Cat’s Meow Blog Tour w Giveaway

The Cats Meow Button 300 x 225
Yes, I got a coveted spot on the Cat’s Meow tour, and I’m EXTRA excited! I’ve read several things by Ms Kennedy, she has some wonderful books, so when this new series came out, I knew I needed to tell everyone about it! And, according to me, you WILL NOT be disappointed 🙂 So, now, let me tell you all about the goodies!

TheCatsMeow_FullSize

The Cat’s Meow
Witch’s Brew Book One

Stacey Kennedy

Genre: Urban Fantasy Romance

Publisher: Entangled Publishing

ISBN: 9781622668571

ASIN: B00ANY22Z4

Number of pages: 256 pages

Word Count: 75,000 words

Cover Artist: PJ Edwards

Book Trailer: http://youtu.be/MqNMxCThE-Q

Entangled Publishing Amazon BN Books on Board iTunes

Book Description:

Libby is an Enchantress—a witch gifted by the Goddess to conjure spells. When a magical presence is detected around a recent string of feline slayings, Libby takes the case to uncover the reasons behind the odd deaths. Much to her displeasure, the coven also sends a sexy warlock, Kale, to assist her.

While having the muscle around proves to be useful, fighting the attraction between them is worse than a hex, especially considering Kale is keeping secrets. But soon, Libby has bigger problems than the elusive warlock when her spells turn up clues that point to something far more sinister than slaughtered cats.

Now Libby has landed herself in the midst of an uprising. She trusts no one and isn’t safe—not from the warlocks stirring up trouble. Not from the worrisome rebellion she can’t escape. And certainly not from Kale, who is weaving a very dangerous spell over her heart.

Excerpt:

On the outskirts of town, leading back into Charleston, the streets were relatively quiet. For the most part, if any people were out and about they would be downtown to enjoy Charleston’s nightlife. Most around here, including warlocks and witches, lived a relatively normal life. Sadly, I wasn’t among them, and my “normal” involved a hunt for evil before it became danger.

In my hopes of keeping conversation to a minimum, I cranked the radio station, drumming my fingers on my thigh to the alternative song blasting through the speakers.

Kale didn’t appear to have the same wish. “Do you plan to tell me where we’re going?” I turned the music down and he continued, “With a gutted cat, no less.”

Glancing out of the corner of my eye, I noticed how his body filled my seat quite nicely. Too bad warlocks were men I avoided—I found getting with a warlock always led to disaster—because this warlock would be one to have some fun with.

While his looks might tempt me, the decision came years ago when I’d had enough of their egos, their need to be the tough guy, and their tendency to have their own agenda. My last attempt to respect warlocks ended at the age of twenty when one broke my heart. Since then, the only warlock I could stand was Peyton’s boyfriend, and even he walked a fine line of always needing to prove himself to me.

Lately, I’d stuck to the non-magical man, but those relationships hadn’t led to anything serious, nor did they belong on my fantastic memories list. Where warlocks had too much stuff, non-magical folk didn’t have enough. Needless to say, it’d been months since I heard the word date and my regions south had declared death a while ago.

I cleared my mind of unimportant things and set to answering him. “We’re going to Magnolia Cemetery.”

“I see.” He turned in his seat and set his hard stare onto me. “You’re an Enchantress?”

The rich nature of his voice made funny things awaken in my dead regions. Perhaps my libido wanted to be reincarnated. I quashed the thought with a fierce no. “Mm-hmm.” Two could play at the game he presented—if he wanted to assign labels, so could I. “You’re a Ward?”

“Correct.”

Not like I needed the confirmation. Any warlock who worked for the coven received the title. “What’s your talent?”

“Runes.”

I jerked my head to look at him and the car swerved before I straightened the wheel. “You draw runes?”

A hint of a smile turned up the corners of his mouth. “You look surprised.”

“I am,” I admitted with no shame. “I haven’t met a Ward who holds the talent of rune magic.” Glancing back at the road to avoid a crash, I shrugged to downplay my awe. “At least, not any from Charleston.”

“We are few and far between,” he replied, cool and collected.

My breath seemed lost in the state between shock and bewilderment. He appeared to hold back on the interesting talent. Intriguing, considering most warlocks I’d met would gush at the opportunity to prove their abilities over mine. My curiosity about the warlock next to me rose, especially since I needed to discover the reason he’d been assigned to the case. “How long have you lived in Charleston?”

“Not long.”

Oh, this made no sense at all. We had our own Wards, who were talented in their own right, so we didn’t need Kale. I waited two breaths for him to answer, but he didn’t oblige me. “Where are you from?”

“Down south.”

