Shadow Embraced Blog Tour w Giveaway part II

Shadow Embraced
(Haven #1)
No escape.
Those words haunt Scar’s dreams. She thinks the creature that terrorises her while asleep isn’t real, but when she’s abducted and taken to a reform school meant to contain creatures too dangerous to function in society, she starts to wonder whether she isn’t some monster.
She turns to an underground fight club full of vampires, werewolves and witches established by the students to control her urges, and who is she kidding, she loves to fight.
When fighters begin to disappear, turning Scar into the prime suspect, she must race to prove her innocence before her true nature is exposed.
The only problem is that she’s not entirely sure she’s innocent.

Amazon – Smashwords – Barnes & Noble
Add Shadow Embraced to your Goodreads list!

Book trailer: 

Cheree Smith

Cheree Smith

Cheree Smith lives in a country town in Australia as a high school English teacher where she writes paranormal, horror and dark stories for young adults. She enjoys listening to and learning about legends and myths, watching scary movies and dreaming up new worlds where monsters can come alive. When she is not in her writing cave she can be found listening to music, even dabbling in the occasional writing of music or reading.

Website –  Blog – Twitter – Facebook – Goodreads

My Review can be found HERE

paw main

Author Interview:

WELCOME!! First, tell me a little about your book and why you wanted to write this particular story….

Shadow Embraced came about with my interest in the Romanian legend of the various vampires and were-creatures, and one question, what if there was a creature that these so-called monsters feared. Shadow Embraced is about Scar who gets told she is too dangerous to live in normal society so she gets pulled into a world full of these creatures, where she needs to learn to control the monster within before it consumes her. Throw in an underground fight club and a mysterious attacker that could be closer to Scar than she wants to believe.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

I always had an interest in creative writing at high school and loved creating stories for my younger siblings.

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

Oh, my first book will never see the light of day. I wrote the story for my younger sister, who was seven at the time, about a brother and sister who are pulled to a mystical land to help search for a lost princess and save the land.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

All experiences and characters are figments of my own imagination. Sometimes a quirk or saying that I’ve seen or heard from someone I know will catch my attention and find its way to one of my characters, but I never base an entire character on someone I know.

How do you choose when/which characters die in your books?

It’s funny, I don’t actually choose who I want to die in advance, I just let the events fall into place naturally. I didn’t actually need someone to die in Shadow Embraced, but I needed someone to get attacked and I had no idea who that was going to be up until the last edit, the events just naturally led to that outcome and I was happy with it.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I always love finding new authors. A couple of new authors I’ve just discovered include Lindsey R. Loucks, author of the Grave Winner, and Lenore Appelhans, author of Level 2.

Who do you look up to as a writer?

I have a fantastic critique group at writing.com that offers great advice and support. These are definitely a group of people I look up to as a writer.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

Nothing! I’ve spent a lot of time getting all the characters where they needed to be in the novel, and by the last edit I felt everything had just fallen neatly into place that I would just want to continue Scar’s story rather than rewrite it.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I’m a perfectionist and I find it challenging to stop myself from constantly editing as I write. This slows down my writing process and I can be stuck in one place in the story as I continuously rewrite the section instead of moving forward with the story. Each time I start a new novel I promise myself I’m not going to read through any previous chapters until I finish the first draft so I don’t feel compelled to go through any edits.

What book are you reading now? Or what genre? My followers love author’s opinions!

I devour all things young adult and paranormal, and I’m currently enthralled in Amanda Sun’s debut Ink.

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

Silvia Paoletta at Dark World Books designed the cover for Shadow Embraced. She kept me involved with all the decision-making to ensure I was happy with the images she was using, but she had already read Shadow Embraced and had a firm idea of what Scar looked like and she did a fantastic job with the cover.

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

Yes, I learnt the importance of carrying around a notebook and pen as ideas can come from anywhere and at any time. If you look around my house you’ll probably find a dozen notebooks just lying around, as well as in the car and in my bag. I need to have a notebook everywhere.

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

This is a hard question, mainly because I put my characters through hell, but if I have to pick, I’d have to pick my main character from my current WiP, Rin Morgan. Rin is half-Japanese and at the start of the story she is forced to move in with her grandparents over in Japan, and I absolutely love everything Japanese so I could go through hell if I got to live over there.

Are there any books you think some of us should read, just because?

I think readers should read anything they can get their hands on and if they like something make sure they recommend that book.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Yes, a big thank you!!!

You’re very welcome! 🙂 Thank YOU for stopping by to hang out with us!

Shadow Embraced Tour schedule:

Giveaway:

Lots of goodies to be won, so GO HERE to enter and it’s international too 🙂

I hope you guys check out this new book 🙂 A bit thanks to the author for coming over for a visit!  Happy reading- GOOD LUCK ON THE GIVEAWAY- and later gators!! 

One thought on “Shadow Embraced Blog Tour w Giveaway part II

  1. […] 21st | Happy Tails and Tales (Author […]

What do you have to say?

