Cloaked in Fur Blog Tour w Giveaway

Cloaked In Fur Banner 450 x 169 Tour2

You guys know I gotta have my werewolf fix. 🙂 So now, I am loving it! Let me show you some goodies!

Cloaked in Fur

Cloaked in Fur
T.F. Walsh

Genre: Paranormal Suspense with strong romance elements

Publisher: Crimson Romance

Date of Publication: August 5, 2013

ISBN: 978-1-4405-7161-9

ASIN: B00DV0XJ4A

Number of pages: 216

Word Count: 73,000 approx.

Cover Artist: Stephanie Hannus 

Book Description:

As a moonwulf, Daciana never expected to fall in love with a human. Hell, she never imagined that she’d abandon her pack, endanger everyone around her, and break the worst rule possible. But she did.

A rogue werewolf is killing Daciana’s friends, and she sets on capturing the creature.  She’ll do whatever it takes to stop the beast. The police and her boyfriend, Inspector Connell Lonescu, are starting to question her involvement in the murders, which is endangering the pack’s secret existence. But when the pack alpha kidnaps Connell, revealing the awful truth about the creature and its connection to the pack, Daciana must choose between saving the man she loves and saving her pack family from certain death.

Amazon     Amazon UK    BN    iTunes   Crimson Romance

OPENING OF CHAPTER 4

The phone’s strident ringing woke me up, and I glanced over at the bedside clock blazing

5:13 A.M. Too damn early for anything.

Tempted to dive back under the covers, I checked the caller ID: Connell. Crap. The previous night’s events came pouring back: me turning into a wulfkin outside the full moon, running with the pack all night, collecting my keys from the woods, and ditching Connell again. On top of that, I never retrieved the old books for the elixir. Double crap.

I pushed my legs over the edge of the bed, scrunched the sheet in my fist and answered the call. “Hi.”

“Where are you?” The panic in his voice turned my stomach.

“At home.”

“What happened to you last night?”

My throat dried up as my mind whirred with excuses. “I uncovered something in my research and got stuck into it, not realizing it was past midnight when I checked the clock. I didn’t want to wake you and went straight home. I’m sorry.”

“I suspected you wouldn’t come. Looks like I was right.”

“Come on, Connell, give me a break. I’m working on something majorly important.

When you’re on a case and spend nights in the office, I don’t give you shit about it.”

“That’s not what pisses me off. It’s that you never tell me anything. Send me a message if you’re going to be late or not turn up, anything to let me know what’s going on. It feels like you’re only staying with me on until something better comes along.”

“That’s not true. I only want you.”

Silence.

I lowered my head and stared at the dirt beneath my toenails from the previous night’s run.

“I don’t want to talk about this now,” he said. “We found two more bodies this morning. The victims were located on the opposite sides of the city.” He paused. “Why would a wolf bolt across the city after a kill? They attack in packs, don’t they?”

A shiver rippled down my spine, the possibility of two more dracwulf kills made me furious. There was no convincing myself the attacks weren’t related to the others; I felt the truth in my gut. Worse yet, I wondered whether the dracwulf was simply hungry or territorial, and Sandulf had to know. I flopped onto the bed and curled into a ball.

When I gave no response, Connell continued. “I need you to review the reports from the previous attacks today and visit the new scenes to see if you believe it’s the same animal.”

I cringed at the innocent wolves who could lose their lives over Sandulf’s stupidity.

“Your team can test the evidence and see if it’s the same predator without me.”

“We have limited testing resources in this country, so we need your expertise to move things along.”

The way he said “your” sounded full of contempt, and it pained me to hear him talk like that.

“The chief wants a hunting party issued this weekend, preferably with Romania’s Animal Research Institute’s approval. He’s already spoken with your boss, Vasile.”

I climbed up and paced the room, shaking my head. Typical Vasile to agree to anything the cops asked.

“If I could leave you out of this, I would, but I can’t. Trust me, I tried.”

