Sharc Blog Tour

My lovely hellions… You know that totally cute, really funny actor named Paul Rudd, in some pretty awesome movies- well, I love his movies anyway… LOL… sooo, this isn’t the same guy hahahahaha got ya, BUT… he has the same name, SO HE MUST BE COOl!!! 🙂 Totally fantastic! AND it’s about SHARKS!!! 🙂 So, here we are 🙂 SO… I have some goodies for you 🙂 Lemme show you!

Sharc

Sharc by Paul Rudd

Genre: Romance, Adventure, Great Whites

Publisher: Taylor Street Books

 ISBN: 1479209899 / 978-1479209897

Number of pages: 285

Word Count: 101,000

 Cover Artist: Tim Roux

 Book Description:

 It’s massive, it’s intelligent, it’s relentless and it’s always looking for its next meal or its next challenge.

 Maxwell Baxter is intent on fulfilling his greatest ambition yet, and he is an ambitious man. He wants to build the largest floating aquarium in the world, an aquarium city, and fill it with all manner of monsters from the depths, the first being a presumed extinct Megalodon he has captured, a prehistoric monster shark currently only thirty-five feet long but destined to grow up to one hundred feet of raw, razor-toothed ravenous greed with extraordinary abilities to detect anything edible or threatening in the water for miles around.

 In the midst of international financial negotiations to raise the rest of the money to complete his ARC, and with the Governor of California being entertained on his private yacht on his way to review the facility, the Megalodon escapes and begins to terrorize everything in the Pacific, ships and other sea creatures alike, no matter what their size.

 Maxwell Baxter’s future rests on a knife-edge, and the Megalodon has a gigantic mouthful of them, each five feet long and giving it the capability to bite a small whale in half with one snap of its jaws.

 With a Megalodon about, if you are thinking of getting back into the water, don’t flatter yourself – you’ll barely be a snack.

 Amazon UK  Amazon US

Book Trailer 

Doesn’t that sound so intriguing!! First, I LOVE SHARKS!! Especially the Great Whites. When the tour opened for sign ups, I unfortunately was really backed up on reviews, so I didn’t get a chance to read it YET, but I had to get in on the tour… AND it was $0.99 on Amazon kindle, so I bought it… I WILL be reading it in the future 🙂 I couldn’t pass that up! 🙂  AND I have him over for an interview, so I will now like you all to welcome Mr. Paul Rudd!! 🙂 

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

Good first question. I’ve always been interested in movies, comics and anything fantasy, so I guess my fires were stoked from a very young age, although at the time I had no interest in writing myself. Only when I reached my early 30’s did I feel that I needed to change my direction in life. I see being immersed in a different world as a break from the hustle and bustle of reality. It gives my mind a break from the real world. Saying that, I have two lovely children and a lovely partner, and they all inspire me.

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

I remember one of the main line film magazines and every page made reference to a remake or a reboot of a franchise of some kind. It drove me nuts and I wanted to do something about it. I didn’t have enough money to make my own production company or pay for a movie myself so I did the next best thing, I made some stuff up. Sure, people have read about sharks, but my stories add a little bit more. I try and go that extra mile.

I will say that’s awesome 🙂 If you want something changed, so something about it! How do you choose when/which characters die in your books?

Nice question. It might sound obvious but I start writing from Chapter 1, line 1 and end at The End, so I see the characters developing in front of me. I tried writing a story by jumping around and drafting different chapters but I couldn’t grasp it.

Also, I think that at a point you have to ask yourself can this character do any more or has the time come to roll them under a bus or have them eaten alive by a pack of wild dogs? Also, some people you write about are just mean and need to see the insides of a shark’s stomach.

Fantastic!! Too bad all meanies can’t be fed to sharks hahahaha 🙂 It would give them a worse rep then they already have! Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest or that you recommend, other than yourself of course?

I do not mind blowing the Taylor Street trumpet, so I can recommend all of their authors. They are all like me, an indie author who has put a heart and soul into a story and has been given a chance to show it off to the world. As far as I am concerned they all deserve the chance.

I’ve really grown to love Blake Northcott too, the author of Vs. Reality, which is being made into a movie. I read Part I last year and it is a really cool concept, involving super powers and dicing with the lines between real life and reality, that’s probably why I’m a huge fan. Part II came out this year and is just as good.

