Shattered Circle Blog Tour w Giveaway

SHATTERED Circle RDB Button 300 x 225

Today I am back for Shattered Cirlces blog tour, and I have the honor of showing you some MORE goodies! 🙂 I also really wanna say thank you (one more time) to the absolutely fabulous Ms. Linda, who sent me some goodies for you guys too when she sent my review copy… I will tell you about this later, first, I wanna show you!

Shattered Circle (Persephone Alcmedi, #6)

Shattered Circle

Persephone Alcmedi

Linda Robertson

Mass Market Paperback: 384 pages

Publisher: Pocket Books

ISBN-10: 1451648936

ISBN-13: 978-1451648935

JUST YOUR AVERAGE MEGA-WITCH. . . .

It’s tough being a modern woman, but Persephone Alcmedi has it worse than most. Being the prophesied Lustrata has kicked her career as a witch into high gear, and juggling a wærewolf boyfriend who is about to become king of his kind and a seductive vampire who bears her magical Mark isn’t easy either.

Still, Seph’s beloved foster daughter, Beverley, is causing more trouble than these two men put together. The young girl’s been playing with a magical artifact that’s far more dangerous than she realizes. Now Seph must summon help from a mystical being so potent that even vampires fear him . . . and the cost of his aid may be more than she’s willing to pay. Seph, Johnny, and Menessos face threats from all sides—and a few from within. Will the forces of destiny cement their tenuous supernatural union, or shatter it forever?

Simon and Schuster Amazon BN BooksaMillion IndieBound

Excerpt from SHATTERED CIRCLE:

Liyliy, a vampire-harpy, had tried to kill me a few hours ago, and the struggle left me exhausted and sore. That was the reason I was still abed at nearly two in the afternoon. When my satellite phone blared the opening riffs of Ozzy Osbourne’s “Bark at the Moon,” it startled me, instantly reminding me about all the sore muscles I had.

Mid-reach, I stopped. That was Johnny’s ringtone.

He had tried to kill me, too.

My hand shook as my finger jabbed the Answer button.

“Hello?”

“Red . . . I’m so sorry.” Johnny’s voice was barely audible.

I sat up and deliberated whether to play deaf and repeat my “hello” as if I hadn’t heard him. I considered being a jerk and hanging up. I even contemplated ripping him a new one.

Instead, I remained silent.

Two days before, minutes after I’d performed the forced-change spell on him and his loyal pack mates, Johnny had attacked me. He’d always retained his manmind while transformed, but that last time he didn’t—he’d been pure animal. The only reason I was still among the living was because I’d pumped ley line energy into him like a human Taser.

“Red?”

He’d frightened me to my core. The unshakeable faith I’d had in him had been shattered by an emotional earthquake. Damage was done. My fear felt like betrayal.

But . . .

Could going through the forced-change spell repeatedly have an undesired effect?

No. I was sure the whole terrible incident could be pinned on the fact that my mother, Eris, had revoked the tattooed bindings she’d placed upon Johnny eight years ago. He suddenly had access to all the power and potential she’d locked away from him. That was surely a disorienting, difficult situation.

I’d helped him dig up the clues, helped him achieve that goal. Hell, I’d even been a part of the reversal spell. So some responsibility for the consequences was mine to bear.

“Persephone?”

He rarely used my full given name; he usually called me Red, as in Little Red Riding Hood to his Big Bad Wolf. Or Seph like nearly everyone else. I had to respond.

“I’m here.”

“Then say something.”

Pushing back the covers, I stood and began to pace. “I don’t know what to say.”

He paused. “Can you forgive me?”

I wasn’t sure.

Part of me said I couldn’t allow his attack to be a personal issue because of the fateful trio that Johnny, Menessos, and I forged by binding ourselves magically. The other part argued that no matter the circumstances, attempted murder was very damn personal.