“I appreciate that. Where should we meet?”

“Piaţa Square. Half an hour?”

“I can do that.”

He hung up.

A snarl ripped past my throat at the terrible start to the day. Who could blame Connell for being upset? I’d be livid if he kept avoiding me.

I threw on a pair of Levi’s, boots, and a gray hooded top. The bathroom mirror reflected gray wolf eyes from my recent transformation, and already the silvery color was fading into a darker shade. I pulled every strand of my nest-style hair into a ponytail and rushed outside into the morning twilight. 

My Review:

OOOOH, this is a good one! I love werewolves. I always have I always will, and this one gets added to the list. The humans don’t know about wulfkin, who live in their forests. But when something animal and huge starts killing off the people, it’s a race to get it under control. The main character is not only a wulfkin, but she’s in love with a human, so it is fitting for her to help, for both sides, but boy does she have to go through hell on herself to do it. 🙂 

Daciana is our main character. She’s left her pack because of the human she loves. But something is killing not only humans, but her pack mates. She’s definitely a strong character. She’s loyal, and determined, and smart, as she’s also trying to find a way to cure herself so she can be with her human lover. But, just because she left the pack for him doesn’t mean she doesn’t love those she left. Or want anything bad to happen to anyone else. I happen to like her alot. Unfortunately, her life is crazy!

There’s some great side characters, but everyone is going to fall for Connell. Yes, he’s human, but he’s pretty awesome. And he’s also strong enough to keep up and put up with Daciana. But he still doesn’t know her biggest secret and it’s causing some major issues. I like his character as well. He’s the knight in shining armor without being supernatural. 

I loved the action. I loved the plot twists. I loved the writing. Yep, I pretty much had fun loving this book. I am seriously hoping this is going to be a series, and a decent sized one. This is a great start for a series. I can’t help but want more. And to top it off, we’re set in Romania, in the Carpathian Mountains… Yo vamper fans, that sound familiar? Dracula ring any bells? Seriously, it’s a cool book, trust me. So what are you waiting for? LOL 5 MYSTERIOUSLY WOLFISH PAWS!!!

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

Author Interview:

First, WELCOME!! Now, tell me a little about your book 🙂….

As a moonwulf, Daciana never expected to fall in love with a human. Hell, she never imagined that she’d abandon her pack, endanger everyone around her, and break the worst rule possible. But she did.

A rogue werewolf is killing Daciana’s friends, and she sets on capturing the creature.  She’ll do whatever it takes to stop the beast. The police and her boyfriend, Inspector Connell Lonescu, are starting to question her involvement in the murders, which is endangering the pack’s secret existence. But when the pack alpha kidnaps Connell, revealing the awful truth about the creature and its connection to the pack, Daciana must choose between saving the man she loves and saving her pack family from certain death.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

As a child I remember scribbling short stories on the inside cover of my sister’s books, and I have no idea why. Perhaps I was pretending my stories were published, or I secretly wanted everyone to pay attention to me, after all I was the middle child, but whatever the reason, one thing is certain, I’ve always loved telling tales. It may have something to do with my father’s passion for writing. He’s a well-respected Romanian poet and author, and holds the same dedication to books I do.

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

I grew up watching and reading everything on horror, especially if it included monster and creatures of the night. And even today, that passion trickles into my writing. There isn’t a story I write that doesn’t include a sinister dark foe that hides in the shadows. Cloaked in Fur was a combination of me wanting to explore how far someone would go to save their true love mixed with werewolves and strong pack loyalty.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The story and characters are completely fictional 🙂

How do you choose when/which characters die in your books?

