Jekyll- Hyde Book 2 Spotlight w Giveaway

I got another goodie!!!! Book two- Jekyll- of the Hyde series came out and I missed it!! Luckily the author is awesomely on top and emailed me, so I squeeled and begged, not hard, to have her over!! 🙂 So lemme show you!!!

Jekyll, an Urban Fantasy (Hyde, #2)

Blurb:

“When the devil tells you to stop struggling, do you?”

From the moment Eden wakes up, she knows she’s not in Kansas anymore. She isn’t even on Mitch’s doorstep, her dark-side’s favorite place to dump her. No, she’s somewhere far worse. And far more sterile. Sometimes a girl needs to adapt, be flexible, change. And that’s exactly what Eden will do, all the way back to Mitch. No matter what she has to do to get there. Because his life depends on it.

Mitch has lost something he’d never thought he’d find to begin with. And “It’s better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all” is a lie. A lie people tell themselves to make the pain go away. But the pain doesn’t go away, not in someone like Mitch. It festers. It grows. Until it can’t be held back anymore, even by the bars of a cage.

*** Jekyll is a continuation of Mitch and Eden’s story and may prove confusing to those who haven’t read Book I. So why not go check it out? Heck, the first book is cheaper.
*** This novel is also intended for adults, as it includes lots of cursing, biting sarcasm, and some truly evil people.

Hyde Book 1

Lauren Stewart

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Publisher: Off the Hook Publishing

ISBN: 9780988170100

ASIN: B008IVT0W2

Number of pages: 389

Word Count: 105,000

Amazon Smashwords

Book Description:

To survive, they must embrace what they most despise . . . in themselves and each other.

Mitch Turner is everything women want most in a man—charismatic, successful, drop-dead gorgeous. Except he’s not a man—he’s a monster.

The only way Mitch can protect others from his monstrous side is to stop them from getting too close…that and a 7×7 foot cage. Isolated by his genetic curse, he spends his life hurting people emotionally, driving them away before Hyde can harm them physically. But, after a night of the best sex Mitch has ever had, he realizes that might be impossible. Except the woman he wakes up with claims she doesn’t remember any of it.

Eden Colfax is everything men want most, men other than Mitch, that is. She’s kind, honest to a fault and sickeningly sweet. To rid herself of the monsters that haunted her broken childhood, Eden doesn’t lie, doesn’t curse, and definitely never wakes up naked in strangers’ beds…until the day she does.

Then the flashbacks start—places she’s never been, people she’s never met, blood she’s never spilled. She discovers she’s split into two parts—the woman she thought she knew and another who is capable of anything. And the only person with any answers is the one man she never wants to see again.

What neither of them know is that someone is watching them both, manipulating them, determined to see just how evil the two of them really are. And when the truth begins to seep through the cracks, leaving them nowhere to turn but each other, they will be forced into a partnership neither had expected.

Because in life, who you trust is as important as who you are. And when you can’t even trust yourself, sometimes the only person you can rely on is the last person on Earth you should be falling for.

*** This novel is intended for adults only, as it includes lots of cursing, descriptive sex, biting sarcasm, and themes similar to those in Stevenson’s Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, from which this story was inspired.

About the Author:

After earning degrees in Fine Arts and English, Lauren Stewart wanted to see the world. A lack of funds meant that she didn’t get far. She spent two years traveling around Mexico, the Caribbean, and Canada—first as a choreographer and then as an English teacher—meeting folks from all the places she couldn’t afford to go to. But that time was highly useful—she learned about herself, other people, and how insane life actually is.

Lauren reads in almost every genre. So naturally, her writing reflects that. With every book, every story, you’ll find elements of other genres–fantasy, mystery, romance, paranormal, suspense, YA, women’s literature, all with a touch of humor because what doesn’t kill us, should make us laugh.

www.ReadLaurenS.com

@ReadLaurenS

www.facebook.com/readlaurens

Goodreads.com/LaurenStewart

Blog: http://readlaurens.blogspot.com

Amazon author page: www.amazon.com/author/laurenstewart

My Review of Jekyll:

Lets talk about how much I seriously love this series! It’s so FANTASTIC! First, it’s so special and unique and it’s written so painfully beautiful. It’s not always happy but it’s wonderful. When Ms Lauren told me Jekyll was out- I had a brain loss moment and didn’t know that- and she offered me a copy… I very politely begged her to please please let me share it on my blog!! And then I believe I enthusiastically squealed liked a little piggie! 🙂 I loved Hyde so much. AND DID YOU SEE THAT COVER?!?!! She has definitely hit the jackpot with the covers for both books!

