PODs blog tour w Giveaway!

bannerfans_9131556

I am so excited today to show you guys this one! I really wanted to read it when I first saw it, and I was lucky enough to not only get to read it, but the author sent me a lovely paperback as my review copy! TOTALLY AWESOME!!! So, now I get to share that awesomeness with you! πŸ™‚

PODs (PODs, #1)

Title:Β Β  PODs

Author:Β Β  Michelle K. Pickett

Genre:Β Β  Science Fiction>Dystopia, Young Adult, Zombies, Romance

Published:Β Β  June 4th 2013 by Spencer Hill Press

Page Count:Β Β  312 pgs

Synopsis

Seventeen-year-old Eva is a chosen one. Chosen to live, while others meet a swift and painful death from an incurable virus so lethal, a person is dead within days of symptoms emerging. In the POD system, a series of underground habitats built by the government, she waits with the other chosen for the deadly virus to claim those above. Separated from family and friends, it’s in the PODs she meets David. And while true love might not conquer all, it’s a balm for the broken soul.

After a year, scientists believe the population has died, and without living hosts, so has the virus. That’s the theory, anyway. But when the PODs are opened, survivors find the surface holds a vicious secret. The virus mutated, infecting those left top-side and creating… monsters.

Eva and David hide from the infected in the abandoned PODs. Together they try to build a life–a new beginning. But the infected follow and are relentless in their attacks. Leaving Eva and David to fight for survival, and pray for a cure.

bannerfans_9132023

My Review:
I had heard so many good things about this book that when the opportunity came for me to read it, I totally jumped on that band wagon πŸ™‚ I do like dystopian type stories! You have the start of the story with a normal girl, who comes home to a normal family freaking out about what’s on the news. She of course finds out at school that there’s a major virus going on and things just fall apart from there. All of a sudden the government starts deciding who will live. Dude it’s crazy!

Eva is your main character who is chosen as one to live, without anyone she knows or loves. How horrible right! But at least Eva meets David there, but I’ll get to him in a sec. She is pretty devastated. She has to go on without her family and friends and it’s tough. Eva also takes care of herself. She doesn’t do the damsel in distress. She can take charge and fight along with the guys. She’s my favorite kind of heroine because she starts out simple and fights her way to her new way of life.

David is gorgeous, sweet, kind, protective, and one of the good guys. And this time the nice guy doesn’t finish last πŸ™‚ he’s a big reason that Eva hasn’t lost her self or her mind. They have a great relationship and they’ve learned to trust and love each other. They’ve had to survive both in and out of the PODs so together I feel like Eva and David can do anything!

What I loved most was you see everything happening as Eva does. You see and feel Eva’s devastation. You learn about the world ending as she does. This story starts BEFORE the apocalypse, so you watch it all unfold. This had made one of the most unique and interesting type of dystopian stories, which also makes it GREAT! Plus the writing is excellent!

I loved the writing, I totally enjoyed the story line and plot. Makes you think a little because it really could happen. Holy crap, I’d never be able to leave my family… Hell you couldn’t pry me away from my dogs! It’s a great fiction story but it makes you think about nonfiction possibility! I seriously cannot wait for book two! I’m a total fan! 5 AMAZING APOCALYPTIC PAWS!!

paw main

About the Author

Snapshot_20130721_16

I’m a wife, mother, author, reader, although not always in that order. I’ve been an avid reader since a young child. I began writing for personal enjoyment in college, where I graduated Summa Cum Laude with a degree in accounting. Why I chose a degree that didn’t encourage creativity is a mystery to me.

I’m addicted to Reese’s peanut butter cups and eat way too many while I write. I have a weird obsession with hoodies and can’t write without wearing one. I hate to cook, but love to watch cooking shows.

I’m an unabashed romantic and love swoon-worthy happy endings that give me butterflies for days.

Born and raised in Flint, Michigan, I now reside in a small community outside Houston, Texas with my incredibly supportive, not to mention gorgeous, husband, three amazing school-aged children, a 125-pound lap dog, and a cat that thinks she’s queen.

I write adult and young adult Sci/Fi, urban fantasy and paranormal romances.

I love to hear from readers and other authors, so drop me a note and say “Hi!”

My work includes:Β 

The Amazon Bestselling young adult novel β€œPODs”

Milayna, March 2014

Milayna’s Angel (Milayna #2), September 2014

The Infected, a PODs novel, November 2014

The Innocent (Milayna #3), April 2015.

I always love to hear from readers, bloggers and other authors!

Find me here:

Social Links

Goodreads – https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5448974.Michelle_K_Pickett

Blog – http://www.michelle-pickett.com/

Twitter – https://twitter.com/michelle_kp

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/MichellePickettAuthor

Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/Michelle-K.-Pickett/e/B008QWUA5O/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1

Shelfari – http://www.shelfari.com/michellepickett

Pinterest – http://www.pinterest.com/michelleauthor/

Linkedin – http://www.linkedin.com/in/michellepickett

Buy the Book

Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1937053288?ie=UTF8&tag=httpwwwgoodco-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=1937053288&SubscriptionId=1MGPYB6YW3HWK55XCGG2

Barnes & Noble –

Add to your Goodreads Shelf – https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13425802-pods

Giveaway

1 signed copy of PODs and some Swag!

GO HERE TO ENTER!

I totally wish you all good luck! It’s a great book you should all read πŸ™‚ Happy WEEKEND! And a big thanks to my lovely ladies at Making Connections for all those connections of awesome they make πŸ™‚ A BIG THANK YOU to Ms Pickett for that surprising, but totally grateful, copy of PODs! It’s going it the “always keep” shelf! Happy reading and later gators!Β 

2 thoughts on “PODs blog tour w Giveaway!

  1. Thank you so much for participating in the PODs blog tour. I’m so happy you enjoyed the book! That really makes my day. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I appreciate your time. I know life is busy and we all have so many things demanding our time so I’m very grateful that you shared some of your time with me and PODs. Bloggers like you are gold to authors!

    Warmly,
    Michelle πŸ™‚

  2. Moncler Outlet Online Store. Cheap Moncler Jackets, Moncler Coats and Moncler Vests
    [url=http://www.alexcd.com/]prada handbags[/url]

What do you have to say?

