Demos City Blues Blog Tour w Giveaway!

Duh Duh, Dun Nuh!!! I got a werewolf book!!!! and it’s pretty fantastic!!!! HAHAHAHAHA ok, I had to be nut-so for just a moment, cuz you KNOW I love me some werewolf! 🙂 So, lemme show you all about it!

Demos City Blues (The Demos City Reports #2)

Demos City Blues
Book Two Demos City Series

Jonathan Lister

Genre: Urban Fantasy

ASIN: B008J7EYDK

Number of pages: 232 (approx)

Word Count: 83,735

Cover Artist: Nicholas Kay

Purchase Links: Amazon

Book Description:

War is coming to Demos City — in more ways than one. Leon Gray struggles to balance a new job with helping his daughter Shauna navigate the landmine life of a full werewolf. Further complicating matters, a new Alpha has arrived in Demos, laying claim to the territory as her own — including Leon. Meanwhile, the political information David Hastings unearthed may reveal a much darker truth than anyone expected. Demos City’s corruption has deep roots, older than the bones of the town itself.

Can Gray and Hastings keep the city from tearing itself apart long enough to discover the source? Can it wait until Leon sees Shauna’s high school play? As the first snow falls, the flakes may only have bloody footprints to greet them on the earth below.

Excerpt:

My cab ride home ended with the sight of Brad Morrow tearing ass out of Water Terrace Apartments. He tumbled onto the sidewalk in front of me. If I hadn’t stepped onto the street when I did, the kid would’ve kept on skidding into traffic. The cab driver took the opportunity to speed away without an offer to make change for the fare. I glared after the cab’s bumper, knelt down to check on the curtain rod of a teen. Shauna’s best friend was red in the cheeks and puffy, but otherwise unharmed.

“Hi Mr. Gray,” Brad said lifting his auburn head up. “Shauna’s having one of her episodes again. It really wasn’t my fault this time, I swear.”

“You’re forgetting something,” I said hoisting him up by a freckled arm. “Shauna’s on her way to being a woman now. The days of you being right are long gone.”

“Better hurry in there,” Brad said as he straightened his hooded sweatshirt. “She was barely keeping it together when I had to run. She might tear the whole apartment down this time.”

“Great,” I broke into a run without another word. The two flights of stairs leading up to my apartment blinked past in the longest seconds ever recorded. Prickly bubbles of nervousness careened through my chest as I reached my apartment door. No sound came from within. That isn’t necessarily a bad sign. Shauna could have herself under control and simply be trying to take a nap or braid her hair or kill a rabbit with her bare hands. Stay calm, Leon. She may need you to help her mind come back. Across the open-air hallway, Cyrus Landry poked his head out from his own apartment. He’s holding a phone in one hand and the doorknob in the other. At least the retired detective didn’t think to grab a pistol.

“Leon, thank God you’re here,” Cyrus said in a harsh whisper. “The way that boy flew out of your apartment I knew something was wrong. Your girl’s really having a tough time growing into her new self.”

“I’ve got this under control,” I said. “Don’t bother calling an ambulance. If shit really does hit the fan, a hospital won’t do her any good.” It’s damn near impossible to get a werewolf in full bestial form to fit into the back of an emergency vehicle. That’s not factoring in all the violence that would most likely ensue leading up to that. Cyrus disappeared back into his apartment, left his door open as I turned to open mine. The tangy flavors of sweat and an angry kind of hunger raked an elbow across my nose as I entered. I prepared myself for anything: to see my daughter unable to bring her human mind back from her bestial self or enraged into a stalking lust where anything that moved was prey. What caught me by surprise was how normal the apartment looked. All the furniture was in one piece, no claw marks were in the walls and Shauna was sitting as calm as a monk in my recliner. She was even reading some gossip magazine. Yet, the telling scents remained in the air.

“Where’s Hastings?” Shauna asked looking up from her reading. “Aren’t you supposed to babysit him or something?”

“That’s Mister Hastings, babydoll,” I responded with squinted eyes. “Saw Brad downstairs. You want to tell me why he ran out of here like the building was on fire?”

