Vampire Hunters Blog Tour

Hello everyone! Today I am part of another book tour to show you some more books 🙂 I’ve also got a special author interview today, so stick around 🙂 Here we go…

The Vampire Hunters (Book One of The Vampire Hunter Trilogy)

As former Boston cops, Drake Matthews and Alison Monroe thought they had experienced it all… until they found themselves tracking down a serial killer who turned out to be one of the undead. Stopping him cost them their careers and almost their lives.

Thanks to an influential and anonymous benefactor, Drake and Alison find a new job ridding the streets of Washington D.C. of the vampiric threat terrorizing the nation’s capital.

Only this time, Drake and Alison are not facing a single vampire but an entire nest led by Ion Zielenska, one of history’s most evil and twisted masters. As the vampires indiscriminately prey on humans, seeing them as nothing more than food to satiate their hunger, they create a wave of violence that threatens to engulf the city.

Orchestrating the carnage is Antoinette Varela, the mistress of the nest, whose vendetta against the hunters is personal.

Excerpt:

As the adversaries faced off, the train pulled into Foggy Bottom Station. The passengers practically pulled the doors open to escape. When the doors finally did open, they ran out onto the platform and dashed to safety. Seconds later, the doors slid shut and the train began to pull out of the station.

“Well, bitch,” taunted Alison. “It’s just you and me.”

“That suits me fine.” Toni hissed and sprinted down the rail car.

Alison pushed off the deck with her left foot and spun her body around, slamming her right foot into Toni’s head in a tornado kick. The master careened to the side and stumbled between two rows of seats, smashing the window, momentarily stunned. Pulling a stake from her belt holster, Alison ran between the seats and raised the stake to inflict the fatal blow. Toni’s hand shot up and grabbed Alison by the wrist. With one thrust, Toni threw the hunter over three sets of seats. Alison landed on her right shoulder in the opening by the doors, sliding across the deck until her back slammed into the center pole.

Toni flew over the seats and landed on top of Alison’s chest, knocking the wind out of her. The master pushed herself down on Alison, pinning the hunter’s pelvis to the floor with her own, then ripped open Alison’s blouse to expose her neck. Bearing her fangs, Toni leaned over, pausing only inches from the Alison’s neck.

“Relax, hunter. In a few moments, you’ll be one of us.”

“Not if I have anything to say about it,” a voice shouted from behind Toni.

Toni looked up to see Drake standing at the opposite end of the car. She snarled. “You have nothing to say about it. She’s ours now.”

Review:

So lemme start by say… YAY!!!! KILL THE VAMPERS!!! Lol you guys know I’m partial the to werewolves and normally don’t side with the bloodsuckers lol so this book was SO PERFECT for me! It’s horror/urban fantasy and it’s fast, action packed, crazy scary good!! I literally was riveted and clutching my blanket reading this because the first chapter is EXPLOSIVE!! Literally 🙂 best action opening scene!! Think Die Hard meets Dracula- the original- meets Charlie’s angels, without the heel wearing chicks!! LOL

So Drake is bad ass, I don’t think there’s another way to say this! And he’s an animal lover!! 🙂 what’s not to love and he’s a human who kills vampires- yep I’m in lust!! Allison is just a cool chick, who’s also bad ass just in a different way! This is really such an interesting and unique story with a crazy plot! So many things I didn’t see coming!!

meanwhile, there’s the human cops who want nothing more than to bring Allison and drake to justice for things they think they’ve committed. But is it really murder to kill the undead who will eat you in less than a second? And I can’t believe the amount of stress and pain that these kids endure! Well they are adults but you know what I mean 🙂

if you were looking for sparkly lovable vampers, you’re in the wrong place! These vampires are NOT IN ANY WAY nice! Hell, they aren’t even nice smelling! Ammonia and putrified meat- gag me with a large wooden spoon!! Ick!! And then there’s Jessica, who’s a journalist assigned to uncover everything about Drake. She really just wants to make it in life but sometimes that’s not the best plan LOL But I like her character too 🙂

I will say this- Mr Baker, thank you for the gory, action packed, fantastic, seat defying, thrill ride!! And thanks for putting vampires back to the crazy house!! Lol 🙂 I like shiny things, just not undead vamps 🙂 I have a feeling I may get punched or mauled soon by my vamper loving friends real soon! Hahaha 5 PAWS!! 🙂

Author Interview:

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

I’ve always been interested in writing. As far back as elementary school I was making up short stories and jotting them down in notebooks, or publishing my own monster magazine made out of construction paper and printed on an old manual typewriter. (Am I dating myself here?) It’s always been a passion of mine. However, I’d like to think my style has improved since then.

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

My first book was a spy novel I wrote while I was in grad school. I was a Soviet Studies major and was intrigued by the espionage of the Cold War. I had read a lot of books about the CIA and KGB, and by extension plenty of thrillers, so I was excited about the idea of telling my own story.

