Dark Souls Blog Tour

Hellow everyone! Today I have a special guest, who is promoting her very new book! Yay for debuts! So, Let get to it, so I can show you the goodies! 

Dark Souls (Dark Souls, #1)

Dark Souls

Dark Souls Series

Volume I
Ketley Allison

Genre: New Adult Urban Fantasy

Date of Publication: July 19, 2013

ISBN: 978-0-615-85755-8

Number of pages: 280

Word Count: 103,000

Amazon  BN  Smashwords 

Book Description:

19-year-old Emily desperately wants a name for what she is. For what is consuming and torturing her. For what is changing her.

But she’s not crazy like her mother. She’s not.

Emily may not be as crazy as she thinks, because her body is no longer her own. Something is stirring inside her. It is soft, seductive, and tells her what to do to survive. As Emily learns that her world has been infected by demons that consume human souls and fit seamlessly into the bodies they empty, she must also accept that she is one of them. Yet, she is different from the rest, because her darkness didn’t inhabit her, it was awakened. And it doesn’t just want the humans.

Short Excerpt:

I was never supposed to live.

At least, that was what my mother would scream at me during her rages, her face twisted into savage fury as she lunged at me—either to kill me or mutilate me, I could never really tell. 

“You are wrong! You are an abomination!” she cried before charging at me, her right arm raised high as if to slay me in one swift, ferocious plunge.

Yet, for reasons that still escape me, she would never make that one final move. She would always stop mid-leap, her face frozen and twisted for a few terrifying seconds before I would see her body slacken, her tendons snapping and releasing like broken cords as she fell heavily to the floor, just before reaching me. What I remember most clearly was that moment of calm, chilling stillness, just before her legs would collapse beneath her, where her eyes, wide and unblinking, would focus solely on mine. Even when the rage turned into haggard despair and she crumbled before me, she would never look away. 

That memory, that horrifying image of my mother that I could never entirely erase, was the first thing that entered my mind when my world started falling apart.

The beginning of my destruction started out suspiciously enough. White blurred into black in front of me, the steam rising like smoke and clogging my breath as I stirred, clink, clink, clink. My face was heated, too hot, and I swiped a quick hand over my damp brow before I mustered up a smile.

“Here you are.”

“Oh, uh, no. I ordered a white mocha. Not a mocha mocha.”

I lifted tired eyes to his face, lowering my chin in apology. “Shoot, sorry. Just hang on a sec.”

“Yeah well, hurry up would you? I have class in like, two minutes.”

Then maybe you shouldn’t be stopping three blocks away for some chocolate coffee. My smile didn’t transmit my thoughts as I grabbed the still steaming cup. I adjusted my apron as I walked back to the coffee station, wincing as the hot cardboard began to scald my fingertips. I swore as I thunked it down onto the counter and the coffee hit my hand.

Holding my hand against my stomach, I used the other to grab a fresh cup and tried to ignore the sounds of impatient patrons behind me.

What was wrong with me today?

I felt normal, but not quite. My mind felt thick, my focus slightly wavering on the edges, enough to make me slightly dizzy. I blinked, trying to bring clarity back to both my vision and my thoughts as I fiddled with the espresso machine. Once started, I leaned my forehead against the cool cabinet doors above, waiting for my heated, slick skin to finally cool down.

“You okay? You look like you’ve found a hidden portal in that espresso.”

Macy Forrester’s warm brown eyes were trained on mine as I glanced behind me and at her. 

“Is it a portal back in time? ‘Cuz I could really use a do-over this morning.”

I squinted, trying hard to focus on her. She went hazy for only a moment before my eyes readjusted.

“No, I’m fine, it’s just been a busy morning,” I finally replied as I turned the dial on the milk steamer. I couldn’t even muster up the energy to banter with my best friend like I usually did.

Macy raised her perfectly plucked brunette eyebrows. “You’re not seriously stressed, are you? You should have seen my morning. I usually bomb Natural Science, but this morning was a particularly epic explosion.” Her eyes followed me as I walked past her and dropped the guy’s white mocha in front of him. “Mixed up my molecules. Probably destroyed the atmosphere. It wasn’t pretty.”

“You know me, always in my own head.” I smiled at her, hoping I looked more normal than I felt. “Sorry I missed your near-explosion, though.”

“More like my near-death. ” She leaned her elbows on the pick-up counter, making herself at home. 

My shift-mate, a sullen girl named Andrea, made sure to give Macy the stink-eye as she plopped a drink on the counter beside mine. Macy smiled serenely in return.

