Blood Rule Blog Tour W Giveaway!!!!!!

Bloodruletour

Yes, I’ve just put a TON of exclamation points because I’m THAT excited about the title! This author, was my first stalkee. She actually accepted the fact that I would cyber stalk her, and ask her questions, and talk about her characters, and beg her for more, and she was cool with it. I believe her husband thought, and still thinks, I’m a lunatic. He’s probably right. But she gave me not only a werewolf book I obsessively love, but a human werewolf hunter who has stolen my heart. Oh boy, Ok, enough, let me show you! Also, click on that banner above to see all the other tour stops!!

Blood Rule (Dirty Blood, #4)

Blood Rule by Heather Hildenbrand

The Dirty Blood Series, #4

Accendo Press – August 2013

BOOK SUMMARY:

Forty-six.

That’s how many hybrids survived the Hunter attack in the woods after I revived them with an injection of my blood. That’s how many followed me home to Frederick Falls. And that’s how many were now mentally linked to me through a blood bond.

Two days. Three valium. Fourteen hours of sleep.

That’s what it took to realize I wasn’t losing my mind as a result of the noise in my own head.

Sixteen.

That’s how many days have passed since I almost killed Alex. That’s how many days I’ve sat by his bedside, waiting for him to wake up. To ease the guilt, to understand his betrayal, to remember the exact shade of brown in his eyes.

Zero.

That’s my chances of skating by with Gordon Steppe and the Hunter Council. They want me for questioning. I’m afraid what’ll happen if I give them answers.

Buy Links

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00ECL1OZS/ref=cm_sw_r_tw_dp_mLzasb0NAZ56H

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/blood-rule-book-4-dirty-blood-series-heather-hildenbrand/1116310366?ean=2940148570240

My Review:

Ok, so my review is going to be a little different today. Me and Heather had this conversation a little bit back when I first read Blood Rule, for the first time. I literally posted nonsense on her facebook wall, stalker that I am, and we had to stay spoiler free, because of no one else having read it yet. 🙂 So, I was telling her how my animals were taumatized during my reading process by my bursts of… things LOL, so I will allow everyone to meet my kids today and let you see their reactions! 🙂 Then I’ll have a little review on a serious note at the end.

Meet Xander

Xander rdr April 29, 2013 023

“Hello, I am my mommy’s favorite because I am the oldest. I am wise, I am loving, I am obedient, and most of all, I love her most. I want to say that this book is stupid. Every time my mommy read it, she wouldn’t hug me or pet me, unless she was all stressed out, which made me stressed out. No biggie, though, I just hugged and snuggled close to sleep by her. I think she likes that. Besides, she gave me the coolest name, therefore, I am the coolest. And I wanna know who is this Alex she keeps talking about loving. And why does she growl like me when she reads this book. Plus, I got mad once, because she made so much noise I had to bark and go pee. She seriously needs a better hobby, like rubbing me a lot more. Yes, I think it’s cuddle time, so I need to go now. It was lovely to meet you. If you wouldn’t mind giving me a little scratch on the way out, it would be much appreciated. I do love to please but please love a little back.”

Meet Mysha

DSCN0694 April 22_ 2013 0466910

“Well, it’s about you guys joined the party! I am my mommy’s favorite because I am beautiful, and give the most kisses always. I’m probably the bad kid of the bunch, but she still loves me most! I like to play with the cows, and kill whatever I can get my mouth on, sorry for those of you who are squeemish. I am always laying around, but when I’m up, look out. I am the fastest, and the smartest. I am definitely the coolest. I bet me and this Wes character would have so much fun hunting together. I hear he’s pretty furry, and can run fast. I can show him where the deer live in the trees on mommy’s farm. I go there when she doesn’t notice me sneaking off. I do it often as she’s always got her nose in those books. But if I take took long, I don’t get my goodies. I sure do like my goodies. Like peanut butter, and milk bones, and beggin strips, and definitely my chew sticks. Those are awesome to chew and make teeth pretty. And, I love- SQUIRREL!!!!!!!- Ok, I need to go catch that stupid squirrel who curses at me daily when I don’t catch him. I will one day! Maybe if I am tracking the squirrel I won’t hear mommy yelling at her book again! Oh, and I need a little nap maybe too. Ok, want some licks, maybe just here? Oh, come on just a little one… Ok, how about a scratch? I’m really soft. Look, I have pretty eyes, now lean just a little closer for me to lick you…. SQUIRREL!!!……”

