A Risk Worth Taking Blog Tour w Giveaway!

ARWTBLITZ

On October 22, My stalkee had a new book that came out, her newest NON paranormal book, I may add….. AND on November 2nd, I GOT TO MEET HEATHER!!! So this post is extra special! Plus we are having all kind of giveaways! Now let me show you all kind of goodness 🙂 

A Risk Worth Taking

A Risk Worth Taking by Heather Hildenbrand

Accendo Press – October 2013

Goodreads link: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18370731-a-risk-worth-taking

BOOK SUMMARY:

When 22-year-old Summer Stafford’s parents split halfway through her senior year at college, Summer’s world is rocked. Everything she thought she knew—heck, everything she thought she wanted for her own life—feels like a lie. The truth is love is a risk. And the true kind, the kind that lasts, might even be a fairy tale.

Reeling from the divorce, Summer derails her own future by breaking up with her parent-approved boyfriend and giving up her lifelong plans for a big-city career. She moves back home, business degree in hand. Dad needs her to fill the gaps her mother left behind; Summer needs to find who she is outside of the cookie-cutter life that failed so miserably for her parents.

Ford O’Neal’s future involves one person: himself. He doesn’t have a permanent address and he definitely doesn’t commit. To a place or a person. Raised by hippies, he plans just far enough ahead to secure his next stop, this one landing him at a work-study program at Heritage Plantation where he can grow his own herbal and medicinal creations.

Summer is gorgeous and smart and fun to be with, the perfect way to pass five months. It won’t be love—Ford’s got too many things to accomplish, too many places to go, before he settles down. Yet Summer pulls him in, challenging him to rethink his own philosophy.

When Ford’s five months are up, each of them must decide if love is really worth the risk.

A RISK WORTH TAKING is now on amazon!! Hopefully it will pop up on B&N soon. 

Amazon: http://amzn.to/H70sHD

Barnes & Nobles: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/a-risk-worth-taking-heather-hildenbrand/1117194213?ean=2940148718925

ARWT_Teaser1

ARWT_Teaser5-2

My Review:

Let me start out with I don’t “do” romance, especially contemporary. Yes you can gasp, but I get bored really easy, so unless somebody is a werewolf, a really cool shifter of some sort, a reaper or zombie, or you can kill people with fire shooting out of your fingers or totally awesome swords, then I’m bored. I don’t know why this is. I’ve tried a LOT of genres, because I KNOW the writing is EXCELLENT, and I STILL just can’t do it…. BUT, I of course will always make an exception to my favorite authors, as I LOVE their writing and I want to support them. What a better way to support them than to actually read something else by them than what you normally read. EVERYONE KNOWS I’m obsessed with Ms H’s Dirty Blood series, I mean I’m ALEX’s ADVOCATE! I LOVE HIM! I absolutely LOVED Imitation. This one doesn’t fit the mold. But I’m a true fan, so I read it…… 

Dammit, don’t you hate when you’re wrong? LOL I LOVED IT! I think it’s because I am so comfortable with Heather’s writing for every other book. It’s a wonderful story with a great plot line, and a very realistic tale. I had you didn’t I, saying how I get so bored. But seriously, if someone can make something that normally bores you into something you are totally invested in and completely want MORE of, then somebody give them a REALLY BIG AWARD…. Heather, I’ll ship that award to you soon LOL. This is a really emotional book. Another big part of why I read all those fantasy books is I have an emotional job and a very crazy, hectic life. I want to forget sometimes. But, this one, it makes me realize that I have a good life, with some wonderful people surrounding me. There’s so many emotions that this book revolves around, a lot of betrayal, and loss, and bitterness, because how do you keep your past that hurts so much from ruining the future that could heal you.

Summer is your main female character who comes home from college to help her dad, because he’s going through a divorce with Summer’s mom. Summer’s very bitter, though she is so smart and really beautiful. She’s so mad at something she really didn’t have any control over. She can’t make or break the choices her parents have made. She didn’t HAVE to come home to help her dad, she chose that, and yet she’s mad about it. And yet, you still feel for her, because we all do things for the ones we love that don’t really make us happy. And then she meets Ford….. 🙂 

Ford is your male main character who is what I like to call the drifter. He’s HAWT, not Alex HAWT, but still really yummy, he’s smart, he does what he wants when he wants, he doesn’t do commitment. Dammit if he almost doesn’t give Alex a run for his money. I have to say, Summer brought out the goodness in him, and in turn, he’s helped her heal, and take that chip off her shoulder. They were a true couple. AND, you know when you have that guy who tells you he doesn’t do commitment, maybe you should take him at his word…. OR…. maybe he’ll fall in love and you’ll change his life while he changes yours. Sorry, you have to read to actually find out what happens. Just be prepared to cry 🙂

What can I say other than WHAT A BEAUTIFUL STORY. What great writing. What excellent capabilities of story telling. Yes, this is a contemporary romance, but the characters made the story for me. The writing helped me open up to something I NEVER pick up. Hmmm, that should tell you something! This is one of those that no matter what genre you like, you should probably check it out, just because. There’s too many good things about this book to pass up. It’s like the olympics, perfectly executed… Can I give you a gold PAW 🙂 LOL ok, I’ll stick with my, 5 ROMANTIC LOVABLE PAWS!

