Prophecy Girl Spot Light w Giveaway

First, I need to say I’M SORRY AND THANK YOU!! To Ms Faith McKay. I was supposed to have this special post up a few days ago, but unfortunately I seem to have gotten really sick. I have bronchitis and a severe sinus infection. Seems I let myself get a little too sick before going to the doctor. But a shot and several meds later, I’m on the mend and finally reading again! So with my nonsense said, I’ve got another special one for you today!! 🙂 I received this email in my crazy days, and it took me a bit to get back to the author but I’m so glad I did! Don’t you love these 🙂 Anyways let me show you!

Prophecy Girl Cover

Genres: Young Adult, Urban Fantasy
Content Warnings: Child Abuse, Some Language
This is a full length novel, at 91,000+ words.
Available in all eBook formats.
Blurb:
Ever since Samantha Winthrop’s mother moved them to Lacuna Valley, supposedly in search of better weather, the list of strange questions she has no answers for has been growing out of control.Does her little sister, Violet, have the ability to make things happen just by “praying” for them? Are Sam’s dreams really predicting the future? Is she destined to marry the boy she just met, and what is the mysterious orb that he’s guarding? Why does she get the impression that there are dangerous creatures watching from the woods?While Sam should be focusing on answering those questions, there is one other that makes them seem almost irrelevant: Is her mother planning on killing her and Violet?

My Review:

I really wasn’t sure what to expect when I first heard about this story. And I began reading and everything seems so normal… Until you realize that Sam’s mother is abusive, her father is useless, and her sister seems to have a magical ability to pray things into existence. ARE YOU HOOKED YET?! I am!! In the first few paragraphs of the story, Sam tells Violet she misses the rain and Violet does something amazing- she makes it rain! Or did she! I had to know what was going to happen from that moment on!

I really love Sam’s character. She lives a really hard life, and when you’re in an abusive lifestyle it’s hard. It’s not like you can tell anyone your mom beats you. Her whole outlook on life is amazing to me. She tries to will away the pain and yet also sometimes stands up for herself even when she knows it’ll be worse for her, except that when the spotlight is on her, it isn’t on her sister. I want to rescue her… And yet she has the ability to rescue herself 🙂

The secondary characters are always a major part of the story for me. Violet, her little sister, is the perfect embodiment of a little sister. She cute, annoying, and most of all adores her big sister. As long as Violet and Sam have each other, that’s all that matters. And then there’s Nick… You gotta love when a book boyfriend is this cool. He also fascinates me as his life is no walk in the park either. I don’t wanna say too much about him as spoilers will get involved! LOL now her parents…all I can think are bad words which are not appropriate here 😉

The writing is amazing. It’s so real. A lot of paranormal books are based on aspects that are fantasy, but Sam seems so understandable. Her life is hard but relatable. I love the surprises and where the story goes and I really can’t wait to see where is leads next! It’s heartwarming, it’s tearful, it’s funny, and it’s got suspense- what else do you need? Overall, I loved this story. Even with some darker more complex aspects, I will still say this is for everyone, so go get your copy!! 5 PAWS from me!!

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

Author Interview Questions:

First, tell me a little about your book and why you wanted to write this particular story….

Prophecy Girl is a young adult urban fantasy novel. The main characters are all young people who have a lot of heavy stuff on their shoulders. Sam has an abusive mother, who also happens to be evil. Her little sister, Violet, is extremely powerful—which is more weight on Sam, and Violet. And Nick, well, Nick has always had a lot of responsibility. As if their personal situations weren’t enough, they all have to deal with the actions of Sam’s mother, who is a threat to all of their lives.

I wrote a lot of different versions of this story. I read a lot of novels with dysfunctional families, and I’ve been writing about this one for a long time, in different scenarios. So, I wanted to tell their story.

I also did a free write one day where I created a supernatural race that I fell in love with. They’re not in a lot of Prophecy Girl, but I built this world for them. There will be more about them in future Lacuna Valley novels.

Yay for fun new worlds!! Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

Always just knew. I read a lot as a child, and was always putting together my own books and handing them to people. It was always what I did. I’m a story peddler.

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

My first completed book was a novella, and I think I was fourteen years old. It was called “Every Laugh is Meant For Me”, and it was about this girl who had control issues, and then her best friend is raped on her birthday, and she blames herself for all of it.

I realize this is really dark, but I still tend to write some pretty dark themes, I suppose.

I’ve always been really interested in how we reach terrible dark places within ourselves, and then rise up, smiling. This inspires a lot of my work.

