Jealousy Glass Blog Blitz

The Jealousy Glass (Artifacts of Empire, #2)

The Jealousy Glass

Volume Two of the Artifacts of Empire fantasy series

Gwen Perkins

Hydra Publications

$14.99 trade paperback | $3.99 e-format

ISBN-13: 978-0615679747

December 1, 2012

Genre: Fantasy

Planned Media: Print/E-book

Distributed to the trade by Ingram Book Company

“We came to stop a war before it came to Cercia. And it seems the war has come to us.”

Responsibility and patriotism spur Cercia’s new leader, Quentin, to protect his beloved country at all costs and he assigns Asahel and Felix to serve as ambassadors and secret agents to Anjdur. Their journey quickly turns awry and Asahel and Felix barely escape a devastating shipwreck, walk a tightrope of political tension, and rescue an empress before they learn they must face an enemy closer to them than they thought.

Will they be able to uncover an assassin’s plot before it’s too late? Will Asahel be able to unearth a secret that is vital to their mission? Will Cercia survive its own revolution? In The Jealousy Glass, Perkins boldly continues a series of unforgettable characters and events that will leave you begging for more.

Book Links: Book Covers Book Cover Drafts Maps and Cartography Character Portraits Artifact Images

Book Trailer:

My review:

First, I will say my review will be a little all over the place. I realized after I started reading Jealousy Glass that it is book two of the series, and I haven’t read book one. BAD DOG! So things were a little complicated for me for a bit trying to understand the back story and the relationships between characters. I do however plan on getting book one so I can read it in order to understand a little better. Also, once you’re reading this book, you forget that you don’t know the nit picky details of the back story because it’s a really good read.

I loved that the story starts off with a bang. Right away, there’s this crazy event which causes the ship to wreck and the adventure begins. I thought that the writing was quite nice as I felt like I were on the journey with them. I’m not scared of water and I’m an excellent swimmer, but even I don’t know if I could do that. 🙂

I like the interactions between Felix and Asahel. They are trusting of each other, yet they disagree on things but it doesn’t ruin this friendship. Though some of those political issues can put a strain on anyone’s relationship 🙂 the writing is really good. I would consider this a Fantasy, as the writing just feels that way. And there’s nothing like taking a journey through a fantasy world! I like the way the story unfolds and sometimes you think you know what’ll happen and then you get another surprise.

All in all, I really do want to read both books, in sequence, because if I liked the second book this much, even without the first, I bet I would LOVE them together 🙂 I recommend this series to my fantasy and even urban fantasy fans. It’s a wonderful, magic filled world. I say go and get this series! 4 PAWS!!

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

about the author

Click

Gwen Perkins has always regarded the deep rainforest of the Olympic Peninsula the one place that she feels most at home. Gwen grew up in small towns across the Pacific Northwest, going to slug races and strawberry festivals when she wasn’t scribbling on any scrap of paper she could come by. She boasts the dubious distinction of going to a public school with only eight students, learning Irish sea chanteys from a man who sang with the Clancy Brothers, and catching tadpoles during classes.

Her adult life is generally just about as much fun.

She lives in the City of Destiny (better known as Tacoma, Washington) with her partner, Laura, and their three children, Amaranth, Nynaeve, and Oisin. Her hobbies include wandering beaches, baking pies and lampworking, or creating glass beads. In between all of this, Gwen has written two novels in the Artifacts of Empire series: The Universal Mirror and The Jealousy Glass.

She is presently at work on The Oracle Bones, the third novel in the Artifacts of Empire series and writing another book in collaboration with artist Wilson Fabián Saravia.

Links: Website Facebook Twitter WordPress Google + Author Photographs Goodreads

about the press

Publisher Frank Hall states that “more people are writing, more books are selling, and more people are reading.” This desire to meet the growing needs of readers and a lifelong dedication to literature inspired Frank to start a small press in 2010. Hydra Publications is a small press dedicated to producing quality fiction titles. Hydra releases between six to fifteen novels a year in a multitude of genres. Our titles are available internationally in both print and e-editions.

To receive distribution materials or learn more about our publications, contact:

Frank Hall

Owner

Hydra Publications

337 Clifty Drive

Madison, IN 47250

812.574.4113

frank@hydrapublications.com

To speak with the author directly about interviews, book signings, or other appearances, contact:

Gwen Perkins

Author

graeae@gmail.com

Skype: gwenperkins

More information is located on the publisher’s website: http://hydrapublications.com

For the release of The Jealousy Glass, Gwen is running a giveaway for an autographed, first edition paperback of The Universal Mirror through Goodreads at: http://www.goodreads.com/giveaway/show/37726-the-universal-mirror. This Giveaway is INTERNATIONAL!!!
The giveaway officially ends on December 21, 2012—the author’s birthday and supposed date for the oncoming apocalypse.

I hope you guys all enjoyed today! I always enjoy finding new reads!! I wish you all GOOD LUCK and Happy Reading! Later gators!

4 thoughts on “Jealousy Glass Blog Blitz

  1. Gwen says:

    Thanks for the great review. I’m so happy you enjoyed the book! 🙂

  2. Jean S. says:

    Dangit! I hate it when I accidentally read the second book first. It must have been really good if you were still able to follow along. : )

What do you have to say?

