Soul Taken Blog Tour w Giveaway

Soul-Taken-300x400

Hello everyone!! I’ve found a new series I love! So, in such, I need to show you about it! 🙂 LOL PLUS the giveaway is also pretty epic! I think you’ll be happy. I am thinking I should not blabber too much and just tell you now! 🙂 But PS, I will say that this is one of the most unique takes I ever read on angels and reapers… You know I love me some reaper coolness! 

soul taken

Soul Taken by Katlyn Duncan

Release date: June 4th

Genre: YA Paranormal

Isbn: 978-1-472-01709-3

Buy Links

Amazon UK Amazon USA

After-life just got a lot more complicated

Maggie is a Soul Collector. It’s her job to transport souls from the Living Realm to the After – but during a mission to find a stolen soul, she ends up stuck in a teen mean girl’s body.

Trapped, Maggie’s soul is catapulted into Ally’s life – and the human world she hasn’t experienced for one hundred years. But, as a descendant of the most powerful beings in the After, Maggie must rescue Ally before the girl’s soul dies…

To survive, Maggie must uncover devastating secrets – because with one soul taken by a terrifying enemy, Maggie’s could be next!

Excerpt:

I knelt down again next to Ally and reached out to touch her skin. Even though the sensation was unpleasant, I could feel her pulse as it rapidly declined.

“No,” I moaned. I looked up again to see if any of the Guard could help, but no one was around.

I looked back down at Ally. Her face was paling by the second. My soul started to tingle. I leaned closer to her body, reaching my hand out to touch her face again, when her arm moved toward mine.

I jumped back.

Heather pushed through the crowd. “Did she just move? Did I see her move?” Streaks of black mascara ran down her cheeks.

A ringing sensation tickled my ear and I tuned in to the True Soul’s presence. I looked at each human. The True Soul was close, but who had it? They all seemed equally shocked at the tragedy.

An uncomfortable pressure in my chest drew me closer to her body. My soul slanted toward hers until I was practically on top of her. I helplessly watched my hand morph and stretch toward her body.

“What the—?” I tried to pull back but the strength of whatever was happening had other ideas.

My hand disappeared first, then my arm, then my torso.

But before I could call for help, my world went dark.

My Review:

I love when I find something good!!! So, the other day, I was browsing NetGalley, because I do that sometimes when I have time- not like I don’t have 55,000 to be read books LOL but I saw this one and requested it. And then on the day I got accepted for a copy, I also got the invite for the blog tour. I took it as a sign. And I LOVED IT! It’s such an interesting take on the “angels” except also, it’s not. This is the author’s debut novel, and she definitely did not disappoint. Also, it’s about reapers… except not. LOL I know I’m getting complicated right. Let me see if I can make it simple without spoilers. There are Soul Collecters- this is like your reaper- but in a little twist, they don’t just show up right before the death moment, these can actually watch a little of their “subject”, which makes it interesting. Then there’s the Guard- like guardian angels, minus the angel part, except a little. And then there’s special cases… LOL Isn’t there always. 

So, Maggie is your main character. She is like the Ace of Soul Collectors. She is so good she now trains the new comers and the “hard cases” as well as keeping her own collections. Oddly, Maggie doesn’t remember her past, or human memories. I think the coolest part is when she delivers a person to the “Gate” she gets to experience their version ofheaven. Everyone has a different version of paradise. Maggie is a simple but complicated character. She died at 17, so she still looks 17, but she’s been a collector for some hundred years, and therefore does not think or act like a 17 year old. I actually like this. Maggie’s character was fascinating to me. As the story went on, I found myself liking her more and more, and cheering for her, and hoping things would just work out. Plus, she is learning things about her future and her past that will have your head spinning right along with hers. 

Jackson and Cooper are the lovely HAWT male pieces. Jackson-who you think is the bad guy for most of the book, but I happened to like from the beginning, and Cooper-a Guard who is supposed to help and protect Maggie with her predicament, is your total sweetie, if the warrior type is for you. He really was sweet thought. I am not sure who’s Team I am on right now. I would flip flop back and forth as the story went, because they plot would totally turn me around. LOL I, on one hand, would really like her to have a development with Cooper, because he is the present, and took the time to get to know Maggie when no one else would. On the other hand, would like Maggie to rekindle the past involvement with Jackson, as he sure did wait for her. It’s going to get more complicated and I AM DYING for more!!! Also, I think in the Cooper section, it may come down to a little competition with Ally and Maggie. HEHEHE this makes me all a flutter and giggly like a school girl… UGH, and now I have to wait for the next book hahahaha! 

*sigh* The plot is FANTASTIC!!! I did NOT see that bad guy coming. I mean really. The paranormal part will have everyone smiling because it’s so unique, while the climax will have your jaw dropping, because it’s pretty crazy! Like wow. Seriously, though, those are the stories that make the best for me. 🙂 I like the shock appeal. Plus, I loved the mystery throughout the whole book. You are learning all about the characters and who they are, and then trying to figure out who the bad guy is, and also praying for something good to be able to come about when you find the bad guy. 🙂 All I can say is VERY WELL DONE! I usually steer clear of the “Angel” stories, but I am officially BEGGING for this author to gimme more, really quick! 5 TRANSCENDING COURAGEOUS PAWS!!! 

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

About the Author

kateauthor-pic

Debut author for the YA Paranormal trilogy, The Life After. I am represented by Carina UK. I love to read, write, cook, and snuggle with my Wheaten Terrier as much as I can. I’m a huge fan of any book that strikes my fancy and I am always looking for recommendations!

Buy Links

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Soul-Taken-ebook/dp/B00CWL2C10/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1369129822&sr=1-1-fkmr0&keywords=SOUL+TAKEN+KATYLN+DUNCAN

Amazon USA: http://www.amazon.com/Soul-Taken-ebook/dp/B00CWL2C10/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1369171609&sr=8-1&keywords=soul+taken

Contact Links

Website: http://katlynduncan.com

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Google+ | Carina UK

Giveaway:

GO HERE to enter  the Giveaway: $50 GC to an online book retailer of the winners choosing (Amazon, B&N, Sony, Kobo, iBooks). Yep, that’s a pretty good deal if you ask me. so make sure you enter!! 

So I hope you guys had a good time with me. I really like this new series, so I hope you check it out. And good luck!! I wish you all a good rest of your weekend 😉 Happy reading and later gators!! 

Soul-taken-Large-Banner

3 thoughts on “Soul Taken Blog Tour w Giveaway

  1. bn100 says:

    This sounds interesting

  2. This looks interesting!!!! I can’t wait to read it!

  3. Kamla L. says:

    Soul taken sounds interesting. The blurb and the excerpt are very intrigue and with such an enthusiastic review I’m definitely want to read this one. Thanks!

What do you have to say?