It all happened because Johnny had surrendered to his destiny. His unique ability to transform at will made him the Domn Lup—king of the wærewolves. It was a position with power, prestige, and perks such as a Maserati Quattroporte. Johnny knew his royal place was unavoidable, but he’d fought it and hid from it a long time. He’d finally pushed forward because it was beneficial to our triple union, but kinghood was costing him his dream of being a rock star.

It had been my fear that he’d lose who he was in the course of this alliance of ours. More than ever, it seemed this fear was being borne out.

On the other corner of our triangle was Menessos. He now bore two witches marks—mine, of course. That made him my servant. When Heldridge, his former right-hand man, learned of my authority over Menessos, he tattled to the highest vampire authority, the Excelsior. To protect us against the personal grudge of the truthseeing vampire-harpies sent by VEIN to make formal inquiry, Menessos had allied himself at great personal expense with someone dangerous—a “nameless” guy I had aptly dubbed Creepy.

The secrets he’d wanted to hide from VEIN—secrets even I didn’t know—were apparently safe, but our little who-marked-whom secret was out. Menessos lost his haven and his status as Northeastern Quarterlord. Johnny had accepted great power and lost a lifelong dream. Menessos had lost great power and accepted serious personal risk. It didn’t seem fair.

And what about me?

In the last several weeks I’d learned that I was the longprophesied Lustrata, the Witches’ Messiah, She Who Walks Between Worlds, She Who Will Bring Balance, blah blah blah. As this news spread throughout the nonhuman communities, some scoffed and some believed. I was fine with the scoffers; it was the believers who were dangerous. They wanted to know if I truly possessed the power that accompanied those titles. Yeah, I was a magnet for nasties who either a) wanted me dead to be sure I didn’t have that power, or b) wanted to try to force me to wield power for their gain.

I guess I’d accepted the endless complications of my status and was well on my way to losing all scraps of naïveté.

At that thought, I stopped pacing. As I stared into the nothingness of a darkened corner, it felt like my innocence had slipped from my grasp and I was watching it skitter across the floor, waiting for it to come to a stop so I could reclaim it.

I wasn’t sure it was worth the effort to look for it. Or perhaps it would be impossible to find if I made the effort. Maybe it had rolled into some crack, never to be seen again.

I heard Johnny breathing through the phone.

It wasn’t Johnny who had rescued me last night.

When I defeated Liyliy, Menessos had been there to bring me to the haven. Sure, Menessos had a hand in creating the monster she now was. And it was he who had imprisoned her, creating her need for revenge. But it was me and my marks upon him that had brought her to Cleveland. When she pursued me from the haven—according to the Offerling I’d spoken to—Menessos had sent everyone out to search for me.

Had Johnny even known I was missing?

It was shitty of me to compare the two men in my life, but I couldn’t help myself. Though Menessos had drunk my blood numerous times, he hadn’t tried to kill me.

Yes he did! He nearly killed you not long after you first met.

We were strangers then, I argued with myself. Now, we know each other well.

Better, perhaps, than you should. . . .

Defiantly, I ignored my conscience’s scolding. I will not regret what I did last night. During the predawn hours, reeling from my encounter, I’d kissed Menessos.

Fine, but clearly you were able to forgive him.

That was true. Considering this, I felt hope. I sighed heavily into the phone. My whispered answer was, “In time.”

“There’s so much I need to tell you.” Johnny’s voice was raw, and the rev of an engine punctuated his words. I wondered where he was going. And I wondered if I should tell him about kissing the vampire.

It hadn’t been a peck.

When our lips had touched, I felt the promise and power of a more intimate union. He’d definitely felt it. It wasn’t only the power of the marks between us that had been kindled.

“I don’t know where to begin,” Johnny said.

His voice drew me out from my memory of a passionate moment with another man. Guilt swelled around my heart . . . but not remorse. What am I going to do?