Meet Baylee

more 648 january 19, 2012 014

“I am the smartest. I protect my mommy. I don’t have time for cool. I protect my idiot siblings. I sometimes chase the cats. I do not have time to care if my mommy has her nose stuck in that thing again. The cows are near the gate, hold on……. Alright, you get one more minute. No, I don’t need scratches, except from my mommy. No, I don’t need to bite you, my growl is enough. WAIT, oh, it’s my mommy growling at that stupid thing again. And now she’s crying over something called Alex and somebody furry is in trouble. I bet Alex would be a good yard protector with me, or maybe this Wes kid. who bites harder? and who barks louder? WHAT!!! They are furry-NO MORE FURRIES! I have enough with these stupid cats who never walk in the line I want them to. I need to go check the borders again, I gotta go. Hmmmm, bring me a treat next time and we can talk about scratches. No, I do NOT kiss people, unless you are my mommy. And don’t come here smelling like furries. UGH I am so much smarter that people. I will always be the favorite because I’m so good at protecting my mommy. Sometimes I snuggle, and don’t tell but I’m seriously scared of rain and thunder and loud noise. Ok, now get off my property, I can’t protect it while you’re here.”

Meet Annie

December 22, 2012 001 April 29_ 2013 0316949

“So, my mommy is actually my sister, but I love her most. We have the same daddy nut I live with my big sister, who’s now my mommy. I only wanna play all the time. I like that she gives me really good food and treats and even though she took me to that horrible place she calls work, she made me all better. I wanna play. Let’s play. I was sick, but now I’m better. And she lets me cuddle, and sleep in her bed. She gives me lots of pets. And lets me kiss her. But she doesn’t like when I pick on the others. But she lets me play. And I run, and I jump, and a try to make everyone play with me. And I like to cuddle with the cats. Oh that book thing mommy has, she always has it. But when she has it, we get to go outside in the field while she has it, so I can run a lot when she has it. And I can roll in the cow poo with Mysha, and the rub on the cats, before mommy makes me take a splash in the white pool. Oh and when she has it, she lets me sit on the swing with her, well until Xander or Mysha comes to take my spot. Or the cats. I like the cats, they cuddle with me. I like to play with balls. I like to fetch. You wanna play? I bet Cambria would be so much fun to play with, she’s always playing! Let’s play. Oh wait, you could rub me instead. I would rather my mommy play with me and not this Alex. Yes rub me while mommy yells at the book. She wouldn’t put that thing down for forever when she talked about Alex. It was crazy! She yelled and growled which was weird. But she gave us all extra treats! Seriously, let’s play! PLAY PLAY PLAY! Oh, wait, don’t go without a scratch, here, here, or here… Ahhh, thanks!! Come back and play soon!!!! “

OH EM GEEEE! Can’t things just ever go right! I mean, poor Tara. First, she’s a hunter, then a werewolf, then the most wanted commodity, not she’s wanted as dead. It seems likes everyone is out to get her. I am slightly devastated with that last sentence. Seriously, wait until you read it, your jaw will unhinge, and you will burst into tears, and you will curl into a ball and hug yourself. Ok, I did that, but maybe you won’t. Then I was furious, because now I have to WAIT AGAIN! UGH! AND my boyfriend wasn’t in the book nearly enough for my liking! But, I believe every other fan will be happy, Tara has made her choice. *sigh* ok, let’s get down to business. I am pretty sure I love every character here, even the bad guys. I have never been more wrapped up in a series that this one. I feel like I’ve come to know them more than some of my real life friends. I’ve reread this series multiple times because I just can’t get enough. I will always back Tara. She will always be my go to girl. She’s strong, she’s courageous, she’s crazy, she’s beautiful, inside and out, she’s determined, she’s loyal, and now she’s a great alpha. Wes is a wonderful partner. He’s loving, and sometimes possessive, but he gets over it, he’s so loyal it’s crazy. he’s pretty much awesome. George is the perfect best friend. I like how his future is shaping up, and I won’t say more because that’s way to spoilery. Alex, is…. in one word MINE. Seriously. I have decided to jump in the pages and steal him from everybody. Besides, he loves me, he just doesn’t know it yet. I have no idea where Heather is going to go with him in the next story. I am still on my seat’s edge because I am DYING to know SOMETHING!!! Cambria, is in one word AWESOME. Hehehehehe I can’t say how awesome it is to have her as the best friend, side kick, partner in crime. Her and Derek are precious. Gran, Fee, Jack, Vera, I’m not sure who’s the cooler role models.

