Fractured Soul Blog Tour w Giveaway!

I am so thrilled to be part of the blog tour for part two of this book. I fell in love with book one as part of a blog tour, so how fitting to continue!!! 🙂

Fractured Soul (Fractured Light #2)

Fractured Soul

(Fractured Light #2)

Llona will do whatever it takes to protect her new found friends and home, but the dark plot threatening Lucent Academy, a school that’s supposed to be a safe place for Auras, may be too powerful for even Llona to defeat. This fast-paced tale of love, loyalty, and overcoming the darkness will keep you on the edge of your seat until the last page!

What others are saying:

“I love these books! A kick-butt heroine and a hottie love interest, with a refreshingly original concept. Be prepared—once you start, these are hard to put down.” —Paula Cotton, book reviewer at ReadingLark.blogspot.com

“Fractured Soul is a brilliant sequel, exceeding even the remarkable first book in the series. It will haunt your every waking moment between the times you’re reading it, and it will stay with you long after you’ve finished. It’s an amazingly well written and engrossing story that I highly recommend—after you’ve read the first one, of course.” —Cindy Bennett, bestselling author of Geek Girl & Rapunzel Untangled

Buy links: Amazon – Barnes & Noble

Fractured Soul Book Trailer

About Fractured Light (Book #1)

Llona Reese is used to living on the run. After the Vykens killed her parents, she knew they would eventually come for her too. She can’t take any chances. But when she starts to make friends for the first time in her life, she gets careless and lets her guard down. Big mistake.

As an Aura, Llona can manipulate light and harness its energy. But if she wants to survive, Llona will have to defy the Auran Council and learn to use her power as a weapon against the Vyken whose sole desire is to take her light. Now she’s caught in something even bigger than she can understand, with a power she can’t wield, and no one she can trust, except, just maybe, a mysterious stranger.

Amazon – Barnes & Noble

My 5 PAW review is HERE for Fractured Light!

Rachel McClellan

Rachel McClellan was born and raised in Idaho, a place secretly known for its supernatural creatures. When she’s not in her writing lair, she’s partying with her husband and four crazy, yet lovable, children. Rachel’s love for storytelling began as a child when the moon first possessed the night. For when the lights went out, her imagination painted a whole new world. And what a scary world it was…

Website – Blog – Twitter – Facebook – Goodreads

Tour Schedule:

Check all the great tour stops out and don’t forget to join the International giveaway we’re running here below the schedule!

Author Interview:

WELCOME!!! First, tell me a little about your book and why you wanted to write this particular story….

Fractured Soul picks up where Fractured Light left off. Llona is at an all girl’s school for Auras. The school has these super lame rules like no competing and no leaving the school grounds at night, which Llona hates. And everyone seems perfect and happy, but then Llona discovers that looks can be deceiving. Not only is someone selling their blood to Vykens, but someone has been poisoning the Auras, which has shut off their “spidey” senses when it comes to detecting a Vyken. And what happens in the end of Fractured Soul will both shock and devastate Llona.

Why did I want to write this story, the sequel to Fractured Light? I really wanted to continue with Llona’s story. She learned a lot in Fractured Light, but for one to truly grow as a person, I think they need to confront and conquer their “inner beast” so to speak. This is what Llona must attempt to do while attending Lucent Academy with others of her kind.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

I’ve always enjoyed writing, but never believed in myself to push it further. But then I travelled to Ireland. I was standing on the Cliffs of Moher, looking over the vast ocean, and for the first time in my life I asked myself what I wanted to do with my life. The answer was simple: write. Since that day five years ago, I’ve written something every day. Life is good.

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

Honestly, Llona did. I was messing around with a friend, swapping writing assignments and such, when I wrote about Llona while she was at her father’s funeral. Her voice was so strong, I just knew I had to write more to see where she took me.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Not really, although many of the characters have adapted traits of people I know. It’s hard not to do that.