The story begins a few weeks after Eden’s kidnapping. She’s been in a coma and The Clinic has her. She knows something has changed but she’s in the process of figuring out exactly how she changed and what that might mean. And now The Clinic is telling her that she might be the answers to their prayers for fixing all Hyde and Jekylls! I still really love Eden. I love her will, her heart, and I love that she has grown and is still growing so much. I love her internal struggles with trying to do what’s right for her vs what’s right for everyone else.

Mitch is still Mitch, except that now, losing Eden is literally tearing him apart, from the inside and he realized how big of a $&:&:@ he was! People sometimes make such selfish decisions! I’m still trying not to throttle him! And poor Landon- he’s the cop who investigated Mitch the whole first book- has now become Mitch’s only ally. He wants to help rescue Eden. And no matter what he says, he cares for both Mitch and Eden. I personally like Landon. I like so much about him.

I have bad moments and words for The Clinic Staff. They want what they want and they don’t care who they hurt to get it. I’m no longer a fan of Carter either… But this is besides the point. I wanna say a few things about the writing. This author’s writing is like trudging through a heavy rain storm and then having the sun break through to give you warm beautiful rays of sunshine. At first, it’s dark and wet, and then you realize the darkness is still beautiful because lightning and rain and clouds have a Beauty of its own… And then you are so immensely grateful for that sunshine that you just want to revel in its warm comforting embrace… Maybe I’ve scared some of you, but I happen to love rain storms and I put this author’s writing in my ABSOLUTELY LOVE category. It’s amazing how words can transform you into a wonderful place and this author does this beyond belief. Ms Lauren, since I teased you and made you wait- I want you to know you have a fan for life in me! THANK YOU many times over for giving me something so magnanimous! 5 TRANSFORMING PAINFUL GORGEOUS PAWS from me… I seriously hope you send me an email for book three!! I’ll love you forever… Wait- I already do 🙂

My 5PAW review of Hyde is here

Author Interview:

WELCOME!! First, tell me a little about your book and why you wanted to write this particular story….

The Hyde series is inspired by the theme of the original Jekyll and Hyde story. But it’s a totally different take on it, so it doesn’t matter if you’ve read the original or not. There’s a lot more romance, suspense, betrayal, sex, and friendship in my version. The story is about a man, Mitch, who has always defined himself by the evil within. Until he meets Eden, the ultimate good girl. Both of them are controlled by their paranormal sides, and they need each other to discover who they truly are.

The Hyde series came to me after I realized how flawed my definition of ‘good’ was. I wasn’t good enough—as a mother, as a friend, or as a woman. But I was trying to live by someone else’s rules and definition, and I was failing. So, by using the extremes of good and evil, I wanted to explore our beliefs and our judgments—of others and of ourselves.

WOW! but I sure do think you’re good enough! Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

I came to writing late—just about four years ago. My sister was the ‘creative one’ in my family and I was the ‘performer’, so I never even tried to write. As supportive and wonderful as my parents are, I have a note to all parents: Don’t label your kids.
Once I started, I couldn’t stop. I write fast and I write a lot. It’s my passion, my obsession, and my greatest joy (apart from my children, of course).

Thank goodness you took up writing! What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

I have two kids, therefore I’m never alone. But on their first ‘sleep over’ at my parent’s house, I had a few days to do whatever I wanted to do. And frankly, I had no idea what to do. So I sat down at my computer and started doodling with words. Somehow they started coming together and formed a story I call “Think No Evil”. It’s about a telepath discovering who she is. But after I’d written it, I realized that I knew nothing about writing books. So I put TNE on the shelf and started studying craft. Someday I’d like to revisit it (soon, I hope) and whip in into shape because I love the main characters, the humor, and the premise.

I am hoping you’ll let me read that one too!! Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Events? No, thank goodness. That would be terrifying. Ha. But the themes of right and wrong, honesty, betrayal, and self-discovery are all things from my life. From everyone’s lives, no?

How do you chose when/which characters die in your books?

Ha. I love this question. Sometimes you gotta kill a few of your favorites. Without giving anything away, in book one, I hated having to kill a character I loved writing. But the story is more important than any one character. And I believe in karma—you get what you give. I also believe that sometimes life isn’t fair which, unfortunately, means that sometimes a ‘good guy’ is sacrificed.