My Review:

I’m going to start by saying that this may not be one of my greatest reviews- BUT before you freak out- I loved the book, I should have read the whole freaking series first!!! Hahahaha I’m sometimes a goofball, and wanna read a book with out even noticing if it’s part of a series!! Soo… This is the first book I’ve read in this series- BAD DOG MAGHON!! LOL 🙂 however with that said, I will now be investing in this WHOLE SERIES!! I liked this book a whole heaping lot and seriously feel the need to read from page one of book one! High five in getting myself to purchase more books hahahaha 🙂 I will most definitely be reading them all- in order- and probably editing this review in the future! 😉

I happen to very much like Persephone as a character! I like that her nick name is Seph… Though I some times wanna call her Stef and it’s funny to me that I keep noticing myself calling Menessos, Mimosa… Maybe my crazy life is telling me I need a drink… Or maybe it’s my crazy Cajun heritage 🙂 hahaha any who! Back to Seph, I know I’m missing some parts by not starting at the beginning but I’ve found I already love her. I like what she stands for and who she feels she is and her willingness to help others and she lets some major wrongs go to help those who have wronged her. She’s become a very much wanna-be character to me- meaning I would definitely wanna be her in another world! 🙂

I think I’m definitely enjoying the male characters in here, though I’m usually all about team werewolf, and yet I found myself a little on team vamper more! *GASP* I wasn’t sure that was possible, so another major high five to Ms Linda for having something special! And I totally loved her relationship with Beverly! It’s very cool to me for an urban fantasy heroine to have a child, regardless if she actually gave birth or not! And she stole my heart so who wouldn’t love that!!

This story is action packed, and though I know there’s backstory I haven’t read, I had absolutely no trouble being sucked into this world of awesome! I loved the world created and this makes me want to have the whole series even more!! The writing is just fantabulous! It has so many feelings to it, plus after reading all these character’s problems, I’m thinking I should stop stressing so much about mine! LOL! I absolutely cannot wait to read more and getting the first books of this series has just become a high priority for me!! I can’t wait for more! 🙂 5 SCARY DELICIOUS PAWS from me!!

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

 

Author Interview:

WELCOME!!! First, tell me a little about your book 🙂 ….

SHATTERED CIRCLE is the 6th installment in the Persephone Alcmedi series from Simon & Schuster’s Pocket Books. The vampire hierarchy has taken the haven from Menessos, and transitioning it into Goliath’s rule–and the plotting of the Shabubbitu–strains their relationship to the breaking point. The waerewolves are losing their den as the local Department of Transportation intends to seize it and tear it down to make way for the new highway (I placed them in a real building in Cleveland that ODOT has truly taken and torn down for their I-90 project…sigh). As if that isn’t enough for Johnny to deal with, his new assistant, Aurelia, shows herself to be a serious threat to all he holds dear. Seph’s beloved foster daughter, Beverley, has been playing with Great El’s slate, a magical artifact that’s far more dangerous than the girl realizes. Our heroine, named for the goddess best known for being abducted, summons help from a mystical being so potent that even vampires fear him . . . and the cost of his aid may be more than she’s willing to pay. So…Seph, Johnny, and Menessos are facing threats from all sides—and a few from within. These forces may cement their supernatural union, or shatter it forever….

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

When I was eight, I wrote a ‘Harlequin’ romance for my mom because she read so many of them. I illustrated it and even drew the little symbol on it–if I’m remembering correctly. It was about a princess who hated skirts and dresses, who was getting married to a prince. Someone shot him at the wedding so she and all her friends went off on a spaceship to catch the bad guy, and had some pizza at a space station.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No, but the character of Nana is based on a conglomeration of my mom, her sisters, and her friends. The result is one hell of a sassy, chain-smoking granny.

How do you choose when/which characters die in your books?

I ask myself: Who’s death best serves the story? Who’s death impacts main characters most profoundly? When is the time that this will bring the most drama and motivation to the characters?

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Allison Pang, James R. Tuck. Allison uses wonderful snark, WoW, a very sexy succubus, and an ass-biting unicorn. Tuck pulls no punches in his Deacon Chalk series.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

Absolutely. I’d write them better. I learn so much each time. If I could go back and fix ‘em all up…that would be awesome.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

The challenge is to keep learning continuously, to keep honing that skill and thinking critically, while continuously creating new plotlines and characters that are engaging, creative, active, fun, and likable.

