The Guardian of Bastet Blog Tour w Giveaway!

The Guardian of Bastet Button 300 x 225

I’ve got a really fun one for you today 🙂 I mean, seriously HAWT werewolf for me in here, so of course I loved it LOL but it’s actually a really great story even without the werewolf…. wait, nothing is as fantastic as a HAWT werewolf. HAHA ok let me show you! 

The Guardian of Bastet

The Guardian of Bastet
Jacqueline Battisti

Genre: Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance

Publisher: Carina Press

ISBN: 978-14268-9424-4

ASIN: B0088NH1Z8

Number of pages: 237

Word Count: 84,000

Amazon  Barnes & Noble

Carina Press.com   Harlequin.com 

Audible.com

Book Description:

Cat-shifter Trinity Morrigan-Caine has discovered a demon is killing supernaturals. Magically challenged, she has every intention of letting handsome Alpha werewolf Gordon Barnes handle it. But after a dying vampire gifts Trinity a mystical amulet, she is drawn into the fray as the legendary Guardian of Bastet, a warrior born when the need arises.

Though Trinity initially rejects the role, she warms to the idea when Gordon agrees to train her—and their passion for each other grows as he teaches her to embrace her animal instincts.

As she begins to accept her destiny and believe in her growing powers, Trinity realizes the danger is even closer to home than she ever imagined—and she and Gordon are going to have to face the demon in a fight to the death…

Excerpt from The Guardian of Bastet:

What’s it like being a house cat once a month?

Other than the whole litter box thing, it could actually be kind of cool at times. I could run around like crazy – doing mad dashes around the house, and then when I got tired, I could just find a nice warm sunny spot and curl up to sleep. There were plenty of toys to play with around my house and Bronwyn (Trinity’s cat) was a pretty cool companion. We played chased, we wrestled and bitch slapped each other, we knocked mice around and did I mention the catnip? It was legal too! Damn that was good stuff.

There were a few downsides to being a cat. One was the grooming, or should I say the after effects of it. While I was a cat, I couldn’t help but groom myself and it was comforting at the time. Unfortunately, when I turned back to human form, I still ended up with occasional residual hairballs. That part was damn disgusting.

Then there was the hated litter box. Just knowing it was not only Bronwyn’s fault it needed cleaning, grossed me out a little. Being a cat also meant I ate mice and bugs like any other cat in the universe. Try keeping your breakfast down after realizing you’ve done that the night before. It makes the day after a hangover seem like child’s play. I didn’t even want to think about what dad ingested in his puma form. Double yuck. I still had a hard time with that aspect of my life. All I knew was there were some mornings after the full moon when Bronwyn was too excessively proud of my hunting skills for my comfort.

My Review:

This is an excellent new book! It’s fun, mysterious, full of fun supernatural beings, as well as a totally crazy plot twist that I was totally NOT expecting. How damn if it’s not amazing! Plus, must I keep telling you about the HAWT werewolf, before you pick it up and read it yourself 🙂 

Trinity is my total heroine. She’s a vet- hello she has my career and love of animals- except that she’s a kitty shifter- and I’m NOT! *sigh* LOL I think her description of her turning into a house cat monthly is hilarious. I mean, she calls herself a mad mouser LOL I still giggle when I watch each of my cats groom themselves. HAHA You don’t wanna know what they look at me like while I do this. So, between work, and being a house kitty sometimes, she’s also got a serious issue… Her supernatural friends are being killed off one by one, and though she would rather stay at home and hide, she somehow gets wrangled into the exact middle. I LOVE her character. She started out so normal without the whole crazy awesome kick ass chick. She literally grew into that when it was needed. Plus, I relate to her so much with her career being in that same career. However, I don’t seem to have her crazy love life 🙂 

I loved all of the side characters. Her parents, which made me grind my teeth, to her crazy grandma, to the HAWT werewolf, to the scary demon, to her sweet cousin, and all the other supernaturals. I cannot believe I’m about to say this… But my favorite-after said werewolf- would be the Vamper…. *GASP* I just said that out loud. I am liking a vamper. LOL I am seriously hoping that even though this was written like a stand alone, I am BEGGING and PRAYING that the author will take it upon my behalf and GIVE ME MORE!!! Like I will take anything! I loved this book!

