and sat hard. The woman was stoned out of her gourd. He could smell the drugs on her.

“Your wrists are all torn up. That has to hurt.” She sat on the bench behind him, and Mirren breathed in her scent with his eyes closed. Damn, but he wanted to feed so badly his muscles ached.

She muttered as she worked, her drug-addled fingers slipping off the rope. “You’re so big that I’m surprised this rope could hold you. I should be able to…Let’s see here, it’s too dark. Man, this is funky rope.”

“Stop yapping, start untying.” She had that broad, soft Southern accent he found sexy, but she used it way too much.

“Yeah, yeah, okay.” She tugged harder on the ropes, burning his sensitive wrists with each pull. “Sorry, sorry. Why is it burning your skin like that?”

Mirren growled and spoke through gritted teeth. “It’s laced with silver, and I’m a freaking vampire. Just untie me.” Damn, he had to get himself under control, or he’d scare the woman to death and she wouldn’t finish freeing his arms or feed him either one.

“Well, you’ve got the funny eyes, but I don’t see any fangs.”

God help him, he’d show her some fangs. “I said I was a vampire. Now finish untying me.”

Mirren twisted his wrists and felt the rope give way—the woman had gotten it loose enough that he didn’t need her help.

“But wait, how do I know you—”

She gasped as Mirren pulled his wrists apart, popped the rope onto the cell floor, and shifted around to face her.

“Can you…?” She paused and swallowed hard, edging away from him on the bench. Mirren’s gaze dropped to her mouth. “Can you feed without killing me?”

Mirren nodded slowly. Maybe. Maybe not.

My Review:

*sigh* I think I’m depressed… My book boyfriend has left the market…. Which makes me feel…. €]%\*|€|*|¥\|€|¥|€|£,€•[=\€>@/@2)/?¥€\€!!!!!! Ok that’s me trying to express myself in appropriate words!!! OHH MYY GODDD!!! I love you Ms Susannah!!! I knew I was completely hooked after reading Redemption and that I was of course going to love Absolution… I just didn’t think I would be IN LOVE with this book! Like seriously… I don’t think there are enough words on the planet to describe how AWESOME this book made me feel! Let me see… amazing, astonishing, inspiring, daunting, formidable, impressive, magnificent, majestic, mind blowing!!! Holy crapizoly!!! If I could sum this book up in one sentence, I was, “This book is a breath-taking ride of spectacular!” Ok, I will let my brain rest from all those adjectives now! LOL

so I have this whole soft spot for Mr Big Bad Vampire, which is a feat in itself, since I’m totally a werewolf girl. I NEVER expected to be so happy to be replaced in my fantasy land where I actually GET Mirren! Yes, I know it’s called paranormal romance, but hot damn if this isn’t one if the BEST damn action filled books I’ve read. I think that’s why I love this series so much. There is never a way to get bored! I mean the SHOWER SCENE… Totally hot!! The sword fighting- even hotter! And THE CRAZY TRAGEDIES!!! I really didn’t expect to see those characters die!!! Dude it’s a vampire war so of course there would be deaths, but… I’m at a complete loss for words!

Lets talk writing style… FLAWLESS!!! I swear each word is put in place to keep me up ALL night, have me thinking about these characters for DAYS after, and leave me with and EXPLOSION of thoughts about a what’s coming!!! How dare you tease me so much!!! I’m not a writer, not even close, so there isn’t a way for me to say how awesome Ms Sandlin writes other than that- ITS AWESOME!!! I have read a lot of books, and NO ONE writes like her… Well except this one person, initials of SJ, writes this awesome UF series… Hahahahaha yeah I slipped that in there! 🙂

I’ve decided to be careful about which characters I talk about. For reasons you will have to read to find out, but each one is so well developed. Even the small, secondary and tertiary characters are really well developed. They could have one small piece of the book, yet I feel completely understanding of why they are in it and what’s the significance. And I didn’t think I’d ever say this, but Will has totally won me over!! I’m still all for Mirren, but Will has earned his own spot for me 🙂 And the plot line!!! do I even need to stress how flipping fantabulous this plot line is! I mean it started with humans getting a damn vaccine and then all of a sudden, vampires are lethally allergic to vaccinated blood! And somebody smart enough finds a way to live with that, and the stupid political vampires just wanna be idiots and ruin it… Don’t be jealous your brain rotted with your humanity! Hahahaha oh & in a funny moment, I KNOW MIRREN’S SECRET!!! * giggles like a school girl* how cute that he’s sensitive about it too! Lol

Ok it’s down to this… If you haven’t read this series yet… what are you waiting for?!?! there is something for everyone here! I’m still secretly hoping a werewolf pops in somewhere, but HAWT SMOKING VAMPIRES WITH SWORDS AND BIG GUNS!!! Ummm like I need to say one word more than HAWT! Hahahaha In reference to Mirren’s book birthday and my own birthday… 9 PAWS!!! Yeah I know my scale only goes to 5 PAWS, but in my book, it still counts! I will have a toast to the Penton people who have made my life a joy on October 9!! I’m so going to cry when it’s over.

