Tied Blog Tour w Giveaway!

TIED

So let me start by saying I was not really sure what to expect when I got the ARC for this book. I only knew I was excited to read something that sounded different and then I signed up immediately for the tour. LOL And I really….. LOVED it! I will wait for my review to dish, but it’s pretty freaking awesome! and we have some wonderful goodies for you today, so I’ll just jump right on in!

TIED (A Fire Born Novel, #1)

TIED BLURB:

Normal people don’t believe their nightmares stalk them. They don’t fall in love with boys who don’t exist, either.

Seventeen-year-old Layla Labelle, though, is far from normal. Her delusions walk the earth. Her hallucinations hunt her, and her skin heats to a burn every time her anger flares.

Or is that all in her head?

Layla doesn’t know what to believe any more because if none of that’s true, Max MacLarnon must be an illusion, and her heart must still be broken.

No matter how much she wants to believe Max is real, doing so would mean everything else is, too. How, then, is that possible?

The answers lie in an age-old legend the supernatural aren’t prepared to reveal, and with a curse that could tear Layla and Max apart forever—if it doesn’t kill them both first.

In TIED, book one in the Fire Born trilogy, learning the truth will mean fighting an arsenal of demons, and being with Max will put Layla on a path toward her own destruction.

Just how far will Layla go to protect the one she loves?

The answer may never be far enough … away.

LINK:

Add to Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16107050-tied

Book Trailer: 

EXCERPT:

My window opened easily. The same way it had so many times before. Climbing out on the ledge, I found the ground empty and dropped from the second floor—a jump I’d made a hundred times. In another life.

My feet sunk into the sand, and I followed the well-worn pathway through the dunes. Even the strong evening winds hadn’t misshaped the deep gully. The ocean’s breeze lashed at my hair as the moonlight glinted off the water’s surface. Seagulls flew up from their nesting grounds. They should have recognized me, since I’d been wandering at night for so long. Wrapping my arms around my knees to block the slight chill, I settled in the sand, and the birds quieted in a tight huddle, the wind blowing their feathers in awkward angles.

My gaze fell on a figure standing beyond the dunes edge, a shadow hidden within the darkness. My pulse quickened, but I didn’t move. Another trick—an illusion. Weary of the games my mind continued to play, I bit back tears and the catch in my throat. I should have been immune to them—the hallucinations—the way they haunted me and followed me, but I wasn’t.

Forcing myself to blink, I turned my head away. The visions had grown worse as I’d become older. I’d tried to convince myself they were nightmares—or weird dreams. Hoped for years they were, but only people who sleep dream.

Unable, or unwilling to stop myself, I glanced back over my shoulder, thoughts flooding my brain. Memories I knew couldn’t be memories but I cherished all the same. For years I’d tried to shake them away. To make myself forget.

I couldn’t.

#**#**#

A stone raps against my bedroom window. I creep over and peer through the blinds.

“You’re late.” I lean out over the sill, grinning at the boy staring up at me.

“Come on, let’s go before she comes,” he says.

I climb onto the window ledge. “Be nice. She’s my friend.”

“Okay. Jump.” He waves at me to go faster.

“Move, and I will.”

He takes one casual step to the side.

The jump isn’t too high; I make it all the time.

He grabs my hand when I land beside him in the soft sand. “Ready?”

I nod.

“One, two …”

“I’m going to tell!” Benny runs across my yard toward me, her blonde pigtails flapping in the wind. “You’re not allowed to talk to that boy, Layla! Your mom said!”

Max tightens his grip on my hand.

“Shut up, Benny! I’m old enough.”

“You’re only nine. Don’t go! “

“Three!” Max and I leave the ground.

“You’re going to get in so much trouble.” Benny’s yell rings in the distance.

Our feet touch down in the wet grass of the Otherworld, icy sea air whipping at my face.

“Hopefully, she won’t follow us again.” Max lets go of my hand.

“She won’t. I told her not to.” I lead the way down the cliff face to the ocean.

“She never listens to you.”

My Review:

So…. can I say Gargoyles!!!! LOL Ok, so maybe they aren’t the MAIN part of the book, but it was SOOOOO COOOOOL to have gargoyles. I mean, I was all pumped up! And this is not your typical Fae story. It’s got a wonderful storyline, and even I got depressed and thought she was crazy LOL And, I must say, I got a little scream-y when I was reading. It was definitely a story that kept me glued to its pages! 

Layla makes me feel bad for her. And then, when it finally comes down to it, and she realizes she isn’t really crazy, she finds out a whole lot of lies were being fed to her to keep her that way. It’s one of those WOW betrayal moments, when you can’t even scream because you’re that speechless. Anywho, Layla is a likable character once she gives herself a break. And then she starts growing to realize you need to fight for what YOU want, not what other’s want for you. Since this is the first of the series, it’s the beginning, so I look forward to so much more from Layla. 

