A Prescription for Delirium Tour w Giveaway

Well guys, have you ever wondered what happened to Van Helsing’s descendants? This was such a cool story, so I am not going to blabber too much! I’ve got a huge post today, so let me show you!

A Prescription for Delirium

(Van Helsing Organization #1)

Ninety years ago, Gabriella di Luca promised to protect the family of her dying lover. She failed to keep that promise. She was too far away to stop the devil that murdered the eldest Van Helsing son. Years later, Gabby learns the devil has resurfaced. She arrives in Hampton, TX, determined to stop the devil before it can lay a bloody hand on the remaining three brothers.

However, madness is spreading through Hampton. She suspects the devil is using this madness to test a drug which has a side effect of demonic possession. Gabby rushes to end the source of the madness only to fall victim to it. For a woman cursed with eternal life, dying is no threat. However, Gabby must stop the devil’s plot or risk losing her most precious possession: her mind.

AmazonBarnes & NobleSmashwords

My Review:

This is definitely a new series I love! There are just too many cool things going on. Gabby is cursed- she literally dies but comes back to life and it’s not a good thing. The demons are not the usual demons- they’re broken up into the seven deadly sins- which was very awesome the way the author did it! The demons you meet are just down right cruel and scary! The Van Helsing brothers are just plain cool! Are you hooked yet?

Gabby is a very differently made character. She’s been alive for a loooong time fighting demons. Hell, she’s got her own past and demons to fight. But she continues to try to notably protect the humans from demons and bad supernaturals, but to keep a promise to help save the Van Helsing brothers- the descendants of Van Helsing 🙂 she is probably the most beat up character I’ve ever read. She is constantly getting her butt handed to her, but she never gives up. And you would think after everything she’s been through and had happen she’d give up- I would have! I definitely think she’s a cool heoine!

the secondary characters were hilarious! The ridiculously angry Cajun Marguerite, the very broody Adrian Van Helsing, the sweet and cute Tres Van Helsing, and the smart and way to perceptive Esais Van Helsing. Not to mention the other characters who had more time as well. And I believe John will be back soon too 🙂 I love reading the secondary characters and this story had no shortages nor any shortfalls. They made the in between a and I really hope to see more of them very soon!

The writing is nicely done. It sucked me in at the prologue and I stayed at it I until the very end. I actually caught a few surprises as I really hadn’t thought the ending would go that way… The “BIG” bad guy usually gets away and the “smaller fish” normally ” get it”. I know I’m being vague but you’ll enjoy the suspense and surprise better if you read it yourself! In that note- well done! There’s only one thing I wish we’re more detailed- and I have a feeling that it will be explained in the coming book- but there’s a very particular demon who has her eye on Gabby and I’m very curious as to why… I know demons are demons an who the hell knows, but I hope that particular scheme is explained a little bit more as to why Gabby is special and wanted I badly! Over all, I really really enjoyed it, and I am definitely going to pick up book two! I very much look forward to more! 4 EXPLODING PAWS – wait til you see why I chose exploding- it’ll rock your socks 🙂
paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

Author Interview:

WELCOME!! 🙂 First, tell me a little about your book and why you wanted to write this particular story….

A Prescription for Delirium is about Gabby, an immortal demon hunter and the Van Helsing brothers Esais, Adrian, and Tres, descendants of Abraham Van Helsing. In, this book they meet and search for the devil (it’s different than a demon, in my world devils are fallen angels) that killed the brothers’ parents.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

I picked up the joy of reading from my mother and I always had an active imagination. It sort of evolved that I wanted the put the stories I daydreamed about on paper.

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

My first book, not this one, was about the Greek Gods in the modern world. I’ve always loved the Greek myths and well, the idea popped in my head about how they would be if they existed now. Due to plot problems, that story had been locked away.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

A Prescription for Delirium doesn’t really have experience in real life, but the town is based on a lot of small towns in Texas, where I live.

How do you choose when/which characters die in your books?

Hmm, this is a difficult. It mostly depends on what impact their death will have on the story and if it fits with the plots/characters.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

There are a few indie authors I’ve fallen in love with over the past year. Jessica Fortunato is the author of The Sin Collector. She also has a great short story called Steam out. Peter Dawes has a The Vampire Flynn series. The first is Eyes of the Seer. If you like fantasy, check out S.M Boyce’s Grimoire Trilogy. As for traditionally published authors, I recently started and finished Ilona Andrews’ Kate Daniels series.