I blinked at his indifferent voice, keeping the wheel tight in my hands to ensure the SUV went straight, but looked at him. “Do you plan on telling me anything about you?”

“I just did.” He gave a halfhearted shrug. “I’m a Ward, who draws runes, and I live down south.”

I snorted loud enough to ensure he heard it. Elusive might be an understatement when it came to Kale Griffin. I almost laughed at the situation; I wanted warlocks to shut the hell up, and now one did and I’d rather he talked.

Figures!

I had to wonder if he did it to get a rise out of me, since warlocks tended to do that, too, which is why I bit back the rest of my questions. He might want to play that game, but by the Goddess I wouldn’t feed into it. I slammed the accelerator down, ignoring the sexy warlock next to me. We had bigger problems.

The dead cat stinkin’ up my SUV reminded me of that.

My Review:

OMG KALE IS HAWT!!! Ok well, let me start by saying I knew I would love this book and I’m definitely not disappointed! It’s a fantastic world created expertly and I couldn’t get enough! I flew through the pages and I definitely laughed til my cheeks hurt and then cried because sometimes heartbreaks will do that to you! I’m quite impressed with how well this book is written, being a series started and yet I found no info dumps and an excellent way to let readers learn about things as you read. I very much like this!

Libby is your totally awesome witch, who has a foul mouth, and bad attitude and a very great best friend… Along with a crazy mother, a serious hate for warlocks, and every doubtful thought known to man! In short- I LOVE HER!! She is up front, even in the negative like being scared because she had no fighting skills. She does get defensive about her weaknesses but that’s everyone’s way! She uses basic skills to get her job done and she’s just fine with that… Until Kale walks into her life.

Kale is definitely an alpha male. He’s sexy as sin. He’s sweet yet he’s also an assassin used to kill the bad little witchies! I LURVVVVV him!!! He’s exactly what Libby needed! I have high hopes for them! And I especially loved the end when he wouldn’t leave for ” her own good”! It’s pretty awesome! And the author totally surprised me with the bad guy!! NO I DIDN’T SEE THAT LITTLE TWIST COMIN!!! It’s usually hard to surprise me like that- so well done!

Last but not least, the first three words had me! The writing is wonderfully flowing. I picked it up and didn’t stop! It’s a thrill ride fill of mysteries and trust issues and magic and HAWT male pieces and beautiful beginnings! And if I totally made add- BEST ENDING SCENE EVER!!! I normally am not all about the romance of the story but his was played so damn well that even I cheered! An extremely great series debut… Please please don’t make me wait too long for another in this series!! A MAGICALLY DELICIOUS AND NUTRITIOUS 5 PAWS!! Hehehe I like this little description because I’m thinking Kale is both delicious and nutritious!! 😉
paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main
About the Author:

Stacey Kennedy

Stacey Kennedy’s novels are lighthearted fantasy with heart-squeezing, thigh-clenching romance, and even give a good chuckle every now and again. But within the stories you’ll also find fast-paced action, life-threatening moments, and a big bad villain who needs to be destroyed. She lives in Southwestern Ontario with her husband and two children. If she’s not plugging away at a new story—which is rare because her muse is annoying—you’ll find her camping, curling up with the latest flick, or obsessing over Sons of Anarchy, Games of Thrones, Supernatural and Dexter.

Website – http://www.staceykennedy.com/

Blog – http://www.staceykennedy.com/blog

Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/AuthorStaceyKennedy

Facebook Fan Page – www.facebook.com/StaceyKennedyFanPage

Twitter – https://twitter.com/#!/Stacey_Kennedy

Goodreads – http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3473046.Stacey_Kennedy

Amazon Author Page – http://www.amazon.com/Stacey-Kennedy/e/B004G9KR9A/

Giveaway:

Are you ready for this? I’m giving away a ebook copy!! 🙂 YAY!!! I need you all to read this, so leave a nice comment to win, and I’ll be picking a winner on the 16th so I can confirm and then get the winner the book. This is kinda a short giveaway period so do it NOW! 😛 GOOD LUCK!

I sure hope you guys had fun today! I know I sure did and I love this book and I can’t wait for more of this series to come out! Happy Reading everyone and later gators!

4 thoughts on “Cat’s Meow Blog Tour w Giveaway

  1. Anne C says:

    I love the cover and the excerpt. Would be awesome if I win a copy! 🙂
    anne.j2 (at) gmail.com

  2. This sounds so cute! I would love to try it

  3. bn100 says:

    Nice excerpt.

  4. stacey7smith says:

    Sounds like such a fun read!
    Would love to have the chance to read it.

What do you have to say?