The guy held out dollar bills to pay, but I waved him away. “On the house. Sorry about the mistake.”

Pleased, he turned away without so much as a thank you, making room for the next person.

“Large coffee. Extra light.”

I nodded, twisting around to pour coffee out of the decanter and narrowly avoiding crashing into Andrea. The rush before the university’s four o’clock classes was starting, and with only Andrea and I on the floor, it was becoming exhausting and cramped behind the counter. I powered through, refusing to succumb to my dizziness, even if it was making my surroundings tilt sideways. Rent was due soon. I couldn’t afford to miss it. 

“So I have gossip,” Macy said, oblivious to the people navigating around her. The sound of their voices and footsteps ricocheted against my body, clogging my ears, their movements like clusters of nits clouding my eyes. It took severe effort for me to keep my attention on Macy as I ran around, grabbing milk, pouring espresso, blending frappes. 

I clutched the espresso lever a little tighter. “What about? You know I’m always the last to hear it.”

Macy sighed extravagantly before saying, “Which I will never understand, since I’m always the first, and you’re my best friend.” It didn’t seem to occur to Macy that I didn’t go to NYU with her. Or any college for that matter. “I saw someone today. Well, a guy and a girl, but you know who I care about.” 

My Review:

I love new fun books! Especially when the keep me interested from the start. You’ve got demons attacking, and the supposed to be human girl they attack all of a sudden attack back, and all kinda crazy, all the while not even knowing what she is. With some excellent plotting and a wonderfully intriguing cover to add to it’s appeal, I am definitely now a new fan of this author and her debut. 

Poor Emily, she really does think she’s going crazy, like her mom. This are just not supposed to be like this, as she’s fought so hard to hold on to what little she has left. She really does have a lot to deal with, especially when the hot guy shows up. Emily talks about her self as having both good and evil inside her, and that’s made for such an interesting look into a main character. I think this is what I loved about her. I felt that she was so engaged and it made you, the reader, engage in the story even more. 

Asher is pretty hot. He’s mysterious, he’s the new guy who just shows up, and he’s got secrets of his own, and he’s got a twin 🙂 I would love to tell you so many things about him, but the author did such an excellent job at keeping the secrets and letting thing be revealed that I would totally ruin the book if I did that. Let me just say that you’ll either love him or hate him, and I won’t tell you which I feel 🙂 Heh, me and my teasers! 

In the moment of plot twists and total shock value, this book is excellent! I am well amazed right now. I am also not sure how to describe it. I think I would go with a fantasy mystery, as there is paranormal, but not really romance, there’s fantasy, but not too outrageous, and there’s a lot to figure out as you go. But I will label it as almost any age because I have a feeling that a LOT of readers would enjoy this book! I am really excited to learn so much more and I really can’t wait for book two. PLEASE tell me book two won’t make me wait too long!!! 5 EXCELLENTLY MYSTERIOUS PAWS!

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main
Author Interview

First, tell me a little about your book :)….

I first want to say thank you for having me, Maghon! My book is about a 19-year-old trying to be normal in New York City after a tormented childhood. Unfortunately, her torment isn’t over. She’s beginning to change, and it isn’t for the better. Something is growing inside her, something evil. My book takes a darker dive into humanity than your usual paranormal romance. I like to call it an urban fantasy with paranormal elements.

Well I say THANK YOU for coming over! Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

I think my parents would tell you I always just knew! Truly, I’ve always loved writing, and often used it to escape. I was a really shy kid, and I loved creating different worlds that I could live in. I started handwriting stories, and as soon as I learned to type, I began writing novels. This is my first completed novel though, and I have to say, writing THE END felt amazing!

I think it’s pretty easy to believe you always knew, because this book was EXCELLENT! What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

Being shy, I think. I just wanted to be more outgoing, but could never get my nerve up. Once I figured out I could create characters that could take that leap, I knew I’d found my passion. What inspires me are girls who are just like I used to be, kind of making their way through high school but looking for that temporary escape from reality.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I think I’m creating a theme here! Yes to both. Because I’m shy, I’m often inside my own head. My imagination can really run wild, and so I often let my thoughts flow when I’m writing. If I weren’t so shy growing up, I don’t think I’d be able to write the way I do, so in that sense my writing comes from experiences in real life. I also like to add traits of my friends and family into my characters to make them seem more realistic. For example, my character Macy hates coffee and only drinks hot chocolate. Shout out to my BFF Katie!

