Affairs of the Dead Blog Tour

Affairs of the Dead Button 300 x 225

This is a hilarious book of ghosts and necromancers, and crazy things that go bump in the night. This one was definitely a fun read! 🙂 LOL So with that in mind, Let me show you some goodies! \

Affairs of the Dead

Affairs of the Dead
A.J. Locke

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Publisher: Etopia Press

Date of Publication:  April 19th, 2013

ISBN: 978-1-939194-91-6

ASIN: B00CF0OWAW

Number of pages: 341

Word Count:  83,282

Cover Artist: Iris Hunter

Amazon  Barnes & Noble  All Romance E-books  Kobo

Book Description:

Help ghosts, stop a thief, and try not to die…

Necromancer Selene Vanream helps ghosts settle their affairs so they can move on. But when breaking the rules gets her in trouble, she’s bumped down to tracking ghosts trying to avoid the afterlife. Ghosts like Ethan Lance, who claims he was kicked out of his body when someone else jumped in. Which might be plausible—if such a thing were possible. And if Micah, Selene’s partner, didn’t pull her into an investigation of brutal murders that lead directly back to Ethan.

But when the whole mess puts Selene’s life in danger, she suddenly has very personal reasons to get Ethan’s body back. Between her uncomfortable relationship with Micah, and problems with her boss, Selene learns just how much trouble it can be when you don’t follow the rules

Short Excerpt:

I was in a strip club trying to help a ghost get laid, which was challenging, but not impossible. It was just extremely taxing on the necromancer extraordinaire (me) who had to channel energy into the ghost to make her corporeal enough to entice one of the stripper boys. Technically what I was doing was illegal, but it was my job to help ghosts settle their affairs so they could move on to eternally ever after, and Julia’s unfinished business was that she’d died a virgin. I’d made it as easy as I could for her by starting at a strip club; if she couldn’t get some here, I wasn’t sure how much lower I could scrape the barrel.

Julia’s prolonged virginity was an enigma to me, even though she told me that she’d been waiting for her soul mate. I just didn’t understand why that meant she couldn’t hit up a bar, get drunk, and have a fun, regret-filled weekend that included the walk of shame. At least she’d have been in better shape once soul mate came around.

 “What do you think about him?” I asked, pointing to one of the three oiled up men who were gyrating for the benefit of all the screaming women. He had blond hair and green eyes, and wasn’t overly muscular. Julia looked at him then quickly looked away. I took that as a sign of approval.

“I think this was a bad idea,” she stammered.

“This was a fantastic idea,” I said. “And it will work, don’t worry.”

“No, I mean, I don’t think I can do this. I waited my whole life for my soul mate and now you want me to just—” she stole another quick look at the stripper, “I don’t think I can do this with some random…stripper man. It’s so indecent.”

I rolled my eyes. “Julia, you’re a ghost; you no longer have the option of being discerning. And if you don’t wrap up what’s keeping you around, you run the risk of turning into a monster. Then it’s an even bigger pain in the ass to get rid of you. So let’s call our efforts here at Bump and Moan choice A, and murderous monster choice B. Which choice would you like to make?”

“A,” Julia said, but she didn’t sound happy about it. I smiled, and grabbed a couple drinks off the tray of a passing waitress. I set them down in front of Julia.

“Drink,” I said. “This will help.”

“I’m a ghost,” she said. “I thought I was unable to eat or drink.”

 “You can feel the effects of the alcohol since you’ll be working off my energy, so drink up. I’ve pegged you as a light weight so I think two drinks will be enough.”

“But how is this supposed to help?” she asked, frowning.

“Because its job is to help,” I said.

My Review:

When you start a book out with the sentence, ” I was in a strip club trying to help a ghost get laid, which was challenging, but not impossible.” I just know it’s going to be a wild ride. HAHAHAHA I mean seriously. This was definitely a new take on what necromancers can do. There are different types, and different levels of powers. With some seriously crazy things going on, and a twist that’ll have your head spinning, it was definitely a great read! 

Selene is your main character, who happens to be a necromancer. She is cool with this. She pretty much embraces everything about herself. Her powers, her looks, her sex appeal, her attitude, her rebellious break the rules outlook. I happen to love her. And I also happen to love the fact that she finally realized she was worth more than she ever gave herself credit for. She has no qualms except killing, when it comes to helping ghosts cross over. I mean, she was in a strip club to help a ghost. Wait til you read the rest of it, I so giggled like a school girl. But when the tough get going, holy crap, Selene can go on a little rampage of her own. I have one dislike of Selene… Don’t mix business with pleasure. Don’t be “that girl” who becomes the homewrecker just because you can. Um-humm, she has a bad attitude at the beginning of the book, but by the end, I loved her self discovery, and I will say, she got an ending she almost maybe didn’t deserve. 🙂 

Micah is fabulous. He’s what every woman dreams of getting in a man. I mean seriously, how many things can you forgive. LOL Plus he’s hot, and sweet, and thoughtful, and he can totally kick ass to get your back. Yep, even without being a werewolf, I think Micah is HAWT! 🙂 Andrew in one word, is SLIME. Ugh. I am not a fan, and with the ending, I can’t wait to see where this one is going to go. And Ethan, I am still a little devastated for him, but I have some good vibes coming for the next installment of the series. There are some excellent side characters that maybe don’t get a whole lot of time, but are still just as wonderful. 

There are so many good things to say about this book. The set up with ghosts, necromancers, witches, the government. There are some excellent plans laid down for the plot and world building. I will say, I wish I knew just a tad bit more of the main characters “past” but honestly, I didn’t even realize it until I wrote this review. There are so many things keeping you on your toes that you don’t really care about childhood, and backstories. I really look forward to where this series can go. And that ending, though it’s not a cliffhanger, it is a definitely a shocker as you will say “holy…..” Yeah, I so did, because it’s the perfect opening for book two. So those of you who aren’t fans of those pesky cliff hangers, you’ll like this ending. I like it either way, because it leaves you wanting more, but also wraps up the major points. 🙂 Overall, excellent new start of a great new series! 4.5 GHOSTLY WITCHY SNARKY PAWS!! 

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

About the Author:

A.J. Locke is an author and artist, originally from Trinidad, now residing in New York City. Affairs of the Dead is her debut novel, and other than writing she enjoys reading, drawing, painting, graphic design, and watching too much television.

Blog: http://iqurae.blogspot.com/

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/AJ-Locke/522250584507699

Twitter:  @maqueripe

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17226279-affairs-of-the-dead

I hope you guys check this one out. Happy reading and later gators! 

One thought on “Affairs of the Dead Blog Tour

  1. A.J. Locke says:

    Thanks for the great review! So glad you enjoyed the book =)

What do you have to say?

