Copper Girl Blog Tour w Giveaway

CopperGirlscoverFINAL2

Hello everyone! Today I am featuring the lovely Ms Jennifer, and her wonderful book! Let me get right to it!! 

CopperGirlsFRONTcoverFINAL

Copper Girl takes place in a society where the mundane humans waged war against magic… and magic lost. Sara, a metal elemental who bears a copper raven across her back, has spent her life trying to pass as ordinary. Things are going smoothly, until she meets Micah, the man of her dreams, in her dreams. When he turns out to be more–much more–than a figment of her imagination, Sara realizes she can’t hide her true nature any longer, and chaos ensues.
This is the first book of the Copper Legacy, and it will be released in June 2013 by Spence City. The rest are titled Copper Ravens, Copper Veins, and Copper Princess.
Jacket copy:
 
Sara had always been careful.
She never spoke of magic, never associated with those suspected of handling magic, never thought of magic, and never, ever, let anyone see her mark.  After all, the last thing she wanted was to end up missing, like her father and brother.
Then, a silver elf pushed his way into Sara’s dream, and her life became anything but ordinary.
Available in print and e-book June, 2013 
ISBN: 978-1-939392-02-2

CHAPTER ONE, Part I 

It seemed like a good idea at the time.

My office, like most modern offices, cranked the air conditioning down to Arctic proportions during the summer months. Consequently, we workers arrived in the morning dressed in sandals and sleeveless tops, donned heavy sweaters upon reaching our desks, and ended up shivering by noon. Ironically, when our workday ended we were hit by a wall of oppressive heat the moment we stepped outside the main doors. No, this wasn’t a flawed system in the slightest.

That day, I wasn’t having it. I had the grand idea of spending my lunch hour outside, away from the icy wind stiffening my fingers and chilling my neck. After I unwound myself from the afghan I kept in my desk (and only used in the summer months), I gathered up my lunch and my phone and headed out for an impromptu picnic in my car.

What I hadn’t considered was that the office runs the air conditioning so cold because it was, well, hot outside. Very hot, in fact. So hot that the cheese was melting in my sandwich and the lettuce looked like something that had washed ashore months, maybe even years, ago. I was parked in the shade and had taken down my car’s convertible top, but I still couldn’t manage to get comfortable. I’d already shed my sandals and cardigan, which left me wearing my sundress and…

Dare I?

I glanced around the parking lot of Real Estate Evaluation Services, the ‘go-to firm for all your commercial real estate needs’, according to the brochures. No one, human or drone, was taking a noontime stroll, and, by virtue of my being on the far side of the lot, no cars were near mine. Most of my coworkers didn’t even have cars, so the lot was rarely more than half-full. What was more, from where I sat, I couldn’t even see the office.

I dared.

I took a deep breath and channeled my inner wild woman, then leaned the seat back and slipped off my panties. Removing that small bit of cotton made an incredible difference, and the heat became somewhat bearable. Enjoyable, even. Was that a breeze?

Ignoring my decrepit sandwich, I fully reclined the seat, set the alarm on my phone, and closed my eyes. A nap. Now that would make today bearable.

***

Suddenly, he is there.

Here.

Kissing me, holding me.

I know I’m dreaming, because he’s perfect. His lips are soft but insistent, his hands gentle. I glide my fingers across his back, feeling thick cords of muscle, before sinking my fingers into his hair. It’s superfine, like cobwebs, and when I crack an eyelid, I learn that it’s silver. Not gray or white, but the elegant hue of antique candlesticks and fine flatware. Cool.

I squeeze my eyes shut again, not wanting the dream to end any sooner than it has to. He kisses me once more, and I can’t help melting against him. His hand travels up my leg, up past my hip… shit! No panties!

I try twisting away, but he already knows. I feel his mouth stretch into a smile, and he moves to nuzzle my neck. “What’s your name?” he murmurs.

“Sara,” I reply. “Yours?”

“Micah.” By now, his hands have traveled to my waist, and he slides one around to stroke the small of my back. “Why did you summon me, Sara?”

“I didn’t,” I protest. “I don’t know how.” I would say more, but he nibbles a trail from my neck to my shoulder, and pushes my dress to the side. As for me, I let him.

Micah raises his head, and I get a good look at him for the first time. His eyes are large and dark gray, like thunderheads, his features chiseled into warm caramel skin, and his unruly mop of silver hair seems to float around his head. He wears an odd, buff-colored leather shirt, made all the odder in this heat, and matching leather pants and boots. Boots?

“You did summon me,” he insists. “My Sara, you must tell me why.”

“Does it matter?” I ask. I pull him back to me, kissing him with all the passion I’ve never felt with anyone during my waking hours. Micah kisses me back, fingers deftly unbuttoning my dress while his other hand rubs my lower back. I’ve never felt so free, so alive as I do in Micah’s embrace, and I have no intention of rushing this. None at all.

My Review:

I am quite impressed with this book. I really wasn’t sure what to expect when I started reading. I was thinking maybe some glow-y fairy type creatures. Umm, yeah… no! This is a fascinating take on the world of the Fae, and how the future has molded them and their adaptions. The world building is spectacular. It’s given me a whole new out look as too “cool”. It’s perfect for summer reading as it’s a quick read, fast paced, and full of interesting twists. 

