Exemeus Blog Tour w Giveaway

Exemeus Button 300 x 225
Today, I’ve got something unique to show you and not only that but it’s two authors and they’ve for a fantastic way I’d telling a story, so let me show you!
front cover image

The Exemeus

Book One
Folami and Abeni Morris

Genre: young adult fantasy

Publisher: Royal Colours Ink

ISBN: 9780988688605

Number of pages: 504

Word Count: 101,595

Cover Artist: Amalia Chitulesca

Book Description:

Haylee Smith is dead, she just doesn’t know it yet.

Her short life was devoted to love and to hate. Love of the man who stole her heart, hate for the man who stole the world. Murdered by the government she swore to destroy, fate has given her another chance to make it right. But to save the planet, she needs the help of the most powerful mystic the world has ever seen—unfortunately he hasn’t been born yet.

In a world where fear is the only currency, Dephon has committed the ultimate crime: inspiring hope.

His only goal is to make it safely through ninth grade, but on a post-apocalyptic Earth run by the Treptonian government, it isn’t that simple. Heir to a legendary power, Dephon Johnson is the only threat to the government’s rule. And on Trepton, all threats must be eliminated. When hundreds of assassins are dispatched to neutralize him, Dephon is forced to fight back. His only chance of survival is to enlist the aid of the greatest warrior the world has ever known. The only problem is, she’s been dead for 13 years.

Book Trailer: http://youtu.be/tM_hlmZ6Wo4

BN

Excerpt:

A scream rippled through the emerald-green sea. “You’ve got to be kidding me,” Singleton groaned. I sighed deeply, trying to remain composed. Another scream pierced our ears, this one coming from a different direction. Within seconds the horizon was filled with no less than twenty of the slug-like creatures traveling with chilling military-style precision towards us. They were all swimming from different directions, their eyes flickering in the distance.

“Hyles, leave.”

“No,” I said firmly.

“I’m losing too much blood as it is. I’ll never make it back and who’ll avenge my mother? Get out of here. I will not watch you die too! Do it now, Hyles!”

“Would you leave me?” I challenged him, racking my mind for a course of attack.

I gripped my sword awkwardly in my hand as I tried to keep Singleton afloat with the other one. “Hyles, just go or we’ll both die.” The creatures were close enough for us to see their rattling teeth. The combined effect of their screams was enough to shatter our eardrums. “Hyles, go!” he said again. The creatures were no more than eight feet away, and it was clear that neither of us was getting out of here alive.

My Review:

Welcome to one of the coolest dystopian worlds made! What an interesting story this book has become. And yes I have seen the comparisons to Hunger Games but other than being in a dystopian setting I didn’t find that many similarities. Sure some, but not enough for me to automatically think HG. Anyways this was a wild ride for me.

First lets talk about how freaking awesome it is that the main character is a DUDE! I’m loving this! Don’t get me wrong, I love a good lady heroine but I’m a huge fan of well done male POVs as the main- ya know I seriously love Harry Dresden. And since Dephon is in a seriously tight spot he needs all the help he can get and it comes in the form of the awesome Haylee.

Haylee is something special! She’s got some serious kick-ass awesomeness going on! It’s a really special relationship happening here. The Trepton world created here is so real, which is quite depressing. It seems like any sliver of hope is dashed so fast you never even remember having it. Haylee and Dephon are on a mission to stay alive to accomplish this.

This is such a wonderful writing style and the amount of different elements added make it all the more special. You’ve got the fantasy element, it’s young adult though I think a whole lot of people will love it regardless of age, it got some humor, some mystery, some suspense, add a little horror because if I lived here I’d be horrified, and it’s filled with surprises in the plot twist, there’s is bound to be SOMETHING to keep you hooked like I was. Just grab it, get you a few hours, a comfortable spot, some snacks, and enter a world you can’t help but fall into and never want to come out! 5 APOCALYPTIC PAWS from me!
paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

Author Interview:

First, tell me a little about your book ….

Abeni: It’s about fighting out against oppression, no matter how afraid you are. When Dephon Johnson finds out he’s on the government’s radar he has to fight back or die trying, but in order to do that he’s going to have to resurrect the world’s greatest hero, Hyalee Smith. The book is in two perspectives and two time periods: one is before the Treptonian government has seized power and the other is after the government has seized power of the planet. The book tells the stories of two different people who are battling against tyranny.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

Abeni: I always loved writing, even when I was kid. When my sister came to me and said she wanted to write the Exemeus, I decided this was my chance.

