Blood and Moonlight w Giveaway

;

Oh boy, I have another goodie for you! More books with giveaways! And who doesn’t love giveaways. So let me show you what I’ve got today.

;

Blood and Moonlight

Moonlight Trilogy, Book One
Moira Keith

Genre: Urban Fantasy / Paranormal Romance

ISBN: 9781476298825

ASIN: B008XKUS9C

Number of pages: 270

Word Count: 92812

Cover Artist: Elaina Lee at For the Muse Designs

Amazon Smashwords Barnes and Noble Apple Book Store

Book Description:

Though she shares the bloodlines of both Fae and Wolf, Kiara Morrigan O’Conaill refuses to claim her place in the Fae courts or submit to the animal within. Witnessing the murder of her Fae mother two years ago drives her back into those worlds, to search for answers and revenge.

Devlin McClure lives for one thing—the Pack. When their leader, the Cadeyrn, disappears, desperation sends Devlin to the last person he should be asking for help—the Cadeyrn’s estranged daughter, Kiara.

Kiara and Devlin are drawn to each other by fate and destined to embrace the very thing that threatens to rip their worlds apart. Now, Kiara will have to decide which is stronger, blood or moonlight?

My Review:

HELLOOOOO HAWT PIECE!!!! Boy I sure do love me some werewolves! Especially hot ones! Hehehehe this book fascinated me. I am now very invested in this series because not only does it hold my attention, but it’s full of very fun characters and an extremely mysterious plot line and just downright good writing! I don’t know how else to say how much I enjoyed this book!

So, we’ve got a mixed blood situation here. kiara is part Fae and part werewolf. She was raised by her Fae mother who is also a royal. However the Fae aren’t so happy about this mixed blood thing so lets just say she had a crappy life. Kiara also thinks her fathers been dead her whole life. Well she gets a big surprise to know her father is suddenly missing, but was alive, and currently holds the position of alpha in the pack. I won’t lie, this plot line had me sucked in, because I was dying to know what was gunna happen! And Kiara had a whole lot to learn about herself, her mixed blood, and a culture she’s part of but doesn’t understand.

And then there’s Devlin…. Boy oh boy… DROOL!!!! He’s the typical HAWT male werewolf, who oozes alpha, exudes confidence and powers, and is pretty much a walking drool-endusing eye candy! Hello!!! I need one of those right now! Plus he’s got a sweet side when he’s trying to. He wants Kiara but promised to protect her and those things never go well together hahahaha I lurve him!! Devlin- welcome to my book boyfriend club!! You’re welcome anytime!!

I also really enjoy the secondary characters!! Reese and Marcus, who are a couple, are Kiara’s Fae guards and also her best friends. After her mishap in Fae land, they follow her and devote their life protecting her. Marcus and Cian are Kiara’s unexpected and not necessarily welcomed werewolf guards. I especially like Marcus 🙂 I’m thinking I almost like everybody hahahaha

I don’t wanna give too much away. I am extremely fond of this story, I can’t wait to get my grubby paws in book two, and I thought this was a fantastic story telling! Well done Ms Keith! I hope you let me know as soon as you have book 2 ready for me hahahaha yes I’m special and it’s just for me 🙂 LOL now go forth and get yourself this book- it’ll be worth it! 5 REALLY GOOD PAWS from me!

Author Interview:

First, tell me a little about your book ….

I would love to tell you about my book. Blood and Moonlight is the first in an urban fantasy trilogy. Throughout the series you will follow Kiara Morrigan O’Conaill as she discovers more about who she is and where her place is in this world. The first book starts the beginning of that journey. Here is the blurb:

Though she shares the bloodlines of both Fae and Wolf, Kiara Morrigan O’Conaill refuses to claim her place in the Fae courts or submit to the animal within. Witnessing the murder of her Fae mother two years ago drives her back into those worlds, to search for answers and revenge.

Devlin McClure lives for one thing—the Pack. When their leader, the Cadeyrn, disappears, desperation sends Devlin to the last person he should be asking for help—the Cadeyrn’s estranged daughter, Kiara.

Kiara and Devlin are drawn to each other by fate and destined to embrace the very thing that threatens to rip their worlds apart. Now, Kiara will have to decide which is stronger, blood or moonlight?

Way to sell that! I’m gunna say moonlight hahahahhaha 🙂 Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

I wouldn’t say that I always knew I wanted to be a writer. I’ve always had a bit of a creative bug about me. When I was in junior high, I wrote a lot. Stored all my work on the old floppy discs (and yes I know I’m dating myself here). Then I moved away from it a little to pursue drawing. As I got older, I found myself dreaming of stories I wanted to write and figured that I had come full circle so it was time to do something about it.