There isn’t too many compliments to give to the writing, except that it’s the most exceptional piecing together of words I’ve ever read. Heh, I had you at the beginning of that sentence. Seriously. I laughed, I cried, I yelled, I almost fell off a chair, I stumped my toe trying to walk and read, I am pretty sure I got lost for a while. I don’t know how to say it better than I am lucky to have invested in something so wonderful that will stay with me forever. I am forever in your debt, because you’ve given me so much joy and emotion with this series. *sigh* I will wait forever for as much as you will give me! I will always be your number one fan… ok we reserve that for you hubby, so I will be your number one stalker. 🙂 ALWAYS! Even without a ton of Alex, this one, will get my rare 6 PAWS. I know I said last time infinite PAWS, but I am truly invested and you get the official one 🙂 Now, stop leaving me hanging! LOL No, don’t stop, because then it would end! 😉 to the rest of you- WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR!!

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

Author’s Playlist:

I don’t listen to music often during the actual writing process but I do during plotting and then editing. Music helps me then because during editing I’m checking to see if I captured the overall feeling in a scene that I was going for, and I am making sure it will translate to the reader the way I intended. The music helps me define the feeling each scene needs to have.

My playlist for Blood Bond was eclectic–as all of mine are. Here’s the list, along with an explanation about how/what that song inspired:

Always by Bon Jovi – if you’ve been with the series since the beginning, you know this is George’s and Tara’s song. He writes it in a love letter of sorts in Cold Blood and then in Blood Bond, it’s explained how it came to be special for them. They even sing it to each other. So cute!

Fix You & Spies by Coldplay – Fix You is a message from Tara to George. She will do anything to help him in Blood Bond. She knows there’s no way to stop him from turning, but she’s determined to keep him from becoming a monster in the process. I can’t tell you who Spies is for. You’ll just have to read the book and find out!

There are a couple of road trip songs: Postcards from Far Away by Coldplay and Roads Untravelled by Linkin Park. And yes, there is a road trip in Blood Bond.

Castle of Glass by Linkin Park – I love the line that says: “Wash the sorrow from off my skin and show me how to be whole again.” Yes, there is sorrow in Blood Bond. And grief. I can’t tell you why except to say we lose someone. It will rock the entire group and you see the mark of it in all of them.

You’ve Got The Love, Rabbit Heart, & Howl by Florence + The Machine – because I love their sound. And their lyrics are awesome. From Howl, I love the lines that say: “If you could only see the beast you’ve made of me. I held it in but now it seems you’ve set it running free.” It goes on to talk about fingers on your skin, etc. and it makes me think of Tara and Wes. Then the song becomes kind of hot. *wink* which also makes me think of them. Just in a different way. *fans self* You’ll want to read those parts, trust me!

Hmmm, now who could it be talking about? *wink*

Train: Drive By & Meet Virginia** made the list because I love their sound and how they made me feel. Meet Virginia describes a girl that’s stubborn and doesn’t care what others think of her. Sound like anyone from the series? Also great road trip music!

**I saw them perform these in concert in July. EPIC!

Howlin’ For You by The Black Keys – listen to it. It’s self-explanatory and perfect for my series. It was my favorite from this playlist. “Baby, I’m howlin’ for you.”

