Sun Poisoned Blog Tour Part I w giveaway

I had a lovely offer to participate in this blog tour and I loved the blurbs for the books, so I had to say yes 🙂 Also, I am doing something a little different but fun…. I am going to have a little contest to win some goodies from the author!! I’ll get to that in a bit. I am starting this part one blog tour off with a little spotlight of the books in the series and an author interview, and then I am gunna show you some more, like reviews and winners, next week! So, let’s just jump right on in! 

Sunshine (Sunshine, #1)

 Book 1 Synopsis:  18 year old Sophie Jean is pretty good at acting normal. Sure, she’s not exactly happy, but happiness is nothing compared to being like everyone else. She can pretend she’s not allergic to the sun. She can hide what her ex-boyfriend did to her. She can cover up the scars she’s made for herself. Ignore anything. Forget anything. Then Myles enters her life, and he has more than a few secrets of his own. When accident after accident keeps happening to Sophie, she can’t help noticing that he’s everywhere. That he knows too much. That she’s remembering too much.

It’s one thing covering up her own dark past, but does she really need to worry about people finding out just how much Myles likes her? Or that despite how much she doesn’t want to repeat past mistakes, she kind of likes him back? Not to mention the fact that she now has to conceal that Myles drinks blood-that he says he’s about four hundred years old.

She almost forgot about that part.

But Sophie has no plans to ruin the normal life she has created for herself. She can deal with this little glitch, no problem. Even if word has gotten around to the wrong vampire about Sophie and Myles, even if she’s putting the few people she loves at risk. Suddenly, those who were monsters before are just people, and the monsters? They’re real. Now being a normal human being is the least of her problems. Now she has to stay alive.

Sun Poisoned (Sunshine, #2)

Book 2 Synopsis:  

Sophie’s life has changed. She’s moved to New York, she’s playing music for new people, and she’s making new friends. Then there’s Myles, and the fact that he is now her boyfriend—and everyone knows it. There are a lot of new things to take in, but Sophie has no problem adjusting. 
She’s not exactly normal, living in a half-human, half-vampire world, but she’s finally, truly happy. But some parts of Sophie and Myles’ old life still hide in the dark, waiting for the right opportunity to strike.Sophie’s having nightmares again, but they aren’t about her; Myles is hiding something that she’s not sure she wants to know.

And one lie will change everything.

No matter how hard she tries to cover up the marks her monsters have left behind, they never truly go away, and Myles’ monsters are no different.
Once again, Sophie’s caught between life and death, but this time, only she can save herself. 

Author Interview:

WELCOME!! First, tell me a little about your book and why you wanted to write this particular story….

Sunshine is about a girl named Sophie who is allergic to the sun. It’s also about finding yourself after people have continuously shown you that you can’t trust them. Sunshine is a story that is essentially about a girl who has had a lot of crap happen to her and her journey into accepting it and moving past it.

I wanted to write this story because it was interesting to me. How much could one person go through without breaking completely? How many times can someone be betrayed and still have the capacity to learn to love again? There are so many more reasons, but those were two big ones.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

I realized that I liked telling stories at a very young age. I recall telling my classmates that I had a pet dragon when I was five. I remember making up elaborate stories as to why my parents weren’t at a girl scout meeting with the other parents…things like that.

Then I began to use writing as a way to cope with things. If I was upset or anxious, I’d either write about it or write about something so completely opposite that I didn’t have to focus on what I was feeling. That’s when the love truly started to develop.

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

I went on a trip to Aruba with my mom and sisters when I was in high school, got sun poisoning the first day, and stayed inside the rest of the vacation. That was when I wrote most of the ideas down. Granted, they were somewhat illegible due to the pain I was in at the time of writing them, but it was still there.

Jeez, that’s terrible, but awesome in one 🙂 Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Yes and no. Some of the experiences I know about first hand while others are a combination of research and creativity.

How do you choose when/which characters die in your books?

Well, that’s a hard one. When I plan out a book or story, I always just kind of know who is going to be there at the end and who isn’t.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I’m not sure if she’s all that new, but I’ve been telling everyone to read Michelle Hodkin. I also love H.D. Gordon and Janelle Stalder, though I may be a bit biased because they are also amazing people. : )

I happen to love BOTH HD and Ms J- who is the most awesomest author because she’s giving me my book boyfriend 🙂 Who do you look up to as a writer?

Okay, this may be a little mushy, but I look up to my little sister, Kelly. She’s an artist and a writer and she has this keen ability to grasp onto the situations, experiences, and life around her and turn it into something beautiful and amazing. I admire that about her more than she knows.