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

A bar with a neon sign that read Cowboy inspired my first story, Buckling Down, which is a contemporary western romance. I was driving down the freeway at five in the morning, and this sign was just glowing in my field of vision for several minutes. That was all it took for my mind to go running on an idea for a story that was initially going to be nothing more than a birthday present for my mother.

hmm,
Sounds like a good birthday present! Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

None of the experiences in Blood and Moonlight are based on people I know or personal events. However, I do have stories that are in the works that are loosely based off of my own experiences. I think the things we’ve experienced help bring a sense of realism to the story. There are times when I’ve written things and people say that’s not realistic, and I can say yes it is, I’ve experienced that. I think that is important depending on the characters.

Good answer! How do you choose when/which characters die in your books?

Killing off a character is sometimes easy and at other times very hard. Obviously there are those characters that you can’t wait to bite it. I think the toughest decision is if and when to kill off one of your more prominent characters. It really has to come down to what it does for the story. The death has to have an impact on your characters, it has to help move the story along. If it hinders the storyline then one might need to rethink the reasoning behind the death.

That’s an excellent point! I wouldn’t want a death to ruin the whole story line. Who do you look up to as a writer?

This has actually changed over time, or the list has just grown because I still admire the authors that fueled my desire to write, but one particular author I admire and aspire to be like is Vicki Petterson. There is the common bond of being from Las Vegas, but more than that, it is the way she interacts with fellow writers and her readers that have her topping my list at the moment.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

That’s a tough one and really it is a nice lead in for the next question. I think that some of the backstory would need to go.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Finding the right mix of backstory without over doing it (see above answer). There are times when I’m so wrapped up and invested in what happened leading up to a particular point in a characters life, that it becomes hard to see what is necessary and what is just overkill. That is where good critique partners come in handy.

in this book, I enjoyed reading the backstory as its revealed in layers. I appreciate that, as i think it makes the characters seem more complex 🙂 What book are you reading now? Or what genre?

Currently, I’m in between books. There are several awaiting their turn to be read, and the ones that I am looking forward to at the moment are Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter , The Edinburgh Dead by Brian Buckley, and This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers.

All of those are on my list too! Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

Elaina Lee from For the Muse Designs worked on my cover. She really wanted to make sure that she designed a cover that I was happy with. To be honest, she designed this cover for me twice. The first cover I really liked, but when I had her design the second one, she totally nailed the feel of the series so I asked her to redesign the first one. She did and I have a lovely cover that ties nicely to the second one, and soon the third one will as well.

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

I think that each book presents an opportunity to learn something. With Blood and Moonlight, what I learned came courtesy of one of a friend who provided me with a male take on a few scenes. Guys expect a lot more from their action sequences in books than most girls. I wanted a lot of action and I wanted it to be realistic. The car chase scene was one I struggled with and the fight scene. The need to find a happy compromise between what was realistic and what was fun and action packed really made them a great opportunity for learning.

YAY to the male point of view hahaha I love action in books! I think you did a great job! If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

It would depend on the moment. There are days when I feel like I could tap into Kiara and be the tortured and vulnerable, yet wear the tough exterior chick. But most times I would have to admit to being more like Reese with all the smart assed comments.

I thoroughly enjoy Reese! 🙂 Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Just a huge thank you, and not just to my readers, but to readers in general. Regardless of what genre you read, whether you like my work or that of a fellow author, you are the reason we are able to continue doing what we love.

About the Author:

Moira Keith has a penchant for men in kilts, is a lover of shoes, Celtic mythology, connoisseur of Guinness, baker of cupcakes and overall complete mess! As an author of paranormal, urban fantasy and contemporary romance, Moira writes stories that are often filled with the magic of love and the mayhem that ensues, threatening to keep her couples apart.

Currently, Moira resides in Las Vegas with her twin zombie sons, their beta fish, and a turtle.

Website – http://moirakeith.com

Blog – http://moirakeith.com/news

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/authormoirakeith

Twitter – http://twitter.com/moirakeith

Goodreads – http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2909057.Moira_Keith

Giveaway:

So the author is giving away 10 ebook copies of Blood and Moonlight AND a $25 Amazon Gift Card!! WHOOP WHOOP!! 🙂 You can go HERE for the direct link to the rafflecopter or HERE to the host’s site where it is also up!!

I wanna say thank you to everyone today! I had a blast! and I wanna wish everyone good luck! That’s a great giveaway! Happy reading everyone 🙂 Later gators! 🙂

10 thoughts on “Blood and Moonlight w Giveaway

  1. ladyvampire says:

    I loved the review of this book, the blurb and the author interview. This is a new author and series to me but after reading this post, well I am definitely adding this book to the top of my wishlist. 🙂 Thanks for the giveaway.

  2. moirakeith says:

    Thank you so much for having me hear at Happy Tails and Tales! The interview was loads of fun and I’m glad you enjoyed the book so much. I will definitely let you know when book 2 comes out.

  3. laurie g says:

    I loved the review of this book, the blurb and the author interview.

    parisfan_ca@yahoo.com

  4. Bethanne says:

    Don’t enter me for the prizes. I already have the book–and love it. Love Devlin, actually.. ;P Great interview, Magluv. 🙂 and Moira!

What do you have to say?