“Who? Brad? He probably had to meet his Dad for something. You know Brad, always running away from things.” Shauna gave a nervous laugh, turned a page in her magazine. Outwardly she appeared very much her teenage self, dressed in jeans and a long sleeve t-shirt. Her shirt was hanging a bit loose, and she wasn’t wearing her usual Chuck Taylors. She was going through this size phase – every article of clothing had to be some measure of form fitting. I supposed it was part of a continuing teenaged plan to leave me bald before I turned forty. That gave me an idea.

“Stand up,” I said in my deepest, most commanding voice.

“Dad, stop being weird,” Shauna said. “I’m comfortable right where I am.”

“Shauna…”

“God!” she exclaimed throwing down her magazine. “Fine, I’m getting up okay?” She stood, keeping her arms close to her sides. Shauna didn’t fold her arms in disgust as she usually does when she disagreed with me.

“What’s wrong with your shirt?” I asked.

“What? It’s my softball t-shirt,” she responded. “The school gave them all to us when we won remember?” That’s right. Shauna’s softball team won a state championship. I was a solid ray of giddy stupid sunshine watching her on the mound, having idle conversations with college scouts pretending not to be college scouts. I actually had to shake my head to jostle my thoughts back into the present. Shauna thought that little comment would be sufficient to allow her escape. Oh, not this time. Dad has gotten wise to his daughter’s ninja tactics. Pride cometh before the werewolf teenager freaks out and eats some human’s baby.

My Review:

so, I’m loving the male perspective, kinda like Harry Dresden- BUT- there’s also third person POV which gives you some fantastic outside views. At first, I felt a little lost, as I found out it was book 2 and I hadn’t read book one. Then, I was just too interested in the story to even notice! Have I told you I love werwolves lately! And I LOVE reading from the wolf’s perspective as well! Pretty darn snappy, if I may say so!

so, there’s mysteries to solve all over, and with different alphas wanting the same land/town and you’re just not sure who’s good or bad or just down right greedy! And Leon being the lone wolf stuck in the middle with them each pulling a limb in a different direction. It’s a fascinating storyline 🙂 and the other characters, Hasting is interesting, but I think I like Leon just a little more. I LOVE Leon’s daughter Shauna. She makes me giggle. And she’s got her own mysteries and drama going on.

so in the process of trying to keep werewolf politics out of human ears, which the humans know that werewolves exists, which is awesome, Leon is trying to keep his daughter safe, keep himself out of the slammer and working extra hard to keep Hasting safe- and yet he’s thrown directly in the middle of a werewolf war he wants nothing to do with. Gotta love to hate the werewolf politics 🙂

I am really enjoying the flow to this story. It is really easy to get sucked right into and keeps you guessing right until the end. It is still a guessing game in some ways 🙂 I also really enjoy the world that was constructed here. I happen to like when the humans are aware of the supernatural. And they even have their own government branches 🙂 and permits for things lol like running around in wolf form on public lands away from humans. It’s pretty cool.

so without any spoiler or too much blabbering, I’m going to say of course I think you should read it- IT’S A WEREWOLF BOOK!!! But it’s also really cool from the male perspective and it’s got a quite interesting plot. I will give it 4.5 PAWS, which is basically a 5 paw hahahaha 🙂

Author Interview: I would like to welcome Mr. Lister over for my interrogation interview 😛 WELCOME~!

First, tell me a little about your book….

Demos City Blues is continuation of the Demos City Reports, an urban fantasy series telling the story of an ex-con (Leon Gray) as he attempts to raise his teenage daughter Shauna and deal with a troubled past that just won’t let him be. How he balances protecting his daughter with actually being a father is at the heart of the story. In essence, a father’s love kind of guides the book along, sets up the pitfalls, makes the conflict hum.

Gray (like his daughter) is a werewolf, though in this world werewolves have existed since the dawn of time. All history includes them, and society has them interwoven into its fabric. It’s almost like an ethnicity here, but obviously with teeth and claws.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

I’ve always had stories in my head. When I was little, my father used to play old radio shadows of Sherlock Holmes or The Shadow while I was in my crib. I think that’s where the vocabulary and the imagination came from. Writing was how I passed English class from third grade on through high school. I couldn’t diagram a sentence worth a damn, but I could tell a story.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I think every event, everything that happens to you really shapes how you approach the page and create characters and stories. So, to an extent, everything that’s ever happened to goes into creating my work. I tend to not to use “real life people” because then they throw lawyers at me if I present them in a negative light.