Not mushy-VERY cool!! If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

Not really. I worked on Sunshine—not only the first book, but the plot for the entire series—for over five years. I’m pretty happy with it and where it’s going.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

We could be here for days. Of course. I think the most frustrating thing to any writer/creative person is self-doubt, which is something I experience as I edit things into and out of my stories. Something I loved while writing I’ll end up loathing while editing. Sometimes I wonder if I’m a “real writer” or what exactly it is I think I’m doing, but then I see people liking what I do and that all goes away and I eventually forget that I doubted myself…until I edit the next story, that is.

What book are you reading now? Or what genre? My followers love author’s opinions!

I just started American Psycho. I’ve been reading so many different genres lately: horror, dystopian, paranormal, and even a few biographies. 

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

My lovely cover came from Regina Wamba of MaeIDesign. She is a fantastic artist and person. I sent her a few sample chapters, a list of things that are important to the story, and the synopsis of my book, but other than that, I let her do her thing. I trust her 100% when it comes to the covers. : )

She IS quite amazingly talented! Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

I learn something new every time I write. That’s one of the reasons I love it so much. I learn and gain so much each time. I can’t pin point too many things in particular, but I’ve learned recently that my characters, especially the ones in Sunshine, tend to take on a life of their own when I’m writing. If I let them do what they want/need to do, my job is so much easier.

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

Someone was asking me this just the other day. I feel like all of my characters have such horrible things happen to them that they have to work through. I wouldn’t want to be any of them. I like watching them grow or stay the same, but writing “for” them, so to speak, is the closest I’d probably want to be as far as being one of my own characters goes.

Are there any books you think some of us should read, just because?

There are so many! I’d say anything by Neil Gaiman or Augusten Burroughs, because they’re two of my favorites. But I also think The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka is an amazing short story that I continuously find new things in. I’ve been re-reading that, along with his diaries lately as inspiration for a future project, and it’s helped me so much.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

First of all, thank you! I really mean it when I say that I love anyone who has read something I basically made up and liked it. How crazy is that? Also, I’m super nice, so we should all be friends. : )

HAHAHA That’s awesome, of course we can be friends, but only because you’re super nice! 🙂 LOL LAWD, I would corrupt you 🙂  Thanks SO much for that wonderful interview!!! 

About the Author:

Nikki Rae

Nikki Rae is a student and writer who lives in New Jersey. When she is not writing, thinking, or reading, she is most likely hanging out with her gecko, Neil Gaiman, drawing in a quiet corner, or drinking tea by the gallon. Sunshine is her first book. 
 
Links: 
Goodreads 
Amazon 
Author Facebook page 
The Sunshine Series Page
My blog
Twitter
Tumblr 

Giveaway:

Ok, I may get in trouble in a moment, BUT I had this idea… FIRST, to tell you what we’re giving away, it’s A SET OF THE SERIES! Yep, I am going to pick a winner for both books because how uncool would it be for you to win book two if you don’t have book one 🙂 NOW, for the “how to win“… Since it’s a new author and series to me, I wanted to know more, which is why I asked the lovely author for an interview. So, You have the synopsis for both books, and the interview, now I’d like for you to leave a comment to the author (or maybe one of the characters of this series, if you are familiar with it) with a question of some sort. It can be very basic, like what’s your favorite color, or it could be something else you maybe really wanna know.  I am hoping to get some of you a little more interactive, along with that very sweet author, who just might answer those questions for you! ALSO… I think I may be picking more than one winner here, so maybe you should make sure and leave a question 🙂 

*NOTE* I wanted you guys to know that I am going to have another stop on the 24, which is Monday. I’ll have my reviews for BOTH books- which I LOVE!!! 🙂 This really is a good series, especially for you vamper lovers!  I will be picking the winners on Saturday and having those questions answered for the post on Monday. So, you have a SHORT TIME to ask questions!!! 

NOW GO FORTH AND COMMENT!!! 🙂 I really wanna thank the lovely Ms Nikki for putting this all together and sharing it with me! I wanna wish all my followers GOOD LUCK!!! Don’t forget that I’ll be back with two reviews and more ways to win the goodies! Happy reading and later gators!! 

3 thoughts on “Sun Poisoned Blog Tour Part I w giveaway

  1. Catherine T. says:

    Like you, Maghon, I haven’t read either of Ms. Rae’s books :(. BUT they sound SO good!

    My question for Ms. Rae – how did you go about choosing the characters’ names? And, what about the spelling of Myles? Was that something conscious or just the way you liked it?

  2. bn100 says:

    Nice interview.

    Have you been back to Aruba since your last vacation?

  3. […] am back for some more goodies!!! If you missed the first part of this tour from me, you can GO HERE to check it out, including the author interview I did! Now, let’s get this show on the […]

What do you have to say?

