Fire Country Release Day Blitz w Giveaway

I’m extra pumped!! Fire Country, the sister series for The Dweller Saga, by David Estes is being released today!!! You guys should know how much I love his goodies!!! So let me show ya some goodness!!!

Fire Country by David Estes book one

Fire Country

In a changed world where the sky bleeds red, winter is hotter than hell and full of sandstorms, and summer’s even hotter with raging fires that roam the desert-like country, the Heaters manage to survive, barely.

Due to toxic air, life expectancies are so low the only way the tribe can survive is by forcing women to procreate when they turn sixteen and every three years thereafter. It is their duty as Bearers.

Fifteen-year-old Siena is a Youngling, soon to be a Bearer, when she starts hearing rumors of another tribe of all women, called the Wild Ones. They are known to kidnap Youngling girls before the Call, the ceremony in which Bearers are given a husband with whom to bear children with.

As the desert sands run out on her life’s hourglass, Siena must uncover the truth about the Wild Ones while untangling the web of lies and deceit her father has masterfully spun.

Title: Fire Country (Country Saga #1)

Author: David Estes

Publisher: ShareAread

Release Date: March 1st, 2013

Formats: E-book

Goodreads TBR: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16160701-fire-country

Cover Artist: Regina Wamba

*The Blitz will take place on Feb 1st and for that day only Fire Country will be available at $2.99 (25% off normal prize)*

Early praise for the author

“David created a world I was excited to learn about and characters I cared about. I’ll remember this story for a very long time!”

Alexandria Nicole ~Goodreads

“Estes delivers a winner with confident writing that truly draws you into the story. “

Think ~ Goodreads

“The author, David Estes, has forged his name into writers to be watched and read.” Marni ~Goodreads

“David is such a fantastic author and he really knows how to pull at the heartstrings.” Kay ~K-Books

About the Author

DavidEstes

David Estes was born in El Paso, Texas but moved to Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania when he was very young. He grew up in Pittsburgh and then went to Penn State for college. Eventually moved to Sydney, Australia where he met his wife. A reader all his life, he began writing novels for the children’s and YA markets in 2010. He´s a writer with OCD, a love of dancing and singing (but only when no one is looking or listening), a mad-skilled ping-pong player, and prefers writing at the swimming pool to writing at a table

You can follow David at:

Blog Author Facebook Page Twitter Goodreads Goodreads fan page

The Dwellers Saga

The Moon Dwellers (The Dwellers, #1)

The Moon Dwellers Synopsis:

In a desperate attempt to escape destruction decades earlier, humankind was forced underground, into the depths of the earth, creating a new society called the Tri-Realms.

After her parents and sister are abducted by the Enforcers, seventeen-year-old Adele, a member of the middle-class moon dwellers, is unjustly sentenced to life in prison for her parents’ crimes of treason.

Against all odds, Adele must escape from the Pen and find her family, while being hunted by a deranged, killing machine named Rivet, who works for the President. She is helped by two other inmates, Tawni and Cole, each of whom have dark secrets that are better left undiscovered. Other than her friends, the only thing she has going for her is a wicked roundhouse kick and two fists that have been well-trained for combat by her father.

At the other end of the social spectrum is Tristan, the son of the President and a sun dweller. His mother is gone. He hates his father. Backed by only his servant and best friend, Roc, he leaves his lavish lifestyle in the Sun Realm, seeking to make something good out of his troubled life.

When a war breaks out within the Tri-Realms, Tristan is thrust into the middle of a conflict that seems to mysteriously follow Adele as she seeks to find her family and uncover her parents true past.

Buying Links

Kindle Ebook

Amazon Paperback

B&N Ebook

Smashwords Ebook

The Dwellers Saga

The Star Dwellers (The Dwellers, #2)

The Star Dwellers Synopsis:

After rescuing her father and younger sister, Adele is forced to leave her family and Tristan behind to find her mother in the cruel and dangerous realm of the star dwellers.

Amidst blossoming feelings for Adele, Tristan must cast his feelings aside and let her find her own way amongst the star dwellers, while he accompanies Adele’s father to meet with the leaders of the moon dwellers and decide the fate of the Tri-Realms.

Will Adele be able to rescue her mother and make it back to the Moon Realm before the President and the sun dweller soldiers destroy her family?

Can Tristan convince the moon dweller puppets of the error of their ways?

Was Adele’s lost kiss with Tristan her one and only chance at love?

In her world there’s only one rule: Someone must die.

Buying Links

Kindle Ebook

Amazon Paperback

B&N Ebook

Smashwords Ebook

The Dwellers Saga

The Sun Dwellers (The Dwellers #3)

The Sun Dwellers Synopsis:

With those she’s closest to dying around her, Adele embarks on a secret mission to the Sun Realm to assassinate the President. Along the way she’ll uncover secrets about her relationship with Tristan that she might not be ready to face.

