One More Day Blog Tour!

OneMoreDay-Blog-Tour-Button

Hello everyone! Today I have something special. As part of the blog tour, I am featuring this book, BUT I also have one of the authors stopping in to say hello! 🙂 So, now I wanna show you all the goodies! 🙂

ONE MORE DAY

By L.S. Murphy, Erika BeeBe, Marissa Halvorson, Kimberly Kay,

J. Keller Ford, Danielle E. Shipley, and Anna Simpson

One More Day

Back of the Book: What if today never ends?

What if everything about life—everything anyone hoped to be, to do, to experience—never happens?

Whether sitting in a chair, driving down the road, in surgery, jumping off a cliff or flying … that’s where you’d be … forever.

Unless …

In One More Day, Erika Beebe, Marissa Halvorson, Kimberly Kay, J. Keller Ford, Danielle E. Shipley and Anna Simpson join L.S. Murphy to give us their twists, surprising us with answers to two big questions, all from the perspective of characters under the age of eighteen.

How do we restart time?

How do we make everything go back to normal?

The answers, in whatever the world—human, alien, medieval, fantasy or fairytale—could, maybe, happen today.

Right now.

What would you do if this happened … to you?

Excerpt from “A Morrow More” by Danielle Shipley available in ONE MORE DAY!

Lorrel lifts his gaze from his writing desk as the autumn breeze and I enter his tent. His glossy black lips smile before his dark brow furrows. “Good morrow,” he says. “Word from the commander?”

“Good morrow,” I say. “Only this.” I step forward to present him a small square of old cloth.

Lorrel folds and sets aside the cloth already on his desktop, the patch I’ve delivered now taking its place. He opens the desk’s shallow drawer, extracts a broad-tipped painter’s brush, and removes the tie holding his hair in a knot at the nape of his neck. As he slides the brush through the sleek black waves hanging free just above his shoulders, it takes immense effort on my part not to blatantly gaze.

I have yet to lose my fascination with Inkborn hair.

Or Inkborn movement.

Or the king’s part-Inkborn son.

The brush now coated, Lorrel sweeps the bristles back and forth across the face of the cloth before him, and the fabric quickly begins to stain—save, of course, for the sections treated with a solution specially devised to withstand the oils of Inkborn hair. In moments, the once-hidden message is plainly visible, unstained lines forming the words, The war is over.

Lorrel lifts his chin, his mouth twitching toward a smile like the one spreading unchecked across my own face. “This is old news, word-runner.” If he means to sound reproving, the twinkle in his eyes spoils the effect.

“And, yet, it is good news,” I say, wishing it were my place to throw my arms around him in shared victory, shared relief, shared love.

Standing, he comes around the desk and clasps my hands, my needle-pricked little fingers lost in his strong and sinuous ones. Not the embrace I wish for, but a touch I relish. “Yes, Raeve,” he says, voice weighty and warm. “It is good news. Every bit as good this morning as when first delivered two days ago. For a moment, I feared you brought word to contradict it.”

I shake my head happily. “The old word stands. The Vale is won. Your company turns toward home tomorrow.”

His liquid black eyes search my face. “And what of you?”

“That will depend,” I say, my meaning as carefully encrypted as our military’s textile code, “on what the Crown may require of me.”

“Less of you than of me, perhaps.” His gaze drifts past me toward the wind-fluttered tent opening and the castle of Likanstone—a long day’s travel beyond.

Author Guest Post! Tens List. 

