Shadow Play Blog Tour w Giveaway

Shadow Play Button 300 x 225
Hello everyone! I’ve got more books for you today 🙂 Lemme show you!

Shadow Play (Tracker Series #1)

Shadow Play

Book 1 of the Tracker Series, Book 1 of the Others
Christie Palmer

Genre: Urban Fantasy/Paranormal

Publisher: Jinx Fantasy Fiction LLC

ebook: 978-0-9885557-0-9

Paperback: 978-0-9885557-1-6

Word Count: 375

Cover Artist: Jaycee De Lorenzo of Sweet N’ Spicy Designs

Book Description:

A small town in the mountains of Marshall, Montana is being plagued by an unknown entity. It’s mutilating and killing the women of the town. At his wits end the Sheriff of Marshall has nowhere to turn but to a friend. A friend, with the abilities to track and kill any prey.

Ryder doesn’t normally do mortal issues. However, he can’t turn his back on a friend. Besides he is the best at what he does. After all he is a Tracker, an ancient race with unparalleled abilities to track down any prey. With one of the three essential elements: Taste, Touch or Smell. Heartless and cold, Ryder knows what needs to be done and performs his duty without feeling.

Kyra, an Air Element and the only female Elemental Enforcer, is sent on a fact finding mission to Marshall, by the Druid Council. She needs to find out exactly what is happening in Montana before the Tribunal goes in and kills everyone.

The last thing she expects to find is a Tracker, and is even more surprised to find out that he is on her side. But can they get past their initial feelings upon meeting and the sexual tension? Or will the evil that is living in the mountain kill them both.

Ryder and Kyra must learn to work together to destroy the shadow and save Kyra from a fate worse than death. When pure evil is involved is love enough?

Author Interview:

First, tell me a little about your book and why you wanted to write this particular story….

​I had just finished writing a vampire novel when I had the idea for Ryder. He was the beginning of the story. A new race of Trackers. It was so exciting to start on something that had never been done before. That drove me to write this one out without stopping. I actually wrote the whole thing in six weeks. I know that Ryder is hard to take, but he was the driving force of getting this book written. As a writer have a character driven story is a lot of fun.

He sounds so fascinating! Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

​I didn’t know that I wanted to be a writer until late in my teens when I read a book that didn’t give me the happy ending I was looking for. Therefore I felt forced to write a new ending, after that the writing bug had infected me and I have wanted to be a writer ever since.

HA!! Well that’s a great way to make a book special! fix it how you like it 🙂 What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

​The very first book I wrote? Or the first book I finished?

​The first book I wrote believe it or not was a historical romance. It was a beautiful street urchin meets tall dark and handsome duke. They fall madly in love and ensues great pearl to both parties. Before love ultimately wins. But I never actually finished it. I love a good historical romance but I’m not sure I was meant to write it.

​The first book I finished was a vampire novel. Looking back I am glad I never perused getting it published. Because it sounds like a lot of what is currently out there and I think it would be lost to the better writers that are currently out there writing vampire stuff. So its sits gathering dust until I need to change it and bring it back out.

​I was inspired to write the vampire novel by Jeanine Frost and Half Way to the Grave. I just love her writing and she helped to wake up my muse and writing voice. Finishing that novel was cathartic because once it was done I knew I could do it, be a writer and all.

I think that’s so awesome! Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

​No, I love to be able to dream up great adventures and exotic locations that I have never been.

How do you chose when/which characters die in your books?

​Actually, I let the story dictate what happens. In Shadow Play I have a death of a character and frankly it was just as surprising to me when I was writing it as it will be for readers. But it shows the evil that the characters are dealing with and is a catalyst in the book.

Ooooh!! I can’t wait to read it now! Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

​I love to read, and will read just about anything. There are several authors that I have discovered in the last year that really stand out. M. Leighton’s Madly series (I am obsessed with it) if you’re interested in YA then you have to read that.

​Contemporary: Gina Maxwell and Seducing Cinderella

​Erotica/Hot Hot Hot: Jennifer James, Laura Kaye

​Urban Fantasy: Anita Clenney and her Highland Warrior Series

Who do you look up to as a writer?

​Someone who puts their nose to the grindstone and works their ass off to achieve their dream. I never realized until I actually attempted to get a book published, how much work it was. And then on top of that once you get it published how much work it is get your book in front of readers. Soooo much work.

​So I truly admire a writer who wants this enough to never ever give up.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

​Of course. I wonder sometimes if there isn’t an author out there that wouldn’t change something in their books. But as a writer, I would edit myself right out of a book if I nit-picked it to death. So you have to take a step back and trust that it will be enjoyed by people.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

​Not getting burned out. If I feel burned out I just stop, its not writers block but I stare at the paper and I know what I want to say, where I want the story to go. The characters are all there but I’m burned out and won’t write a thing. So when that happens I need to step back and take a break. Read something fun, or something that will motivate me.

That’s the first time I’ve gotten that answer but I think it’s so honest and so true! What book are you reading now? Or what genre? My followers love author’s opinions!

Currently I am reading Only in Her Dreams an Urban Fantasy by: Christina McKnight

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

Jaycee DeLorenze from Sweet N’ Spicy. She is amazing. I tell her what I am looking for and we usually go back and for with pictures of characters and working on the cover for a couple of weeks. She does wonderful, it’s a great collaboration.

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

​I cut my teeth with Indie publishing with Shadow Play. And I learned that I was worth being published. That my store really does have a place and that readers like it.

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

Marlee, she is a Lycan and a total bitch on wheels. I just think she is tough as nails, and irritating as hell. But the Tracker’s love her like a sister.

Are there any books you think some of us should read, just because?

​Just because….hmmm. Any of Jeanine Frost’s books. She is just amazing to me. And the Madly series by M. Leighton, the hero in that Jackson…. Holy cow!!! What I wouldn’t do to have him protect me.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

​Stay tuned, Shadow Play is the first book in a series with currently no end. Every character I write even if just a minor character part of my brain is building there story as I go. So definitely stay tuned, the best is yet to come.

I can’t wait to get my hands on them!! Thanks so much!!

Author Bio:

Christie was born and raised in a suburb of Salt Lake City, Ut. She lives less than a mile from the home she grew up in. World traveler she is not. But what she lacked in travel she more than made up for in her imagination. Within her vivid imagination she has traveled the world over as well as different worlds and different times.

She works a full time day job to pay the bills but loses herself in books and her writing whenever possible.

She is a loving mother of two wonderful children that she admits she is obsessed with. She has been married for 18 years to a very tolerant man that is grounded in reality in order for her to fly to the heights of her own imagination.

She started writing when she was a teenager after reading a book that she didn’t like the ending too. Took a hiatus to raise her wonderful children but has dedicated herself to becoming a published writer for the last several years.

www.author-christiepalmer.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/christie.palmer.5011

Twitter: @christieauthor

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/11563672-christie-palmer

Giveaway:
There is a totally cool giveaway going on here–> http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/48dba85/

Thanks so much for stopping by today!! GOOD LUCK on that really awesome giveaway!! I hope you enjoyed it! Happy Reading everyone!

4 thoughts on “Shadow Play Blog Tour w Giveaway

  1. Thanks so much for the interview and hosting me on your blog today.

    Christie

  2. Amanda Tse says:

    Oh sounds good! Can’t wait to get my hands on this book.
    It’s really cool that Christie has a say in what her book cover will look like since a lot of authors don’t have much of a say. Lucky girl!

  3. Jean S. says:

    It must be really difficult to work a full time day job and also be an author. Very impressive!

What do you have to say?