The plot twist with the bad guys, seriously, I am still open mouthed. I don’t know what to say. I totally didn’t see that one coming. And then, the mythology tie in with the demons and the legend surrounding everything. I am seriously intrigued with how this came about. I really really liked the writing style. I need to say this one more time. Please gimme more of this book in some way. 🙂 5 WONDERFULLY SURPRISING AWESOME PAWS!! 

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

Author Interview:

WELCOME!! First, tell me a little about your book :)….

The Guardian of Bastet is about Trinity Morrigan-Caine. An independent woman, successful veterinarian and monthly housekitty who is faced with a life that becomes more complicated when events spiral out of control around her and then destiny throws her in the middle of it. She isn’t perfect, she isn’t experienced, but she is determined.

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

I’ve been an avid reader all my life. Some of the best memories I have are of me, with a flashlight, reading a book under the covers and hoping not to get caught reading past my bedtime. I’m not much different as an adult. I love to read. My taste in genres has grown up a little over the years, (I’ve gone from C.S. Lewis and Madeleine L’Engle to Kim Harrison, and Ilona Andrews) but I am still attracted to books with a strong female lead that gives me someone to cheer for and identify with.

My catalyst to becoming a writer came in a couple of waves. I remember reading “Undead and Unwed,” by MaryJanice Davidson on a car ride with my family, and laughing so hard I thought I might have to borrow a diaper from one of the kids. I loved her Queen Betsy. She was funny, snarky and real. I wanted to create a character like that. Then came the motivation. NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) where I put myself to the test of writing for an entire month, and found out I loved it.

From there, a writer was born, and so was my main character of The Guardian of Bastet, Trinity Morrigain-Caine. We developed together as I created her world and how she would interact in it. I gave her my voice and hoped, someday, someone else would want to read her story and laugh out load at her antics.

I wanted to write a story that would make the reader laugh, yell and root for the heroine and I think I’ve accomplished that with The Guardian of Bastet.

You DEFINITELY Did 🙂 or at least with me 🙂 Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Neither, pure imagination. 🙂

How do you chose when/which characters die in your books?

Honestly, when I decide someone has to die, it depends on 1. If they no longer have a part to play in moving the story along and 2. Would it shock the reader. I like having unknown twists and turns in a story to keep it interesting and killing off a character is one way to do it. My mother in law was actually not happy that I killed off her favorite character in book one.

Well, you totally got me on these twists! Who do you look up to as a writer?

Some of my favorite authors are: Ilona Andrews, Kelley Armstrong, Patricia Briggs, Jim Butcher, Mary Janice Davidson, Laurel K. Hamilton, Kim Harrison, Melissa Marr, George R. R. Martin, Brandon Mull & Christine Warren. I read many others but those are the authors that I “must” buy when their newest book comes out.

I couldn’t agree more with your list! If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

Well, my original manuscript had a different love interest, but my agent and editor thought there was chemistry elsewhere…Of course, mine just might end up in book two. LOL

OOOOH Do I see BOOK TWO!!! Well, I am all about said HAWT werewolf, but I will do ALOT for a book two 🙂 Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

The most challenging aspect of writing for me is finding time to write while raising two children ages 5 and 10. Their schedules are crazy with school, sports and scouts, so I try to squeeze writing into my free time. In the past year that has been difficult because of a personal illness and the loss of two family members to illness. It is also difficult to not go off on tangents. There is so much I want my character, and therefore the reader, to experience, that I have to remember the main arc and decide if one of my sub-plots fits into the story and moves it along or if I need to cut that particular scene. Cutting a scene is always hard for me. But my agent and editor keep me focused.