Sara has a little magic, but she never even thinks of it, as she lives in a world that now forbids magic. Her family has been torn apart because of it. She thinks about those family members often, and just that makes her drop any thing to do with magic. So, when a real life elf shows up, telling her she’s basically his mate, she is beyond a little freaked out. Her character has some major growth throughout the story, and I loved how everything played out. Plus she has to figure out how to keep said elf, and her family, while trying to live her life. 

Sara and Micah, well, they really are an interesting couple. He’s so old fashioned, and she’s so modern. She drives a car-he doesn’t actually know that it’s called a car. She is strong willed, but doesn’t know much about her magic or how to use it because she’s denied that part of herself for so long. Micah wants to protect Sara at all costs, even to himself.  I happen to love Micah from his first appearance, because he steals panties LOL He’s sweet, and caring, and yeah a little over protective, but in a good way. He’s got this wonderful home, and he is literally going to share it with Sara and her family in a drop of a hat, if it means protecting Sara. He’s definitely book boyfriend material. 

The world building and scenery is amazing. You have the normal world, where things are very different, almost post apocalyptic, but then you could step into a portal and somethings will still be there, but it’s the fae realm. Very interesting.  I am hooked. I am hoping for MUCH more! I cannot wait for book two, and for those of you who haven’t heard of this book yet, GET YOUR HANDS ON IT NOW!!! 5 SPECTACULARLY WELL WRITTEN PAWS!! 

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

Author Guest Post

When Maghon asked me to include a playlist with the guest post about my latest novel, COPPER GIRL, it got me to wondering what kind of music the main character, Sara Corbeau, would listen to.

You see, Sara’s world is a bleak, depressing place. Magic has been outlawed (though the government throws it around like cheap confetti), taxes are outrageous, and the only jobs to be had are either in the military or desk work. Add that to the fact that her father and brother have been missing for over ten years, and that she hasn’t had a date in forever.

Naturally, Sara would want to listen to something happy.

Being that one of Sara’s two main joys in life (before meeting Micah, that is) is her car, she would have a ready supply of driving music. And, being that one of her other joys is hunting through flea market stalls, her driving music would be made up of classics.

Don Henley – Boys of Summer  

Journey – Don’t Stop Believing  

Fear Factory – Cars  

David Bowie – Always Crashing in the Same Car   

Then, Micah appears in Sara’s dreams, and, soon thereafter, her bed. Their attraction is strong, so strong that it freaks Sara out more than a bit. Still, despite her reservations, she doesn’t want to let him go.

The Cure – Friday  

Eurythmics – Sweet Dreams  

Oasis – Wonderwall  

Def Leppard – Love Bites  

About that last song… Well, things don’t always go smoothly in matters of love, now do they? While Sara tries to negotiate the intense emotions evoked by her dream man, she manages to run afoul of the Iron Queen, gets captured by Peacekeepers, and searches for her missing brother, both while awake and in her dreams. How does it all turn out?

Author bio:

 Jennifer Allis Provost

Jennifer Allis Provost is a native New Englander who lives in a sprawling colonial along with her beautiful and precocious twins, a dog, a parrot (maroon bellied conure, to be exact), two cats, and a wonderful husband who never forgets to buy ice cream. As a child, she read anything and everything she could get her hands on, including a set of encyclopedias, but fantasy was always her favorite. She spends her days drinking vast amounts of coffee, arguing with her computer, and avoiding any and all domestic behavior.

Friend me on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/jennallis

Follow me on Twitter: @parthalan

http://jenniferallisprovost.com/

http://jenniferallisprovost.blogspot.com/

Giveaway:

The author is giving away a “Token” from the book, a t-shirt, and a $10 gift card to B&N…. So what are you waiting for? GO HERE to enter—>> a Rafflecopter giveaway

I wanna say MAJOR thanks to the wonderful people at Spence City AND the FANTASTIC Ms Jen, for that TOTALLY FANTASTIC playlist!!! Majorly cool music… It’s not often that I actually know every song AND know all the words 🙂 hahaha yes, I am an 80’s hair band fan!!! I totally rocked out to all this music!! The book was amazing and I really hope you guys want to read it as much as I enjoyed it! 🙂 Good Luck everyone. Happy Reading everyone! Later Gators 🙂 

2 thoughts on “Copper Girl Blog Tour w Giveaway

  1. Charlotte Abel says:

    OMG! I can’t believe I haven’t kept in touch better! I wanted to let you know that FINDING VALOR, the final book of the The Channie Series is available! (finally!) I’d love to gift you a free copy through Amazon. Which email address do you prefer?

    Hugs! Charlotte

    Download Kindle Bestsellers ENCHANTMENT, TAKEN and RIVER’S RECRUIT by Charlotte Abel at Amazon (Enchantment is FREE)

    Find me on Twitter Friend me on Facebook Visit my blog

  2. Jennifer Allis Provost says:

    Thank you!

What do you have to say?