Tristan has a secret, too, one that’s been eating him up inside ever since he met Adele. Will he reveal all, and risk the loss of friendship and love at a time when he needs it the most?

At the same time, Adele’s mother, General Rose, must lead her soldiers into battle to face the sun dweller army in the hopes of holding them off until Adele can complete her mission. Can she outlast the strength of President Nailin’s elite fighting force?

There’s only one truth in their world: someone must die.

Bonus Material

Includes a bonus Dwellers Short Story (Anna’s Story) and a sneak peek at David Estes’s follow up YA Dystopian Series, Fire Country!

The Dwellers Saga books are now available everywhere eBooks and paperbacks are sold via Amazon.com. Also, David pledged when he started writing to always respond to his readers, and he loves getting comments and questions, so please contact him using one of his favorite social networking sites below. He loves to get in contact with readers.

Where you can find David Estes hanging out:

Blog/website: http://davidestesbooks.blogspot.com

Facebook Page/s: http://www.facebook.com/pages/David-Estes/130852990343920

Goodreads Author Page: http://www.goodreads.com/davidestesbooks

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/davidestesbooks

Other YA Books by David Estes

The Evolution Trilogy

Book 1- Angel Evolution

Book 2- Demon Evolution

Book 3- Archangel Evolution

Children’s Books by David Estes

The Nikki Powergloves Adventures:

Nikki Powergloves- A Hero is Born

Nikki Powergloves and the Power Council

Nikki Powergloves and the Power Trappers

Nikki Powergloves and the Great Adventure

Nikki Powergloves VS The Power Outlaws (Coming in 2013!)

My Review:

I’m going to be in big big trouble AGAIN!! I AM finished this book- I DO ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT- but I have written a real review for it- and I do solemnly swear I will ASAP- but my life has become chaos for a little but while I finish building my house, look for a second job, and have a few doctor issues. No worries I’m good I’ll explain later, but while I had a small moment to get this in, I want to promise my review EXTRA SOON and I want EVERYONE to read Mr David’s book!! Like yesterday! 🙂 oh and the rating is definitely a 5 PAW review, now I’m off to see the doctor and hopefully I’ll get my review up soon!

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

Author Interview:

WELCOME!!! First, tell me a little about your book and why you wanted to write this particular story….

First off, thank you so much for having me, Maghon, it’s always a true pleasure coming on your awesome blog. Now, for your question:

Well, Fire Country is a sister series to the Dwellers Saga, but you don’t have to have read any of the Dwellers books to appreciate this one, as it stands on its own. It’s set in a changed world, where the sky is as red as blood and the air is toxic enough to drop life expectancies all the way down into the low thirties. This is the world that Siena lives in, in a place called fire country.

Because of the low life expectancies, women are forced to breed at age sixteen, and are matched with a random guy, who is referred to as their Call. Every three years they must Bear a child with their Call, until they have three children. Not unlike most sixteen year olds, Siena doesn’t feel ready to have children that young, but she thinks she has no choice.

When she becomes involved in a conspiracy that threatens her already brittle relationship with her father, Siena discovers there’s more to fire country and the laws of her village than she ever realized.

Partway through writing the sequel to The Moon Dwellers, the main character in Fire Country, Siena, started speaking to me. Loudly! Like she wouldn’t shut up and she was demanding I write her story. She was by far the easiest character I’ve ever had to write, because her lines and her thoughts just spilled into my head almost without me thinking about them. It was a welcome relief from having to struggle to develop characters and figure them out. Siena was always Siena, crazy and tougher than she thinks and smart and courageous and imperfect. Just Siena.

WOW! I am always amazed at how much a character can torment an author 🙂 that’s probably why we love them so much! Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

Great question. In the back of my mind I always knew I would write a book, mostly because I love reading and have an outrageous and big imagination, but I thought I needed a HUGE idea. Then, my soon-to-be wife, Adele, told me to just start writing a book using the FIRST idea that popped into my head. So I did and now two years later I’ve published 11 books, with at least 4 more to come by the end of 2013!

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I think it’s a bit of both. Although we’re built largely upon our own experiences because those are the ones that hit home the most, the experiences of others definitely influence me, particularly when a story or an experience is unexpected or emotional. I try to draw inspiration from as many places as possible, and you’ll usually find me tapping ideas into my iPhone no matter where I happen to be.

If it doesn’t effect you emotionally, it would be hard to connect to…How do you chose when/which characters die in your books?

Ugh. Tough one. I HATE killing characters. I repeat: I HATE killing characters. I make a point of saying that twice because I tend to kill off a fair number of characters, and some readers don’t like me very much for doing it. My books are set in tough times—no, more than tough, impossible times. Or at least seemingly impossible. So that means bad things will happen, and usually they’ll happen to good people.