Who do you look up to as a writer?

I would have to say Neil Gaiman. He’s an awesome writer and storyteller. His mythology in both comic books and novels is really in depth, and well, beautiful.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Heh, the sitting down to do it. It’s really just disciplining myself that I find difficult. I’m easily distracted…oooh, shiny.

What book are you reading now? Or what genre? My followers love author’s opinions!

I’m currently reading two books at the moment. One is The Stress of Her Regard by Tim Powers. It’s really heavy and a bit dry so I have to take a break from it and read other things in between. The second book I’m reading is In the Shadow of the Mountains by M.R. Graham. Both are Urban Fantasy about vampires and are really good. Though, Stress takes place in the era of Byron and Keats. They’re actually in the book.

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

I’m actually lucky to have my cover artist as my roommate. His name is JD Stockman. So, I did have a hand I it. I came up with the concept.

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

I learned a lot from writing this book. How to make it enticing, that showing emotion pulls the readers in more than just telling what they felt, and more about paranormal creatures. I could write a book on it. Heh, I guess that’s just what I did.

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

Even though I don’t envy the life I gave her, I think I would love to be Gabby, my main character. She kicks ass.

Are there any books you think some of us should read, just because?

Anything by Neil Gaiman, especially American Gods.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I’d love to hear your thoughts on A Prescription for Delirium. It feels me with warmth to talk to you about my stories and get excited about parts along with you.

Thanks you so much for answering all my interrogation interview questions! 🙂 PS – I love the world you created and how demons and the demons you’ve created! 🙂

Author Guest Post:

Cultures throughout the ages have had their versions of demons. In most, demons are the personification of evil, pain, and suffering. They exploit weakness already in man and are said to have many powers that can torment or can allure men.

Ancient Akkadian texts alluded that evil spirits were sent by evil gods. In Persia, the prophet Zoroaster preached about the doctrine of evil. The world was split between an ultimate Good, named Ormazd, and an ultimate evil, Ahriman. Ahriman had 6 archdemons, known as Daevas, to fight Ormazd’s 6 archangels. And, of course, they controlled countless numbers of lower demons.

The Hebrews attributed the “false gods” of other religions to being demons. One particular favorite was Moloch, the devourer of children. Tales said that his follower would place their children on his burning idol and sacrifice them for protection, health, and long life. (Note: I think he will be used in a future book. *Rubs hands together with an evil laugh.*)

The term demon actually came from the Greek term daimon, which means spirit or lesser deity. Many of the spirits resided in the Greek Underworld, a place so frightening to man that they would not even speak the name of Hades, the god of the Underworld. The Romans did what they always did and added the Greek pantheon to their own. So the daimons became daemons.

When Christianity rose, it was in Rome. They incorporated other religions into their own to gain converts. Except, like the Hebrews (since Christianity started as an offshoot of the Hebrew religion), a lot of the deities became demons, especially the darker or “evil” gods. Now, we have a whole hierarchy of demons in hell associated with the Christian religion.

This is just touching the surface. You can find variations of demons in India, Africa, the middle East, Japan, and China. All come with their own special mythos. I guess, all around the world, we have something to name our fears after. Be sure to check out A Prescription for Delirium for some of the demons found in lore.

Noree Cosper

Noree Cosper loves writing about magic in the modern world. While growing up in Texas she constantly searched for mystical elements in the mundane. She buried her nose in both fiction and books about Wicca, Religion, and Mythology. Everyday became an adventure as she joined a group of role-players, acting out her fantasies of vampires, demons, and monsters living in the world. She embraced her nerdom wholeheartedly. Noree grew, but never left her love for fantasy and horror. Her dreams pushed her and her hand itched to write the visions she saw. So, with her fingers on the keys, she did what her heart had been telling her to do since childhood. She wrote.

WebsiteBlogTwitterFacebook

A Prescription for Delirium Tour schedule:

Giveaway:

This giveaway is international, and is for a print copy of the book as well as some swag! GO HERE to enter!!

I wish you all GOOD LUCK! 🙂 I had such a blast today and I want to thank they author and those lovely ladies at Dark World Books! Happy Reading everyone and Later gators!

2 thoughts on “A Prescription for Delirium Tour w Giveaway

  1. Noree Cosper says:

    Thanks for hosting me. I’m glad you enjoyed the book.

  2. […] 18th | Happy Tails and Tales (Review, A. Interview, Guest […]

What do you have to say?