What book are you reading now? Or what genre?

I am currently reading ROGUE WARRIOR by Richard Marcinko (with John Weisman).

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

Don Sipley has done all my US covers so far and I love them. I have had a little input here and there. Like the guitar on the cover of HALLOWED CIRCLE. He had put in a baby-blue telecaster guitar. I was dating the owner of a guitar company at the time and we had just done the catalogue, so I had hi-res images of all the stock. Since the guitar had a particular role in that story I wanted the cover image to use the guitar I envisioned in that key scene, so I sent in the image and he put that guitar on the cover instead. It’s perfect!

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

So much! Aside from all the usual advancement of writing skill, the research into characters has been especially insightful. Delving into the psychology of who they are, and why, brings me better understanding of myself and those around me. Read THE ART OF CHOOSING by Sheena Iyengar. Very cool book.

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

Wow. I’m not sure I’d be any of them. They all have such pain in their past, if not in their present. Maybe Risqué…but I’d wear more clothing than she does.

Are there any books you think some of us should read, just because?

As mentioned above, THE ART OF CHOOSING by Sheena Iyengar. Very cool non-fiction book.

If you mean of my books, start at the beginning. The series if very tightly written, where one ends, the next begins right there. It’s necessary because the plot is timed to certain pagan holidays and I’ve even kept a calendar so that my sunrise/set times, moon phase, etc. are all accurate per this storyline.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for giving my books a shot. I know there are many things in life vying for your time, and many books to choose from when you elect to spend some of your precious minutes reading. That you have held my work in your hands at that moment, is a great honor. If you’ve taken the time to tell me you enjoyed them, wow. Know that you made my day.

www.authorlindarobertson.com

WEDNESDAYS I post at: www.word-whores.blogspot.com

twitter: @authorlinda

fb: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Linda-Robertson/232211130144721

GOODREADS: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2937372.Linda_Robertson

My books can be purchased many, many ways! Available both as mass market paperbacks and as ebooks, you can find them via your local bookstore both the big ones and the indie ones, via my publisher’s website: http://authors.simonandschuster.com/Linda-Robertson/63492742 or the various on-line booksellers.

About the Author

Linda  Robertson

Linda Robertson is the mother of four wonderful boys, owns three electric guitars, and is followed around by a big dog named after Bela Lugosi. Once upon a time she was a lead guitarist in a heavy metal cover band and has worked as a graphic artist. She still composes and creates art, when time permits. Linda currently writes and rocks in northeast Ohio. Visit her at AuthorLindaRobertson.com and @authorLinda

http://www.authorlindarobertson.com/

http://www.facebook.com/authorlindarobertson

Giveaway:

  • There is a tour wide giveaway for the next several days, you can win 10 PRINT COPIES!!! YAY… GO HERE for the rafflecopter direct link, or Click the lovely banner at the top of this post for the host’s tour site which also has the rafflecopter, AND it also has all the tour host days for all the stops on the tour!
  • Here’s my giveaway. Leave me a nice comment and I will send you a lovely bookmark or two (which the wonderful author sent me)… It’s international as long as the USPS can ship it to you. 🙂 I am gunna split them between the winners for the release day blitz and today!

Thanks everyone for stopping by today and good luck!! I wish you all a Happy reading every one and later gators!!

4 thoughts on “Shattered Circle Blog Tour w Giveaway

  1. Shannon B says:

    I am notorious for reading a series out of order. I get so mad if I do that, but it keeps happening. I cant wait to read the entire series. I have read a couple so I have to catch up to read this one.

  2. Thanks for the giveaway!

  3. Jean S. says:

    Oh! I hate reading a series out of order. I try to avoid it when I can. Kudos that you were able to keep up with the events in Shattered Circle even though it’s the 6th book in the series. (Yikes! I’m far behind…)

  4. bn100 says:

    Nice lessons to learn from writing.

What do you have to say?