It seems there are never enough hours in the day to do all the things we want for as long as we wish. Time flies all too quickly when we’re having fun, but if I could somehow get it to slow down or stop instead, holy wow, I would spend so much more time…

1) Reading. No need to keep putting off those books I’ve been meaning to get to for years. (Looking at you, Ivanhoe. I know you’ve got a version of Robin Hood within your pages!) With time slowed to a crawl, I could make my leisurely way through a novel or two in an hour, leaving the rest of my day free to do anything. …including maybe starting in on another book. (:

2) Writing. People outside of my time bubble would stand amazed at my inhuman output. A whole fantasy trilogy written in a week? Nothing to it, when the clock stands still at the tip-tap of my keyboard! Ah, and speaking of keyboards…

3) Playing piano. Taking a few minutes to let my fingers dance through my favorite songs is “me time” at its most carefree. With the rest of my family out of the house and time unmoving, I could sing along at the top of my lungs and in a half-dozen character voices until I’ve exhausted my repertoire. Ah, but why should I ever run out of songs to play? I could teach myself the full score of “Wicked” before the sun goes down!

4) Talking to my dearest friends on the phone. It’s so hard to scrape together times when both they and I can coordinate an hour or three for conversation. I would love to be able to stretch those calls longer, until our voices give out or our phone batteries bite the dust – whichever comes first.

5) Walking in the woods. No sense that I’m missing any important messages at home, no worry that I’m not putting my afternoon to the most productive use. Time’s not going anywhere. The forest is mine to imagine as my Sherwood for as long as I desire.

6) Drawing. I used to spend the lion’s share of a day sketching out concepts, drafting comics, fiddling with colors ‘til a character portrait looked just right. With time on my side, I could go back to doing just that, and still be able to meet personal deadlines for higher priority matters.

7) Book shopping. See number one. (:

8) Journaling. Like drawing, this used to be something I did all the time, before more pressing matters cut in. It would be nice to put life on pause whenever I feel the need to scrawl out my innermost thoughts.

9) Having “Lord of the Rings” movie marathons. Back to back to back, extended editions. This could become, like, a monthly tradition.

10) Learn all the things! I’m talkin’ swordsmanship and stave work, knitting and sewing, Italian and Latin… All the cool people in my head had better watch out: Given enough frozen moments in which to practice, I could become just as— well, maybe half as amazing as they are. It would be only a matter of time.

Danielle E. Shipley

http://everonword.wordpress.com/

Danielle E. Shipley’s first novelettes told the everyday misadventures of wacky kids like herself. …Or so she thought. Unbeknownst to them all, half of her characters were actually closeted elves, dwarves, fairies, or some combination thereof. When it all came to light, Danielle did the sensible thing: Packed up and moved to Fantasy Land, where daily rent is the low, low price of her heart, soul, blood, sweat, tears, firstborn child, sanity, and words; lots of them. She’s also been known to spend short bursts of time in the real-life Chicago area with the parents who homeschooled her and the two little sisters who keep her humble. When she’s not living the highs and lows of writing young adult novels, she’s probably blogging about it.

My Review with a remix:

So, the lovely Ms J Keller Ford-who has a very cool story in here- has requested a little something. Though she is not my “guest” author, she is a favorite of mine, so of course I totally had to tell her yes on that request. It may not be as “detailed” as last time, but it’s the thought that counts. I’ll be listing at least one song with each story 🙂 LOL And, I am not going for the sappy I love you forever, I am going for the “holy crap we’re gunna die” type of music… LOL yes, I listen to that type of “angry music” as my mother calls it 🙂 So, ready, set… here we go!

Time Piece by Anna Simpson

This one is interesting. What if someone you loved created a time machine, and not only is it STUCK so you keep reliving the same loop of time over and over again, BUT it’s also killing your loved ones. Literally. You got through one loop and one person dies, when it restarts, another one dies. Dude, this one kind of creeps me out, because think about it. Would you save one loved one over the other loved one? That’s what’s happening here. The story started out so sweet, and though it’s short, it swept the rig out from my feet. You first kiss to death. *whew* thank goodness it works out, but you have to read it. I’ve decided I like Brads kiss too!

