Trinkets, Treasures, and Other Bloody Magic BOOK BIRTHDAY w giveaway!

Hello everyone! Today I have a little something special  for you. One of my favorite authors- and fellow name sharers- has a BOOK BIRTHDAY TODAY!!!! 🙂 AND as part of the celebration, I have goodies!!! 🙂 So without Further ado, let me show you! BUT let me say, I am going to show you a double review, and I will try not to give away spoilers, but maybe be careful anyway 🙂 LOL 

HAPPY BOOK BIRTHDAY!!!

Trinkets (etc) book cover

add to goodreads here!! 

Blurb:  Three months ago, I lost my foster sister, Sienna, to the darkness. As in blood magic and chaos and general mayhem. No one saw it until it was too late, but I should have. Now, I have a wounded heart and soul that I can’t even reveal to anyone around me, because I’m supposed to hate Sienna with the fiery passion of the justified. And I do. I just wish I didn’t feel so lost without her, so unsure of the path I thought I had carved for myself, and so outclassed by the powerful Adepts constantly by my side these days. I’m not even sure if they’re with me for my own protection or because my shiny new powers are rare and valuable. Assuming I ever figure out who or what I am, and how my magic actually works.
Even chocolate can’t save the day every time … just most of the time. At least I’ve got that going for me.

Book 1:

Cupcakes, Trinkets, and Other Deadly Magic (The Dowser, #1)

Blurb:  If you’d asked me a week ago, I would have told you that the best cupcakes were dark chocolate with chocolate cream cheese icing, that dancing in a crowd of magic wielders — the Adept — was better than sex, and that my life was peaceful and uneventful. Just the way I liked it.

That’s what twenty-three years in the magical backwater of Vancouver will get you — a completely skewed sense of reality. Because when the dead werewolves started showing up, it all unraveled … except for the cupcake part. That’s a universal truth.

Note: This 68,000 word urban fantasy is the first book of the Dowser Series by author Meghan Ciana Doidge.

*click on the picture to add it to goodreads!

My Review for book 1:

I will say it one more time- I LOVE THIS AUTHOR! She writes about so many things, and yet I still love each and every one of them. I seriously loved this one. I happen to LOVE cupcakes, even though I don’t like chocolate. LOL yes, yes, I KNOW… *gasp* hahahaha it’s ok. There is a lovely little bakery, owned by a sweet, normal-ish woman, and boy is her world thrown into chaos when a damn vamper shows up, and the fun begins 🙂 Not only is it full of action, and great story lines, it’s hilarious. 

So Jade is your main character. She comes from a family of witches, strong ones. Her grandmother raised her, her mom was always away, and she has an adopted sister that means more to her than anything, except maybe her cupcake shop.  I think Jade started out strong, but grew stronger, but not in a way that you may think. She originally stood up for herself, her only weaknesses being her cupcakes and her sister. And then, she meets a vampire, and then she meets a werewolf, and then she figures out that there’s something seriously crazy going on. People are dying, horribly, with her very own handcrafted jewelry that she likes to call trinkets. She feels obligated to help out, especially since everyone thinks it’s her… And to prove that, she’s got to find out who is killing them, except she didn’t bargain for who the killer was. She definitely wasn’t prepared to learn all those secrets, and she totally was out of her league when she learns about her own magic, and how much she really has. 

OOOOOOOOH, I will say that the bad guy had me, really. I had suspicion, but damn that was a whammy. And the HAWT male piece floating around here, get ready to fan yourself. BUT don’t get your hopes up on her getting one of those smokin hot guys, things are CRAZY! There are some excellent plot twists, and I absolutely can’t wait to see what’s going to happen. I was so entertained, I was captivated, and then I craved cupcakes for like ever, and still don’t feel like I got good ones like in the book LOL Plus, who wouldn’t want a cupcake when you’re surrounded by vampires, and witches, and werewolves… OH MY! LOL oh, and the dead people… and the necromancers. 

I definitely look forward to more. I normally say how nice things were, but seriously. The world building is excellent, because it’s real. It’s a normal Vancouver town, with real places, that just happen to support supernatural creatures without the humans knowing about it. And it’s done so well. The writing is excellent as always…. Ms. M, maybe you can mess up one time, so I can change my sentence from “IT’S AWESOME”… to maybe “JUST WOW!” LOL Seriously well done! 5 CUPCAKE FILLED MAGICALLY DELICIOUSLY YUMMY PAWS!!! 

paw main

My Review for book 2:

SERIOUUSLY! ok, so I immediately emailed the author, and told her I read the last sentence and said OMG!!! LOL this is one soooooo good. I thought I loved the first one, but I am in LUST, LOVE, and total OBSESSION with book two! YES! I would recommend reading book one first, as you’ll think Jade is some crazy chick, which she is, but she has reason. LOL AND you’ll get to read all about her yummy cupcakes, and HAWT pieces, and crazy family. It’s the best! 

Jade is now trying to figure out her magic, her place in the supernatural world, who her father is, and what the hell she is supposed to do with herself. Not to mention, she is surrounded by people who she wants to trust, but isn’t sure if she should, and then when an unexpected visitor shows up and plops herself right in the middle of the chaos, things get out of hand. The vampire wants to use her to find more magical people. The werewolf… I think he just maybe wants to “use her”- and dude I’m all for that- as they a debt to each other. Her mom and grandma, well they have been hiding so very much from her, for so long, that I don’t know if I’d be as nice to them as she is. She also just wants to survive, now that she is on the “radar” of some supernaturals.  

Jade is no longer just a simple witch, she’s a dowser, she can literally find magic, and know about it. She can do thinks no one else can, including make magic, not just use it, but literally put magic into things that aren’t magical. Jade is making new friends, and new enemies. She is having a hard time coping with some things that happened in book one, and she’s trying to help out the family of one of the “bad guys”. She has a lot going on. BUT… Kandy is still my second favorite character. You see a little bit of her in book one, but now you are getting to know her. I LOVE her. Kett is the damn vamper that I just wanna smack a little bit. I still think he is going to be bad news, and it’s going to blow Jade’s mind. And Mr werewolf McGrowly… he is HAWT… I want him. And I hope is also isn’t going to seriously hurt Jade.  I hope that Jade learns to stand up for herself again, because I think she is letting too many walk on her in her quest to find out about her powers. Hell, I’d be throwing fire balls at people LOL 

The ending…. I don’t know what to say. I am still a little shocked. Like, WOAH BABY!!! This ending is totally rocking, and I can’t wait, REALLY CAN’T WAIT for so much more! I am always grateful to read anything by this author. She is magnificent. GIMME GIMME GIMME MORE! ASAP. 🙂 And for the rest of you, stop sitting around and twinkling your thumbs and get this series LIKE NOW! 5 EXCEPTIONALLY MAGNIFICENT MAGICAL PAWS! 

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

Giveaway!

I like this series so much that I wanna buy it for someone! So, leave me a comment telling me which of this series- book one or book two- you’d like to win AND tell me your favorite cupcake (or desert) and I’ll pick a winner for an ebook copy…. 

Ms M… A VERY BIG HEARTFELT THANK YOU!!! Thank you for including me, always, in your cover reveals, and contests to share. Especially for letting me read your books. I am always at your disposal!!! 🙂 

Good luck everyone and a late Merry Christmas! And a soon to be HAPPY NEW YEAR!!! 🙂