And now I would like to welcome the author over for an interview… THANK YOU THANK YOU FOR BEING HERE!!! YAY!!! oh and of course, WELCOME!! 🙂

I just want to thank you again so much for taking the time to answer questions for my blog!

Thanks for having me here, Maghon!

Hehehe, I’m SOOOO excited, but first, tell me a little about your book ….

Absolution continues the Penton Legacy paranormal romance series that began in June with Redemption (although the books can be read as standalones). Vampires are on the brink of civil war after a pandemic vaccine has made the blood of vaccinated humans poisonous to them. The battle converges on a small town in Alabama, and Absolution tells the story of vampire warrior Mirren Kincaid, a former Scottish gallowglass mercenary with an ugly, violent past, and Glory, a human woman who unwittingly gets caught in the middle of the brewing war. Um…did I mention there’s a love story? Mirren and Glory make an awesome couple!

YES THEY DO!! Im trying not to be depressed about this! LOL Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

I’ve worked as a journalist for a long time and journaled and wrote bad poetry in high school, so I’ve always been interested in it. I came to writing fiction only about three or four years ago, though, and now I can’t seem to stop.

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

My first book, Royal Street (written as Suzanne Johnson), kicks off an urban fantasy that centers around Hurricane Katrina. I’d been living in New Orleans for about twelve years at the time Katrina hit, and I started the novel as a way of coming to terms with that. But I can’t seem to keep from inserting romance into whatever I’m writing, so writing paranormal romance seemed like a natural—thus, Susannah Sandlin.

I love you as BOTH names 🙂 Youve become my “buy automatically” author! Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I wish I knew some sexy vampires! Actually, though, the town of Penton, Alabama, where Absolution is set, is based on a little crossroads community in Chambers County, Alabama, about thirty miles from where I live. The town itself is fictional, but the community exists. It’s a REALLY isolated area, which is why I picked it as the setting for my vampire town. And I got the whole idea for the pandemic vaccine after I came down with the H1N1 virus a few years ago.

How nuts!!! I caught it too! it was bad! And this is probably my most need to know question! How do you choose when/which characters die in your books?

I think when an author starts a book or series, she has to decide from the outset who in the book is unkillable. To me, in a romance, the hero and heroine are the only unkillable characters, and sometimes it’s necessary for a popular character to die in order to raise the stakes in the story or to prove how high the stakes are. In Absolution, especially, I killed off a couple of characters I really, really liked. I was so sad about one, in fact, that I went back and rewrote the scene without the death but it needed that harsh dose of violence so I left it in.

At first, I was so shocked by that death, that I stared at the pages for several minutes before i could move! but I understand… And then I cheered once, no twice for two others 🙂 Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

With two book series active, my reading time has been seriously limited lately. I’m even behind with my favorites!

Who do you look up to as a writer?

I grew up reading Stephen King, and I still think he’s a master at building tension in a story. I love Jim Butcher’s ability to twist a plot consistently in his Dresden series so that it just gets deeper and deeper. A lot of series are fizzling by the time they reach fourteen or fifteen books, but this one hasn’t. And I love JR Ward’s ability to create strong male characters in her Black Dagger Brotherhood series; those guys are so, so damaged and fallible, and yet are ultimately noble and heroic. Um, and sexy.

I completely agree about Mr Butcher. Harry Dresden has a piece of my heart! If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

In Absolution? Actually, I don’t think so, which is unusual for me—I always want to change something. But I was really happy with Mirren and Glory’s story. Some books are hard, and you have to fight with your characters to get them to open up and tell you their secrets. Others come to you fully formed and with such chemistry that it’s like a gift, and Mirren and Glory were like that for me. The story line running in the background of Absolution is deadly serious, but those two cracked me up a lot of the time. I had so much fun writing them.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I have a tendency to write really complex plots, so the challenge for me is not overdoing the plot lines and subplots. Simplifying the main story and letting it play out without too much noise around it—that’s what I’m working on in my writing now.

well, fantastic job!! What book are you reading now? Or what genre?

I’m reading a couple of books to review/preview. The first is a debut novel by Rob DeBorde called Portlandtown that’s sort of a zombie cowboy western with magic—it comes out next week. The second, which I’m just about to start, is Cynthia Eden’s Angel in Chains, a paranormal romance that comes out in December. (Yes, obviously, I have eclectic taste!)

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

Right now, it would be Glory. I mean, Mirren is HOT, and she has some awesome skills. She’s been through some horrible stuff, but she is strong and smart. (And did I mention Mirren is hot?)

Um, Mirren’s wanna be girlfriend here, so I’ll second that!! LOL Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I love to hear from readers, and I always answer my emails

I will vouch for this!! She even sends me surprise ones hahahaha 🙂 Thank you Thank you THANK YOU!!! I am besides myself to have you over and I am SOOO excited for more of your books to come out this year!!! 🙂

About the Author:

Susannah Sandlin

Susannah Sandlin is the author of paranormal romance set in the Deep South, where there are always things that go bump in the night.