The book was horrible. Weak characters, unrealistic dialogue, and plot holes big enough to drive a Soviet submarine through. I rarely admit to having drafted it. But it was a valuable learning experience. I never made those same mistakes again, and my next book was significantly better.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Yes, they are. You have to write about what you know, even if you’re involved in the horror/fantasy/sci-fi genres. If an author doesn’t relate those life experiences, and the emotions generated by them, than your book runs the risk of falling flat.

So how do you write about what you know if your novel deals with vampires or zombies? It’s easy. I’ve spent the last eleven years working for the federal government as part of the war on terrorism. During that time, I’ve had to deal with the issue of being involved in a never-ending struggle, because every time we take down one enemy, another emerges from somewhere else. How far are you willing to go to defeat evil? What sacrifices are you willing to make? How long do you continue the battle? At what point do you say I’ve done my duty, and now it’s time for me hang it up and get on with my life? The Vampire Hunters trilogy details that struggle and the conflict between duty and life, but with vampires replacing terrorists.

Heh, I feel like I should be extra cautious with you… you could have me arrested LOL! How do you choose when/which characters die in your books?

Most times when I’m plotting out my novels I have a good idea of who is going to make it to the last page and who is going to die violently. The death tolls in my books are usually high, but that has to be expected. When you’re engaged in a war with vampires or zombies, you have to expect casualties. I have even developed a few characters and then wove them into the storyline because I needed that character to die spectacularly to enhance the plot.

Sometimes the characters choose themselves, though. In The Vampire Hunters trilogy [SPOILER ALERT], I originally intended during the final epic battle to kill off the two inexperienced hunters, Jim and Sarah, and let Drake and Alison (my main characters) live. As I was writing the third book, I realized that having Drake and Alison finally express their love for each other only when they are about to die from wounds received while defeating the undead was far more poignant and bittersweet. And letting the younger hunters live gave the story a measure of hope. [END SPOLIER ALERT].

BEST ANSWER YET!!! I always wanna know how and why characters die, and that was a great answer! Who do you look up to as a writer?

Joss Whedon has had a major impact on my style. I was first introduced to his writing when I became a fan of Buffy, the Vampire Slayer. I really became hooked during the second season finale, Becoming. Angel had lost his soul and gone over to the dark side, and was hell bent on destroying Buffy and everyone dear to her. The show had taken a decidedly darker bent and was more intense than anything Joss had done previously. Despite the tone, Josh was still able to include some of the humorous moments that Buffy was famous for, and make them work within the broader context. That impressed the hell out of me. I tried to emulate that lightheartedness in my own vampire trilogy.

He is very influential, a lot of folks look up to him! I enjoy his work 🙂 If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

Yes. I would do a more thorough job in proof editing. I’m embarrassed by some of the errors that made it into print.

Honestly, it happens to the best of them 🙂 Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Not until recently. I write adult-themed horror, and have no trouble with character development. I’m also a gorehound who splatters plenty of blood and guts across the pages of my books. But earlier this year I tried something new and started the first draft of a young adult novel about a sixteen-year-old boy who must deal with the fact that his mother’s failed scientific experiment opened a portal between earth and Hell. I had no problem with character development or writing the action scenes, and it wasn’t difficult for me to tone back the gore. But I am having a devil of a time writing the manuscript from the point of view of a teenager.

HA! Gorehound, that’s funny 🙂 What book are you reading now? Or what genre?

Right now I’m reading Deck Z by Chris Pauls and Matt Solomon. It’s about zombies aboard the Titanic. You have to love a book with a tagline: Unsinkable. Undead.

hahahaha I NEED to get my hands on that one 🙂 Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

I’ve been very fortunate in that I’ve had considerable input into the covers of my four novels. That’s not always the case, unfortunately. My girlfriend is in the process of getting out her first novel, and she’s been having a running battle with her publisher over the cover art design.

Alva J. Roberts laid out the design and Gary Smallwood did the artwork for The Vampire Hunters trilogy based on suggestions and descriptions I provided. I especially love the cover on the first novel; the characters look exactly as I imagined them. When I got back the first draft of that cover, the only change I asked to make was to have Alison’s jacket open and pulled back because, let’s be honest, an attractive woman on the cover of a novel helps to sell books.

Zach McCain created the cover for Rotter World based on a rough design concept I emailed him. There’s a scene in the novel when the zombie hunting squad (an all-female leather-clad group of women known as the Angels of Death) have to stand down a horde of several hundred zombies in a tunnel. Zach captured the essence of that scene perfectly. What really impressed me is that, if you look just to the front of the Angel on the far right, you see a mother carrying an infant zombie still attached to the umbilical cord. That was not in my original concept, but Zach had read the accompanying scene in the book and added it in. That’s a professionalism.

