Colour Wielders Blog Tour

Colour Wielders Button 600 x 425

So remember a while back, I showed you this cover reveal (it’s HERE) well today, I am part of the blog tour and I can’t wait to show you the goodies! 🙂 Here we go! 

ColourWielders_DawnaRaver_Cover

Colour Wielders
Heirs of the Magykal Realm Series Book One

Dawna Raver

Genre: New Adult, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy Romance

Publisher: Curiosity Quills Press

Word Count: 133k

Cover Artist: Ricky Gunawan

Book Description:

Behind the Faerying Mysts, hidden from Mortal eyes, is a land where Gods, creatures of myth and legend dwell. And in the Mortal Realm, their Princess lives.

Quinn Sinclair is clueless to who she is. She thinks she’s an ordinary young woman—well, mostly ordinary—living an ordinary life with her less than loving mother in Conifer, Colorado. On the night of her birthday, Quinn finds herself betrayed by a man who sends her life spinning out-of-control.

As she struggles to pick up the pieces, a vision of a man with haunting tourmaline-blue eyes begs her for help, and she finds herself transported into a Magykal battle forever changing her life.

Arik Morgaine—Demigod bad boy and outcast of the Magykal Realm—tried to avoid contact with Princess Quinn Sinclair for eighteen years, not wanting to make good on an old threat. But the fates have other plans. Arik can no longer deny his growing desire for Quinn, or the need to protect her from those wanting to control her burgeoning powers. Can the two of them come together and save the Magykal Realm from being destroyed by the Darkest of Magyks, or will powers beyond their control destroy them and their world forever?

* I recently requested this to review via NetGalley, so hopefully I’ll get a yes 🙂 and then I can post a review for ya!* 

Author Interview:

I just want to thank you again so much for taking the time to answer questions for my blog! 

Thank you Happy Tails and Tales for having me.

First, tell me a little about your book:

Colour Wielders is my debut novel. About four years ago, I had a series of surgeries. I was bored, sitting at my computer, surfing. I started to think about some old memories and wrote them down. Then, I thought it might be fun to change the outcome of the memories. From there, and after many versions, Colour Wielders was born. Writing wasn’t anything I’d ever aspired to. Now, I can’t imagine my life without it.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Since I am, in fact, a Faery Princess, it’s based on my life. 😉

Seriously, I’m sure I draw upon my own experiences in life. Some of the characters are based on people I know.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

I think there will always be things you think, could I have done that scene better? Did the character react appropriately? But the one thing I am learning, and it’s hard, is to not second guess myself. The book is published. It is what it is.

Who designed the cover? And did you help them?

The fabulous Ricky Gunawan did. I feel very fortunate to have had him as my cover artist. He was very receptive to my vision and let me nit pick him to death. He also did another piece I just love as well.

You can check out more of Ricky’s fabulous work here: http://ricky-gunawan.daportfolio.com. 

What book are you reading now? Or what genre?

I’m a die hard paranormal romance, contemporary romance and urban fantasy lover. Some of my favorite writers are Darynda Jones, who writes the Charley Davidson series. J.R. Ward and her Black Dagger Brotherhood. Jim Butcher and his Harry Dresden Files. Oh, and Kim Harrison’s The Hallow’s series. Contemporary romance wise, I love Michelle Leighton and Jamie McGuire.

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

Good question. I learned a lot more about grammar, and I still have more to learn. I learned about how to take criticism. I kind of already knew that from my years as a graphic designer. But from the beginning, I’ve opened my work to many opinions in an effort to learn. Not all of the comments have been nice. Which, I hope, has prepared me for reviews. I know not everyone will like Colour Wielders and that’s okay.

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

Probably Quinn because she has her whole life in front of her. A life that include things she’d never suspected existed. It would be fun to have that opportunity.

Are there any books you think some of us should read, just because?

The Harry Potter series. Everyone should read these. The progression from the first book to the last was spectacular. For me, it’s an example of how a writer should, and can, grow.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Just that I hope they enjoy Colour Wielders and will come back for the rest of the series.

THANK YOU for stopping by! I am honored to say I met a real likfe Faerie Princess 🙂 

About the Author:

Dawna Raver is an author of paranormal romance and urban fantasy. Colour Wielders, book one of the Heirs of the Magykal Realm series, is debut first novel. When she’s not spending time in her fantasy world, Dawna loves football, reading, and pretending she’s a top chef in the kitchen. Oh, and fawning over her dogs and husband, sometimes in that order.

https://www.facebook.com/DawnaRaver 

https://twitter.com/DawnaRaver

https://dawnaraver.com

Support indie authors by reviewing this book at:

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17261634-colour-wielders

*This is just the coolest art, so I had to keep it here to show you 🙂 

20130315-125300.jpg

Also here’s a playlist for you to check out 🙂 I have a feeling it may not work- AND it’s a fantastic playlist so HERE is the link to directly see it (and hear the songs too!) 

Giveaway:

So, there’s several things being given away to celebrate this release! There’s amazon gift cards and print copies… SO GO HERE– seriously go look- to enter 🙂

I wish you all extra good luck!! And I hope to have a review soon too 🙂 Happy reading and later gators!! 🙂

One thought on “Colour Wielders Blog Tour

  1. Dawna Raver says:

    Thanks for having me. I really appreciate it.

What do you have to say?

