The Dragon of Droughton Park Spotlight w Giveaway!

Sooo, I LOVE THIS TOUR BUTTON!!! AND HAPPY RELEASE DAY TO MR. JOHN!!! SO, Mr. John has become a wonderful internet buddy! I am also one of his beta readers for this second book of the series, and though I don’t have an “official stop” on the blog tour, I AM gunna give you some goodies, cuz I love y’all… and this whole series!!! So lemme just get right to it!!

Clifford Crane has led a tough life – failed marriages, bankruptcy, drug addiction, and a mind-numbing dead-end job. But he’s made it through, and now he’s a few short years from retirement. He’s looking forward to his golden years, until he meets an ancient Uwharrie Indian shaman, who turns him into a werewolf. She believes Clifford is the red wolf foretold in prophecy, the one who will unite the wolf packs and lead them to victory over the vampires for once and all time. Too bad she doesn’t tell him that before she dies. Now, rescuing beautiful young women from the clutches of the undead has its rewards, but will it pay the rent for the next thousand years?
Everyone has accepted the Prophecy of the Red Wolf except the Red Wolf himself. Clifford would like to reclaim some semblance of a normal life, but there are three beautiful reasons he cannot cut his ties to the pack of werewolves of which he has become a part. There’s Heather, the sister of the Uwharrie Pack alpha, whom the pack has chosen as Clifford’s mate. There’s Nicole, the talented young Omega wolf, a seeming reincarnation of Clifford’s once and greatest love, who shares a strange and disturbing bond with him. And there’s Danielle, the gorgeous young vampire who currently shares his bed in a forbidden affair.
Clifford faces a difficult choice indeed, but it may not be his to make. Powerful forces are afoot in the world, and to protect the ones he loves, Clifford must seek the help of the powerful Fae who foretold the prophecy in the first place, the one who might do anything to make sure the prophecy comes true, the mysterious Dragon of Doughton Park. 
The Dragon of Doughton Park is the second in a series of Red Wolf novels, depicting a world where vampires are mere generations away from realizing mankind’s destruction, the ultimate goal of the undead and the mysterious beings that created them.

My Review:

First, I love the cover!! The first book is getting a new cover too 🙂 But besides that, Mr. John so nicely asked me if I would beta read for him in the book-this review is based on that beta read, but I doubt he changed very much as it was pretty spectacular, even in the rough stages!! 🙂 So, in the first book, I kinda thought Clifford was a push over. He is supposed to be so “special” yet I find him slightly pitiful LOL or at least compared to the Clifford in this book! I love when a character grows and you SEE it! I had a conversation with Mr. John about his character’s “self warring” and to me, I thought he was literally fighting himself at every turn. Not just about being bitten and turning into a werewolf, but about his life. He’s worried about falling back into old addiction habits, and girls finding him attractive, and he doesn’t really wanna be a werewolf, and he’s middle aged going back to college and even though he’s really smart, he sometimes made stupid desicions… WELL NO MORE!!! This book has not only redeemed Clifford personality to me, but I think I may also be slightly in LUST… sorry Heather and Danielle, but I totally am!!! I don’t care how old he is! 

He originally starts out with not wanting to have anything to do with the werewolf world. He’s so torn over the fact that his actions caused death, even if those deaths were chosen by those who died. So, he’s having a very non healthy relationship with Danielle, who has now turned Vampire (umm, sorry spoiler alert haha) and it’s just weird to me. I am sorry but I HATE DANIELLE!! or I really really love to hate her! She is truly the bad guy to me, regardless of who the actually plotting bad guys are 🙂 But back to Cliff, so he of course gets pulled into the array of chaos again, BY HIS OWN ACTIONS!! I mean you would think he would totally learn his lesson the first time that making heroic acts will bite you in the booty later, right… NO, he so does it again!! I’m not saying it was a bad choice. I cheered out loud when this happened. And I’ve wanted him and Heather to have their “moment” for ages!! And it STILL takes more time, as both Heather and Cliff are totally NUTS! LOL So ya know, fun stuff!

There are so many characters that come into play here. I mean werewolf pack, vampire maniacs, normal people… You just don’t know. And when I beta read for Mr. John, one of my favorite scenes comes into play with a secondary character. I happen to love Kendall. He’s hot-so LADIES I TOTALLY CLAIM HIM HERE AND NOW!! Mr. John, if I can have a wish, I think I need you to make me Kendall’s girlfriend hahahahaha 🙂 But anyways, so Kendall is gunna take one for the team in a bad situation and is seducing a human thrall, and it’s just so priceless!! Everyone NEEDS to read that scene, seriously! 🙂 can we all say AWKWARD!! 🙂 BUT HILARIOUS! LOL And my next scene is FINALLY with Heather and Cliff, and a river… no more than that can be said 🙂 Next, I know this may be strange, but Mr. John actually writes about his characters doing things real people do… LIKE PEEING!!! everyone has to do it, yet it’s never mentioned 🙂 

And Nicole, I really love her character. I can’t say that enough. I am so glad she is now a major part of this! Now action… There is so much action in here. Danielle totally goes nutso on Cliff, and Vampires are trying to kill people, and werewolves are getting crazy!! I mean, it’s just an all around great book, and I seriously CANNOT wait to see where this is going to lead… AND THE END!!! Mr. John, you have made my list of killer cliff hangers!! I am a huge fan of good cliff hangers and I liked to DIED!!! Another reason to hate Danielle! 🙂 BUT BEST PART… THERE’S A DRAGON!!! People, werewolves and dragons together, I literally salivated! 🙂 YES!!! If you didn’t know, there’s also a lovely cajun lady who has some spots and I will show you a little goodie about that in a sec. 