WOW!! I don’t think I’ve had such a beautiful answer! Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Well, Prophecy Girl definitely has pieces of things from my life. I’m a survivor of child abuse, and that is definitely a main element in Prophecy Girl. I have a love of strange sunglasses, and so does one of the characters. While Lacuna Valley is a fictional place, I definitely based it off of a place I’ve actually lived.

Mostly, these elements from my own life work as insight into my characters heads as I put them through the ringer.

I’m sorry for those bad times for you, but I think you’re making a difference in sharing your story, even if you add a little fiction to it! How do you chose when/which characters die in your books?

Oh gosh, this is something that is heavy on my mind right now! In a story, if you’re going to do something as drastic as have someone die, I think there needs to be a ripple effect. That character served a purpose in the story, and their death has to drive events forward as well. Readers are going to come away from the story remembering who died, and they’ll want to feel like there was a reason for that beyond just bumming them out.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

The first one that comes to mind is Kate Avery Ellison. I recently read The Curse Girl and really loved it—I haven’t read Frost yet, but it’s on my need to read list. I see lots of great reviews! I was about to start listing some more, but I think I could go on forever.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

Nope! I love my twisted little tale.

I do Too!! What book are you reading now? Or what genre? My followers love author’s opinions!

I’m reading a book most of your readers have probably already read—The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. I already mentioned that I write dark themes, but I’m actually very wary about when I let myself read something that I know will break my heart, so I put this one off for a while until I felt ready.

I’m 60% into the book right now, and I have this horrible foreboding that we are NOT going to find out what happens to Sisyphus the hamster, and I don’t even know if I can handle it.

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

Char, at Wicked Cover Designs. I sent Char this long rambling email with some ideas I had, and things I liked and things I didn’t like. And then I sat around checking my inbox and thinking “There is no way she could have gotten a good idea of what I’d like from the rambling muck I sent her! This is never going to work!”. When she finally sent back the cover I put it up on two different screens and just stared at it, for hours. It was sort of perfect.

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

I learn all sorts of things while I’m writing! I guess the most important thing is the constant reminder that this is what I do. I’m wasting my time when I try to do something else.

HA! Perfectly said! you’re definitely a great writer! If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

I do such awful things to my characters that it doesn’t sound like such a great idea…

Are there any books you think some of us should read, just because?

Locke & Key! It’s a graphic novel series by Joe Hill, and they are the best comics I’ve ever read. Check it out!

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you. Always, thank you. Also—serious juice boxes! 😉

Author Bio:

faith mckay

Faith McKay writes stories about characters with real world struggles in otherworldly settings. She is the author of PROPHECY GIRL, a story where characters struggle with the idea of having a destiny. In comparison, she feels really lucky that her destiny was to struggle with comma placement and be that awkward lady who points out puns at parties.

Other things to know about Faith… She wears two different colored shoes. She is a survivor of child abuse. She has lived with chronic illness for over a decade. A lot of people don’t like her because she laughs too much. It’s also the reason a lot of other people do like her, so go figure. She listens to more music than people are probably supposed to. She’s a nomad. The word sounds really cool, so a lot of people say it, but she actually lives in an RV with her husband and their pet bunny rabbit, Dorian Gray.

http://faithmckay.net

http://www.facebook.com/faithmckaybooks

http://twitter.com/faithmckay

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16133799-prophecy-girl

http://www.amazon.com/Prophecy-Girl-Lacuna-Valley-ebook/dp/B00A801I2Q/

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/prophecy-girl-faith-mckay/1113829862

Giveaway:

The author is offering one winner an ebook copy, format of your choice, internationally! So leave a nice comment for me or Ms McKay and include your format preference and I’ll pick a winner in a week or so!

I wanna thank the author for being so awesome! 😉 I really enjoyed this and I wanna wish everyone GOOD LUCK! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by! Happy Holidays! and Later Gators!

7 thoughts on “Prophecy Girl Spot Light w Giveaway

  1. bn100 says:

    Very nice interview and cover.

    Hope you’re feeling better.

    Kindle

  2. Maghon, I always Love your interviews! This one was great and what an amazing cover!! Thanks for sharing!

  3. John Hundley says:

    Another good interview, Maghon. I would love to read this book! Happy holidays, and take care of yourself!

  4. This interview has me curious! I would love to read this. Kindle format 🙂

  5. Jean S. says:

    I love that cover! I’m intrigued by the new supernatural race that Ms. McKay created… Hmmmm… What could they be?

    Feel better, Maghon! And get lots of rest!

  6. […] Happy Tails and Tales this great post also includes an ebook giveaway for commenters and a review. […]

What do you have to say?