AWESOME ANSWER! Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I try not to read in whichever genre I’m writing in. Therefore, I’m currently staying away from PNR and UF. So I, like about a billion other people, have been reading a lot of the dark contemporary NA stuff, like Colleen Hoover’s Hopeless and Katja Millay’s Sea of Tranquility. Both are am-a-zing novels and am-a-zing novelists.

hahaha I could never stay away from “all things fantasy” 😉 I wouldn’t have found you! Who do you look up to as a writer?

While I look up to many, many writers in every genre you can name, my PNR/UF faves are undoubtedly JR Ward and Karen Marie Moning. Ward showed me how deeply a writer can get into the heads of her characters, which I just love. And Moning is the absolute queen of cliffhangers. She writes herself into such a tight corner, you never know how the heck she’ll get out of it. But she always does, and it’s never the ‘it was all just a dream’ type.

Those women helped me develop my voice as a writer and make me want to take risks that I probably wouldn’t have attempted otherwise. Plus, their men are just…smoldering hot and damaged and completely lick-able.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

I try not to think about it too much because it would drive me crazy. I’m a shot of perfectionist with an OCD chaser. I think there are always things authors would change because we are always learning more. At least, I hope I am always learning more because I want to be a writer who pushes herself and the boundaries in general.

Good Lawd, I’ll need to introduce you to my mom! HA!! Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

For me, sex and violence are hard to write. They are also both large components of my books, which means I gotta do it. My trick is to have just enough wine to stop myself from over-thinking, but not enough wine to stop myself from making sense. I think it’s working thus far.

Yummy wine is always a good answer LOL! What book are you reading now? Or what genre? My followers love author’s opinions!

Aside from the NA books I mentioned above, I’ve also been reading Laura Kinsale’s historicals. I’ve always stayed away from historical, but her writing is amazing and her heroes are timeless.

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them? PS I LOVE LOVE THEM!!!

I totally lucked-out with my covers. While I was writing the first draft of Hyde, Olivia Rivers, a member of my local critique group, came to our next meeting with a picture. She’d taken my nonsensical explanation of the story’s premise and turned it into something beautiful. The final cover was recreated from that initial image. With minimal input from me, she also did the cover for Jekyll. And I am praying she won’t be too busy with her own book releases to do the cover for book three.

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

Besides learning more craft with each book I write, I’m learning about people—how they think and the reasons we do what we do. Interestingly, I think I may learn more from readers than from the actual writing. What readers latch onto, what they ‘get’ from each book, what resonates with them, is fascinating and helps me grow as a writer and as an individual.

BEST ANSWER EVER!! If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

Tough question. I’d love to have bits and pieces from each. Throughout the Hyde series, Eden grows into someone I admire. She’s a survivor, through and through. But she’s also empathetic and caring and trustworthy. Plus, she gets to sleep with Mitch, and I’d really, really like to do that. Ha.
Summer Rains, the heroine of my humorous mystery series is full of life and humor. She’s able to see the comedy of the world and its inhabitants, despite the craziness.

Are there any books you think some of us should read, just because?

Um…yeah! But there are too many to mention. And frankly, if I missed a great one, I’d feel terrible. So I will just say: Read. Read as many books as you can, in as many genres as you can. And don’t force yourself to finish something you don’t connect with. It doesn’t mean it’s an awful book, it just means it wasn’t for you. As authors, we all know our books aren’t for everyone. It sucks, because we’d all like to think everyone will adore our work as much as we do. But literature is subjective and, luckily, there are books to suit everyone’s taste. That is the beauty of having so much choice. But life is too short to read crap, so skip those. Ha

If you EVER tell me your answers are boring again, I’m flying to you and slapping you 🙂 thats a fantastic answer! Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

‘Thank you’ is too benign an expression for what I feel. My journey is just beginning, but I’ve been incredibly fortunate.
But I would like to say two things to all readers. First, don’t be afraid to reach out to us. Writing can be lonely—it’s just us and the imaginary people in our heads. And that ain’t always pretty. We want to hear from you. We want to know what you think of our stories and our characters. Second, if you enjoy our work, please leave a review wherever you bought the book and tell all of your friends. Nowadays, readers are in an incredibly powerful position. With every purchase you make and every review you leave, you help determine which books other readers discover. That’s a big deal, especially for newer authors. It’s also another thing we thank you for.

If I could think of another way to say ‘thank you’, I would. But it will have to do for now. So thank you, Maghon, for your support and your kindness. Happy reading!

THANK YOU!! For so quickly agreeing to answer these, and for just being you!! You’re always welcome back and I hope you know how much I love your writing!

A little more About the Author:

So, who am I? I am a single mother of two incredible kids who knows the world well enough to put half of my income into therapy accounts for them.