Okay, so let me see if I can explain this, because it’s hard to explain. I don’t really “choose” who’s going to die; rather, the story chooses it for me. I know, I know, it sounds very mystical to say that, but it’s true. What I mean is that as I’m writing and writing and the ideas are flying and my book is taking shape, I just know when a character has to die, because that’s where the story has led. I don’t choose them ahead of time. Never. Generally though, I have so much invested in my main characters (and even main supporting characters), that I won’t kill them off, at least not quickly. But if the story forces me too, then I always want the characters that die to be well-developed, elicit an emotional response in my readers, and die doing something great. I think you’ll find that’s pretty consistent in my books (except for the bad guys of course, they can die miserable lives!)

Yes you killed some of my faves but I still love you 😉 Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Wow, so many I’ve lost count! I don’t want to rattle off a laundry list, so I’ll stick to a few new ones that have caught my eye. In terms of traditionally published authors, Veronica Roth, Maggie Stiefvater, and Cynthia Hand have really caught my eye. And for Indies, I’d say Karen Amanda Hooper, HD Gordon, Rebekah Campbell, Julie Reece, and Stephanie Judice all have bright futures ahead of them. There are a number of other Indies I’ve worked with recently, but I haven’t read any of their books yet, so I can’t quite mention them yet, but I’m sure they’ll do awesome too!

It’s always hard to pick and chose right! Who do you look up to as a writer?

Tolkien and Koontz were two of my biggest inspirations growing up, but most recently Patrick Ness has had a huge impact on me. His Chaos Walking series is the best YA dystopian series I’ve ever read!

Ooooh I seriously need to check him out!!! If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

Not a chance! With some books I definitely have regrets, but with Fire Country I have none. Like I said earlier, Siena told her story the way only she could tell it: raw and honest and unplugged.

I wouldn’t change your books either 🙂 Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Keeping things straight! I have a terrible memory so I constantly have to go back to make sure I’m not changing characters’ eye colors, hair colors, traits, etc. For the main characters it’s not a problem because I know them so well, but the supporting characters drive me bonkers! I don’t work from an outline or character bios or anything (I know, I know, I should, but I just can’t because it restricts me artistically), so it drives me a little insane.

What book are you reading now? Or what genre? My followers love author’s opinions!

Reading Prodigy by Marie Lu, also YA dystopian. It’s the sequel to Legend, which I loved! I tend to stick to YA dystopian, paranormal, contemporary, or fantasy.

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

Regina Wamba at MaeIDesign. She’s awesome, right? My wife, Adele, is far better at seeing things visually then me, so we always sit down together and come up with the concept, which we then share in detail with the cover artist, who then has the challenge of turning our words on a page into a breathtaking cover. Well, Regina really nailed it this time!

She is pretty awesome!! Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

With each new book I write, I learn more about myself. How I think, what I’m capable of, how many people are trapped inside me. Mostly I learn how much I love writing. Before a new project, I tend to get a little stressed, nervous, like maybe I suddenly won’t be able to get the words on the page in the order I want, or maybe I just can’t write anymore. But every time I finish and publish a new book I prove to myself that I can do it, and keep doing it, and have it be my career.

KEEP GOING!!! If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

Circ! He’s Siena’s love interest and he’s pretty much awesome. He’s extremely athletic, well-built, an awesome kisser, and just an all-around good guy. And he’s got a good sense of humor because he keeps up with Siena’s craziness!

He is pretty wonderful! Are there any books you think some of us should read, just because?

OK, I mentioned Patrick Ness before. If you like YA dystopian, you absolutely have to read The Knife of Never Letting Go and the entire Chaos Walking series. Absolute perfection! And if you like YA paranormal, particularly angels, you have to read Unearthly by Cynthia Hand. Her writing is beautiful!

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Just that, my gosh, I published my first book 15 months ago almost on a whim, and looking back, I’m in complete disbelief that I’m a fulltime writer with almost 1,000 members in my Goodreads fan group and 11 books published, and that it’s all—like every single last bit—because of my readers, my fans, my friends. Your support is unconquerable and magical and you’ve all changed my life so much for the better, just by being awesome people. So thank you…for everything.

Also, I pledged when I started writing to always respond to readers, and love getting comments and questions, so please contact me using one of my favorite social networking sites. As always, happy reading!!

I know I always love your books, so just keep writing and I’ll keep reading! THANK YOU extra for coming to MY blog today!!! I kinda feel special since I coveted you for an interview! LOL

Giveaway:

The author is offering a Paperback to the winner! GO HERE for the rafflecopter… I’m not sure if you have to leave a comment on a post to enter, so maybe just in case say something nice down below! HAHAHAHA 🙂

Thanks so so much Mr David, and of course my wonderful blogger BFF Karla, who is so awesome at promoting Mr David! 🙂 Love you guys!

I wish you all good luck! and of course, Happy Reading and later gators!!