How do you choose when/which characters die in your books?

Oh, what a good question! I don’t like to force my characters into any situations. Instead, I let them guide me. That may sound weird, but it works! If you force a situation upon your characters, your readers can definitely tell. So any actions my characters take, it has to seem right—even when they die. I wouldn’t just kill someone off spontaneously. But if it feels right, I’ll do it. I have to say though, I do love a book where no one is safe. Game of Thrones, anyone?

YES! and that was a very excellent answer! Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I’m an avid reader, and will pick up almost anything to read. Blame my parents! I’ve grown up in a house of books. Right now I’m a big fan of Laini Taylor, author of Daughter of Smoke and Bone and Days of Blood and Starlight.

Who do you look up to as a writer?

I’d have to go with the author, Nora Roberts. Montana Sky was the first romance book I ever read, and I fell in love with her writing. I’ve been reading her books ever since. Luckily, she has a lot to choose from!

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

I already did the big change. Dark Souls was originally set in a small town, with my main character in high school. After a lot of deliberation, I changed it to a 19-year-old living alone in NYC. I couldn’t be happier with the change! It made a huge difference.

Hmmm, that would be different… Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I free write my first drafts, meaning I don’t outline. Essentially, my first draft is my outline! Because of that, I sometimes run into roadblocks where I have no idea where to go next. It always comes though. I just keep writing and eventually the answer reveals itself. As a result, the character Derek came as a complete surprise to me.

What book are you reading now? Or what genre?

I’m currently reading Justice for Sara by Erica Spindler, a suspenseful thriller. I told you I read everything! So far, it’s awesome.

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

Me! Well, almost me. Stock images are great gifts to indie authors. I went to shutterstock.com with a certain image in mind. I searched it, and that gorgeous blue smoke you see came right up. I knew it was the one! Then Adobe Elements came to play, and I added the title. So while the art is definitely not mine (I do not possess that kind of talent), the book cover came from my imagination.

WOW! Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

Patience. I learned a lot—a lot—of patience. Writing the first draft is fun. Revising is not. And I had to do a lot of revising, adding, deleting, changing, reformatting…it never ended! But looking back, I do have to say I loved the process. I’ve made mistakes along the way, but I learned that everything takes time. Whether you choose to go indie or traditional in publishing, patience is essential.

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

Macy. Definitely Macy, because she’s the least tortured of all my characters. Although she has problems of her own, she’s a true friend. She’s the person you can go to when you’re dumped by your boyfriend, or if you just need to complain about your day. She has the ability to always make you smile, no matter how horrible your day was.

Are there any books you think some of us should read, just because?

Yes! I’ve been delving into the YA genre, because my book kinda sorta falls into it, and ran into some true gems. Here are a few that I loved:

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

The Program by Suzanne Young

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Angelfall by Susan Ee

Some excellent choices 🙂 Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

A huge THANK YOU doesn’t even begin to cover it. I love to write and will always do it, but there is no better feeling when someone you’ve never crossed paths with gives that 5 star rating. It means you’re affecting people without even realizing it, and I just can’t tell you how good that feels. Writing is a part of me—it’s my soul—and it is wonderful when others see that. They just get you. They get exactly what you’re trying to do. It’s amazing. 

About the Author:

Ketley Allison is a twenty-something (maybe almost thirty-something) author who believes that supernatural love shouldn’t stop at eighteen. She began her career by writing books as birthday presents for her friends (with her friend as the main character and opposite a super sexy lead, of course) before ending it in order to walk down a path she thought she was supposed to follow.

The writing bug never left her–and, in fact, would often bleed into the official papers she was supposed to write–so now Ketley’s putting down her suit and finally following her dream. While her friends are no longer the stars of her books, she still throws in bits and pieces of them into each and every one of her characters.

As a result, her books tend to focus a lot on friendships as well as love, because let’s be honest, friends are what really get you through–especially when your epic love turns into epic heartbreak.

Web/Blog: www.ketleyssoul.com

Twitter: @KetleyAllison

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Ketley-Allison/285488141592659

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18242935-dark-souls

I hope you guys check this one out! And keep an eye out, as I’ll be begging for book two and can’t wait to get my paws on it 🙂 A big thank you to the author and bewitching book tours for another wonderful book!  Happy reading and later gators!

One thought on “Dark Souls Blog Tour

  1. Thank you so much for having me, Maghon! And don’t worry, Book 2 is imminent!

What do you have to say?