I was a modern dancer, a choreographer, a secretary, a massage therapist, an English teacher, and, for two horrendously guilt-laden days, a carnie. Yeah, that’s right—a carnie. And I let the little kids play until they won a prize, without their parents having to fork-over their entire life savings. Seriously, don’t play those games—you won’t win.

I was a woman who never realized that all of those “to do” lists were attempts at trying something she really wanted “to do”—write. It’s not the form one does it in, just the doing that is important.

And now I am a writer. A tremendously happy, fulfilled writer of urban fantasy, mystery, paranormal romance, and a bunch of other things, all with a comedic element because life is too insane not to poke fun at.

Links:

Go check out her website! It’s very cool!!! http://www.readlaurens.com/

Giveaway
So now that you’ve seen my opinions, I’d like to offer ONE WINNER AN EBOOK COPY (your choice of format) OF HYDE OR JEKYLL! For those of you who haven’t read book one, here’s your chance, OR if you DID read book one and want to win book two, it’s for you too!! 🙂 So pretty please leave me or the lovely author a nice comment. I’ll email you to confirm and I’ll get that over to the winner 🙂

GOOD LUCK!! Thanks so much everyone for stopping by today! I really really love this series! I hope you enjoyed it and I wish you all good luck 🙂 a very huge, extra special thank you to Ms Lauren!! Happy Reading and later gators!!

19 thoughts on “Jekyll- Hyde Book 2 Spotlight w Giveaway

  1. Roxy Kade says:

    Once again, Mags, you amaze me! I wait every morning to receive an email about your latest blog post because you do such a fantastic job! I love your interview questions, and the quirky combacks to the answers 🙂

    This book sounds awesome! Thank you for introducing me to this series. The cover is beautiful. I love butterflies!!!!

    Lauren, your answers to the Q&A are inspiring and thought provoking. As a writer I love learning about what inspires other authors. I totally agree with you on many points. I loved your answer regarding changing anything in your books. I’m just as OCD when it comes to that but I try my best not to dwell on what already is and look forward to showing my growth as a writer in my future work 🙂 Thank you for sharing!!

    • Thanks, Roxy!
      Yeah, the OCDishness is a pain, but I like to think it makes for a better end product. Good luck with your writing, and I hope you enjoy the books! 🙂

    • magluvsya03 says:

      Awwww! Ms Roxy you just made my week!! That’s so sweet! I may have to just send you Hyde if you don’t win, it’s so awesome!! And yes, Ms Lauren’s answers were quite amazing!

  2. Catherine T. says:

    This book sounds awesome, and I have to agree the cover is amazing!

    @Ms. Stewart – LOVED your answer about which character you would be…hahaha!

    @Maghaon – as usual your questions and review are extremely informative and even more entertaining! Thanks for having another giveaway! 🙂

    • Please, call me Lauren. Because if you call me ‘Ms. Stewart’, I have to call you Ms. T and that’s just weird. 🙂
      Happy reading!

    • magluvsya03 says:

      You’re extra welcome 🙂 lol and thank you for that wonderful compliment!

      • readlaurens says:

        Alright. You just laid down the gauntlet, Maghon! I can’t resist a challenge! Therefore, I shall find a way to have them dance in book three. Somehow. Oh man. That’s gonna be tough. Dang it!

        Catherine–I haven’t found a way to incorporate my dancing experience into anything yet. In fact, I’d never even thought about it. Strange, since it was such a large part of my life for so long.

      • Catherine T. says:

        lol you’re welcome Maghon!

        hahahah Lauren! I didn’t mean to start any trouble! I just thought since it was such a big part of your life (as you mentioned) and books hardly ever cover any dancing (minus clubbing) it would be nice to read about it from someone who knows what they’re talking about! Either way, I’m sure you’ll writing something awesome 🙂

  3. bn100 says:

    Nice question about what the author learning from writing. Cool cover.

  4. Huge thanks, Maghon! I was scared for a while there (you just love to do that, don’t you?), but am thrilled with your review. It really shows when someone is doing something they love to do, doesn’t it? 🙂

    Good luck, everyone!

  5. Dawn B says:

    For anyone who hasn’t read the Hyde Series yet I highly recommend!!! My favorite reads of 2012! Lauren is an amazing writer who really allows you to get to know her characters, flaws and all! Brilliant!

  6. jamieayres says:

    Your blogs and reviews are so great . . . keep up the fantastic posts:-) I’ll be sure to check out the book!

What do you have to say?

