Rogue Oracle Blog Tour Part One

The Oracle Series Button 300 x 225

Hello everyone! Today, my review is for book one, as you see by part one in the title, tomorrow is the big stop with my review for part two 🙂 So, Let me first say that I LOVE this author, she is all over, and has a pen name which I REALLY love her books by that name too. It’s what I originally started reading her as. But, enough of me, let me give you some goodies!

Rogue Oracle (Oracle, #2)

ROGUE ORACLE

Delphic Oracle #2

Pocket Juno Books

Mass Market Paperback, $7.99

ISBN 978-1439182819

Feb. 22, 2011

Alayna Williams writes with power and poetry, combining old mythos with complete ass-kickery. You don’t want to miss this series.” -National bestselling author Ann Aguirre

The more you know about the future, the more there may be to fear.

Tara Sheridan is the best criminal profiler around – and the most unconventional. Trained as a forensic psychologist, Tara also specializes in Tarot card reading. But she doesn’t need her divination skills to realize that the new assignment from her friend and sometime lover, Agent Harry Li, is a dangerous proposition in every way.

Former Cold War operatives, all linked to a top-secret operation tracking the disposal of nuclear weapons in Russia, are disappearing. There are no bodies, and no clues to their whereabouts. Harry suspects a conspiracy to sell arms to the highest bidder. The cards – and Tara’s increasingly ominous dreams – suggest something darker. Even as Tara sorts through her feelings for Harry and her fractured relationships with the mysterious order known as Delphi’s Daughters, a killer is growing more ruthless by the day. And a nightmare that began decades ago in Chernobyl will reach a terrifying endgame that not even Tara could have foreseen…

ROGUE ORACLE is available at Amazon.com and Barnes & Noble.

Dark Oracle (Oracle, #1)

Description:

As a criminal profiler, Tara used science and her intuitive skill at Tarot card divination to track down the dangerous and depraved, including the serial killer who left her scarred from head to toe. Since that savage attack, Tara has been a recluse. But now an ancient secret society known as Delphi’s Daughters has asked for her help in locating missing scientist Lowell Magnusson. And Tara, armed with her Tarot deck, her .38, and a stack of misgivings, agrees to try.

Tara immediately senses there is far more at stake than one man’s life. At his government lab in the New Mexico desert, Magnusson had developed groundbreaking technology with terrifying potential. Working alongside the brusque but charismatic agent Harry Li, Tara discovers that Magnusson’s daughter, Cassie, has knowledge that makes her a target too. The more Tara sees into the future, the more there is to fear. She knows she has to protect Cassie. But there may be no way to protect herself—from the enemies circling around her, or from the long-buried powers stirring to life within. . .

My Review for book one:

So let me start by saying I learned some extremely fascinating information about tarot cards, their meaning, and reading them. If you’re like me, you know somewhat about tarot cards but have no idea what each means and how they work. Well now I do lol not that I could read them! And I will say that if you love a big crime type mystery with your paranormal fantasy, I’m so telling you to grab this one! It’s much like a crime mystery in the facts and details that are placed together. I happen to be a fan of things like this. And then we add a little fantasy to it and BAM we’ve got a really interesting story for me!

Tara is not your typical bad mama jama heroine. She’s got scars both internal and external and she’s coping so well with them. I actually like this a lot because she isn’t some all powerful total kick ass chick- in the beginning 🙂 you get to know her a little as she also gets to overcome some of her fears and tries to reassess herself. She’s been in hiding, not just from the world but I think a little from herself. I watched her slowly unfold and learn to help herself. She’s a relatable character because if that.

There are a few supporting characters her that you’ll meet, Cassie and Maggie are key plot characters, good guy wise is Harry, the agent helping Tara, and Sophie, the older friend of her mother and part of the Order- I can’t call them witches, but you get the idea. Sophie talks Tara into helping try to find a missing scientist while Agent Harry helps her. This plot unfolds and you get to see some different perspectives, including the bad guys. This brings to light some serious plot twisting, so it made it interesting! Plus Maggie is of course a totally cool canine!!

I happen to be a huge fan of this author, not just by this name but also by her other. But I will say, though her writing has the same feel, this book is not really much like her others. I think that’s pretty cool when an author can do that. It’s got some really cool info- like serious research was done for this book- enough that you know it was done, but not in a way that disrupts the story. The parts about the missing scientist’s projects were explained in dialogue which was a brilliant idea to me… Ummm I totally hated ALL my several physics classes in college so way to keep me actually interested LOL! And I’m going to jump right into book two because I’m so ready to find out more! Not just about Tara about about her world an how things are going to play out! I’m going to say 4.5 MYSTERIOUSLY DIVINE PAWS from me!

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

Author Bio:

Alayna Williams

Alayna Williams has an MA in sociology-criminology (research interests: fear of crime and victimology) and a BA in criminology. She has worked in and around criminal justice since 1997. Although she does read Tarot cards, she’s never used them in criminal profiling or to locate lost scientists. She recently took up astronomy, but for the most part her primary role in studying constellations and dark matter is to follow her amateur astronomer-husband around central Ohio toting the telescope tripod and various lenses. Like the Pythia in Dark Oracle, she’s been known to belly dance. Unlike the Pythia she’d never consider herself a professional

Writing as Laura Bickle, she’s the author of EMBERS and SPARKS for Pocket – Juno Books. Writing as Alayna Williams, she’s the author of DARK ORACLE and ROGUE ORACLE.

More info on her urban fantasy and general nerdiness is here: http://www.salamanderstales.com/

Laura/ Alayna’s blogs

http://www.salamanderstales.blogspot.com and http://delphisdaughters.blogspot.com

She’s a proud member of Word Whores.

She’s at Facebook, and Fangs, Fur, and Fey.

And Twitter…@Laura_Bickle

Sparky the fire salamander from EMBERS and SPARKS has his own Twitter account, @SparkySalamandr

* Tomorrow I will have an excerpt from book two for you guys as well as my review. I hope you guys enjoyed today and I will see you back tomorrow 🙂 Happy Reading and Later Gators!

2 thoughts on “Rogue Oracle Blog Tour Part One

  1. Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review my book…and for hosting me today!

    BTW, Maggie the dog in DARK ORACLE is based on a real dog who was the bridesmaid at my wedding. 😉

  2. […] my review is for book two! Just incase you missed yesterday’s stop with book one, you can go HERE to see […]

What do you have to say?