Max is pretty LOL I just keep thinking of him as pretty, but he’s a great guy and his relationship with Layla is sweet, though complicated. I am feeling bad for him too right now 🙂 There are definitely some interesting supporting characters as well. You’ll meet Benny who is a favorite, her boyfriend Sam and his posse, also favorites, and then the fae… It’s gunna get crazy really soon! LOL

I am going to have to keep anything major to myself. I’d really like you guys to discover everything the way I did. You keep thinking in one way or this one thing, and then you can’t help but be surprised when you figure it out. I am already a big fan of this to-be-trilogy. I will absolutely need to read them ALL ASAP! I am impressed with the fact that this story took me so much when it’s a new author for a new series. The writing had me stuck with my nose to my kindle from start to finish. I am very much a big fan now! I can’t wait for more! I hope each of you who reads Tied to love it as much as me, and then tell me, so I can have total fan girl conversations with you about it all!!!! 5 SURPISING COURAGEOUS JAW-DROPPING PAWS!

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

Author Interview:

First, WELCOME!!! Now, tell me a little about your book and why you wanted to write this particular story….

LM: TIED is a story about a seventeen year old girl named Layla who believes she’s losing her mind because of recurring nightmares. Through a series of events her life basically gets flipped upside down.

The storyline of TIED came to me out of the blue one day, as most of my story ideas do, and Layla and Max refused to shut up. 😉

I’m sure some people wish I would just shut up sometimes LOL Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

LM: I’ve written since I was a little girl. It’s always been a release for me—something that came naturally.

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

LM: ‘Book’ is probably a broad term. 😉 I think my first attempt at a story was something along the line of Star Wars. I was (am) a Star Wars geek, so I think I was trying my hand at a fantasy/space idea. I was probably around ten years old.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

LM: No, not really. The story line is fantasy and built from my imagination. But TIED is a fairly emotional book in some ways, I think. And I’m not sure we as writers can fake that very well, so I do draw from my own emotions.

How do you chose when/which characters die in your books?

LM: Ah, nice question. The truthful answer—I don’t. I don’t plan every aspect of my stories out. As I write, the book will take a turn, or my characters will, and I follow. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t, but I definitely let the story lead. That being said, if a character should die, it will be because that’s the way story went. ;(

I always love the differences in that answer! Who do you look up to as a writer?

LM: I look up to my favorite writers. Anne Rice, George R. R. Martin, Tolkien.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

LM: Ha. Yeah. Of course. But I would continue to mess with my story until the end of time, too. At some point you have to let go.

Can I say I think it’s perfect as is… 🙂 Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

LM: What I said above is probably my biggest challenge. Leaving the story alone. I pick, and rearrange, and pick some more. It’s never just ‘right,’ but that’s the way writing is. Nothing will ever be perfect. 

What book are you reading now? Or what genre? My followers love author’s opinions!

LM: Right now I’m reading (and writing) TORN, the sequel to TIED, and I’m beta reading for my fellow author, Alex Nader. BUT … my favorite genre is definitely fantasy/paranormal. YA, mostly, but I love adult stuff, too. Like George R. R. Martin, but I’m YA fan first and foremost. 

Ummm, I can’t WAIT for TORN!!!!!!!! Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

LM: My publisher designed the cover. J. Taylor Publishing. I had some input, but the cover was their brainchild. 

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

LM: Trust yourself. Believe in your story, and write for you. 

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

LM: Hm … that’s hard because I see myself in a lot of them. But I would probably choose Max. He’s my favorite character in TIED.  

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

LM: Thank you for taking a chance on TIED. I hope you love it as much as I do. 😉

I definitely DO! Please PLEASE tell me you’ll come back to visit when Torn is ready!!!

About the Author: Laney McMann

Laney McMann 

BIO:

With a passion for the supernatural and all things magical, Laney developed a voracious appetite for reading fantasy at a young age. A vivid imagination helped set the stage for creating her own worlds and placed her onto the writing path.

By the time she reached her teens, she’d accumulated notebooks full of poems, which led to short stories and finally novels. Young adult dark fantasy, paranormal romance, and mythology are among her favorite genres.

A former classical dancer and chef, she grew up in sultry Florida where she still resides with her family. 

LINKS:

You can find my occasional ramblings on Twitter.

Book updates on my author page at goodreads.

My Facebook Profile for inspiration and randomness.

Updates on The Fire Born Novels at my Facebook Author Page

My interests on Pinterest.

And I’m now on Tumblr ,too.

You can also contact me by email at: laneymcmannyaauthor(at)gmail(dot)com

**************

Buy Now links:

Amazon:

http://www.jtaylorpublishing.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2012/12/Amazon-BuyNow.jpg

http://www.amazon.com/TIED-Fire-Born-Novel-ebook/dp/B00EXSQZZ4/ref=sr_1_cc_1?s=aps&ie=UTF8&qid=1378297238&sr=1-1-catcorr&keywords=Tied+by+laney+mcmann

Barnes and Noble:

http://www.jtaylorpublishing.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2012/12/BN-BuyNow.jpg

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/tied-laney-mcmann/1116783158?ean=9781937744304&itm=1&usri=9781937744304

*********************

GIVEAWAY:

One signed paperback copy of TIED, 2 E-book copies of TIED, and 2 signed TIED bookmarks. GO HERE NOW!

So now are you excited, because I AM!!!! I really loved the start of this new series, and Ms McMann has a wonderful debut on her hands! I can’t wait for more! A big HUGE THANK YOU to both Ms. McMann and J Taylor Publishing for just being so awesome!! Good luck on the giveaways guys! Happy reading and Later Gators!

One thought on “Tied Blog Tour w Giveaway!

  1. Laney says:

    Thanks so much for having me, Maghon! 😉

What do you have to say?