What book are you reading now? Or what genre?

I admit, my first love is urban fantasy, but I also read horror, romance of all types, YA fantasy and romance, science fiction and historical biographies.

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

KAP Design via Carina Press took care of designing the cover based on an information sheet I filled out. As an author, I only get to say if I like the cover or not. 🙂

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

I continue to learn my craft, and strive to improve while writing. I also learned that with enough determination to make your dream a reality, you can accomplish more than you can imagine.

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

I think I would be Bronwyn, the cat. What a life, she can tell her Mistress her every wants and needs, no true responsibilities and I think I would be Bronwyn, the cat. What a life! She can tell her Mistress her every wants and needs, and she has no true responsibilities besides being treated like a Queen.

I did love her too! Are there any books you think some of us should read, just because?

Anything from one of the authors I listed as my favorites….they are all great. There are also a lot of great new authors coming out all the time. You can check out Here Be Magic Blog for fantasy and paranormal authors, Carina Press for romance or Amazon for new E-Books from upcoming authors.

Some of my absolute favorites:

The Game of Thrones Series by George R. R. Martin

Kate Daniels series that begins with Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews

The Queen Betsy that begins with Undead and Unwed by MaryJanice Davidson

The Hollows series that begins with Dead Witch Walking by Kim Harrison

Dresden Files that begins with Storm Front by Jim Butcher 

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I would like to say, “Thank you!” for reading. I love hearing about their reactions on my Facebook Author Page. It’s little things like that that help keep me motivated to write when I run into a block.

About the Author:                           

Jacqueline Battisti was raised in Little Falls, New York where she met and married her high school sweetheart. They have two children and live near Rochester, New York where she is a stay at home mom and writer of the paranormal and urban fantasy of her vivid imagination.

Her first novel, The Guardian of Bastet, was published by Carina Press August 20, 2012. She is currently working on a sequel as well as a dystopian paranormal.

Her life has taken her from the trials and tribulations of working as an administrative assistant at various companies, back to college as an adult student, and then into the adventurous world of motherhood.

Jacqueline began writing seriously in 2007 after attempting NaNoWriMo for the first time. It was the first time she had disciplined herself to finish a novel. From there, her supportive critique group was formed and attended, and then she attended RT Booklovers Convention in 2009. Jacqueline attended their aspiring authors workshops and met with many talented writers who inspired her to continue writing.

Flash forward to today: Jacqueline has two children who are very outgoing and keep her on her toes. Cub Scouts, Daisy Scouts, play dates, school activities for the kids…then writing, reading current authors, following blogs, facebook, household chores, gardening and exhaustion for mom. Add in a new puppy, two furry feline children and fish and you have the craziness that is the Battisti household.

www.jacquelinebattisti.com

https://www.facebook.com/jacquelinebattisti.author   

Twitter:@jmbattisti

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/jacquelinebattisti

Giveaway: A tour wide giveaway of…. 

5 E-Copies of The Guardian of Bastet
5 printed and signed copies of The Guardian of Bastet
1 Gift Basket 
 
Basket Incl. Signed book, Rochester Coffee Mug, Wegmans Chocolate truffle coffee, Lindt Milk Chocolate and a pewter Bast Goddess Pendant.  
I do so hope you guys enjoyed today and I hope you check this book out! I also want to thank the lovely author for stopping by! Good luck on the giveaways! Happy reading and later gators!
2 thoughts on “The Guardian of Bastet Blog Tour w Giveaway!

  1. Thank you so much for taking the time to review my book and host me on your blog. So glad you liked it. (And yes, I am working on book 2…) 🙂 Have a great day!

  2. evamillien says:

    Thanks for sharing your wonderful post and the giveaway. I am looking forward to reading this book. evamillien at gmail dot com

What do you have to say?