A journalist by day, Susannah grew up in Alabama reading the gothic novels of Susan Howatch and the horror fantasy of Stephen King. (Um…it is fantasy, right?)

The combination of Howatch and King probably explains a lot. Currently a resident of Auburn, Alabama, Susannah has also lived in Illinois, Texas, California, and Louisiana.

Website: http://www.susannahsandlin.com

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/susannahsandlin

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/susannahsandlin

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5828129.Susannah_Sandlin

Indie Bound: http://www.indiebound.org/book/9781612183541

I seriously suggest you stalk this author! not only does she give away her OWN books all the time, but other author’s as well! seriously! killer giveaways, go stalk her NOW! I do 🙂

the Giveaway:

I know you guys are dying to know what the giveaway is… so here ya go!

Tour wide Giveaway

1 Kindle Paper White (or $100 U.S. gift card to Amazon, B&N, or Book Depository winner’s choice),

5 signed print or audio copies of Absolution winner’s choice of print or audio

dude, that’s a KINDLE! wooooo!!!! yep you read that right. She is giving away all kind of goodies here. so Let me explain. Follow the tour. Head HERE to Bewitching Book Tours site. in the upper right hand corner you will see the “Absolution” currently on tour link. It’s not live yet (I set up my posts early but it will be live when you read this). There is a rafflecopter on that page. You MUST fill out the rafflecopter to enter all the giveaways. And then you can leave your comments on each day’s post. that gives you an EXTRA entry for the giveaway for the grand prize- the kindle!

I seriously wish everyone EXTRA GOOD LUCK!!! that’s a total of 6 winners! and one of those will win a kindle, while they rest get their CHOICE of paperback or digital copy of Absolution! 🙂

Thank you again Bewitching Book Tours and Ms. Susannah, and Ms. Suzanne LOL, for putting this tour together. I wouldn’t have missed it for the world! 🙂 I also will never let those special ARCs out of my sight! 🙂 I hope everyone had a great day with me. Happy Reading everyone! Later gators!! 🙂

26 thoughts on “Absolution Book Tour :) YAY! w giveaway

  1. Christina K. says:

    That’s an awesome excerpt! And how cool is it that vampire society wars over lack of resources. Very cool political twist:)

  2. Thanks for having me here today, Maghon! (Mirren says hi. Well, okay, he sorta waved.)

    • magluvsya03 says:

      Hahaha yeah he waves, but I think Will is making a better case for me to switch alliances hahaha 🙂

      Thank you sooooo much for this!!! I’m still so excited!!

  3. miki says:

    It’s a great birthday to have Mirren released at that date ( or a sad one him stopping being available).
    I don’t like to see characters die, i understand the utility of them yes but sometimes when it’s one i really like i found myself crying like a baby^^;;

    good review and happy birthday in advance^^^( perhaps mirren has a brother he forgot about^^)

  4. Wow Magon! I thought I loved Mirren, but you are soooo head over heals!! I love it! Great review and post!!

    • magluvsya03 says:

      Thank you thank you!! I’m going through break up grief stages hahahaha 🙂 I wish you extra good luck! And if he ever changes his mind, I’ll share with you LOL 🙂

  5. So excited for the tour to begin. Wonderful review and Q&A. I have Absolution pre-ordered – will arrive soon I hope, just days now. Thanks Maghon for the review, you were really excited, which got me excited. LOL. Think I will really like Absolution. Wonderful when I like the second book in a series better than the first, like I did with the Sentinels of New Orleans series. [Have read a River Road ARC]

  6. I can’t wait for Mirren to get out and about, either! I don’t think authors are supposed to have favorite books, but I did love this one so I’m excited to get it out there!

  7. Throuthehaze says:

    I loved the excerpt and enjoyed your review 🙂 This series sounds interesting!

  8. bn100 says:

    I enjoyed the excerpt and interview. Sounds like a good series.

    bn100candg(at)hotmail(dot)com

  9. Ann Q says:

    This is a series that I certainly intend reading. I am always amazed at the beautiful covers on some books- like these.

  10. Thanks for the comments, everyone–and thanks to Maghon for hosting us!

  11. elaing8 says:

    Fantastic review.Enjoyed reading the post.

  12. Lethea B says:

    I loved Redemption & would love to win a paperback copy of Absolution!
    I don’t have a Kindle but I could give one a great home=D

  13. […] Multiple things to win including a kindle and Absolution HERE […]

  14. Staci aka Patches says:

    I am looking forward to reading this Author!!! Love The Covers! With reviews like this wowowow is all I can say!

  15. […] have a few other links to show you… I’ve posted about these books for a while now HERE is my link talking about Absolution, HERE I talk about redemption, HERE I talk about River Road […]

What do you have to say?