How do you choose when/which characters die in your books?

To keep readers interested, writers have to put their characters through a lot. This is how they are developed, but sometimes the typical kidnapping or mean girl scenario isn’t enough and our characters stop growing and learning. This is when readers get bored. When this happens, writers must make the difficult choice and kill off a character the protagonist depends on. Through this tragedy the protagonist will grow.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Susan Ee who wrote Angelfall. She self-published, but you’d never know it. In my opinion, this book is right up there with Hunger Games.

Who do you look up to as a writer?

Dean Koontz, Obert Skye, Ayn Rand, J.K. Rowling, Suzanne Collins…and many more.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

I really liked how Fractured Soul turned out. With Fractured Light, however, I wish I would’ve added more tension right from the get-go, and I wish I would’ve made the bad guy a little less obvious. I can’t believe how much I learned about writing after writing Fractured Light!

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Details! I tend to write very quickly as if I’m watching a movie so details, such as setting, character movement, are often left out, which makes for a lot of editing on my first draft.

What book are you reading now? Or what genre? My followers love author’s opinions!

Currently, I’m reading Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs, a young adult paranormal novel. It’s got the creep factor to it, which I totally dig.

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

My publisher, Cedar Fort Publishing, has a team of illustrators. They do ask for my input and always send me the pre-cover, asking for advice. I really appreciate that about them.

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

When writing about strong characters, it’s really difficult not to incorporate some of those traits into my personal life. They are what I want to become and so I scale back on the wining (on most days) and put my best foot forward. It is my life, after all, and I’m not going to wait around for someone to make my dreams come true. It’s up to me.

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

Llona or May. Both are incredible strong women with minds of their own.

Are there any books you think some of us should read, just because?

To Kill a Mockingbird, The Angels are the Reapers, Angelfall, The Book Thief, Odd Thomas Series…there’s so many gems out there!

My review:

There are so many reasons to love this book!! It’s the next part, which takes off where the first book left off, with Llona and May arriving at Lucent Academy. So cue creepy background music and get ready for an extremely entertaining adventure! Really, I was thrilled when I was able to grab a spot for this blog tour and I totally can’t believe how great this series is!

I thought Llona was a beautiful character in the first book and she continuously surprises me with how much I like her! I still absolutely adore May and I’ve really become attached to Tessa as well. This book you get to see even more supernatural characters! Llona is in kinda serious trouble. She’s supposed to be submissive blah blah blah- guess what, she can save herself! She hasn’t told anybody about that little bite she got, and things are getting really strange because of it. She’s learning even more about her powers, but truthfully not from the school because they are practically brainwashing the submissive behavior into everyone! And then there’s the Christian issue- they love each other and can’t be together. Boy is that a recipe for disaster or what!

I’m so glad Christian is back! I really thought I wouldn’t see as much of him after the whole Sha-bang of last book! He’s just so perfect 🙂 plus, with him around, at least Llona knows she’s actually safe. And with safe, Llona starts figuring out some seriously crazy secrets! Way to have some majorly fantastic plot twists! The mystery is what kept me on my seat edge and not able to put this book down! That and the oh so cute romance between Christian and Llona! The writing is wonderful and I absolutely cannot wait to see what’s going to happen next! Ugh and now I have to try to patiently wait until book 3 comes out!!! Oh please oh please hurry!! 🙂 5 SPECTACULARLY BLOODY PAWS!!

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

Giveaway:

There is an international giveaway for 5 PRINT COPIES!!!! Yes!!! So, GO HERE, and enter with the rafflecopter so you can win!!!

I wish you guys all good luck! This is a wonderful series! I just adore it. A special thanks to the lovely Ms. McClellan and the awesome ladies at Dark World Books! 🙂 I wish you all happy reading and later gators!

One thought on “Fractured Soul Blog Tour w Giveaway!

  1. […] 5th | Happy Tails and Tales (Review, Author […]

What do you have to say?