Hmm, so interesting. Have you ever bought a book based on the cover?

I used to when I was in college, but I quickly learned that an awesome and enticing cover doesn’t always translate into a quality read.

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

Did I learn anything from writing the books? No. Did I learn anything from having them finally published? Yes!

Writing the novels is fun. Getting them published is (relatively) easy. Marketing them is hard. Arranging contests, conventions, book signings, radio interviews, press releases, etc. Creating and updating a blog. Answering emails. Making sure your presence is known on Facebook and chat forums. I’ve had to learn a whole new set of skills to stay afloat in this business, and am developing more every day. I spend more than half my time engaged in the business of writing rather than the actual craft itself.

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

I actually am one of my characters. Drake Matthews from The Vampire Hunters trilogy is a gung-ho, iced coffee drinking, cigar smoking, whiskey chugging smart ass who fights evil, wears a leather jacket, and owns a pet rabbit (I have four). I’m even dating a woman named Alison. Drake is living the fantasy life I always wanted to have. When my close friends read the first book they all looked at me and said, “Dude, are you serious?”

Dude, I wanna date him hahahahaha! Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I just want to thank them for reading my books and being fans. Without them, I would have to go find a real job.

Well, you’re so welcome!! I say keep ’em coming!! 🙂 and thank you for that insight to your life! 🙂

BIO:

Born and raised in Everett, Massachusetts (just outside of Boston), Scott M. Baker has spent the last twenty-two years living in northern Virginia. He has authored several short stories, including “Dead Water”, “Rednecks Shouldn’t Play with Dead Things”, “Cruise of the Living Dead”, “Deck the Malls with Bowels of Holly” (an alcoholic mall Santa battles zombie reindeer), and “Denizens.” His two latest short stories – “The Last Flight of The Bismarck,” about steampunk zombies, and “The Hunger,” a tale of cannibalism during a zombie outbreak – will both be released later this year in anthologies being published by Knighwatch Press.

Scott’s first zombie novel, Rotter World, which details the struggle between humans and vampires during a zombie apocalypse, was released by Permuted Press in April 2012. He has also authored The Vampire Hunters trilogy, which has been published by Pill Hill Press and received excellent reviews from Famous Monsters of Filmland and Fangoria, among others. Scott has finished his fifth novel, Yeitso, a homage to the monster movies of the 1950s set in northern New Mexico, which is currently with a publisher, and is wrapping up his sixth novel, Hell Gates, the first in a series of young adult novels set in a world in which the realms of Hell and earth have merged.

When he is not busy writing, Scott can either be found relaxing on his back deck with a cup of iced coffee, or doting on the four house rabbits that live with him.

Please visit the author’s website at http:\\scottmbakerauthor.blogspot.com.

links to purchase:

Amazon (trade paperback): http://www.amazon.com/Vampire-Hunters-Book-One-Trilogy/dp/1617060518/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1298325880&sr=1-3

Amazon (Kindle): http://www.amazon.com/Vampire-Hunters-Book-Trilogy-ebook/dp/B005JPSQVQ/ref%3dsr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1314570765&sr=8-1

Barnes and Noble (Nook): http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-vampire-hunters-scott-m-baker/1029195991?ean=2940013055902&itm=2&usri=scott%2bm%2bbaker

ONLINE LINKS:

If you guys would like to see the rest of the tour, here’s your links:

10/22 The Avid Reader Review and Guest Post
10/23 The Insane Writings of a Crazed Writer Review and Interview
10/24 Genre Wench Review
10/25 Beauty in Ruins Review
10/26 Queen of the Night Reviews Review
10/26 Identity Discovery Review
10/29 Happy Tails and Tales Review and interview
10/30 Keeping Up With The Rheinlander’s Review
10/31 Everyone Loves A SiNner Review
10/31 Full Moon Bites Review
11/1 YA Between the Lines Review and Guest Post
11/1 My Cozie Corner Review
11/1 Harlie’s Books Review
11/1 Krystal’s Enchanting Reads Review
11/2 Tea and Book Review and guest post
11/2 Lissette E. Manning Review
11/2 Kara Loves Reading Review
11/2 DanaSquare Review

I hope you guys had a great time today!! I would like to thank the author, Mr Baker, and Innovative Online book tours for this wonderful spread today!! 🙂 I wish you all happy reading and later gators!!

5 thoughts on “Vampire Hunters Blog Tour

  1. Thanks for the chance to let me get to know your readers. And thanks for the great review. I’m definitely going to use the “Think Die Hard meets Dracula- the original- meets Charlie’s Angels” when I promote the book. 🙂

  2. Vickieann says:

    Thank you for hosting Scott today 🙂

  3. I love the excerpt and the title. All the best with your book tour, Scott.
    Great interview!

What do you have to say?