I’m also a big fan of Scott Sigler, who is not a new author but has some fantastic ideas.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

SHARC was originally self-published under the name The ARC. I didn’t do a very good edit, even though I had an agent at the time, so I regret that big time. I felt let down to a certain degree and that I took advantage of everyone who bought it, because it wasn’t the finished article. That needed changing. As for the story, it is very much the same. Some of the characters have been taken out to make it run smoother, and others now have more involvement. As a whole I love the story itself.

What book are you reading now? Or what genre?

I have a Kindle full of books, the most recent being Zinmann by Robert Craven. His first novel Get Lenin, about a spy ring in World War II, rocked and so I had to get the sequel. I am also a huge James Patterson fan and the Alex Cross series. Some graphic novels are also gathering dust on my book shelf, like Godzilla and X-men vs Avengers.

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

I certainly did. Writing is so much hard work. It takes time to perfect a manuscript and I am not even sure whether that is ever possible as you are always amending. Research is essential. There is a lot I discovered and I am always referring back to my notes.

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

Tyler Baxter is a pretty cool character. Tall, athletic, good with the ladies…no, wait, that’s me!!! Just kidding, dear (in case the missus is reading this). He is also a bit sure of himself too, I prefer to take a back seat and watch the world go by. So I’d have to say Captain Dallas. He likes Johnny Cash, tape decks, the same blue shirts and he owns an X-Bow vessel named the Wakinyan.  

He sounds like a cool kid! Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

My heart and soul went into this story so all I ask it that you just give it a chance. Not everyone is a Clive Barker or Stephen King. I’ve learnt that everyone writes differently, and that I shouldn’t compare my style to anyone else. I am not sure people who read stories understand how much time and effort goes into it. Paying £1 or $1 for a story on Kindle or a few bucks for a paperback isn’t much in this day and age. Purchasing my story won’t change my life, although it will make me a happier bunny.

Thanks all for listening…

In answer to that, I will say, I heard Katy Perry say, ” I don’t wanna be the next somebody, I wanna be the next Katy Perry”, and I thought that was the most amazing thing anyone could ever say, SO GOOD FOR YOU!! BE YOURSELF! Everyone is meant to be themselves, not clones of anyone 🙂 I think that’s inspiring all in itself! And THANK YOU!! For stopping by and giving me such great answers! I promise to read your book soon! 🙂 

About the Author:

Ask a multi-award winning thespian if they would prefer a star on Hollywood Boulevard’s Walk of Fame or have the chance to write about a prehistoric shark and they’d take the easy option every time. Me? Sharks are a passion, they always have been. Not to say I have actually met any face to face or relied on a shark cage to keep me out of harm’s way; cos that’s just dumb!

So say hello to the real Paul Rudd. I’m a geek, pure and simple and a far throw from celebrity. I write lots. I’ve watched movies since birth, which probably makes a lot of sense to those who know me well.

My brain is a minefield of ideas just waiting to detonate and making them available has always been a dream. Now, with thanks to Taylor Street, I have managed to take my first step into the unknown.

So now starts the latest saga of my life and a little like the original Lord of the Rings cartoon, the outcome remains up in the air. If only the late Ralph Bakshi was here to conclude it… alas for now I will carry on chasing my own Moby Dick; the great white tooth of a Megalodon, so if anyone has a spare?

This is Paul Rudd of the Nostromo signing off…….

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/theauthorpaulrudd

Twitter: @sharcwriter

Blog:  http://sharcwriter.blogspot.co.uk/

Ok Kids, I really hope you guys enjoyed today 🙂 I sure did! Happy Reading everyone and later gators!! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Sharc Blog Tour

  1. Paul Rudd (not the hollywood actor!) says:

    Thanks so much for the interview. It brightened up my morning and I love it. And thanks for purchasing my novel. It really is appreciated. And most of all, I hope you enjoy the ride. Feel free to keep in touch

  2. A great interview, you’re so “up” for this book and it’s catching!
    Nicely done, the two of you, I really enjoyed reading it.
    I will be sharing this.

  3. Jean S. says:

    I love Shark Week and pretty much anything about sharks. What is it about sharks that is so fascinating? Cool trailer!!

    • Paul Rudd (not the hollywood actor!) says:

      Thanks for taking the time to read the interview and glad you liked the trailer.

What do you have to say?

