Lucid Release Day Preview w Giveaway

Happy ALMOST release day! HA! I got’cha 🙂 I wanted to let everyone know that tomorrow this book will be live and I wanted you guys to see it and check it out. The author is so sweet, and when she emailed me, I just had to say yes 🙂 So let me show you!

Lucid

Title: Lucid
Author: Natalie Roers
Author web site: http://jointhelucid.com/
Publisher: Twilight Times Books
url: http://twilighttimesbooks.com/
Genre: paranormal fantasy
*Print ISBN: 978-1-60619-027-2
Format: 5.5×8.5 trade paperback; 168 pages; $15.95 USD
*eBook ISBN: 978-1-60619-026-5; $6.50 USD
Format: ebook in pdf, ePub, Kindle, Mobi, PRC, etc.
Distributors: Amazon Kindle; Apple iBookstore; BN.com Nook; Kobo Books; OmniLit; Sony eBookstore, etc
Release date: May 15, 2013 ebook; July 15, 2013 print
Price: $15.95
Size: 5.5 x 8.5
Pages: 168

Chapter excerpt:
http://twilighttimesbooks.com/Lucid_ch1.html

Buy Link: http://www.amazon.com/Lucid-ebook/dp/B00CQ8C6GK/

*Note* I am putting the amazon link because right now, with the release day tomorrow, it’s on sale for $4.99 AND ALSO, the author is donating some of the proceeds to anti-bullying charities. 🙂

Promo blurb:
Disfigured at birth and ostracized at school, Travis Hunter dreams of acceptance and secretly yearns for the affection of a beautiful young woman named Corrine. When a mysterious doctor promises to help Travis through something called lucid dreaming, Travis gets more than he ever bargained for and soon finds himself learning the secrets of love and life in a fantastic unconscious world.

My Review:

lkjkdsf

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

Author Interview:

First, tell me a little about your book and why you wanted to write this particular story….
I’m a perpetual daydreamer. This idea popped up while I was driving home from the grocery store about five years ago. It was in the back of my head for a few years until one day I just said, “Stop thinking about this thing and write it!”

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

That’s a funny question. I did know subconsciously, but it took someone telling me I could. I’ve always loved reading. As a child I remember being assigned to write a book in my first grade class. They meant a children’s book, but I didn’t read those so I wrote the first chapter of a murder mystery novel instead. The teachers loved it, but the kids made fun of me and I was embarrassed about what I had written. It’s sad how you can let reaction from peers stifle you.
In college I studied Mass Communications and ended up as a television journalist. Although I wrote every day, I never considered myself a writer. It’s more about telling a story through video and pictures when you’re in television. I told stories, but not in the classic way I considered a writer would do. When I came up with the idea for Lucid, I told a friend of mine who was a screenwriter. I tried to give the idea to HIM. He looked at me like I had two heads and said, “I love it, but why on earth would I write it? You’re the writer. You write every day for a living!” That’s when it clicked. That’s when I realized I could really do this.

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

This is the first piece of fiction I have ever written…well not counting that first grade assignment;) I’m hooked now and am about halfway through my second novel. That one will be very dark and definitely only for adults.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Every character in Lucid, except the cruel ones, are me at different points in my life. I’ve been bullied. I’ve been put on a pedestal for no good reason. I’ve wanted to be seen. I’ve wanted to disappear. Yeah, the situations might be different, but the book is absolutely based on real feelings.
As for the lucid dreaming? Yes, I have had some experience with that. Can I do it on command? No. Would I love to? Yes. That’s where the idea came from.

How do you chose when/which characters die in your books?

I write a rough outline for where I want a story to go, but once I start writing it can change. I don’t fight the story and let it go where it wants to go. The outline can change as you go along. The story itself kind of dictates that. It becomes a living breathing thing that can make decisions for you.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

They’re new to me! lol. Every time I think I’ve found someone new, I find out they already have like five books out.

Who do you look up to as a writer?
Born entertainers. I like people who think about their audience and are writing for them. I’m a huge Stephen King fan. My first love was Steinbeck. I do gravitate towards dark stories with a moral. Anyone who writes a story that makes me feel while entertaining me is good in my book.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

I wanted it to be a bit darker, but it’s hard to be published as a first time writer and I had to do what publishers wanted in order to get my foot in the door. The first draft of this book was much more sinister. I love how it turned out though, so I’m happy. Honestly, I guess I’ll just have to wait to see the reviews to answer that question.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I find the banter between characters very simple, but agonize over everything else.

What book are you reading now? Or what genre? My followers love author’s opinions!

I’m totally digging self-help books for the first time in my life. Any topic. It’s good to look at yourself in the mirror or get help with personal goals now and then. We’re all works in progress.

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

I came up with the concept, but the cover art was/is being done by an artist named Ural Akyuz through my publisher. The font and design were done by my best friend, Heather Bragg, who is a very talented graphic designer with Bragg Media.

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

It’s so hard! Finishing a book makes you feel like the work is over, but everything after is even more work! I must have sent out thousands of queries. The editing process blew me away too. I assumed someone would edit for you. I had no idea that every word and every punctuation mark in that book would be my own. I had edit notes such as, “I hate the first chapter. Change it to show me and not tell me.” You have to have thick skin and be ready to almost write the whole thing over again once you get to editing.

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

It’s a tight race between the three main characters. Most people wouldn’t assume that I most closely identify with Travis, but I do. I was a very awkward youth and always felt out of place because I didn’t like the same things that most girls my age did. I was one of those girls that blossomed overnight at an older age and then felt completely out of place in my body in a whole new way.

Are there any books you think some of us should read, just because?

Books are so personal. Read what speaks to you. Read what makes you happy.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

The idea I have readers is exciting enough! I love you! Please know that I plan to donate a portion of every dollar I make to my favorite anti-bullying organizations. Could you please help me spread the word?

About the Author:

Natalie Roers

Natalie Roers is a veteran writer, voice artist, and on-air personality. A journalist by trade, Lucid is her first work of fiction. She is busy at work on her second novel and hopes to raise money and social awareness for worthy causes with each book she writes. Natalie plans to donate a portion of every sale of LUCID to her favorite anti-bullying organizations. She lives with her husband Cory, and son Austin, in Columbia, South Carolina.

Website: http://www.jointhelucid.com/

Giveaway:

I am offering-via the lovely Ms Roers- an ebook copy! YAY! So leave a nice comment below and we’ll pick a winner!! GOOD LUCK!!

I hope you guys enjoyed today! I want to send an extra good luck and BIG THANK YOU to Ms Roers for tomorrow’s release day! 🙂 It’s going to be fantastic! Happy reading and later gators!!

3 thoughts on “Lucid Release Day Preview w Giveaway

  1. Lisa Davis says:

    Looking forward to reading her novel. I had no idea she was a writer until today. I currently live in SC and I love the fact that fact she’s using some of the money for charity as well.

  2. Allen Eichinger says:

    Can’t wait to read Lucid, I moved to South Carolina 6 years ago and loved watching Nat on local news WlTX.She was great and looked forward to the news every morning,such a great personality but didn’t know that she was a writer. Now I will read her book,can’t wait. Best of luck with book Nat !

  3. bn100 says:

    This sounds interesting

What do you have to say?

