Black Water Tales Review w Giveaway!

I love those wonderful emails… but this one was special. This author didn’t think I’d be interested in her book, so she actually only asked if I knew anyone who would maybe like to help out. Which I of course gave her some of my lovely blogger buddies 🙂 BUT I also told her, I would love to help her out as well. I am so glad I did, because her book is a wonderfully written horror story! Let me show you all about it! * Shout out to Ms. Rivers- THANKS so much for letting me host you and your book! 🙂

Black Water Tales: The Secret Keepers

From Amazon:

It’s midnight when Regina Dean she receives a harrowing phone call. On the other end of the line a scratchy voice whispers, “They found her, Regina…they found her.” Over the phone Regina learns that the corpse of her best friend, Lola Rusher, has been found and she must return to her, Godforsaken, hometown of Black Water for the funeral of the beloved girl who disappeared when they were both only sixteen years old. Regina returns to Black Water and is reunited with a cast of old friends. Soon Regina realizes that the details revealed with the discovery of Lola’s corpse do not make sense, especially the fact that Lola’s body was dug up on the land of their childhood piano teacher. Determined to lay Lola to rest, Regina launches her own investigation, but someone in Black Water warns Regina to STOP DIGGING. She is thrown into a race to solve the mystery before she loses her mind or meets Lola’s fate. Though Regina’s hometown is a fun house of disturbing characters and distorted images, the truth about what happened to Lola Rusher will be revealed along with a most unexpected and perverse secret that threatens to expose everyone in Black Water. Everyone knows something, but no one knows everything…

Buy Links:  Amazon

If you would like to read Chapter One, you can see it HERE!

My Review:

Ok so let’s talk ridiculously creepy stories…. Because this is definitely one! I think this one is just well written to be creepy LOL I happen to like horror, though I don’t read it too often. I was actually really glad that I was offered this book because I really enjoyed it! The first chapter introduces you to the main character, Regina, and her former high school best friends, in their adult lives now. And they are soooo different, and by chapter two you are hooked because now you just have to know what is going to happen in their lives, and with that issue from the past, how will it all end! 

After the phone call that tells Regina the body of her best friend Lola is discovered, 8 years after her disappearance, Regina heads home because she has to, regardless of her wants.  The build up of this story was pretty good, as it takes a little slower pace, to make sure you are caught up with everyone and everything, but once we start realizing that things aren’t always what they seem, and everyone seems to have secrets about that night of the disappearance, and the climax just takes you on a wild ride- all the while you turn on every light, and keep your doggies close by for comfort 🙂 You know, in those small towns, everyone knows everything, and yet there are SO MANY SECRETS!!! 

Poor Regina, I do feel bad for her. She has a stressful life, then goes home to even more stress, plus she thinks she’s going crazy as she is trying to figure some things out, and give some closure to her best friend. She can’t run away this time. There’s no going back. Her best friend is dead, and her family is falling apart with all of this reopened. And let’s just say it’s not a nice way to die for poor Lola. 

I really don’t wanna say too much as I don’t do spoilers, but you will be DYING to know who-done-it, and what really happened and how it all plays out. Trust me, if you are a fan of suspense and horror, with a small supernatural element, I am seriously telling you to pick this one up. It’s a great one. Plus, it hits home, with such harsh realities. Small towns always think this doesn’t happen there, and it’s all written in a beautifully, hauntingly real way. I completely understand why people who read this one would be as freaked out as the people of Black Water. I mean, creep factor was way up there! 

This seems to be the end of Regina’s tale, but I have a feeling there will be some additions to this 🙂 I am quite happy as I plan to continue! 5 CREEPTASTICLY SCARY PAWS!!!! Trust me, you’ll wanna read it! 
paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

About the author:

*Borrowed from the author’s website* 

JeanNicole Rivers

I was born in the tiny, but lovable town of Centralia, IL which has a two screen movie theatre, one high school and still celebrates May Fete, so I had no choice, but to develop a fantastic imagination. Since childhood I have been writing everything from short stories to songs, but I have always aspired to compose a novel. Black Water Tales: The Secret Keepers is my first novel and the first book in what will be a series of thriller novels.

Philosophy was my study in college and I received a Bachelor of Arts in the subject from Florida International University. Writing is one of my most favored artistic pursuits, but my love for the arts does not stop there, I am also a vocalist and actress and participate in local theater in Houston Texas.

Website:  http://www.jeannicolerivers.com/

Goodreads Page:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5832487.JeanNicole_Rivers

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/JeanNicole-Rivers/e/B008J47ESA/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/jeannicolerivers

Giveaway:

The author so awesomely is offering up an ebook copy for a giveaway! So leave a nice comment below to enter to win! 

Also, look in the next day or so for me to post my author interview!! 🙂 I wish you all good luck, and a happy reading! Later gators!! 

2 thoughts on “Black Water Tales Review w Giveaway!

  1. Shannon B says:

    I love the kind of books that surprise you with how awesome they are. I’ve been trying to expand my horizons a little and giving different authors and different genres a try and I’m finding amazing authors I never would have read ordinarily. This book sounds very interesting and I like the haunting cover! sbereza22(at)gmail(dot)com

  2. bn100 says:

    Sounds suspenseful

What do you have to say?