Folami: I have always loved writing, also. I’ve always been motivated to change the endings of books I didn’t like by writing a whole new ending. Writing has always just been a part of me.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Folami: We don’t know anyone who wakes up with blue hair or the power to make their boyfriend explode with a single touch. So no, lol, not at all based on someone we know. That would be interesting though.

How do you choose when/which characters die in your books?

Folami: We really just duke it out. My sister doesn’t want anyone to die and I want to commit mass murders—figuratively, of course. In the end we select what deaths are necessary to move the plot forward.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Folami: Yes! A & E Kirk. Their novel, Demons at Deadnight, has to be one of the best novels that I’ve read. I don’t know how you can help, but love it.

Who do you look up to as a writer?

Abeni: I would have to say Jane Heller, I love her creativity and the way she tackles stories. She has the perfect balance of mystery, romance, and comedy.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

Abeni: No, not a thing. Everything is necessary, I wish I could explain more, but it would give too much away. So, I’ll have to leave it at that.

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

Folami: Our amazing cover artist was Amalia Chitulesca who took each comment we made seriously. We had to be the most difficult clients on the planet, but she took it in stride. I can’t imagine a better designer.

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

Folami: Yes. I learned about all the time and the money that authors pour into their books. Good books, bad books, and all the books in between, someone invested their heart and soul into them and I learned that I should always write comments and feedback in a respectful way.

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

Abeni: If I had to choose a character from our book to be I would pick Hyalee. I appreciate the simplicity of her character. I love that she embodies different facets of the average woman/girl. She starts off introverted and unsure of herself and she progresses into being a warrior, granted you see the progression more throughout the series than this one book, but you still see such character growth from her.

Folami: I love Virginia. I love her freedom to say anything and do anything, without the inhibitions that most of the rest of us have.

Are there any books you think some of us should read, just because?

Abeni: Wuthering heights and Great Expextations.

Folami: The Exemeus. Oh, this isn’t the time for self-promotion? Then I’ll have to go with Demons at Deadnight and Angelfall, they were the best book of 2012 and 2011, respectively.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Folami: Thank you so much for your support and taking the time to read our novel. We hope you love/loved it as much as we enjoyed writing it.

THANK YOU BOTH LADIES!!! 🙂 I really enjoyed this one! 🙂

About the Authors:

Folami and Abeni Morris are a sister-sister writing team. Together they wrote (and rewrote) The Exemeus series, somehow managing to accomplish it without murdering one another. Despite their facial similarities, tendency to finish each other’s thoughts and stick up for each other constantly, no, they’re not twins and thus deserve their own individual bio.

Folami Morris

Folami grew up in the tiny city of San Mateo Ca, where nothing ever happens and no one ever leaves. She went to Xavier University for undergraduate, getting her B.A in physics and her B.S in Biology. After graduation she returned to California, to live in an even smaller city, where even less happens, Antioch Ca. During this time she escaped the monotony by hanging out with her imaginary friends Hyalee and Dephon, and by writing the Exemeus.

She finally escaped to Queens NY and now realizes that quiet and tiny aren’t so bad.

Abeni Morris

As luck (and logic) would have it, Abeni grew up in the same tiny little town as her sister, then she too escaped to the tinier town of Antioch. She has yet to leave. She received her bachelor’s degree in early childhood development from Cal State East Bay. She is the mom of two amazing kids, who swear that they deserve a percentage of the book proceeds and a ton of the credit. At least she raised dreamers.

www.Folamiandabenimorrisbooks.com

www.theexemeus.blogspot.com

http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Exemeus/231400970230388

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16189172-the-exemeus

Giveaway:

There are actually two different giveaways going on right now… First, there is one on Goodreads which is HERE and then there is our tour giveaway which is for TWO PRINT copies, which is HERE so I wish you ALL GOOD LUCK to win! 🙂

Thanks everyone! Happy reading! Later Gators!

2 thoughts on “Exemeus Blog Tour w Giveaway

  1. ladyvampire says:

    Congratulations on this release! Sounds awesome and I love the cover.

  2. Folami says:

    Thank you so much ladyvampire. Hopefully you win a copy.
    And Thank you Maghon for having us on your blog, it is really well done.

What do you have to say?