AEnema by Tool https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=neGdoqsuiN8

Dark Rose by Marissa Halvorson

So, what if you’re a high school kid in the middle of an exam and all of a sudden time stops, and  you’re in the middle of a war between parallel worlds. There’s crazy monsters killing people and Scarlett is just trying to finish her exam. She then meets another version of herself, and then another. Who’s the good guy, and who’s the bad guy. But even though it’s a quick story of action and a little mystery, it’s the lesson of the story. Or at least the lesson I learned from it. You don’t know who you are until you know what you are willing to sacrifice. Are you willing to sacrifice yourself for your loved ones? If you had one more day, what would you do? How would you spend it?

More Human than Human by White Zombie https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E0E0ynyIUsg

Dragon Flight by J Keller Ford

I LOVED this one. I also expected to love it, as a Fan of Ms Ford. And no…. sadly there are no dragons, LOL though it’s totally awesome anyway! It’s well written and done, oh so right! It’s going to be a little a really fun ride! I am kind of having a difficult time telling you exactly about this story without TELLING you the story. I know it’s complicated. I will tell you that this is a fresh new story that is so much fun! It may be my favorite of them all. 🙂

40 Miles from the Sun by Bush https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ji7h8RZJre0

The 13th Month by LS Murphy

I think this one is excellent. It’s got great characters and wonderful, and it’s just magical! There’s some prophecy things, but then there is a wonderful main character who made it just so cool. It’s also not predictable. There are some very fun parts to this one, and I’ve heard so many good things about this author, I am now totally going to have to check out this author for her other goodies 🙂 

Dark Horses by Switchfoot https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5_5oE0ijhKg
Sleepless Beauty by Kimberly Kay 

This is a twist of having one more day while retelling Sleeping Beauty.  And it’s also probably the funniest. And it’s also predictable, because it’s a retelling, BUT it’s done so well that I can’t help but love it. I mean, who would think about changing a few little details about Sleeping Beauty, and that making it so much fun 🙂

Black Hole Sun by Soundgarden https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3mbBbFH9fAg

Stage Fright by Erika Beebe 

This one is particularly for the, Always follow your dreams, lessons in the One More Day theme. It’s very descriptive and made for a fun read! It’s about a stage play based on a musical and boy oh boy was in interesting. I am not into musicals, which is maybe why I liked it because I am not familiar with the original, therefore I get to make my own assumptions 🙂

The Catalyst by Linkin Park https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=51iquRYKPbs
A Morrow More by Danielle E Shipley

This one is one of the most “fantasy based” worlds, which is probably why I liked it so much! Excellent world building, excellent characters, and extremely good plot twists! I would love to see this one because a “big” story but I guess we’ll have to see 🙂 I hope that there’s more, and I will be looking forward to hopefully more of this type from this author!

The Beginning is the End is the Beginning by the Smashing Pumpkins https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=59g5R8rwqpY

Like all anthologies, this one has goods and bads- in opinion of course, and it’s great because you get a little bit of something from each one. You get to see how each author forms their stories, and the flow of their writing, and how they can be similar or different. I still give it a 4.5 PAWS overall because I liked each and everyone of those stories. And though I may have liked some more than the others, I still liked them 🙂 

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

Ladies, I want to thank you for letting me promote your very cool anthology! If you guys ever need, I’m here! And THANK YOU Ms Shipley for giving me a wonderful guest post that WE ALL agree one! I hope you guys check this one out too! It’s great for a holiday read because it’s several short stories, if you are crazy like me for the holidays! Happy reading everyone and Later gators! 

5 thoughts on “One More Day Blog Tour!

  1. kford2007 says:

    As always, I love your reviews. They are so uplifting and fun. I also loved the music pics!!! Whoa! 🙂 Thank you.

  2. deshipley says:

    Thank you very much for the review, and for hosting me on your blog! It was great fun to imagine unlimited time to do the things I love most. (:

  3. Erika Beebe says:

    I love your list Danielle. Walks in the woods, drawing and reading are some of my favorite things too.

  4. jamieayres says:

    Great review! This one is on my Kindle 🙂

What do you have to say?