How do you chose when/which characters die in your books?

Death has to do something for the plot or the stakes characters are facing. I wouldn’t just give someone the axe for the sake of killing them – that’s just bad manners. A key death at the right moment can heighten the action, pull the emotional heartstrings and have the reader thinking, “If she can’t die, no one is safe!” And the pages start turning in paid succession. Hopefully!

Who do you look up to as a writer?

Glen Duncan, John Gardner and Anne Lamott. Duncan and Gardner both have masterful grasps of the “I” persona while being able to create vivid worlds through single pairs of orbs. Lamont is an absolute technician of the written world and breaks down the process to where even I can understand it.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

I would’ve written “Ulysses.” I heard that’s a good book.

What book are you reading now? Or what genre?

Talulla Rising by Glen Duncan.

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

Nicholas Kay was the artist and I literally can’t thank him enough. Kay has worked with some industry heavyweights, including Pixar and Wizards of the Coast and I’m terribly thankful he ever answered my email. I gave him some impressions of what I wanted, different scenes within the work that I thought would make a good cover, and he just ran with it. I’m beyond happy with the result and I’m hopeful we can work together again in the future.

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

You really discover what you’re capable of when you set out to create a world and fill it with characters from inside your head. The voices that emerge are like you, but they’re this strange version of you that you always knew existed, but never quite pulled forth into the daylight.

I also learned I can drink an outstanding amount of coffee and still live.

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

David Hastings. He’s the reporter in the series who’s searching for the true source of corruption in Demos City. The human perspective he brings is mandatory to keep what is essentially a supernatural world grounded in reality. He’s the anchor that allows Leon Gray to battle rival werewolf packs closing in on the city.

Hastings also gets to drive a BMW, his credit rating is way better than mine and his father is loaded. What’s not to like about that?

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

The opportunity to entertain any of you through my work is an immensely rewarding experience. I can never thank anyone who’s bought one of my books enough for their investment and I really treat that exchange as a kind of relationship. It really matters to me that you’ve downloaded my work and thought, “well this doesn’t look so bad.” I promise to keep publishing quality work every time. I’m not about to betray your trust by tossing an inferior work on the table. Leon and Hastings would totally kill me if I did that.

About the Author

Jonathan Lister

Jonathan Lister lives in the Philadelphia area and is a full-time writer. He holds a Bachelor of Arts in English from Shippensburg University and a Master of Fine Arts in Writing & Poetics from Naropa University. His work has appeared in outlets of USA Today, The Houston Chronicle, Matter, Square One and Image Magazine among others. He wrote his first two books in 2009 from midnight til 4 a.m. while waiting tables during the daylight hours. DEMOS CITY BLUES is his second urban fantasy novel. Jonathan drinks too much coffee and appreciates your time.

Book facebook: Welcome to Demos

Good reads: Author Page

Author Blog: Demos City

The Giveaway:

Soooo….. You wanna win an ebook copy of Demos City Blues? Well, you’re in luck!! HA! Leave me a nice comment, and your choice of format and I’ll pick a winner!! 🙂 Thanks so much everyone for stopping by, especially the wonderfully cute Mr. Lister! And thanks to Bewitching Book Tours for giving me a werewolf book! 🙂 I always love them!

Good Luck everyone! Happy Reading! Later gators!

6 thoughts on “Demos City Blues Blog Tour w Giveaway!

  1. kaiodan says:

    It sounds like an interesting read. I love reading werewolf novels.

  2. iamclever1 says:

    The first book is free over at Amazon right now! Thanks for taking a look at the work!

  3. Staci aka Patches says:

    I have never heard of this Author., Heading to Amazon to take a look. I am looking forward to reading Any and All Books, Will review when done.

  4. bn100 says:

    Great review and interview.
    PDF

What do you have to say?