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

Author Guest Post:

First off, I have to give a huge SQUEEEEEEE from the events of last Saturday when I met MAGHON!!!! I was in New Orleans for the day and she drove in with her friend Bonnie and OMG, I tried alligator!! And we talked about burnt sugarcane, motorcycles, and airboats. Alcohol was consumed before noon. In short, we had the best time! I can’t wait to come back and hang with you again!

NOLA November 2nd, 2013 with the awesome Heather Hildenbrand

NOLA November 2nd, 2013 with the awesome Heather Hildenbrand

Okay. Now to answer the question everyone keeps asking… What am I working on next?

THIS:

A couple of months ago, I was reading through some notes I’d taken while at UtopYA (a con for writers and readers who love YA Fiction) in Nashville last June. They were notes from panels on topics like collaborative marketing and love triangles and all the things that make up my business as a self-published author. And I got to thinking about all of the new authors I’d met—you can always recognize them as the ones with the widest eyes, trying to be spongey and soak it all in—and how clueless we all are when we start out. I know I was. Like really fracking clueless! And I thought about all the awesome readers and bloggers and cover artists and the spiderweb of connections that is needed to get these awesome indie books into readers’ hands.

And it got me thinking…

And then I got an idea! #lightbulbmoment

What if there was someone to help new and aspiring authors? Like a coach or a mentor who laid out all of the paths and bread crumbs in an easy-to-follow trail of information? A timeline; not so much a how-to, but also a when-to ….?

If I’d had someone guiding me through the muddy waters and rough seas of publishing back then, I would have saved so much time and effort and money. Not that I regret the journey because it’s been awesome and I’ve met so many fantastic new friends but—there’s something to be said about working smarter and all that.

Many aspiring authors I’ve met are readers-turned-fellow authors, so, basically, YOU GUYS. And I couldn’t have gotten where I am without you, so this is my way of giving it back or paying it forward—or all of the above.

Phoenix is a company I’ve designed specifically for guiding and mentoring authors through self-publishing and the business that follows. Marketing, promoting, how to meet bloggers, because I heart bloggers to the ends of the earth—All of it will be covered in a guide I am publishing later this month. In addition to the information contained will be links galore! Cover artists, editors, bloggers- all of the people you need to hook up with to get a book published and promoted. Like I said, it’s all of the information I never had and always wanted—and I’m offering it to you.

Phoenix Button

Along with The Guide, Phoenix will offer consultations to build on the information contained in the book (Q & A time with me!), coaching or mentoring on a monthly basis, and content editing and feedback on your rough draft.

Look for more information and an official release/launch date and PARTY (#freestuffforyouguys) coming very soon!

Now, because I know you’re all asking what I’m doing NEXT, NEXT… As in, what FICTION book am I writing after this fantastical company launch I speak of? I am going to be working on Imitation #2 AND the sequel to A Risk Worth Taking. It’s called A Bet Worth Making and it’s Casey’s story. *cheesy grin* Both are stories I can’t wait to share with all of you!

Woohoo! *throws confetti*

More details on both titles as soon as I can! Pinky swear!

Author Information

 Heather Hildenbrand

Heather Hildenbrand was born and raised in a small town in northern Virginia where she was homeschooled through high school. She now lives in coastal VA, a few miles from the Atlantic Ocean, with her two adorable children. She works from home, part time, as a property manager and when she’s not furiously pounding at the keyboard, or staring off into space whilst plotting a new story, she’s lying on the beach, soaking in those delicious, pre-cancerous rays.

Heather loves Mexican food, hates socks with sandals, and if her house was on fire, the one thing she’d grab is her DVR player.

Heather is a co-founder of Accendo Press, a publishing group she operates with fellow authors: Angeline Kace and Jennifer Sommersby. Accendo (a-CH-endo), A Latin word, means “to kindle, illuminate, inflame, or set fire.” This is something Accendo strives to do inside a reader’s imagination with every title released. For a complete list of titles and author bios, visit www.accendopress.com.

Website:  www.heatherhildenbrand.blogspot.com

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/Heather.L.Hildenbrand

Facebook Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/HeatherHildenbrandsFanPage

Twitter: https://twitter.com/HeatherHildenbr

Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4607856.Heather_Hildenbrand

Newsletter:  http://blogspot.us4.list-manage2.com/subscribe?u=77abacb38959bc9c0f7b4e81b&id=739fdcef83

Giveaway:

Heather is giving away a gift basket with a hair flower, nail polish, bracelet, and a $20 Amazon Gift Card.  GO HERE TO ENTER!!

She is also offering  a Reviewer Appreciation contest going on right now! For the next few weeks, if you leave a review on the retail sites Amazon or B&N (or Goodreads), you get 5 extra points into the contest for EACH site where your review can be found! We’re really happy to be able to offer this as a ‘thank you’ to all the amazing bloggers and readers who have helped us by posting their reviews. 

To Heather- girl I am so glad I met you! I am so hoping you come back to visit… I will bribe you with airboats, strawberry beer, motorcycles, and really good food 🙂  To Jessica, way to go, setting up this awesome  release day blitz, the past cover reveal and the future tour- you are always on top of everything. 

To all you guys! GOOD LUCK!!!!!! Don’t forget to if you got a copy, review it so you can enter that extra giveaway!  Happy reading and later gators!!!  PS, I will leave you with some awesome pictures as proof!

 

One thought on “A Risk Worth Taking Blog Tour w Giveaway!

  1. thanks so much for posting. I had so much fun hanging with you last weekend!!! ❤

What do you have to say?