3 songs by Plain White T’s made the list: Rhythm of Love, Last Breath, and Killer. My favorite was Killer because it sums up how Tara felt throughout the book about what she was becoming. It also makes me think of Wes and Alex and how they wonder if/how Tara can love them or care for them despite who they are or what they’ve done. Rhythm of Love is great because it talks about only having a short time to express your feelings for the other (“we may only have tonight…”) and throughout the book, Wes and Tara only had short spurts to really be alone and “together.” Last Breath is about what a guy would do (pretty much anything, including die) to get away from a crazy girlfriend. It’s fun and doesn’t necessarily go with the storyline here but it’s about desperation and I liked the feeling for this book. At the end, he says: “what am I fighting for, if it ain’t you?” and I love that line.

ALSO saw Plain White T’s in concert in July and I got to meet them!!! So cool!

That’s it for my playlist. If you’re wondering what I use to stream music while working, I used to use my MP3 (I still do for plotting with my white board) but for this book (at the computer), I used Spotify because I could look up songs and build the list quicker while still being in front of my computer screen. Plus, I can share my playlist with everyone via Facebook and you can see when I’m listening to which playlist. It was a way to show everyone that I was working on Blood Bond, because they saw that playlist streaming. Now, I love Spotify. I’ve already started using it to build my playlist for book 4.

I’m curious–what songs do you think work well for Blood Bond?

To answer My lovely lady’s question, here’s mine 🙂 strictly for lyrical purposes today 🙂 But mine is also for most of the books, except I tried to keep too many from sneaking in from Blood Rule. I will also say some of mine are a “viewer discretion adviced” kinda eclectic 🙂

*I’m choosing the live unplugged version on purpose here*

Author Information

Heather Hildenbrand was born and raised in a small town in northern Virginia where she was homeschooled through high school. She now lives in coastal VA, a few miles from the Atlantic Ocean, with her two adorable children. She works from home, part time, as a property manager and when she’s not furiously pounding at the keyboard, or staring off into space whilst plotting a new story, she’s lying on the beach, soaking in those delicious, pre-cancerous rays.

Heather loves Mexican food, hates socks with sandals, and if her house was on fire, the one thing she’d grab is her DVR player.

Heather is a co-founder of Accendo Press, a publishing group she operates with fellow authors: Angeline Kace and Jennifer Sommersby. Accendo (a-CH-endo), A Latin word, means “to kindle, illuminate, inflame, or set fire.” This is something Accendo strives to do inside a reader’s imagination with every title released. For a complete list of titles and author bios, visit www.accendopress.com.

Website: www.heatherhildenbrand.blogspot.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Heather.L.Hildenbrand

Facebook Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/HeatherHildenbrandsFanPage

Twitter: https://twitter.com/HeatherHildenbr

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4607856.Heather_Hildenbrand

Newsletter: http://blogspot.us4.list-manage2.com/subscribe?u=77abacb38959bc9c0f7b4e81b&id=739fdcef83

Giveaway!

Bloodrulegiveaway

GO HERE TO ENTER!!

I sure hope you guys had as much fun as I did today! I really do love this series and i love the author as much! My kids loved all the attention! Next, they’ll want to be reviewing books too! I am so excited to share this series with you! Heather, don’t keep me waiting too long now! 🙂 Happy reading and later gators!! And extra good luck!!

5 thoughts on “Blood Rule Blog Tour W Giveaway!!!!!!

  1. bn100 says:

    Nice playlist

  2. H. Lee says:

    Great review:) I loved meeting all your furry kids! And I agree, I love Alex too and he was not in the book as much as I would have liked but, that gives us so much more to looking forward to the next one right?

  3. Catherine T. says:

    I like the playlist! And the giveaway is awesome – thanks to both of you 🙂

  4. evamillien says:

    Thanks for sharing your post and the giveaway. Sounds like a great series and I am looking forward to reading it. evamillien at gmail dot com

  5. such sweet sounding pets!
    And the book sound great now I’m wanting to read them two.

What do you have to say?