You know, it’s funny because I struggled with such an issue in this book. As I wrote the first draft, I grew infatuated with one of the characters, but something bad was coming his way. That was a hard decision. I guess I choose whom and when depending on what will add more conflict to the main character’s life.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

Hmmm. Not sure I would. I love exactly how each character turned out, how they grew along the journey. Plus, there is a sequel coming out, which will explore these characters even further.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I would have to say editing is the hardest part. Sitting down and going through each line, each paragraph, each scene, and making sure it’s the best it can be is challenging. After a while, the words to blend into each other, and that’s when critique partners come in.

What book are you reading now? Or what genre?
Right now, I’m reading:

Gameboard of the Gods, by Richelle Mead

The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak

Throne of Glass, by Sarah J. Mass

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

A designer from Crimson Romance publishing created my cover. I actually briefed them on what I was looking for, so it was a team effort 🙂

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

Absolutely. Every time I write something new I’m growing as a writer and learning something new. Cloaked in Fur taught me how to string suspense from the first page right through the end. All I can say is poor Daciana had it pretty hard. That makes me sound a bit evil…:)

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

Definitely, Daciana. She’s strong and smart, and never walks away from a fight. She has such a huge heart and will do anything to save the man she loves. Plus, this girl knows how to kick butt.

Are there any books you think some of us should read, just because?

Christine Rain’s The 13th Floor Series is fantastic. Highly recommend it. http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4017568.Christine_Rains 

Also, The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Cloaked in Fur was such a fun book to write. I grew with the characters and experienced every hardship they went through. I want everyone who reads it to enjoy it as much as I loved writing it. 

Buy Cloaked in Fur Here:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Cloaked-in-Fur-ebook/dp/B00DV0XJ4A/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1374564291&sr=1-1

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Cloaked-in-Fur-ebook/dp/B00DV0XJ4A/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1374635978&sr=1-1

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/cloaked-in-fur-tf-walsh/1116059078?ean=9781440571619

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/cloaked-in-fur/id672328984?mt=11

Crimson Romance Books: http://www.crimsonromance.com/upcoming-releases-romance-ebook/cloaked-in-fur/

Publisher: Crimson Romance www.crimsonromance.com

About The Author

T.F. Walsh emigrated from Romania to Australia at the age of eight and now lives in a regional city south of Sydney with her husband. Growing up hearing dark fairytales, she’s always had a passion for reading and writing horror, paranormal romance, urban fantasy and young adult stories. She balances all the dark with light fluffy stuff like baking and traveling.

Author Links

Website http://tfwalsh.wordpress.com

Twitter www.twitter.com/TFWalsh

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/tfwalsh

Pinterest http://pinterest.com/tfwalsh/

Goodreads http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7150942.T_F_Walsh

Amazon http://www.amazon.com/author/tfwalsh

Tour Wide Giveaway
 
1 set of six wolf wineglass charms –open to US Shipping
 
4 wolf keychains–open to US Shipping
I sure hope you guys check this out! I wish you all good luck! I also wanna give a BIG thanks to Ms Walsh! I’m so glad she could stop by! Today was so much fun! Happy reading and later gators! Have a good weekend!! 

7 thoughts on “Cloaked in Fur Blog Tour w Giveaway

  1. T.F.Walsh says:

    It is so wonderful to be on your blog today:) And thank you for the wonderful review. So glad you enjoyed it. Makes me smile non-stop:) And yes, there will be more books in this series. Coming soon!

  2. […] Happy Tails and Tales interview me and reveal their review of Cloaked in Fur […]

  3. bn100 says:

    Nice inspiraiton

  4. TBM says:

    Wonderful interview! Editing is difficult, especially when you are looking for typos. I find my eyes glaze over when I try to do a line by line edit. Good you can rely on others to help out.

  5. Great interview and excerpt. It’s a fantastic book! I definitely agree with the review. And thank you so much for mentioning me, Tania. 🙂

  6. great interview! I agree, editing is hard work. writing is fun.

  7. Eva Millien says:

    Thanks for sharing your review and interview. This book sounds like a great book and I have added it to my TBR. Thanks for the giveaway. evamillien at gmail dot com

What do you have to say?

