Council Courtship Spotlight!

Book-web

Hey guys! Today I have a very special guest! I loved this author’s first book of the series, and she so kindly offered for me to share book two with you guys! Of course I thought you’d love it to, so here we go! 

CourtshipCouncil-400x600

Cover by Taria Reed

Council Courtship

Tristan Ipsly knows firsthand how Eero’s ideals have ripped houses apart. More than half of his family was prosecuted for supporting the revolution, the remaining fled to the otherworld, leaving him the lone member of his house, and one of two candidates for the recently vacated Council seat. As a healer who is seated on the repopulation project, he has real solutions to the problems that face them all, but fears he’s been branded a traitor, not worthy of the seat nor to court Quinn.

Quinn Vettore knows that Fairykind is dying. Eero and his revolution have left them a people divided, but she believes tradition and the Canon’s writing are equally to blame. She wants to see the Council fill the vacancy with someone who will be the voice of change. The prime candidate in her mind is the same choice of her heart: Tristan.

Too bad her Grandfather is the one man who stands in the way of both.

Only $1.99

Buy Links: Smashwords | Amazon | B & N |

Quinn-card

My Review:

I had so much fun reading book one that I jumped on the opportunity to read book two. We take off right where we left off. This is a really quick, page turning novella that leads us right back to Quinn and Tristan. Quinn lived in the human world but found out she could go to Fairy, where things are quite complicated. Everyone is segregated, by class/house, which is just a little crazy to me 🙂 In the first book, we found out that not everyone wants to be segregated, and in this book, we learn that they want to fight for their freedom. 

Tristan was born from the bad guy and his family was killed or went into hiding, but he chose to stay. Tristan is special, he’s a healer, and he’s also leading the revolutionary project that is trying to keep the fairy population from going extinct. He’s smart, he’s loyal, he’s dedicated, and he’s got a big problem. Not solving his race’s extinction issue, but asking Quinn out on a date. LOL. Funny to think that this totally awesome guy is shy and insecure when it comes to dating. And Quinn’s family is NOT a fan of Tristan due to his birthright. Especially since it’s a competition between them for a council seat. 

Quinn is learning a whole new life, with new laws and new cultures, and a lot of things going on with her. She is also meeting family she didn’t realize she had. I loved that Quinn and Tristan both get to have POVs for this book because it gives so much insight into their feelings and their views.  Especially with Quinn being a present day independent human woman, and now having no choices for herself being in Fairy. It’s pretty nuts, someone would have killed me already LOL 

The writing is fun and so easy to get captured by. You will cry, and cheer, and scream right along with the characters, and you won’t have any trouble being sucked right into the story. This one isn’t long, so I can’t wait for MORE MORE MORE!!! I look forward to so much from these characters and I love the world that was created! An EXCELLENT, MAGICAL, FAIRY TALE 4.5 PAWS! 
paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

Tristan-web

Author Interview: 

WELCOME!! First, tell me a little about your book and why you wanted to write this particular story….

Tristan Ipsly knows firsthand how Eero’s ideals have ripped houses apart. More than half of his family was prosecuted for supporting the revolution, the remaining fled to the otherworld, leaving him the lone member of his house, and one of two candidates for the recently vacated Council seat. As a healer who is seated on the repopulation project, he has real solutions to the problems that face them all, but fears he’s been branded a traitor, not worthy of the seat nor to court Quinn.

Quinn Vettore knows that Fairykind is dying. Eero and his revolution have left them a people divided, but she believes tradition and the Canon’s writing are equally to blame. She wants to see the Council fill the vacancy with someone who will be the voice of change. The prime candidate in her mind is the same choice of her heart: Tristan.

Too bad her Grandfather is the one man who stands in the way of both.

Council Courtship is a follow up to Fairyproof. After finishing that book, I wanted to do a story that focused more on the fairy world and the way of life there. I also wanted the story to get into the background of the Council and the power behind the houses. All of these things I touched on in Fairyproof, but wanted to give my readers more details.

Along the way I “got to know” Tristan and Quinn and got really excited about their story. 

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

It started with a love of reading. From the time I was very young I loved reading books, all different genres. It was only a matter of time before I wanted to tell stories too.

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

By first book, do you mean those early manuscripts that NO ONE will ever read?

I was still in high school and the voices in my head just got very loud. Even though I didn’t identify it as a romance, it most definitely was. That’s where my heart is…in the happily ever after. 

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

All of my characters are bits and pieces of myself or people I know. I have never written a character that was completely modeled after someone I knew…but there are some of my characters that are more me than others.

How do you chose when/which characters die in your books?

That’s a good question. A character dies in Fairyproof that I didn’t intend to. In fact, I had plans for him in future books, but I had hit a point where I was banging my head against the wall.

I couldn’t figure out what was supposed to happen next. Then, I remembered the advice of someone in my writing group (Elizabeth Vaughn). She would say as a writer, when she gets board that the characters need to kiss, fight, or die.

I looked at the scene and decided a kiss or a fight didn’t work. So I decided to kill this poor character. (I don’t want to say too much and spoil the story for someone who hasn’t read it.)

It was a pretty emotional (and surprising) twist.

Who do you look up to as a writer?

Sherrilyn Kenyon is my favorite!

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

At this moment, no. When I write more sequels to Fairyproof and Resurrecting Harry, I might change my mind.

What book are you reading now? Or what genre? My followers love author’s opinions!

I’m reading a book from a fellow Crescent Moon Press author, Danielle DeVour. It’s called Constructing Marcus.

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

The awesome Taria Reed designed the cover for Fairyproof. When I decided to publish Council Courtship, I knew I had to have her do that one too.

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

With each book I write—actually with every page I write—I feel like I become a better storyteller. I learn a little more about weaving plots, and themes.

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

I love all my characters, but I’d most like to be like Jolanda (from my upcoming The Ultimate Catch) She is very brave and is willing to do anything to help her father. And then, there’s Erich—my reincarnated Harry Houdini in Resurrecting Harry. It would be very cool to have all of Harry’s memories and his knowledge.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you! Thank you so much for reading my books and taking the time to share your opinions on them with me.

Thank YOU so much for hanging out with us! Hopefully we can do it again soon with more books!

Constance Phillips

Constance Phillips_pic

Constance Phillips lives in Ohio with her husband, two ready-to-leave-the-nest children, and four canine kids. Her perfect fantasy vacation would involve hunting Dracula across Europe with her daughter, who also digs that kind of stuff. When she’s not writing about fairies, shifters, vamps, and guardian angels, she’s working side-by-side with her husband in their hardwood flooring business.

Constance is actively involved in her local Romance Writers of America chapter (MVRWA) and the Southeast Michigan chapter of the United States Pony Club. When not writing or enjoying the outdoors, she loves reality television or can be found at a Rick Springfield concert (just look for the pink Converse high tops).

Website/blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Current Releases:

Fairyproof: Amazon | Barnes and Noble | All Romance E-books

Resurrecting Harry: Amazon | Barnes and Noble | All Romance E-books

Fairproof (book one)

Fairyproof

My Reivew is HERE or click on the cover to see more!

Giveaway!

I am offering a copy of either Fairyproof (for those who haven’t read it) OR Council Courtship to one winner. Leave a nice comment to enter to win! 🙂 

I wish you all good luck to win! A big thanks to Ms Phillips for being so awesome! Happy reading and later gators! 

2 thoughts on “Council Courtship Spotlight!

  1. Thank you so much for sharing Council Courtship today! And for taking the time to read and leave a thoughtful review.

  2. bn100 says:

    Very nice interview

What do you have to say?

