The Infernal Detective Spotlight

Hello everyone! Today I have another spotlight and review for you, as well as an author interview. I love when I get to meet new authors and I especially love it when I love their books 🙂 Now let me show you the goodies! As always any of the covers you click will take you to their goodreads page if you’d like to learn more, or add to your “want to read” lists.

The Infernal Detective (Riga Hayworth, #4)

 

Blurb:

Murder. The undead. Irritating relatives.

When Riga Hayworth finds a dead body in the bedroom, it’s par for the course. When the corpse drives off with her fiancée… That’s a problem.

Riga knows dead. More intimately than she’d like. So when a murdered photographer walks away from her pre-wedding party, she believes there’s necromancy afoot. And when she discovers that several of her wedding guests are under the influence of dark magic, she’s certain. But how can she catch a killer and stop a necromancer when even her nearest and dearest are lying to her?

Marrying romance, mystery, and the metaphysical, The Infernal Detective is a fast-paced urban fantasy, where nothing is quite as it seems, and magic lies just beyond the veil.

“A high-voltage, cleverly-spun mystery that I couldn’t put down. Riga Hayworth is addictive.”

–          Diana Orgain, Best-selling author of The Maternal Instincts Mysteries

Book Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kRNYxh2Pf44

My Review:
I will start by saying I did not read any of the first three books, which normally is bad, but here it wasn’t bad. You may not get as much of the original world building and character backgrounds, and a few references from the earlier books, but other than that, I found it pretty smooth. It’s also quite a fun little mysterious ride 🙂 I happen to like supernatural mysteries and this is perfect for that category.

Riga is a detective of the supernatural variety. The book literally starts out at Riga’s engagement party. Her wedding is in a week, she’s got a whole bunch of super important people at this party, including her eccentric aunts, and when she goes to their room for a little break, there’s a dead guy. Her fiancé is smart and calls the police, instructs her to go get copies of their building’s entrance security cameras, and upon returning the dead guy and her fiancé are both gone. Lol And then she sees the dead guy and her fiancé WALKING AWAY! this is an excellent way to start out a book to make it begin with a bang. Dead guys walking around, black magic leaving traces, crazy aunts, mob bosses hitting on her, it’s a hilarious thrill ride!!

There’s some very lovable characters. Her aunts make me giggle. Riga is a well written character and I like Donovan, her fiancé, and the bad guys will swing you for a loop.

I now will be reading the first three books because there was such a fun, exciting, memorable ride! The plot was very entertaining, and had twists and completely action packed! I’m so glad the author emailed me for this one because I found another great book!! 4.5 WALKING DEAD, THRILLING PAWS!

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

 

Author Interview:

WELCOME!! First, tell me a little about your book and why you wanted to write this particular story….

The Infernal Detective is book four in the Riga Hayworth series. Though the books can all be read as standalones, Riga’s character develops in each of the books, and in this one, she’s on the verge of getting married. I wanted to do something lighter, and inspired by Arsenic and Old Lace, I had an idea of a trio of eccentric aunts who hide a magical secret. This is, I think, the funniest book in the series.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

It started when I was a kid. Two things happened. First, I was an early reader, and when I was only five I wanted to be a girl detective like Nancy Drew. But by the time I was six I’d figured out that wasn’t a viable career. Then I won a prize in a first grade writing contest and decided the next best thing was writing mystery novels.

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

My first book was a cozy mystery about a woman who ran a company that managed the plants in office buildings. Good characters, but badly written. That was a while back and I can’t remember the inspiration, but I was really into cozies at the time, and I knew a bit about horticulture.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Life is weird. And a lot of it finds its way into the books, but modified so as not to be a direct rip-off of real life. For example, I was in Kauai last year and the newspaper was reporting on a series of murders of seals. I’m now working on the fifth Riga Hayworth, set in Kauai, and seal murders are a part of the mystery.

Who do you look up to as a writer?

Ian Rankin. I love his Inspector Rebus series.

What book are you reading now? Or what genre? My followers love author’s opinions!

My favorite new series (to me) is the Samantha Moon vampire mysteries by J.R. Rain. Great writing, strong and oddly realistic (for a vampire) female protagonist, and great concept: mother and FBI agent turned vampire, who’s “condition” forces her to become a P.I.

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

Becky Scheel of Atlanta, GA designed my cover. I’ll usually send her some imagery ideas, and then she’ll develop a cover and then we’ll get on the phone and talk about tweaks. She’s a wonderful and very patient designer.

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

Each of the Riga Hayworth books explores a different “style” or modality of magic, so I get to do a lot of occult research. The Infernal Detective looks at necromancy, which is something I really only knew about from the movies and TV. But it’s quite ancient, and initially based on divination through conversation with the spirits.

If you could be one of your characters, who would you choose?

I admire Riga a lot. She’s very self-confident and direct, and it doesn’t hurt that she’s the spitting image of WWII pinup girl, Rita Hayworth.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Buy my books!

About The Author:

IMG_0992

Kirsten Weiss is the author of the Riga Hayworth series of paranormal mysteries: the urban fantasy, The Metaphysical Detective, The Alchemical Detective, The Shamanic Detective, and The Infernal Detective.

Kirsten worked overseas for nearly fourteen years, in the fringes of the former USSR and deep in the Afghan war zone.  Her experiences abroad not only gave her glimpses into the darker side of human nature, but also sparked an interest in the effects of mysticism and mythology, and how both are woven into our daily lives.

Now based in San Mateo, CA, she writes paranormal mysteries, blending her experiences and imagination to create a vivid world of magic and mayhem.

Kirsten has never met a dessert she didn’t like, and her guilty pleasures are watching Ghost Whisperer reruns and drinking good wine.

@RigaHayworth
Kirsten’s Facebook Page
Kirsten’s Google+ Page
Kirsten’s Pinterest Boards

Kirsten’s Website: http://kirstenweiss.com

I would like to thank the author for letting me read her lovely book and I can’t wait to read more! I hope you guys check it out too 🙂 I will now leave you with the covers to the other books in this series! Happy reading and later gators!! 

The Metaphysical Detective (Riga Hayworth, #1)The Alchemical Detective (Riga Hayworth, #2)The Shamanic Detective (Riga Hayworth, #3)

One thought on “The Infernal Detective Spotlight

  1. Thanks for interviewing me! I love your site!

What do you have to say?