All in all, there is nothing to say other than I LOVE THIS BOOK! I LOVE THIS SERIES!!! GIMME GIMME GIMME MORE!! Really soon, pretty please Mr. John 🙂 It would be so appreciated! 🙂 You have done such tremendous greatness since the first book, so I can’t wait to see what you’ll do to my heart next! 🙂 5 HUGE PAWS!!! 

Purchase links: *don’t forget, the first book is $0.99 right now!!

The Draculata Nest   My review is HERE

           Kindle version     Nook version     Paperback version     in Charlotte
The Dragon of Doughton Park
           Kindle version    Paperback version
On a little side note, I did a small reading for Mr. John, for his lovely cajun character, and it’s from this book. So if you wanna see it here ya go 🙂
About the Author (written by the author lol):
The History of the World According to John

   I was born on the first day of October in 1950, the first son of John and Patricia, in Baltimore, MD.  I got a brother a year-and-a-half later. We moved around a lot. We moved to Charlotte, NC. I started school. I barely learned to read the boring crap they taught me. We moved to Asheville, and my Mom taught me to read real books.
   I fell in love with L. Frank Baum, John Fox, Jr., Edward Ormondroyd, Robert Heinlein, and Marilyn. We moved to Greenville, SC. I fell in love with Kathy, H.G. Wells, and Edgar Rice Burroughs.
  I went to Junior High School. I fell in love with Cecelia, Isaac Asimov, and Jackie (sigh).
  I went to High School. I fell in love with Donna, Kathy, Jane, Merrill, Jackie (again), and alcohol. I decided to become a writer.
  I went to Presbyterian College. I fell in love with Cynthia, Ann, marijuana, LSD, what’s-her-name, Harlan Ellison, Eric Clapton, Jimmy Page, Jimi Hendrix, Johnny Winter, and Joni Mitchell. I left Presbyterian College and went to the University of Georgia (go Dawgs!). I fell in love with Karyn (sigh), J.R.R Tolkein, Robert Heinlein (again), cocaine, and The Allman Brothers. I tried to write.
   I graduated college. I fell in love with Pat, Barbara, Dale, Carol, what’s-her-name, James Tiptree Jr., Frank Herbert, Ursula K LeGuin, Connie (OMG), Stephen King, Bruce Springsteen, Bonnie Raitt, and Kathy. I tried to write.
   I married Kathy. I fell out of love with cocaine and LSD. I gave up on writing. I moved to Charlotte, NC. I moved to Salisbury, NC. I got divorced. I fell out of love with alcohol and marijuana. I fell in love with Amanda, Susan, Pam, Gerrie (sigh), Michael Crichton, Robert R. McCammon, John Grisham, Dean Koontz, Janine, and Cheri.
  I moved back to Charlotte, NC. I fell in love with Caren and got married again. We had a kid. I got un-married. I fell in love with Charlaine Harris, Stephenie Meyer, Patricia Briggs, Richelle Mead, and Taylor Swift.
   Oh, and along the way, I made a lot of wonderful friends and observed first-hand the never-ending, enigmatic, inexplicable miracle of life. And, I started to write again…
   …and I haven’t stopped.
Stalk Him HERE: 
As a special note, you should all know, I’m quoted on the paperback of the first book 🙂 cuz I love the books and Mr. John loves me hahahaha
the giveaway:
Mr John is kindly offering a buncha stuff!! first, if you follow the tour, there’s even more, so you can go here to see that tour! Secondly, my special spot offers my own goodies… LIKE 2 EBOOK WINNERS AND ONE SIGNED PRINT COPY WINNER!! Yep, there is going to be 3 winners!! I will offer the ebooks internationally and the print copy winners US ONLY as Mr. John is shipping these! I will hold this for about a week so leave me a nice comment below! I’ll contact you for your info after I pick! 🙂 
To Mr John!! THANK YOU, for being so awesome, and for offering this awesomeness to my followers, even though I am not on the tour LOL it was a little miscommunication, but I’m ok with that since you guys get those goodies!! To my followers, thanks for stopping by and being so awesome to follow!! 🙂 I hope you guys love this series as my as me! Happy Reading everyone! Later Gators!! 
5 thoughts on “The Dragon of Droughton Park Spotlight w Giveaway!

  1. jaime radalyac says:

    Happy tails,

    I am always happy to receive ur “newsletter” in my email inbox!! I like reading ur reviews and all the new things going on and new authors I haven’t heard of. I am sure amazon is QUITE happy with me because of u LOL

    • magluvsya03 says:

      Hahaha awwww you just made my day!! Thank you so much for being a follower and I appreciate your support more than you know! And I’m sure the authors love you more 🙂

  2. Staci aka Patches says:

    Your review was so Honest and Unique!! I am working on my Reviews I want them to be the real me!!
    I look forward to reviewing this book!!

    • magluvsya03 says:

      I literally write what pops into my head! I tried writing really formal reviews and they sound horrible coming from me… And a not honest review is never fair so I believe in write what you feel 🙂

  3. bn100 says:

    That was a nice review.

What do you have to say?

